176 Pages « < 83 84 85 86 87 > » Bottom

Enterprise Networking Mikrotik Routers (RouterBoard & RouterOS), User and owner discussion group

skywardsword
post Aug 23 2018, 07:21 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(ahpingko @ Aug 23 2018, 05:59 PM)
I created a discussion thread above looking for device for my Unifi Turbo upgrade..

After surveying, based on the reviews.. it seemed that hAP Ac is a good equipment to replace my Archer C2+powerline.. but just wanna ask more opinion here on the hAP AC..

is it strong enough to first floor? the location that i will be putting the hAP AC is together with the Unifi BTU (Alcatel) at ground floor middle of the house..
My experience, with Asus rt-ac86u, tplink- c7(bought from usa), tplinkc5(tm provided) and numerous other modems and wireless router... I can tell you this much, there is no one router that can successfully penetrate 2 brick walls and still maintain good signal for 5ghz, for 2.4ghz, you might get 50mbps if your lucky.

Thats it.

If you are serious about getting >500mbps on every floor and 90% of the area including toilets, where you need to watch Yanxi while pooping.... Please get a mikrotik router, mikrotik poe switch plus multiple mikrotik CAP AC(access point for each room ) plus spend money or DIY cat 6 or greater cable.

I am now working hard saving money so I can get the RB4011(probably release in 1 year, plus CAP AC(or AC2) in couple of years. Damage will be close to rm2500(roughly calculated), I already got 70% of the cabling done partially DIY, partially done by my electrician.

For you, I recommend at least 1 Access point per floor.... concrete floor with the iron rebars are not exactly very penetrable for WIFI signal much less for 5ghz signal which is difinately needed.

Another thing, you need to upgrade your phone, notebook, computer to the latest that enables MIMO, gigabit connection ect. 1st generation client phone wireless AC is very shitty.... will keep disconnecting one. Dont bother connected wirelss AC with those early AC devices. even my Huawei P9, the wireless AC is the shittiest thing ever.

I got a recent xiaomi that did better that it.

That said. I am quite spoiled with the asus rt-ac86u. I like the AI protection, the multiple VPN connection that I am running, dns filtering, multiple guest networks. I may never upgrade to the mikrotik(but it is a dream). I think single device wise, it is good, I can even connect wirelss AC to xiaomi tv box from upstairs where the router is to down stairs where the tv box is. But dont expect all device to connect that well, thats why I want to get multiple Access point, and manage it centrally and disconnected low signal and so the client can reconnect to a stronger signal.

This post has been edited by skywardsword: Aug 23 2018, 07:25 PM
ahpingko
post Aug 23 2018, 09:55 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

but also takut to straight buy one hAP AC because it costs rm550+.. what if the coverage also not good..then defeat the purpose also.. any shop that can let u try first.. lol
System Error Message
post Aug 24 2018, 05:42 AM

1,781 posts

QUOTE(ahpingko @ Aug 23 2018, 09:55 PM)
but also takut to straight buy one hAP AC because it costs rm550+.. what if the coverage also not good..then defeat the purpose also.. any shop that can let u try first.. lol
both mikrotik and ubiquiti APs are powerful, have good coverage, but no point if your device is not powerful enough to talk back.
ahpingko
post Aug 24 2018, 11:39 AM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

Anyone using hAP AC with time 500mbps or higher? Any review when connected via the wireless?..what is the real speed u get and ur distance to router?
charymsylyn
post Aug 24 2018, 12:42 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jul 31 2018, 02:34 PM)
Sorry, I haven’t had time to really answer this. I just do the easy one first.

admin-mac for a bridge must be one of the ports in the bridge. If you’re not sure, remove admin-mac=xxx and just use auto-mac=yes. ROS will choose the first available port. The reason I set admin-mac is because when it’s on auto-mac, the MAC address of the bridges changes sometimes. Mikrotik support says auto-mac will choose the first available port in the bridge and it can be any of the ports.

