160 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

LYN Proton Wira Club (LYN-PWC) V-XXVII, Come in & let's discuss about Wira

xxboxx
post Dec 28 2011, 02:26 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(nelsonlye @ Dec 28 2011, 01:58 PM)
Sometime i'm so curious about Ah Beng...how to define as ah beng? Is that change bodykit...do bodykit consider ah beng? or add lots LED consider ah beng.....so curious..
haha, yours not consider ah beng lar, yours is JDM already. brows.gif

ah beng car or ricer car usually is the one with oversize rim, huge spoiler, flashy sticker, huge muffler, full of LED or lights. definition from wiki:
"The pejorative is often intended to denigrate cars which have been modified cosmetically to give a false impression of high performance, but are not actually capable of it. The accusation behind this is that the car has been customized with the intent to fool people."
azzry
post Dec 28 2011, 02:28 PM

81 posts

HYE, nubie here.. just reporting in. wira 1.5 sedan maroon colour, jb. got 1 quest.. how to shut the sound of "eeeeeeeeeekkkkkkkkk" in the engine hood? (some ppl say it's bcoz of aircond.. yes it is long time ago, but now, even i turn off the air cond, its still sound like tht, so irritating..) why ah? icon_question.gif
nelsonlye
post Dec 28 2011, 02:28 PM

57 posts

should say Wira with bodykit = ah beng....can we conclude it???? cause our car is not performance car?
xxboxx
post Dec 28 2011, 02:33 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(nelsonlye @ Dec 28 2011, 02:28 PM)
should say Wira with bodykit = ah beng....can we conclude it???? cause our car is not performance car?
with bodykit is not ah beng, more like over exaggerated bodykit is ah beng.
something like this:

maybe still depends one each definition. some like to put anime sticker coz they like itasha, but other people see this as ah beng car.
shinjite
post Dec 28 2011, 02:35 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

Basically ah beng categories as a car that has been done up both cosmetically fugly with freaking huge GT Wings and with a freaking loud exhaust and can't live up to the expectations.....in chinese translation is "You have the sound but your car can't go"
nelsonlye
post Dec 28 2011, 02:42 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Dec 28 2011, 02:33 PM)
something like this:

maybe still depends one each definition. some like to put anime sticker coz they like itasha, but other people see this as ah beng car.
This one defect the purpose of the wing liao....

QUOTE(shinjite @ Dec 28 2011, 02:35 PM)
Basically ah beng categories as a car that has been done up both cosmetically fugly with freaking huge GT Wings and with a freaking loud exhaust and can't live up to the expectations.....in chinese translation is "You have the sound but your car can't go"
Can we say....with huge gt wing...but with no bodykit...n still using steel rim????

rclxub.gif
pipedream
post Dec 28 2011, 02:42 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Dec 28 2011, 12:34 PM)
Did you stop or continue driving when reach red-line ?

My case, it reach red line. But I continue drive for >30 minutes. Then it drops back to middle there.
No smoke/steam comes out.
Happens few times a week.
Radiator cap is fine. No radiator water loss/leak. Fans all working.
Finally mechanic says is the VDO meter cluster temperature faulty. I did not change it though.
Yes. It needs pressure to work, but if the seal is leaking, the steam/hot air leaks out, and you will run low on radiator water/coolant.
Almost reaching red-line. No steam/smoke either, but the air cond suddenly blows hot air. Thats why i decided to stop.

The mechanic haven't called back since yesterday, going to their shop later to ask.

GKWong
post Dec 28 2011, 02:52 PM

jeng jeng jeng~~
1,478 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Dec 28 2011, 11:34 AM)
Did you stop or continue driving when reach red-line ?

My case, it reach red line. But I continue drive for >30 minutes. Then it drops back to middle there.
No smoke/steam comes out.
Happens few times a week.
Radiator cap is fine. No radiator water loss/leak. Fans all working.
Finally mechanic says is the VDO meter cluster temperature faulty. I did not change it though.
Yes. It needs pressure to work, but if the seal is leaking, the steam/hot air leaks out, and you will run low on radiator water/coolant.
QUOTE(nelsonlye @ Dec 28 2011, 12:45 PM)
If can long time ord changed lo...not ngam...last time mine is GSR...just tat day no stock..otherwise i will use back GSR one....
Nice...i love the wide body...look nice....
Out of sudden my player sot sot.......then feel something weird on car...faster chk on the volt meter...shown 10v....scary....faster u turn to my foreman there.....
Last 2 days...my water temp beep.......first chk...Radiator fan..working......next day chk...radiator no water...fill in...then found out is the spare tank hose...crack....lucky...scare out of me.....
ohh.. now i know. Maybe i should try replace my radiator cap first. My radiator not leaking, fan working, but sometimes water temp rise and when i checked the water level missing a lot. Spare tank pipe or hoses all no crack.
xxboxx
post Dec 28 2011, 02:54 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(nelsonlye @ Dec 28 2011, 02:42 PM)
This one defect the purpose of the wing liao....
Can we say....with huge gt wing...but with no bodykit...n still using steel rim????

