11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Thinking of getting Ford Focus TDCi 2.0L, need urgent replies

GVY
post Oct 25 2011, 01:04 AM

I just collected mine today... put on about 120km to the mileage... the first problem I had with this car is I was sneaking out to eat supper while my wife fell asleep... and my wife just called me 5 minutes ago... cause she said she just heard my bus... OMG...

But seems like u already made up your mind why consider? The suspension is slightly stiff bit at high speed its just perfect... Power is unbeatable at 3rd and 4th gear but the starting gear... 1 n 2 I thing its because of the diesel engine its slightly slow...

Frankly speaking... if you don't traveling more then 2k-4k mileage a month... diesel is not efficient for you... because of the high service and road tax charge...

Finally choose the car you want... when you are happy driving it... when the car keep on making u feel like driving it... its always worth it...

Added on October 25, 2011, 1:08 amBtw... Shorty 5 thanks for the quality job done for my car... looking for coil mat can look for him...

This post has been edited by GVY: Oct 25 2011, 01:08 AM
rcracer
post Oct 25 2011, 01:42 AM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(GVY @ Oct 24 2011, 07:04 PM)
I just collected mine today... put on about 120km to the mileage... the first problem I had with this car is I was sneaking out to eat supper while my wife fell asleep... and my wife just called me 5 minutes ago... cause she said she just heard my bus... OMG...

But seems like u already made up your mind why consider? The suspension is slightly stiff bit at high speed its just perfect... Power is unbeatable at 3rd and 4th gear but the starting gear... 1 n 2 I thing its because of the diesel engine its slightly slow...

Frankly speaking... if you don't traveling more then 2k-4k mileage a month... diesel is not efficient for you... because of the high service and road tax charge...

Finally choose the car you want... when you are happy driving it... when the car keep on making u feel like driving it... its always worth it...

Added on October 25, 2011, 1:08 amBtw... Shorty 5 thanks for the quality job done for my car... looking for coil mat can look for him...
road tax should be the same as any other 2.0 car and servicing also i don't see why it should be any more expensive than a regular engine
SUSceo684
post Oct 25 2011, 04:16 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Green engine Diesel = same road tax as petrol car.
Anyway, FFS, its 2.0 only lah.. around 400 per year only.. if u idle a lot in KL city the savings will easily pay for itself
diesel low end (below 2.5k rpm) torque is unrivaled by equivalent petrol engine wink.gif great for city drive.

Diesel car get heavy duty engine oil eg caltex delo 400/mobil delvac MX, these two are commonly available and are the top oils brows.gif available in 18L pails for less than rm200.. so u bring ur own oil to SC, save a lot also.. cos its diesel, apa oil also can (as long as original) - because petrol washes away and breaks down engine oil worse than diesel (which is more e. oil friendly).. the oils are rated for 15k interval so for normal use 10k service can already.. some ppl will ask why not fully syn, apasal guna mineral.. for DIESEL, mineral is the BEST for soot control.. plus the fact its so cheap, even better thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ceo684: Oct 25 2011, 04:21 AM
cybermaster98
post Oct 25 2011, 08:02 AM

4,440 posts

But i would also like to know from TS, why he chose the Focus TDCI in the first place? What criteria were you looking for and what supported this make in your mind?

I would think that for that price range (and if ure not prepared to fork out more), i would say the Altis would be a decent choice. As im beginning to find out on other threads, Ford's after sales service has alot of room for improvement. Not to mention the poor resale value associated with the Ford brand.
obiey
post Oct 25 2011, 08:13 AM

74 posts

if you like the looks & design compare to others in the same class.. TDCI will give you more power and less fuel consumption.. err.. the engine noise is outside.. you will be most of the time inside.. enjoy your ride.. tongue.gif
TSyamasce
post Oct 25 2011, 09:41 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 25 2011, 08:02 AM)
But i would also like to know from TS, why he chose the Focus TDCI in the first place? What criteria were you looking for and what supported this make in your mind?

I would think that for that price range (and if ure not prepared to fork out more), i would say the Altis would be a decent choice. As im beginning to find out on other threads, Ford's after sales service has alot of room for improvement. Not to mention the poor resale value associated with the Ford brand.
yes i dun deny their after sales service is not good at the moment but i believe they will improve in the long run..the problem doesn't lie in the ford rather it's due to the SD poor management and planning...outside of m'sia ford owners dun face alot issues but when come to m'sia lots of problem arise...u know who to blame...anyway i know tdci car build and its diesel engine quality is very ruggard and long-lasting...

well i'm not really worry bout resale value since i'm going to use the new car for long long time...any car after long long yrs their resale value not really matters anymore...it would be different case if u plan to use it for 5 yrs or so...then resale value is very important...more than 10 yrs...hmm not so...
ar188
post Oct 25 2011, 10:05 AM