As for my example for the vlan trunk. I use 2 different methods.

On the first router, I used vlans and bridges. On the 2nd router I used the switch features. This is just me messing around and for educational purposes. You don’t have to follow exactly.

What I recommend is just use vlan and bridges for both routers to establish the trunk. Essentially the vlan, bridge, ports config for router1 is the same for router2. More or less lah, the ports might be different.
Hi soonwai,

Thanks for helping me so far. I fell down late last month and hurt my back so it's currently tough for me to sit down for long periods. I can lie down and browse LYN on my phone on my Turbo-ed Unifi so that's what I've been doing so far. biggrin.gif

I came across one of your older posting (https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4515759&st=0&p=87871705&#entry87871705) and looked at klseet's site referenced (https://klseet.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=94&Itemid=88) and I tried my best to follow it but I keep getting error about port in use when adding things under Bridge > Ports. I believe this has something to do with the recent bridge master changes in newer ROS versions thus guides based on old versions needs to be changed to suit the new way of doing things.

After spending some time to digest the guides and manual, I've come up with this:
CODE
/interface bridge
add auto-mac=yes name=STBInternet vlan-filtering=yes

/interface bridge vlan
add bridge=STBInternet tagged=VLAN500 untagged=ether1 vlan-ids=500
add bridge=STBInternet tagged=VLAN600 untagged=ether1 vlan-ids=600

I hope you can tell me if this is correct for my ac2 before I start screwing around with my ac lite. Or at least whether I'm along the right direction. Thanks again.

This post has been edited by charymsylyn: Aug 24 2018, 03:00 PM
ahpingko
post Aug 25 2018, 12:42 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

Anyone got experience to configure two unit of Mikrotik hAP AC to work as a mesh network like asus lyra with dedicated backhaul?
CloudComputer
post Aug 29 2018, 06:13 PM

257 posts

Removed by request.

This post has been edited by CloudComputer: Aug 30 2018, 10:46 PM
CloudComputer
post Aug 29 2018, 06:16 PM

257 posts

Removed by request.

This post has been edited by CloudComputer: Aug 30 2018, 10:47 PM
skywardsword
post Aug 29 2018, 06:56 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(CloudComputer @ Aug 29 2018, 06:16 PM)
It also comes with wireless variant. nod.gif

Dual band, four chain with data rate of up to 1733 Mbps in 5GHz and dual chain in 2GHz.
Omg the specs are so frecking good¡

Brb I need to go .

Edit: all port throughput of almost 10gigabits. Means there is lots of headway for local lan, this is great. Even with vpn can hit 2gigabits, sweet mother for wan connection!

So when is the stock arriving? This will be a hot seller!

Edit 2. .. just checked out the rb1100*x4 and the rb4011 max throughput beat it.

This post has been edited by skywardsword: Aug 30 2018, 10:02 AM
post Aug 30 2018, 07:36 PM

176 posts

Hi , just bought hAP ac2 , having problem with WiFi speed test poor speed . Mine Unifi turbo 500Mbps.
Actual speed test only like 80 to 100Mbps using Note 8.
Few feet distance.Wifi connection to 5Ghz.Some time even worst 40 to 50Mbps only . Connection was really unstable , not sure why .
TPlink ac1200 I able to get around 260 to 270Mbps.
I need some expert advice .. setting issue ??

done iperf3 , the result :

This post has been edited by 2323: Aug 30 2018, 09:42 PM

jio
post Aug 30 2018, 08:45 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(2323 @ Aug 30 2018, 07:36 PM)
Hi , just bought hAP ac2 , having problem with WiFi speed test poor speed . Mine Unifi turbo 500Mbps.
Few feet distance.Wifi connection to 5Ghz.Some time even worst 40 to 50Mbps only . Connection was really unstable , not sure why .

