6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Peugeot 508, Ford Mondeo or VW Passat?, 3 good cars, 1 choice

TScybermaster98
post Oct 23 2011, 01:59 AM, updated 14y ago

4,440 posts

Alot has been said bout these 3 cars in various threads. Each car winning various awards worldwide. Lets see what you guys (and gals) have to say when given a choice to buy either one.

When you choose, please use the following criteria as a guide:

1) Price
2) Specs & safety features
3) Engine and transmission
4) Fuel consumption
5) Exterior & interior design
6) Build quality
7) After sales service standards
8) Maintenance costs
9) Warranty
10) Resale value

Lets limit the fanboy comments please. Let this thread be a more mature technical discussion rather than a fanboy playground. So please do your homework before commenting.

Cheers!
TScybermaster98
post Oct 23 2011, 02:51 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Oct 23 2011, 02:48 AM)
only one i know is winning awards is ford mondeo

the rest are just ok
Ford Mondeo was launched much earlier. Anyway, the others have won awards too. Google it up.
TScybermaster98
post Oct 23 2011, 02:50 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 23 2011, 01:01 PM)
Get Accord & Camry if you dunwan to be caught in no resale value and expensive maintenance
Well im a Toyota fan. But the 2012 Camry was a real disappointment in terms of design. But i think its gonna be a longer wait for we get the Camry since its gonna be CKD Malaysia.
TScybermaster98
post Oct 23 2011, 02:52 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(swissprecision @ Oct 23 2011, 09:46 AM)
Mondeo of course. Peugeot is still a problematic car and with Naza's rubbish back up service, you are better off with a Proton. Passat is abit pricey, but the weakest point is the dull design and a weak engine. Previous gen of Passat looked better and has a more premium feel.

Mondeo is fully engineered and designed in Europe to distance itself from Ford America - soft rubbish suspension with no steering feel.
Hows the feedback from other Peugeot owners about the after sales service? I thought Nasim was doing a better job than Sime Darby. Can someone clarify?
TScybermaster98
post Oct 25 2011, 01:57 AM

4,440 posts

I went to another showroom to see the Grey 508. I must say the more i see and sit in the 508, the more i like it. This time i brought some friends who were equally disappointed with the Passat 1.8. And they were really impressed with the 508. The specs in the 508 are truly top class. Sitting in the driver's seat surely gives u a false sense of driving a BMW 5 series or Audi.

Did u know it also has an Intelligent Airbag System? Only airbags at the point of impact deploy and you can also have secondary deployment for 2nd impact thanks to a power reservoir which lasts about 15 mins after first impact and fuel cut off. Cool eh? brows.gif

The touch sensor on the doors are also really cool. Imagine locking and winding up your windows just by moving the palm of your hand across the inner door handle. shocking.gif

TScybermaster98
post Oct 25 2011, 02:01 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Oct 24 2011, 12:54 AM)
anyway cybermaster, you better wait for the camry 2012, later you regret buying any of these 3 cars.

mana tahu camry 2012 is, 2.5 V6 engine. hehe. with CVT gear box, and For sure is Dual VVTi, but maybe no nice cool stuff like DRL, Quad zone aircond, JBL sound systems, or Bose sound Systems. But i am sure the minimum a camry 2012 will offer is at least, Electrical seats, driver passenger, 6 airbags, or maybe 2 only, keyless smart entry and a nice lcd touch screen that looks like after market. super comfortable suspensions, quiet ride, and 0 to 100kmh, who cares, camry what, you drive at your pace lah, tau keh mah,, no need to rush.

But at least camry is more like tau keh look lah, 508 more executive same as mondeo, Passat i cant categorize, So there you go, which category you fall into.

Tau keh, or executive.
Well the Camry was the 1st choice. Have been waiting for it since more than a year ago. But the looks and design were a real disappointment. So unless, a miracle happens, i dont think i would be getting a Camry.