9,206 posts

is it reliable and cheap to repair, if planning to use it 10years or 200k milage? Conti wor.
TSyamasce
post Oct 25 2011, 10:16 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 10:05 AM)
is it reliable and cheap to repair, if planning to use it 10years or 200k milage? Conti wor.
this i'm not sure...that is the reason i created this topic lol...i wanted more inputs and feedback...most importantly they are coming from existing owners...
cybermaster98
post Oct 25 2011, 10:25 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Oct 25 2011, 09:41 AM)
yes i dun deny their after sales service is not good at the moment but i believe they will improve in the long run..the problem doesn't lie in the ford rather it's due to the SD poor management and planning...outside of m'sia ford owners dun face alot issues but when come to m'sia lots of problem arise...u know who to blame...anyway i know tdci car build and its diesel engine quality is very ruggard and long-lasting...

well i'm not really worry bout resale value since i'm going to use the new car for long long time...any car after long long yrs their resale value not really matters anymore...it would be different case if u plan to use it for 5 yrs or so...then resale value is very important...more than 10 yrs...hmm not so...
U sure u gonna keep more than 10 yrs? I would say that 7 years seem more realistic. Beyond that, the cost of maintenance and spare part replacement far outweigh your resale value.
Bliz
post Oct 25 2011, 11:12 AM

2,734 posts

Some comments from a 6months old tdci user tongue.gif

1. Slightly stiffer suspension setup compared to jap car but u get way better stability and handling, i found out its ok for me but might not be suitable for everyone.
2. Roadtax is the same as 2.0petrol.
3. Superb FC compared to the same class or even the class below! ( Can;t believe i am getting better FC compared to my old car--city vtec 2004 )
4. The solid feeling of the car just can't be replicated by other brand, just go for a test drive in various car then u will know what i mean.
5. Diesel clattery sound is annoying outside but u are driving inside u don't really hear it.
6. Servicing is the same as petrol but u dun need to change spark plugs.
7. The tyre wear is more than usual because of the immense 320Nm of torque.. if u are heavy footer like me don't expect the tyre to last more than 30k km..
8. After sales service is still ok currently but down the road i have no idea sweat.gif .
9. Resale value i believe should be better than the petrol variant since it is gaining some popularity lately.

TSyamasce
post Oct 25 2011, 11:35 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 25 2011, 10:25 AM)
U sure u gonna keep more than 10 yrs? I would say that 7 years seem more realistic. Beyond that, the cost of maintenance and spare part replacement far outweigh your resale value.
yup...what's more realistic is i hv been using my proton for almost 10yrs now...no doubt there are some repairs needed especially past few months but not major changes/repair...my car still able to do its job fine...then again comparing ford to proton obviously ford hv much better quality lol...how well ur car behave in the future and how long it last very much depending on its user...u take care of it well it will last longer..u treat it like crap or make it like a F1 car-wannabe obviously u gonna get lotsa crap from ur car...cars hv feelings too u know tongue.gif

QUOTE(Bliz @ Oct 25 2011, 11:12 AM)
Some comments from a 6months old tdci user  tongue.gif

1. Slightly stiffer suspension setup compared to jap car but u get way better stability and handling, i found out its ok for me but might not be suitable for everyone.
2. Roadtax is the same as 2.0petrol.
3. Superb FC compared to the same class or even the class below! ( Can;t believe i am getting better FC compared to my old car--city vtec 2004 )
4. The solid feeling of the car just can't be replicated by other brand, just go for a test drive in various car then u will know what i mean.
5. Diesel clattery sound is annoying outside but u are driving inside u don't really hear it.
6. Servicing is the same as petrol but u dun need to change spark plugs.
7. The tyre wear is more than usual because of the immense 320Nm of torque.. if u are heavy footer like me don't expect the tyre to last more than 30k km..
8. After sales service is still ok currently but down the road i have no idea  sweat.gif .
9. Resale value i believe should be better than the petrol variant since it is gaining some popularity lately.
thx for ur feedback...really appreciate it...i believe in the future will be more diesel models coming in...BMW currently has alrdy started to bring in more of its diesel models...there will be fierce competition between EV and diesel models in the future...both hv their pros and cons but hey nothing's perfect...what's near perfect is teleportation technology...no need for transportation alrdy...fast, efficient and green as well...but lets juz keep things realistic biggrin.gif
Bliz
post Oct 25 2011, 11:37 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Oct 25 2011, 11:35 AM)
yup...what's more realistic is i hv been using my proton for almost 10yrs now...no doubt there are some repairs needed especially past few months but not major changes/repair...my car still able to do its job fine...then again comparing ford to proton obviously ford hv much better quality lol...how well ur car behave in the future and how long it last very much depending on its user...u take care of it well it will last longer..u treat it like crap or make it like a F1 car-wannabe obviously u gonna get lotsa crap from ur car...cars hv feelings too u know  tongue.gif
thx for ur feedback...really appreciate it...i believe in the future will be more diesel models coming in...BMW currently has alrdy started to bring in more of its diesel models...there will be fierce competition between EV and diesel models in the future...both hv their pros and cons but hey nothing's perfect...what's near perfect is teleportation technology...no need for transportation alrdy...fast, efficient and green as well...but lets juz keep things realistic  biggrin.gif
Power + FC = Diesel engine, for petrol unless it's turbo it wont touch the performance of turbo diesel
TSyamasce
post Oct 25 2011, 11:50 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Oct 25 2011, 11:37 AM)
Power + FC = Diesel engine, for petrol unless it's turbo it wont touch the performance of turbo diesel
yes i agree...with EV will be much worse...many people duno current diesel engine are way better than those petrol engines...things hv changed...
ar188
post Oct 25 2011, 11:53 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Oct 25 2011, 10:16 AM)
this i'm not sure...that is the reason i created this topic lol...i wanted more inputs and feedback...most importantly they are coming from existing owners...
I think hard to say... 10years later this TDCI or gearbox kaput also we dunno and not sure how much to change it.. even existing owners will not know.. especially when waranty is over.