If you haven't update the firmware, please do so asap. The initial firmware has severe wifi performance issue.
post Aug 30 2018, 09:45 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(jio @ Aug 30 2018, 08:45 PM)
If you haven't update the firmware, please do so asap. The initial firmware has severe wifi performance issue.
i did the latest firmware update not much difference . i think maybe the device is having hardware issue ! cry.gif

This post has been edited by 2323: Aug 30 2018, 10:50 PM
jio
post Aug 30 2018, 11:05 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(2323 @ Aug 30 2018, 09:45 PM)
i did the latest firmware update not much difference . i think maybe the device is having hardware issue !  cry.gif
If you are on 6.42.7, then could be setting or compatibility issue. If you using 6.40.9, I don't think it had the wifi throughput fix.
ssslayerrr
post Aug 31 2018, 10:00 AM

805 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 20 2018, 08:56 PM)
Can't wait for this.

SFP port is SFP+, nice. 10 gigabit ports is actually 10 x gigabit ports. At first I read that as 10 x 10GBe ports. LOL. Looks like Annapurna 4-core CPU, maybe same as RB1100AHx4?

4 external 5 Ghz antennas, outer 2 are shared with 2Ghz.

Similar design to the RB2011.

More info here: https://fccid.io/TV74011GS-5HQ2HD
https://files.i4wifi.cz/inc/_doc/attach/Sto...HacQ2HnD_IN.pdf
jianwei87
post Aug 31 2018, 10:11 AM

481 posts

Any tutorial for OpenVPN server on Mikrotik?
Andy72
post Aug 31 2018, 10:14 AM

106 posts

You are running iperf using a single stream. That will not maximise your Wifi usage. You need to add the -P xx parameter like so:

@ECHO Processing. Please wait...
@FOR /F "tokens=6" %%a in ('iperf3 -c 192.168.xx.xx -P 16 ^| findstr /I /L "[SUM]" ^| sort /+40') DO @SET @v=%%a
@ECHO Max link speed: %@v% Mbps
@pause

Paste the above script in a .bat or .cmd file and run it. It will return the max speed reported by iperf

cyberic
post Sep 6 2018, 11:50 AM

1,131 posts

When this will available in Malaysia. Too late for me, already bought other Mikrotik router.

USD 249 (Wifi)
https://mikrotik.com/product/rb4011igs_5hacq2hnd_in

USD 199
https://mikrotik.com/product/rb4011igs_rm
MX510
post Sep 17 2018, 08:31 PM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,038 posts

Try enable

https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Fast_Path

https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:IP/Fasttrack

Anyone else got turbofied ?

rioven
post Sep 17 2018, 09:04 PM

975 posts

Me also have problem wifi speed on hap ac2, TM tplink router (c5) is much consistent on wifi, on wired no problem. My test on
1) samsung s9 - on c5 can reach 200++, hap ac2 around 160
2) laptop 1x1 ac wifi - on c5 around 140-150, hap ac2 around 110
Using ROS 6.42.7, bandwidth 80Mhz, without fastrack (but during speedtest, hap ac2 cpu utilization is around 25% iirc without fasttrack).

p/s: might not right method because me rely only on speedtest, but 95% that tplink really beat hap ac2 wifi speed
MX510
post Sep 18 2018, 06:53 AM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,038 posts

QUOTE(rioven @ Sep 17 2018, 09:04 PM)
Me also have problem wifi speed on hap ac2, TM tplink router (c5) is much consistent on wifi, on wired no problem. My test on
1) samsung s9 - on c5 can reach 200++, hap ac2 around 160
2) laptop 1x1 ac wifi - on c5 around 140-150, hap ac2 around 110
Using ROS 6.42.7, bandwidth 80Mhz, without fastrack (but during speedtest, hap ac2 cpu utilization is around 25% iirc without fasttrack).

p/s: might not right method because me rely only on speedtest, but 95% that tplink really beat hap ac2 wifi speed
Try again with fastrack enabled :-)

176 Pages « < 83 84 85 86 87 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:39 PM