But then again, the 508 is fully booked for the current shipment. The next shipment is only due to arrive sometime end Nov/ early Dec. I would prefer to wait for a 2012 model. The drop in resale value for these cars are really big so waiting a few months will be wise. Plus it gives me a chance to properly evaluate the after sales service and get some feedback from the 1st batch owners.
TScybermaster98
post Oct 25 2011, 08:33 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(spcx @ Oct 25 2011, 03:47 AM)
exactly. people really got to get into the 508 before commenting it's over priced / passat-mondeo is better etc. it's really nice, at least for me. smile.gif i booked the pearl white, meh now thinking whether i should get the haria grey instead. lol.
Yes but im surprised at Nasim's promotional efforts. Its almost non-existent. No big banners or the air-columns at many of their showrooms. They should get some ideas from Toyota and Honda. You see their cars being paraded everywhere from banners in common places, non stop promotions at all showrooms, billboards, continous newspaper adverts and even emails.

What has Nasim done? They now have a car capable of making huge inroads into the local car market and yet they prefer to sit and wait for customers to find out themselves and walk in. I stopped by the Peugeot Ipoh showroom yesterday and the salesmen there were virtually useless. They didnt even know that you could operate the power windows from the touch sensor on the door handle until i showed them. vmad.gif

If Nasim wants to be on par with the Japanese makes in the near future, they should start ramping up their promotional activities now.

I saw the Blue and Grey and i would say the Blue is more luxurious. Gives it a real up market kind of look. The other colors are far too common on the road these days especially the pearl white and grey. The grey looks 'tiring' after some time. I dont think its a color that would stand out for the next 5 years.

TScybermaster98
post Oct 25 2011, 08:39 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 08:07 AM)
laugh.gif yeah hor. i think camry 2012 still best..  laugh.gif
Have you seen and sat in the 508 or the Passat 1.8? Are you from KL? If you have the time, stop by the Peugeot showroom in TTDI. Look for a guy named Husaini and let him give you a tour of the car. Very knowledgeable guy and im sure ull be impressed with the car as i was.

Nobody knows what specs the Camry will come in but surely it won't be anywhere close to the 508, Mondeo or Passat. neither do we know its pricing. Besides, the Camry is only due next year. So for the time being lets talk about cars which are already in Malaysia.
TScybermaster98
post Oct 25 2011, 10:28 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 09:12 AM)
no need to tell me about pug experience ler, am sure in 2005, when I paid 160k for my 407 (when compared to what;s in the market at that time for similar price) I also felt the same way in terms of new car enthusiasm ..

at the moment, I don't need a 508, I already got 2 D segment japs..
160K for a 407 in 2005 was quite expensive i would say. Getting the 508 for RM169 in 2011 with the specs on offer is a good bargain if you ask me. Back in 2005, i would say the Japs would have still been a better choice. Not the same now in 2011. So we're not really comparing apples to apples eh? Go check out the 508.
TScybermaster98
post Oct 25 2011, 12:03 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 11:58 AM)
during dat time only got previous camry and previous akod.. compared to 407 where got nice ?

no need to lecture me on the 508 ler like never sit 150-200k car before meh.. is this your first time owning such price car?

you go buy the car drive 100-150k milage own for 3years then come tell me again the good and the bad etc, total ownership experience...
Uve gone on and on claiming this and that and till now you have not answered the main question: Have you seen or sat in the 508 or not?

So far ive seen all your comparisons are based on the 407. The 407 is no comparison with the 508 at all. Both are worlds apart with the 508 a much superior car. What cars have you owned in the 160-200K price range to make comparisons against? Your D segment Jap car is the Lancer GT?

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Oct 25 2011, 12:07 PM
TScybermaster98
post Oct 25 2011, 12:08 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 12:07 PM)
I didnt say 508 is bad car ler..

earlier posts, the 407 which i bought then was compared to then 2005 range of cars which I felt was also like now buying the 508 compared to the current crop of cars in the market for the same range.
please dun mix up. 407 (during 2005 time), now 508 (2011 time) ok? not to say in 2011, the 407 comparable to 508 .. LOL..
I didnt say Lancer GT was a D segment car. Did you see the question mark after the sentence? So what other 150-200K price range cars have you owned?

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Oct 25 2011, 12:09 PM
TScybermaster98
post Oct 25 2011, 12:12 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 12:10 PM)
from the past A33 (sold), 407 (sold), RX8, akod 2.4 , currently teana.
how about you then? what car u currently owned?
So whats your comparison between the Teana and the 508 then? Whats your thoughts? Which model Teana?

