Enterprise Networking Mikrotik Routers (RouterBoard & RouterOS), User and owner discussion group

skywardsword
post Feb 25 2017, 07:28 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 25 2017, 01:55 AM)
Hi soonwai, seems to be a prob with ROS. All the way up to 6.39rc33. Reply from support:
CODE
We found the problem. RSTP currently does not work together with VLAN configurations on small 5 port Atheros switch chips. You will have to either disable RSTP or reconfigure VLANs with bridges if RSTP is necessary.

Oh dear, talking to myself again...  whistling.gif
No worries we are reading u. Just not yet reply since I don't have mikrotik yet. Waiting for rb2011 with ac.
skywardsword
post Aug 20 2018, 05:29 PM

680 posts

Omg 4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD-IN-US

I can decipher.

10gigabit port.
1SFP
4CHAIN WIRELESS 5ghz
2chain wireless 2.4ghz

In time for 800mbps? I will relegate the asus86ac to secondary WiFi duty.

I want to get another 4 cap AC to go with this
skywardsword
post Aug 20 2018, 10:07 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(System Error Message @ Aug 20 2018, 07:40 PM)
no such thing is that 4011, i searched.
However i did find https://mikrotik.com/product/wireless_wire which says it has a range of 200meters or more, so for those who want gigabit speeds without powerline or wifi, this is the answer, or if you want unifi at some other address and beam to your address, i think line of sight is important too which is useful if your condo(fake in malaysia)/apartment has VDSL and you want fiber optic unifi to one of the homes nearby.
It is not 100% released, FCC filing only at the beginning of august 2018. Mikrotik is keeping mum too, removed thread on the forum regarding it. I saw it in the rb3011 thread.

I think with 2 months of absence for the mikrotik newsletter Sept 2018 could finally bring the good news to alot of network gear enthusiast.
QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 20 2018, 08:56 PM)
Can't wait for this.

SFP port is SFP+, nice. 10 gigabit ports is actually 10 x gigabit ports. At first I read that as 10 x 10GBe ports. LOL. Looks like Annapurna 4-core CPU, maybe same as RB1100AHx4?

4 external 5 Ghz antennas, outer 2 are shared with 2Ghz.

Similar design to the RB2011.

More info here: https://fccid.io/TV74011GS-5HQ2HD
I jizzed if it is even 2.5gigabit port.... hahah 10GbE port flex.gif flex.gif flex.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

in anycase SFP+ can be used to connect to a 10 port switch for more expansion? What is SFP+?
skywardsword
post Aug 21 2018, 07:39 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(System Error Message @ Aug 20 2018, 11:07 PM)
10Gb SFP . SFP is normally 1.25Gb.
I hope you know what SFP is.

Im hoping mikrotik will use the updated Tilera architecture now owned and released by mellanox replacing their MIPS like manycore with ARM instead, but it'd have to be clocked higher than the Tilegx CPUs just to get an edge as MIPS is faster than ARM for NAT and routing clock per clock, this has been tested. So at the same clocks and core count, MIPS is faster than ARM for networking but ARM is faster when running software or if you need VPN, proxying and so on, basically will run dude better.
Small form factor pluggable port. Can be expanded with fiber or normal Ethernet port. Haha something like that.
skywardsword
post Aug 22 2018, 09:20 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(System Error Message @ Aug 20 2018, 07:40 PM)
no such thing is that 4011, i searched.
However i did find https://mikrotik.com/product/wireless_wire which says it has a range of 200meters or more, so for those who want gigabit speeds without powerline or wifi, this is the answer, or if you want unifi at some other address and beam to your address, i think line of sight is important too which is useful if your condo(fake in malaysia)/apartment has VDSL and you want fiber optic unifi to one of the homes nearby.
Look what I found.

http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/sear...1&hl=en&ct=clnk

Because RB4011 was publicly disclosed by FCC, I made new common thread about 4011 series.
At this time, only desktop wireless version of RB4011 was presented, so all info based on it

What we know for now about RB4011:

1.Desktop wireless version. External photos:
front.jpg
top.jpg
back.jpg
Bottom.jpg.

2.Desktop wireless version. Internal photos:
PCB top with shields and card.jpg
PCB top.jpg
PCB back.jpg.

3. Model Name: RB4011iGs+5HacQ2HnD-IN (RB4011iGs+5HacQ2HnD-IN-US for USA market)
Based on mikrotik naming scheme:
RB4011 – family
iGS – PoE (i)n, (G)igabit Ethernet, (S)FP;
5HacQ2HnD - dual-band wireless with onboard 5 Ghz 802.11ac quad chain with high output (wow, but no ac wave2, no MU-MIMO, as RouterOS not yet support it), and mini-pcie card R11e (2.4Ghz 2x2 802.11n). Not bad. And about anthennas - according to FCC docs, 4 x 3dbi omni (look at photo)

4. Max power consuption: 33 W.

5. Power supply and PoE: 18-57v with jack or PoE in via Ether1. According to photo, Ether10 capable to PoE-Out (PoE passthrough?)

