29 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Peugeot 508, Ford Mondeo or VW Passat?, 3 good cars, 1 choice

sleepy
post Nov 15 2011, 12:23 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 14 2011, 11:35 PM)
Bro, cool it. Waiting a few extra weeks aint gonna hurt much. No car company is perfect. Did u hear about all the Ferrari 458 Italia's catching fire all over the world within a few months of being purchased? I heard they delivered the cars fast but got razed to the ground in double quick time too.

My point is, try not to make things sound worse than they actually are. To say u regret buying a car just cuz the delivery took a few weeks extra is a tad bit over the top dont ya think? It would show that u really didnt give the car much consideration in the first place since your judgement now is based solely on the delivery time.

Take it easy and dont sweat it. Many sales ppl at Nasim didnt even realise the delays they had to endure dealing with JPJ. It isnt entirely their fault. They promised you based on their best knowledge. But as u know dealing with Gov agencies can spring a few surprises.
Was actually buying this car for my wedding, which is soon. Already told the sales person that I need the car by certain date, and yeah I was told it was do'able. But now? Hmm, doubt so.

Btw, your ferrari comparison is not that suitable in this case. Ferrari rushed their production, causing flaws here and there hence the fire. But my car is already there waiting for me, with my name and stuff on it.

Another thing, my argument wasnt about the car at all. It's been NASIM. All talk/promises and no delivery? As far as I know, people has been cancelling their order because they booked way before 18th Oct, which is the launch date. Early bird gets the worm? Definitely not in NASIM's dictionary.

I've also read in another forum, that due to KIA/Peugeot is actually under the same roof (NAZA), they're short of AP now, and gotta wait till 2012. Wow, the excuses of AP, duty etc etc. What next?
TScybermaster98
post Nov 15 2011, 10:46 AM

4,440 posts

Top 10 Worst Cars of 2011:
http://autos.yahoo.com/news/worst-car-flop...011.html?page=2

VW Jetta
The 2011 redesign cost the Jetta much of what had made it a standout in the small car segment. Its responsive handling and sharp steering are long gone, Fisher says, and the high-quality interior has been replaced with hard plastics that don’t fit together well. The engines in the new Jetta are unimpressive with regard to both acceleration and fuel economy.

2012 Honda Civic
The 2012 redesign plummeted in Consumer Reports scores from one of the best small cars to one of the worst, Fisher says. Its nimble handling was replaced with a “soggy” suspension, and braking distances are too long. The interior quality also declined, with lots of hard plastics throughout the cabin.

turbocharged
post Nov 15 2011, 12:17 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Nov 15 2011, 12:23 AM)
Was actually buying this car for my wedding, which is soon. Already told the sales person that I need the car by certain date, and yeah I was told it was do'able. But now? Hmm, doubt so.

Btw, your ferrari comparison is not that suitable in this case. Ferrari rushed their production, causing flaws here and there hence the fire. But my car is already there waiting for me, with my name and stuff on it.

Another thing, my argument wasnt about the car at all. It's been NASIM. All talk/promises and no delivery? As far as I know, people has been cancelling their order because they booked way before 18th Oct, which is the launch date. Early bird gets the worm? Definitely not in NASIM's dictionary.

I've also read in another forum, that due to KIA/Peugeot is actually under the same roof (NAZA), they're short of AP now, and gotta wait till 2012. Wow, the excuses of AP, duty etc etc. What next?
you should just get T&H or VW

they never short of APs
sleepy
post Nov 15 2011, 12:41 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Nov 15 2011, 12:17 PM)
you should just get T&H or VW

they never short of APs
Already had experienced t&h, but you sure about the VW part? As far as I know, VW's are imported from overseas as well. No need AP?
turbocharged
post Nov 15 2011, 01:05 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Nov 15 2011, 12:41 PM)
Already had experienced t&h, but you sure about the VW part? As far as I know, VW's are imported from overseas as well. No need AP?
they got lower volume (selling less car) than peugeot and kia . or vw they have better connection biggrin.gif

after naza former boss passed away, the sons always have AP problem biggrin.gif relationship not good enough with high level ppl i guess
Jim.tan
post Nov 15 2011, 01:51 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Nov 15 2011, 01:05 PM)
they got lower volume (selling less car) than peugeot and kia . or vw they have better connection biggrin.gif

after naza former boss passed away, the sons always have AP problem biggrin.gif relationship not good enough with high level ppl i guess
rclxub.gif bro where you get this news from? LoL
turbocharged
post Nov 15 2011, 01:55 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(Jim.tan @ Nov 15 2011, 01:51 PM)
rclxub.gif bro where you get this news from? LoL
naza salesman lo, dunno he con me or not la, lol.
m42
post Nov 15 2011, 05:35 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 14 2011, 05:24 PM)
Yes i agree. These paddle shifters are only an attraction in the early stages. More like eye candy. How many of the Honda City users still use their paddle shifters after say 3 yrs of use?
yeah i know..i actually wont use the paddle shifters at all.. but its good to have, feels like your car is not missing something.. also good for when you're bored and feel like you want to do a vettel once in a while..