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Oct 25 2011, 12:35 PM
TScybermaster98
post Oct 25 2011, 01:11 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(spcx @ Oct 25 2011, 12:59 PM)
eh where in KL you saw the blue???
Peugeot TTDI. Do you know where i can see the Silver?
TScybermaster98
post Oct 27 2011, 09:00 AM

4,440 posts

So any comments regarding the after sales service standards of Nasim?
TScybermaster98
post Oct 27 2011, 03:14 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Oct 27 2011, 09:52 AM)
Bro if you want to gauge Nasim's after sales you should check out all the Pug 308 threads. That will give you an idea as well as being able to know any of the problems associated with the Prince 1.6 engine.
Cant seem to find them. Care to provide some links? Thanks
TScybermaster98
post Oct 28 2011, 08:19 AM

4,440 posts

Just to list down the spec list on the Peugeot 508 for your info:

1) 6 speed Tiptronic auto adaptive gearbox with Sports & Manual mode
2) 1.6L Twin Scroll High Pressure Turbo (THP) Prince engine with 156Hp, 240Nm
3) Latest generation Electronic Stability Program (ESP)
4) Anti Lock Braking System (ABS)
5) Electronic Brake Force Distribution (EBD)
6) Intelligent Traction Control System (ITCS)
7) Emergency Brake Assist (EBA)
8) Anti Skid Regulation (ASR)
9) 6 airbags
10) Intelligent Airbag System (separate impact deployment and secondary impact protection)
11) Automatic Electric Parking Brake
12) 4 individual zone auto air-conditioning (separate temp controls for both rear passengers)
13) Colour Heads – Up Display (HUD)
14) Auto Adaptive High Beam System (camera activated)
15) Directional bi – Xenon headlamps with washers & auto levelling system
16) Rain sensing auto wipers
17) Paddle Shifters on Steering Column
18) 10 speaker JBL sound system with 500W surround sound amplifier
19) Arkamsys Audio Processing System (creates natural central acoustic ambience plus has Favour Listening)
20) Intelligent keyless entry with finger sensor and push start button
21) 8 way electric power seats with lumbar support for driver & front passenger
22) 7” HD multi function colour screen
23) 10 front & rear parking sensors with visual display
24) Available Space Management system (ASM) (for parallel parking)
25) Speed sensing electro hydraulic power steering
26) Premium leather

TScybermaster98
post Oct 28 2011, 03:49 PM

4,440 posts

Hi Jeygan,

Have you sat in the Peugeot 508 and viewed it at the showroom?

Your 2.3L Mondeo has 159HP which is marginally more than the 508's 156HP but having a much lower torque than the 508. (208<240Nm)

How is the price or power compared to the 508 since u said the Mondeo is better?

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Oct 28 2011, 04:10 PM
TScybermaster98
post Oct 28 2011, 05:43 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(jeygan @ Oct 28 2011, 04:11 PM)
Nope I havent sat in a Peugeot 508 but have seen pictures, and the looks arent enticing. If it looks good for my eyes, then Il bother driving to the showroom. I bought mine for 149k. Yes mine has lower torque but its still considered powerful enuf for me. I am not a racer, just love to cruise at high speed. But arent we talking about Ecoboost?I felt the power during test drive.
Trust me. The pics dont do it justice. Even the photo on the brochure doesnt look nice. Go see the car in person and sit inside. Then lets see your comments. If ure in KL, head over to Peugeot TTDI. They have a nice dark blue unit there.

yes the Ecoboost does churn out some pretty good numbers.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Oct 28 2011, 05:47 PM
TScybermaster98
post Oct 28 2011, 05:45 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(TommyTan @ Oct 28 2011, 04:42 PM)
why bother, end of the day you'd just buy a camry like everyone else.

practical, resale value, easy service will win cos its just a tool.
Nope. If uve read my previous posts, u would have seen that im not really impressed with the upcoming Camry. Quite disappointed. Plus i dont think im prepared to wait till mid next year. So yes im giving this Peugeot some serious thought. Go check out the car in person. Ull be impressed.
TScybermaster98
post Oct 28 2011, 08:57 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Pogostik @ Oct 28 2011, 06:37 PM)
Does any of you check the wiper? The arrangement of the wiper. On 207, 308 and 3008, the arrangement of the wiper is for left-hand drive cars. I'm not sure about 508 though.
Not sure. Why?

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0595sec    0.34    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:53 PM