sorry for noob question. How to check my E367 signal on openwrt?
Tp Link TL-MR3420 3G/3.75G router owner club V1
Nov 2 2012, 09:52 PM
223 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
sorry for noob question. How to check my E367 signal on openwrt?
Nov 2 2012, 11:11 PM
480 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Nov 3 2012, 12:28 AM
root@OpenWrt:~# gcom sig /etc/ttyUSB1
Trying list of devices Signal Quality: 19,99 How do i read? |
Nov 3 2012, 12:44 AM
6,931 posts Joined: Apr 2011 From: Bolehland for sure ^_^ |
QUOTE(mushashi87 @ Nov 3 2012, 12:28 AM) QUOTE gcom returns the signal quality in RSSI (Received signal strength indication) and in BER (Bit error rate, reported in percent). A higher RSSI value represents a stronger signal - scale is from 0 to 99, where 1 is the lowest detectable signal and 31 a very good signal. Don't expect your signal to go all the way up to 99, though. If BER returns 99 it means not known or not detectable. Source from here Added on November 3, 2012, 12:46 amso mine is root@OpenWrt:~# gcom sig /etc/ttyUSB0 Trying list of devices Signal Quality: 29,99 so i guess mine consider super good already since 31 is quite max ? Added on November 3, 2012, 12:48 am QUOTE(kizwan @ Nov 1 2012, 10:04 PM) Kizwan:QUOTE gcom returns the signal quality in RSSI (Received signal strength indication) and in BER (Bit error rate, reported in percent). A higher RSSI value represents a stronger signal - scale is from 0 to 99, where 1 is the lowest detectable signal and 31 a very good signal. Don't expect your signal to go all the way up to 99, though. If BER returns 99 it means not known or not detectable. This post has been edited by chuahcs79: Nov 3 2012, 12:48 AM |
Nov 3 2012, 01:04 AM
ahh shet means mine is damn low....... Thanks for the info bro
Nov 3 2012, 01:07 AM
Nov 3 2012, 02:15 AM
Bro any idea which length of USB 2.0 Extension should i get from MR3420?? That will not effect the power output. I am doing the Soya Bean box method now directly plug in from modem only seems like signal dropping dramatically.
Nov 3 2012, 08:41 AM
QUOTE(mushashi87 @ Nov 3 2012, 02:15 AM) Bro any idea which length of USB 2.0 Extension should i get from MR3420?? That will not effect the power output. I am doing the Soya Bean box method now directly plug in from modem only seems like signal dropping dramatically. is the modem itself quite warm /hot ?temperature will cost signal drop due to reflect signal method also reflect heat at the same time while reflect signal |
Nov 3 2012, 08:59 AM
334 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
Got this error when tried to update list
CODE Downloading http://downloads.openwrt.org/attitude_adjustment/12.09-beta/ar71xx/generic/packages/Packages.gz. wget: bad address 'downloads.openwrt.org' Collected errors: * opkg_download: Failed to download http://downloads.openwrt.org/attitude_adjustment/12.09-beta/ar71xx/generic/packages/Packages.gz, wget returned 1. Try changed first line to this also error both 3G connection and extra LAN connection CODE #src/gz attitude_adjustment http://downloads.openwrt.org/snapshots/trunk/ar71xx/packages src/gz attitude_adjustment http://downloads.openwrt.org/attitude_adjustment/12.09-beta/ar71xx/generic/packages After I typed ":", "w", "q" and pressed "Enter" nothing happen only this line appear "root@OpenWrt:~#" with blinking green.Is it ok? |
Nov 3 2012, 09:08 AM
QUOTE(caterpiez @ Nov 3 2012, 08:59 AM) Got this error when tried to update list nothing will happen on screen after u type : w q,CODE Downloading http://downloads.openwrt.org/attitude_adjustment/12.09-beta/ar71xx/generic/packages/Packages.gz. wget: bad address 'downloads.openwrt.org' Collected errors: * opkg_download: Failed to download http://downloads.openwrt.org/attitude_adjustment/12.09-beta/ar71xx/generic/packages/Packages.gz, wget returned 1. Try changed first line to this also error both 3G connection and extra LAN connection CODE #src/gz attitude_adjustment http://downloads.openwrt.org/snapshots/trunk/ar71xx/packages src/gz attitude_adjustment http://downloads.openwrt.org/attitude_adjustment/12.09-beta/ar71xx/generic/packages After I typed ":", "w", "q" and pressed "Enter" nothing happen only this line appear "root@OpenWrt:~#" with blinking green.Is it ok? after you type that, u need to straight login 192.168.1.1 in our browser and update list then install packages the video tutor is on first pages, if you follow the step correctly u shouldn't have bad address response This post has been edited by chuahcs79: Nov 3 2012, 09:13 AM |
Nov 3 2012, 09:38 AM
406 posts Joined: Sep 2010 From: Papar, Sabah |
a revelation to me.. for area with dire indoor coverage.. u can use ur mr3420 antenna to have better 3g coverage.. lol.. just found out last nite..