cybermaster98
post Oct 25 2011, 11:57 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Oct 25 2011, 11:12 AM)
Some comments from a 6months old tdci user  tongue.gif

3) What is your fuel consumption? Figures? What kind of driving?
4) Which brands have you compared against?
electron
post Oct 25 2011, 01:03 PM

1,329 posts

one thing for sure, parts price will not be cheaper than your proton
but one thing to note is that costlier but more durable parts could work out to be cheaper than cheaper but less durable ones
Bliz
post Oct 25 2011, 01:52 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 25 2011, 11:57 AM)
3) What is your fuel consumption? Figures? What kind of driving?
4) Which brands have you compared against?
3) Generally, when i was driving my city vtec for full city drive it's around 10-11km/litre, highway drive is around 12km/litre... while for focus with same driving style, same road is around 10-12km/litre for full city, highway is around 13-14km/litre ( Aircond at coldest setting, fan at number 2 ) ... Once i tested from Melaka city-->Menara PGRM-->Lowyat Plaza-->Melaka city again i got 17km/litre for sedate driving, highway average speed from 110-120km/h, highway is around 80% of the time while 20% is city, total distance covered is around 260km ..

4) I am comparing against Nissan, Honda, Toyota, Kia, Hyundai..Peugeot cars feel solid as well i guess that's the trait of continental car? Of course cannot be compared against BMW/Mer/Audi... i have not driven any VW before, only sat in VW golf, i believe VW should feel more solid than Ford judging on reviews from the internet but then the focus (120k)should be only compared against golf (150k+)

cybermaster98
post Oct 25 2011, 02:00 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Oct 25 2011, 01:52 PM)
3) Generally, when i was driving my city vtec for full city drive it's around 10-11km/litre, highway drive is around 12km/litre... while for focus with same driving style, same road is around 10-12km/litre for full city, highway is around 13-14km/litre ( Aircond at coldest setting, fan at number 2 ) ... Once i tested from Melaka city-->Menara PGRM-->Lowyat Plaza-->Melaka city again i got 17km/litre for sedate driving, highway average speed from 110-120km/h, highway is around 80% of the time while 20% is city, total distance covered is around 260km ..
The 2003 Toyota Vios 1.5L (1st generation), can give you about 15km/L for 100% highway driving at about 120kmph. But i would expect it to consume more on highways since the RPM at 120kmph is 3,000. 100% city driving can give you 13km/L.
TSyamasce
post Oct 25 2011, 02:13 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Oct 25 2011, 01:52 PM)

4) I am comparing against Nissan, Honda, Toyota, Kia, Hyundai..Peugeot cars feel solid as well i guess that's the trait of continental car? Of course cannot be compared against BMW/Mer/Audi... i have not driven any VW before, only sat in VW golf, i believe VW should feel more solid than Ford judging on reviews from the internet but then the focus (120k)should be only compared against golf (150k+)
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 25 2011, 02:00 PM)
The 2003 Toyota Vios 1.5L (1st generation), can give you about 15km/L for 100% highway driving at about 120kmph. But i would expect it to consume more on highways since the RPM at 120kmph is 3,000. 100% city driving can give you 13km/L.
lol...u are comparing directly between a 1.5L and 2.0L car and yet they fair about the same...and rmb tat focus is heavier than vios/city and can deliver higher torque at little effort compare to vios/city...

Added on October 25, 2011, 2:17 pmby the way anyone heard of any rumours/news whether ford will increase or decrease (give more discounts) price for 2011 sports focus tdci next year?

This post has been edited by yamasce: Oct 25 2011, 02:17 PM
rcracer
post Oct 25 2011, 02:29 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 25 2011, 08:00 AM)
a petrol engine will never match the fuel economy of a diesel, no matter what

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0237sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:57 AM