6. Switches - according to mainboard photo, two Realtek switches.

7. CPU - according to mainboard photo, sample build on Amazon Annapurna Labs Alpine CPU, but CPU model remains unknown. RB1100ahx4 also use Alpine CPU, so, theoretically, 4011 have onboard more cheap and slow version that rb1100ahx4.

8. RAM - unknown.

9. Flash - unknown.

Maybe @normis or other MT guys can drop some light about full tech specs?
skywardsword
post Aug 22 2018, 12:18 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 22 2018, 12:15 PM)
The "i" in the name is actually for PoE-Out. Hopefully more than one PoE port but at least one. And there's also a console RJ45 port at the back.

I wonder if can swap the R11e-2HPnD out for an R11e-LTE card.
Having fun trying to figure out what is the feature of the mikrotik router using its model serial. Haha, yeah I also like to have 2-3 Poe out. For CAP AC expansion. Finally being able to good coverage and let the routers and AP drop connection that are too low in signal strenght.

the R11e-LTE card is like your own personal LTE network?

This post has been edited by skywardsword: Aug 22 2018, 12:22 PM
skywardsword
post Aug 23 2018, 07:21 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(ahpingko @ Aug 23 2018, 05:59 PM)
I created a discussion thread above looking for device for my Unifi Turbo upgrade..

After surveying, based on the reviews.. it seemed that hAP Ac is a good equipment to replace my Archer C2+powerline.. but just wanna ask more opinion here on the hAP AC..

is it strong enough to first floor? the location that i will be putting the hAP AC is together with the Unifi BTU (Alcatel) at ground floor middle of the house..
My experience, with Asus rt-ac86u, tplink- c7(bought from usa), tplinkc5(tm provided) and numerous other modems and wireless router... I can tell you this much, there is no one router that can successfully penetrate 2 brick walls and still maintain good signal for 5ghz, for 2.4ghz, you might get 50mbps if your lucky.

Thats it.

If you are serious about getting >500mbps on every floor and 90% of the area including toilets, where you need to watch Yanxi while pooping.... Please get a mikrotik router, mikrotik poe switch plus multiple mikrotik CAP AC(access point for each room ) plus spend money or DIY cat 6 or greater cable.

I am now working hard saving money so I can get the RB4011(probably release in 1 year, plus CAP AC(or AC2) in couple of years. Damage will be close to rm2500(roughly calculated), I already got 70% of the cabling done partially DIY, partially done by my electrician.

For you, I recommend at least 1 Access point per floor.... concrete floor with the iron rebars are not exactly very penetrable for WIFI signal much less for 5ghz signal which is difinately needed.

Another thing, you need to upgrade your phone, notebook, computer to the latest that enables MIMO, gigabit connection ect. 1st generation client phone wireless AC is very shitty.... will keep disconnecting one. Dont bother connected wirelss AC with those early AC devices. even my Huawei P9, the wireless AC is the shittiest thing ever.

I got a recent xiaomi that did better that it.

That said. I am quite spoiled with the asus rt-ac86u. I like the AI protection, the multiple VPN connection that I am running, dns filtering, multiple guest networks. I may never upgrade to the mikrotik(but it is a dream). I think single device wise, it is good, I can even connect wirelss AC to xiaomi tv box from upstairs where the router is to down stairs where the tv box is. But dont expect all device to connect that well, thats why I want to get multiple Access point, and manage it centrally and disconnected low signal and so the client can reconnect to a stronger signal.

This post has been edited by skywardsword: Aug 23 2018, 07:25 PM
skywardsword
post Aug 29 2018, 06:56 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(CloudComputer @ Aug 29 2018, 06:16 PM)
It also comes with wireless variant. nod.gif

Dual band, four chain with data rate of up to 1733 Mbps in 5GHz and dual chain in 2GHz.
Omg the specs are so frecking good¡

Brb I need to go .

Edit: all port throughput of almost 10gigabits. Means there is lots of headway for local lan, this is great. Even with vpn can hit 2gigabits, sweet mother for wan connection!

So when is the stock arriving? This will be a hot seller!

Edit 2. .. just checked out the rb1100*x4 and the rb4011 max throughput beat it.

This post has been edited by skywardsword: Aug 30 2018, 10:02 AM
skywardsword
post Nov 14 2020, 10:24 PM

680 posts

Wowee, manage to set up the Ambience that I gifted to a family. Almost did not get it set up. The quick set up did not work. Luckily managed to find the password for the maxis router via some router view software.