rclxub.gif
can say how the car been mod, aesthetically nice without over exaggerated.

this doesn't look like ah beng:

but this on the other hand:

in UK it is known as boy racer. about the same thing mods:

Modifications typically associated with the stereotype include:

Powerful sound systems
    Extravagant paint jobs
    Large, loud exhaust tips
    Spoilers[10] and bonnet scoops (usually non-functional)
    Suspension modifications to lower a car's ride height
    Body kits, neon lights and other appearance modifications
    Tinted windows restricting the view from the car

Performance upgrades such as engine tuning adding turbochargers are rare amongst the boy racer subculture due to the high costs involved and the fact that most insurance companies charge extremely high premiums to young drivers with modified cars.

cute_boboi
post Dec 28 2011, 03:20 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(pipedream @ Dec 28 2011, 02:42 PM)
Almost reaching red-line. No steam/smoke either, but the air cond suddenly blows hot air. Thats why i decided to stop.

The mechanic haven't called back since yesterday, going to their shop later to ask.
Air-cond and engine are two separate radiators.
hmm.gif

Air-con blow hot air is when you stuck in jam ? Or cruising on highway speed ?
If stuck in jam = mostly fan motor spoil.
If highway speed also blow hot air, leaking air-cond gas already. Need to find air-cond workshop.

Hope is not both also problem. Then money fly away at double the speed also.

Anyway, my mechanic says, if temperature red-line, within 5-10 minutes, smoke/steam sure comes out from front radiator, no matter stuck in jam or cruising.
Then I tell him, I still drive >30 min wor. No water loss.
He says, not radiator problem already. Maybe is thermostat, sensor or VDO meter spoil.

DaBestOne
post Dec 28 2011, 03:25 PM

-LYN- 6 ★STARS★ Trader
1,329 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Dec 28 2011, 02:33 PM)
something like this:

Haha.. why wing on top laugh.gif
AlexLee277
post Dec 28 2011, 03:40 PM

Dihujani kenangan masa lalu
4,221 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Dec 28 2011, 10:24 AM)
got change ATF oil every 20k km? change gearbox oil filter every 40k km?
just checked, almost reach 45++k, don't know how we did that..

lol, now still pending money to change absorb bar, tyre, and carburetor first.

how much price diff between stock carb and the performance card (weber)?

performance wise?

exhaust system quite corroded, and the headlight isn't actually bright.
My roof is corroded also, got lubang (just the paint, didn't penetrate through the metal), that wira so kesian... ><
need to get halfcut roof already.

next time need to replace the aircon fan, now cabin got "brrrrrrrrrrrrrrr" sound if i set to 3 and 4 fan speed.
air con vent also patah dy.. LOL, and some more, the most annoying one, power window!!!!!!!! vmad.gif

foot down after toll can reach 100 after 17++ sec depends on the slope whistling.gif

This post has been edited by AlexLee277: Dec 28 2011, 03:41 PM
Lineage
post Dec 28 2011, 03:50 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Dec 28 2011, 02:35 PM)
This is what I always say to my bro whenever we saw ah bengs car thumbup.gif
xxboxx
post Dec 28 2011, 04:20 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Dec 28 2011, 03:25 PM)
Haha.. why wing on top laugh.gif
too much hp, need better downforce. tongue.gif

or the car can fly actually. tongue.gif

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Dec 28 2011, 03:40 PM)
just checked, almost reach 45++k, don't know how we did that..

lol, now still pending money to change absorb bar, tyre, and carburetor first.

how much price diff between stock carb and the performance card (weber)?

performance wise?

exhaust system quite corroded, and the headlight isn't actually bright.
My roof is corroded also, got lubang (just the paint, didn't penetrate through the metal), that wira so kesian... ><
need to get halfcut roof already.