Nov 3 2012, 11:39 AM
1,019 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Nov 3 2012, 01:07 AM) you are most welcome, glad to help,.. really thanks to you on your recommendation. E372 download speed is about 3 times faster than my previous MF190.i guess my signal is fine, just try to make the connection stable down This post has been edited by chulk: Nov 3 2012, 11:41 AM |
Nov 3 2012, 11:51 AM
376 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
QUOTE(khairilyazit @ Nov 3 2012, 09:38 AM) a revelation to me.. for area with dire indoor coverage.. u can use ur mr3420 antenna to have better 3g coverage.. lol.. just found out last nite.. really? and how do you do that?? right now im using an external patch antenna to connect to my e367, still getting 29% on mr3420....pls teach me how to do the enhancement that you mention and anyone know how to lock my 367 to always stay on hspa+? i can do it using the mdma but when i connect to mr3420, it tends to connect to 3g only (384kbps)... This post has been edited by aliex87: Nov 3 2012, 11:59 AM |
Nov 3 2012, 01:42 PM
406 posts Joined: Sep 2010 From: Papar, Sabah |
QUOTE(aliex87 @ Nov 3 2012, 11:51 AM) really? and how do you do that?? right now im using an external patch antenna to connect to my e367, still getting 29% on mr3420....pls teach me how to do the enhancement that you mention its not an enhancement.. just poking around yesterday.. the patch antenna is much better if u place it correctly.. use the adapter for ur patch antenna n connect it to the 3420 antenna.. u have to remove it from the router obviously..and anyone know how to lock my 367 to always stay on hspa+? i can do it using the mdma but when i connect to mr3420, it tends to connect to 3g only (384kbps)... |
Nov 3 2012, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Nov 3 2012, 08:41 AM) is the modem itself quite warm /hot ? I have a cooler pad for my MR3420 so its not really that hot. Since i did not open the cover still consider warm.temperature will cost signal drop due to reflect signal method also reflect heat at the same time while reflect signal |
Nov 3 2012, 02:42 PM
Nov 3 2012, 06:55 PM
334 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Nov 3 2012, 09:08 AM) nothing will happen on screen after u type : w q, Still not working.give up already after you type that, u need to straight login 192.168.1.1 in our browser and update list then install packages the video tutor is on first pages, if you follow the step correctly u shouldn't have bad address response first I thought maybe I refreshed the page after changed the password so maybe the PuTTy effect not taken yet.Tried again this evening by open new tab and login 192.168.1.1 but still same error |
Nov 3 2012, 08:03 PM
8,025 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Planet Boleland |
MR3420 V2, simple and short review Rm85 @ LYP Nothing special, just cooler, no need extra fan, you see its bottom and you understands why no need fan. Another good feature, Side modem plug-in, better reception compared to V1 (back plug-in). » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «
Nov 3 2012, 08:32 PM
QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 3 2012, 08:03 PM) MR3420 V2, simple and short review
Rm85 @ LYP Nothing special, just cooler, no need extra fan, you see its bottom and you understands why no need fan. Another good feature, Side modem plug-in, better reception compared to V1 (back plug-in). » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « too bad some more best at standing straight for better reception,of course design wise improve a lot, waiting for openwrt to hit this model |
Nov 3 2012, 08:57 PM
8,025 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Planet Boleland |
@Chuah,
You should try Tomato firmware on Asus RT-N15u, rm189, support 3GUSB modem http://www.linksysinfo.org/index.php?threa...y-tomato.37175/ This post has been edited by digilife: Nov 3 2012, 09:04 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0345sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:19 PM |