Peugeot 508, Ford Mondeo or VW Passat?, 3 good cars, 1 choice

TScybermaster98
post Nov 3 2011, 02:55 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Nov 3 2011, 01:04 PM)
let me tell you why the placed the price at 190K, it is because they can, and it is because there will be people buying them.

Of course in VW you are buying the Engine and Gearbox, and in a 508, you buying luxury feeling. Anyway VW will probably hold a better value compare to Peugeot. Ford probably is the worst among the 3.

anyway there is practically nothing in the Passat, nothing special at all, just it is passat and it is a VW and it carries a DSG and TSI badge. And currently the hottest selling brand in malaysia, look at the amount of Golf TSI And GTI on the road. compare to 5 years ago. It is like it is everywhere.

But honestly, VW is really really pricy.

slowly study first, dont take the rush, how you know suddenly the second batch comes with updated GPS navigation.

Then you probably get more out of it. Maybe by then when the Camry is out, you can compare even more cars. Then you can choose your pick.
Yes those are my thoughts too. Peugeot has already started increasing the market penetration since the launch of the 308. But sadly models like the 207 were a real disappointment. Hopefully the 508 can re-ignite the Peugeot franchise in Malaysia.

Yes ill probably only decide when ive seen the Camry. That is afterall my 1st choice car for the past 2 years so might as well wait till then. Also interested to see the Kia Optima.

Many of the European and Korean cars are well known for adding on goodies later on to boost sales. So buying a new launch may not always be a good idea. Anyway my current ride is going strong and zero complaints so far. So am not really in a hurry actually.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Nov 3 2011, 02:56 PM
sleepy
post Nov 3 2011, 03:48 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(spcx @ Nov 3 2011, 11:02 AM)
btw, did your SA give you anything? Discount? Vouchers? Smart tags? Etc?
Unfortunately apa pun tarak. Just full tank of petrol upon delivery. Sigh, better than nothing la
TScybermaster98
post Nov 3 2011, 04:51 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Nov 3 2011, 03:48 PM)
Unfortunately apa pun tarak. Just full tank of petrol upon delivery. Sigh, better than nothing la
If those who's company pay for their fuel, then what can they give? biggrin.gif

What color? Can you please take some pics and post here? Take the front, rear, side, dashboard and rear seats.
TScybermaster98
post Nov 3 2011, 04:52 PM

4,440 posts

New facelifted Passat CC to be launched soon:

http://paultan.org/2011/11/03/2012-volkswa...t-la-auto-show/

sleepy
post Nov 3 2011, 05:10 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 3 2011, 04:51 PM)
If those who's company pay for their fuel, then what can they give?  biggrin.gif

What color? Can you please take some pics and post here? Take the front, rear, side, dashboard and rear seats.
Ok sure will do. Once I get the car. SA can't promise which day of next week. Just say next week. Btw mine is aluminium color.
ar188
post Nov 3 2011, 08:50 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 3 2011, 11:55 AM)
No la. Alot more consideration to be done before i commit.
err? but your initial enthusiasm was like over the roof wor.. why now like pull handbrake geh? hmm.gif

Added on November 3, 2011, 8:51 pm
QUOTE(sleepy @ Nov 3 2011, 03:48 PM)
they won't give anything when it's hot.. later 2years time, when low RV kicks in they will throw in plasma tv and what not.. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Nov 3 2011, 08:51 PM
TScybermaster98
post Nov 8 2011, 07:53 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 3 2011, 08:50 PM)
err? but your initial enthusiasm was like over the roof wor.. why now like pull handbrake geh?  hmm.gif
Enthusiasm was always there and still is. But im not easily taken up by just looks and specs. The after sales service has always been a major concern.
TScybermaster98
post Nov 8 2011, 07:55 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Nov 3 2011, 05:10 PM)
Ok sure will do. Once I get the car. SA can't promise which day of next week. Just say next week. Btw mine is aluminium color.
I heard that Peugeot still cant register any cars pending approval from JPJ. Might take a week or two. By that time the plate would be WWB. My friend just collected her S40 with WWA plate last week.
Bliz
post Nov 8 2011, 08:12 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 8 2011, 07:53 AM)
Enthusiasm was always there and still is. But im not easily taken up by just looks and specs. The after sales service has always been a major concern.
If after sales service is your biggest concern, i think u should scrape off any idea of getting anything other than Toyota/Honda ( Major car seller here )... after sales service is not establish over the night sad.gif
TScybermaster98
post Nov 8 2011, 08:15 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Nov 8 2011, 08:12 AM)
If after sales service is your biggest concern, i think u should scrape off any idea of getting anything other than Toyota/Honda ( Major car seller here )... after sales service is not establish over the night  sad.gif
I said its a concern but doesnt mean its my only consideration. No such thing as perfect car. Depends on what ure willing to sacrifice i guess. Of course i dont expect Nasim's after sales to be even close to Toyota but if its at an acceptable level then i guess its alright. Im now trying to determine what that acceptable level is. biggrin.gif
sleepy
post Nov 9 2011, 04:21 PM