Added on November 15, 2011, 5:38 pm
QUOTE(turbocharged @ Nov 14 2011, 03:45 PM)
actually, 6 speed auto is more reliable than dsg, in my opionion ( no need to flame)

try google DSG failure.

and actually peugeot is working on the dual clutch thingy also, but you know french, they take their time wink.gif

anyway, you dont need dsg in the big luxury car like this, because in a traffic jam, DSG is jerky, only while driving fast/racing, DSG Is best.

THats why mitsubishi and Nissan both has dual clutch on GTR and EVO X, but they offer CVT in their saloon car, lol.

i think for your request above, just get a golf GTI la biggrin.gif or passat CC la. becuase you are looking at them, and asking from ford and peugeot, lol.

like asking can i add steak in nasi goreng? tongue.gif
yeah but the thing is dsg is more fuel efficient..7 speed some more.. so much better in traffic jams..
fast yet fuel saving..who wouldn't want that?

Added on November 15, 2011, 5:47 pm
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 15 2011, 10:46 AM)
Top 10 Worst Cars of 2011:
http://autos.yahoo.com/news/worst-car-flop...011.html?page=2

VW Jetta
The 2011 redesign cost the Jetta much of what had made it a standout in the small car segment. Its responsive handling and sharp steering are long gone, Fisher says, and the high-quality interior has been replaced with hard plastics that don’t fit together well. The engines in the new Jetta are unimpressive with regard to both acceleration and fuel economy.

2012 Honda Civic
The 2012 redesign plummeted in Consumer Reports scores from one of the best small cars to one of the worst, Fisher says. Its nimble handling was replaced with a “soggy” suspension, and braking distances are too long. The interior quality also declined, with lots of hard plastics throughout the cabin.
i think these are the US market cars you quoting..totally different from the ones we are getting..

Added on November 15, 2011, 5:52 pm
QUOTE(Lord of The Rabbits @ Nov 14 2011, 05:40 PM)
Besides the Technical considerations the feel/ ride of all 3 cars  should also be taken into consideration too.

On top of that  how one is perceived driving these cars may also sway judgements.

I have test driven all three. Truth be told the Passat has a better feel and ride with the 508 coming close second.

Someone posted earlier why not include the Alfa 159 and I tend to agree. Basically this is what the driver will be perceived when driving the cars :

Mondeo - Slightly older 45-55 years of age. Probably Desk Job definitely not an accountant.

Puegot 508 - Early 40 - 50 Just got promoted from Mid level Management.

Passat - Wanted the BMW 3 series but not willing to stretch the budget.
Alfa 159 - Marketing or Sales chances are former Player too  biggrin.gif

My two cents worth lah...
alfa 159 is the sexiest.. but the rear seats are so small, not suitable as a d-segment family car, heck even less space than your average c-segment cars

if i were to drive alone, and dont give a damn about resale value and maintenace costs, i would take the 159 anytime..

This post has been edited by m42: Nov 15 2011, 05:52 PM
turbocharged
post Nov 15 2011, 06:03 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(m42 @ Nov 15 2011, 05:35 PM)

alfa 159 is the sexiest.. but the rear seats are so small, not suitable as a d-segment family car, heck even less space than your average c-segment cars

if i were to drive alone, and dont give a damn about resale value and maintenace costs, i would take the 159 anytime..
my fren who is driving a 147, spend more than rm15k on his 156 that he bought for 60k. and deeply in debt.

make sure you can afford a golf gti before you go buy this kind of alfa romeo. I mean, make sure you are rich enough.

but if you're rich enough, just skip it. alfitis is expensive, lol.
spcx
post Nov 21 2011, 03:11 PM

207 posts

my SA just called, car coming this / next week. Getting the chassis number from the allocation tomorrow. It's for the first batch of booking, pre-booking. Some guys didn't manage to get the loan so SA allocating it for me since mine has been approved.

Woohoo! =)
sleepy
post Nov 21 2011, 03:13 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(spcx @ Nov 21 2011, 03:11 PM)
my SA just called, car coming this / next week. Getting the chassis number from the allocation tomorrow. It's for the first batch of booking, pre-booking. Some guys didn't manage to get the loan so SA allocating it for me since mine has been approved.