next time need to replace the aircon fan, now cabin got "brrrrrrrrrrrrrrr" sound if i set to 3 and 4 fan speed.
air con vent also patah dy.. LOL, and some more, the most annoying one, power window!!!!!!!!  vmad.gif

foot down after toll can reach 100 after 17++ sec depends on the slope whistling.gif
no idea for the carb. but of coz better performance..
TSafosz
post Dec 28 2011, 04:33 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

My ah beng definition is simply too much customization, bad combination of bodykit or exaggerate of one thing without knowing its purpose.
GKWong
post Dec 28 2011, 04:40 PM

jeng jeng jeng~~
1,478 posts

Ahbengification brows.gif
angrysnail
post Dec 28 2011, 06:44 PM

SuperStars
1,413 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Dec 28 2011, 02:26 PM)
haha, yours not consider ah beng lar, yours is JDM already.  brows.gif

ah beng car or ricer car usually is the one with oversize rim, huge spoiler, flashy sticker, huge muffler, full of LED or lights. definition from wiki:
"The pejorative is often intended to denigrate cars which have been modified cosmetically to give a false impression of high performance, but are not actually capable of it. The accusation behind this is that the car has been customized with the intent to fool people."
this ah beng is so huge until can get themself into the wiki..LOL.. laugh.gif
my personal view is ah beng like driving kancil but behind emblem/windband put mugen,skyline or type R words or like rims they use is enkei imtate but put momo,advan sticker on it..most worst i found with E-kei word and OS racing.. doh.gif

xxboxx
post Dec 28 2011, 07:20 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(angrysnail @ Dec 28 2011, 06:44 PM)
this ah beng is so huge until can get themself into the wiki..LOL.. laugh.gif
my personal view is ah beng like driving kancil but behind emblem/windband put mugen,skyline or type R words or like rims they use is enkei imtate but put momo,advan sticker on it..most worst i found with E-kei word and OS racing.. doh.gif
true thumbup.gif
Wira with TRD/Type-R/Mugen/Spoon emblem.. doh.gif
or Vios with Scion/Lexus emblem...
ben3085
post Dec 28 2011, 08:47 PM

Ah Bengs are people with car that are all show and no go...

Actually there a loads of them in Malaysia.....

1) Put bodykit that can house an intercooler but don't have plus not even a MIVEC engine under the hood....half done unpainted body kit or those ugly ones that you can find on NFS Underground 2
2) Put rear wing but car front wheel drive...
3) Loads of manufacturer stickers but not even one part from those manufacturer is being used....
4) Put fake stuff like carbon sticker to wrap hood but once bubble, kantoi already..
5) Loads of LEDs at the entire bumper, windscreen frame, around the whole plate number, using LEDs as though they are neon underneath cars, cannot afford real DRLs in headlamps so stick them on headlamps (actually i have DRLs but not those that you can cut one but in a pair, i just place them beside my plate number on my Wira SE bumper, so a bit Ah Beng but not over doing it)

I am a bit Ah Beng more because of the muffler.....noisy but no go but still better than my stock exhaust syste, which is stuffed full of soot....so i change everything..from front to end.....

carcraze66
post Dec 28 2011, 08:51 PM

Ninetwenty2
628 posts

QUOTE(afosz @ Dec 28 2011, 02:50 PM)
You caught me there. Flew away last 2 Sundays.
Damage around RM 1.3k, including new exhaust tip. Changed to single round tip from twin tip.
Hopefully not too ah beng or macha-y look.
haha...mine also same side with yours..driver side...but mine is come out adi...now very ugly...cannot clip back

QUOTE(nelsonlye @ Dec 28 2011, 02:58 PM)
Sometime i'm so curious about Ah Beng...how to define as ah beng? Is that change bodykit...do bodykit consider ah beng? or add lots LED consider ah beng.....so curious..
no...changing bodykits and led does not mean ah beng by doing the right way...if those that add led the whole car...wanna learn fast and furious...those are really ah beng!

i even saw ppl who drive camry estima go and put loud exhaust and led around the whole car..hahaha...funny la...

QUOTE(Lineage @ Dec 28 2011, 04:50 PM)
This is what I always say to my bro whenever we saw ah bengs car  thumbup.gif
agree!! got sound but the car is like didnt move...

160 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0311sec    1.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:35 AM