1,139 posts

Guys I got this feeling I'm not getting the car this week. As usual la, empty promises from SA. Now I'm hearing this AP thing.

Damn, should've opted for a recon E60 from naza as the price is similar to this. I hate waiting
sonyman
post Nov 9 2011, 04:36 PM

1,043 posts

a wise man once said, "great things needs a lot of patients, and we shall enjoy and appreciate the fruits that it bears"
TScybermaster98
post Nov 9 2011, 04:37 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Nov 9 2011, 04:21 PM)
Guys I got this feeling I'm not getting the car this week. As usual la, empty promises from SA. Now I'm hearing this AP thing.

Damn, should've opted for a recon E60 from naza as the price is similar to this. I hate waiting
I already told u Nasim cannot register any cars until they get clearance from JPJ. But it should be cleared by this week or early next week.
sleepy
post Nov 9 2011, 05:32 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 9 2011, 04:37 PM)
I already told u Nasim cannot register any cars until they get clearance from JPJ. But it should be cleared by this week or early next week.
Yeah, I've been told the same thing. I really wish I could get it by this week. But then, hmmm. Losing faith
sonyman
post Nov 9 2011, 08:16 PM

1,043 posts

yo! anyone going to martrade center this weekend? Got test drive for 508, i believe so.

Hehe, anyone interested?
sleepy
post Nov 9 2011, 08:39 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Nov 9 2011, 08:16 PM)
yo! anyone going to martrade center this weekend? Got test drive for 508, i believe so.

Hehe, anyone interested?
According to my SA the test drive is still not confirmed coz all the 508 duty still not paid
TScybermaster98
post Nov 10 2011, 08:16 AM

4,440 posts

A disturbing problem faced by some Peugeot 207 owners:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2051504

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2100407/+0#entry46609741

chamelion
post Nov 10 2011, 08:25 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 8 2011, 08:15 AM)
I said its a concern but doesnt mean its my only consideration. No such thing as perfect car. Depends on what ure willing to sacrifice i guess. Of course i dont expect Nasim's after sales to be even close to Toyota but if its at an acceptable level then i guess its alright. Im now trying to determine what that acceptable level is.  biggrin.gif
I preown a toyota. Now own honda n pug.

All my car is service by authorise center, rating i gave is:
(10 is best)
Honda 9
Toyota 8
Naza 3

That's how far naza compare to the Other 2. The take acct into std service, windscreen replacement n accident claim assist.

Hth

Added on November 10, 2011, 8:26 amCar wise, my pug is very good, only let dnw is the service center. And car wise, pug IS a level higher then jpn car.

This post has been edited by chamelion: Nov 10 2011, 08:26 AM
TScybermaster98
post Nov 10 2011, 08:41 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(chamelion @ Nov 10 2011, 08:25 AM)
Car wise, my pug is very good, only let dnw is the service center. And car wise, pug IS a level higher then jpn car.
What are the areas which you feel are lacking in Nasim's after sales service?
chamelion
post Nov 10 2011, 09:00 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

all... the moment u drive into the compound u feel it already... ^^

center tried:-
Toyota service center - Shah Alam n pj
honda - old klang rd
naza - jln 222 n glenmaries

This post has been edited by chamelion: Nov 10 2011, 09:00 AM

29 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top