Woohoo! =)
I'm hearing the same thing from SA as well. Hope to get my aluminium colored 508 within this week smile.gif What color is yours?
spcx
post Nov 21 2011, 03:56 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Nov 21 2011, 03:13 PM)
I'm hearing the same thing from SA as well. Hope to get my aluminium colored 508 within this week smile.gif What color is yours?
Pearl white rclxm9.gif
sleepy
post Nov 23 2011, 07:14 PM

1,139 posts

SA say this Friday can get car. But I'm not putting up high hopes, coz been let down too many times. See how it goes la. Will post some pics if really got it
TScybermaster98
post Nov 23 2011, 09:42 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Nov 23 2011, 07:14 PM)
SA say this Friday can get car. But I'm not putting up high hopes, coz been let down too many times. See how it goes la. Will post some pics if really got it
Please take front, rear, side, interior, rear legroom, engine, etc.
sleepy
post Nov 23 2011, 10:46 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 23 2011, 09:42 PM)
Please take front, rear, side, interior, rear legroom, engine, etc.
I've already seen/visit mine in its prison a couple times. The turbo unit there got some rust stain. SA says its normal? But already promised me the stain will be cleaned before delivery. Hmm. But just for curiosity sake, I went to the ampang showroom and noticed that the turbo unit on that one also has rust stains
skysky123
post Nov 24 2011, 04:17 PM

I just test drove 508 and RCZ like 30min ago at Peugeot Melaka. The one in Malim.

508:
This is my first time writing a review. I have no other car in same segment car to compare beside my mum's Camry 2.0L. So most comparison will be based on that.

Leg room: I'm 168cm and I got distance about two vertical fist of leg rooms at the backseat.

Driving: It's satisfactory for me and the acceleration is more responsive than the Camry. My mum complained about the acceleration noise made by the engine too. I think it's fine, but she insisted it's too loud(probably VVT on Camry accelerates really quiet). There are some acceptable level of road noise transmitted into the cabin too. The heads-up display can be turned off if needed. My mum thought it's distracting. =/

Suspension: It's stiffer than Camry, and my mum complained about it. It's sportier ride than Camry definitely. SA said might me the tyres pressure are too full and they haven't put at it's optimum level.

Build Quality: excellent. I like how it sounded when you close the door. Very solid kinda feelings. But the parking assist is faulty or some sort, so whenever I stepped on brake there's a some sound
headlight: The color of the bi-xenon headlight is like warm fluorescent light.(you know..not blue-ish)

Sound system is great. I like how feature-rich the car is, but my mum clearly doesn't care much them.

SA mentioned that the first batch of car is from Italy/Australia (sorry I can't remember) and hence the GPS is not usable. The 2nd batch will be arrived next month and it's from French. By then the GPS will be usable.

In all, I like the luxurious feelings inside and I think the power is more than enough for me for daily drivings(more responsive than Camry). There's little acceleration lag and shifting lag too just like most other auto cars that I drove before. Both are acceptable. I like all of the features in it.

RCZ:
The power just blew me away. It's the first coupe I drove. Can't believe it's both 1.6L engine. I drove the manual version and I think the clutch is too "high". Personally, when I drive manual car, I like to leave my heel attached to the floor of the car so that my foot can adjust how much to travel. For RCZ, the pedal of the car is higher than the brake and acceleration pedal. With my heel attached to the floor, my foot can't raise high enough to get the gear to engage. So, I have to move my entire leg for shifting, which caused the ride to be bumpy a bit at first gear. The acceleration is wonderful, I only get to use the 3rd gear and sped up to around 110/120km/h before my mum asked me to stop. She's scared I guess. XD It's my dream car.

Those are just my 2 cents. Don't shoot if I didn't say it right k. Just sharing my personal review. = )

This post has been edited by skysky123: Nov 25 2011, 01:09 AM
sleepy
post Nov 24 2011, 11:16 PM

1,139 posts

Huhu, car is coming out tomorrow in late afternoon. But too bad I'll be out of KL for a meeting with customer. Try to rush back before the showroom closes.

Btw, I'm getting free gifts. Hehe
spcx
post Nov 25 2011, 01:50 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Nov 24 2011, 11:16 PM)
Huhu, car is coming out tomorrow in late afternoon. But too bad I'll be out of KL for a meeting with customer. Try to rush back before the showroom closes.

Btw, I'm getting free gifts. Hehe
fuh receiving car on Saturday? Nice one! Haha I got to wait till next week sad.gif
sleepy
post Nov 25 2011, 07:01 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(spcx @ Nov 25 2011, 01:50 PM)
fuh receiving car on Saturday? Nice one! Haha I got to wait till next week sad.gif
Bro, here's a teaser laugh.gif

spcx
post Nov 25 2011, 08:44 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Nov 25 2011, 07:01 PM)
Bro, here's a teaser laugh.gif
OMG I HATE YOU.

How was the FIRST drive? biggrin.gif what free gifts you got? my SA damn kedekut one la.

reason i have to wait till next week is because the number I want is only coming out next week =(

This post has been edited by spcx: Nov 25 2011, 08:46 PM

29 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0517sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:19 AM