Had to manually set up vlan to 621 and use port two of the BTU.... So exciting. The range is super good. Wireless ac from the 2nd floor...thru a concrete floor.
skywardsword
post Nov 17 2020, 05:05 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Nov 17 2020, 04:55 PM)
most likely no? my HAP ac^2 running fine, around 20-30% utilisation when running full 300Mbps without fast track + ~30 mangle rules laugh.gif using it with wifi disabled, just routing. wifi all handled by Aruba APs
single ambience or multiple?

wanted to go for Mikrotik AP (cAP AC) but their wireless implementation really lacking sweat.gif plus I had a lot of problem with mDNS (HomeKit devices no response) with my previous mikrotik AP + apple time capsule, need to periodically switch on/off the wifi to get HomeKit devices to sync back
oh dear you serious? their wireless implementation is bad? argh. I was having trouble with the quick setup. but after I got it going using manual setup. so far no complain from the family I gifted it.

I went with just one ambience as it is only a double storey semi-D. I think it is over kill, but since it as mesh, I figured maybe it might be upgradable eventually. Furthermore, the internet connection for the family is at 30mbps... so it is definitely over kill. <I suggested to upgrade to 100mbps if TM or Maxis give good offer >

I got it at rm 599 - for the ambience. so I think ok lah. <<I have no idea why it is so cheap... seem like cheaper then RRP>>> competition from Xiaomi and others??
skywardsword
post Nov 17 2020, 08:51 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Nov 17 2020, 06:02 PM)
yea, lots of wave2 features missing (some are available on beta firmware, have't tried them though). I used to do quick setup when I first got into Mikrotik but its better to wipe clean and do it manually smile.gif

how big is the semi-D? could you share the layout and some wifi analysis data? I could only barely cover mine with 2x Aruba AP11 APs on each floor (more details here https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5055919), probably the brick walls too thick laugh.gif

I guess you bought it from sublime telecom? laugh.gif I got all my Mikrotik fix from them, usually the cheapest + pretty near to my place, easy to COD at their office
today just got my hands on Aruba WiFi6 AP, haven't plan out the new AP layout. hopefully after testing the potential layouts, I don't have to resort into putting an AP in every room sweat.gif

yeah from subtel. I think the house is about 5k sq ft, ground and 1st floor. so not exactly super big. most rooms get coverage and signals pass thru 1 concrete floor and 1 brick wall. and the router is right in the middle of the house.

I did not run any test other then the simple speed test... and got 30mbps up and down. that is the max for the maxis fiber connection at that place. *** to be honest, it is not even taxing 10% of what this is capable right?

(the general feel, upgrading from the maxis tplink router is, that it feels snappy. )

Sometimes WIFI also affected by an old TV set(that your neighbour have) or other interference, or an old refrigerator ect ect. so not necessary your Aruba is not good enough. hahaha.

From what I can tell, just one ambience is more then enough at this location. (but in future if go up to 800mbps or 1gbps. maybe a 2nd mesh is needed)

@ heidarren

... any particular reason it is being cleared out?

This post has been edited by skywardsword: Nov 17 2020, 08:52 PM
skywardsword
post Nov 17 2020, 10:37 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Nov 17 2020, 10:04 PM)
eh? isn't 5k sq ft like huge? laugh.gif mine idk how big but already hard to cover with only 3 AP running at max TX, all ceiling mounted.
hopefully can get my hands on one to test out its capability in my house laugh.gif
It is an old house. But got some renovation, so practically no grass in the "house", 5k sq ft is my estimate, including the front for parking cars. anyhow, it is not a mansion.

However, since the fiber only have 30mbps... cannot really give you a good idea of how good it is. I bought it because, it is hopefully stable, and dont require to restart every day. Not because of speed. But the spread of the signal is important.

My own house only have 100mbps...(but since I gifted it out... I also cannot test it lah)
skywardsword
post Jul 24 2025, 11:42 PM

680 posts

Been at least 1 year since I post on this Mikrotik thread...probably.

so my routerOs was probably up and running for close to 1 year in mostly default setting. finally, turn on Tx-flow control, off the fast track in firewall rules, set the queue type - mq-large >mqpfifo to 4096 queue size, plus set simple queue for Wan-sqm to max 300M/50M burst 400M/80M. finally - I have very low drop packets, and passed the Bufferbloat test with an A grade! yup... I was slow... but finally got this hobby of mine to work... ladies and Gentleman... pls use a co-pilot or some AI chat if you are clueless like me. but definitely a very steep learning curve and need the help of AI to really get me up to speed. BTW --- one major thing I had to do was recrimp all my Cat5e cable's RJ45 crystal head... making sure the untwisted pair is <5mm to the point of crimp. helped alot.

edit: my equipment is as follow.

TM-fiber unit.

L009UiGS-2HaxD
CapAx - 1 unit.
HapAx2 - 2 unit.

linksys 10 poe switch.

This post has been edited by skywardsword: Jul 24 2025, 11:45 PM
skywardsword
post Aug 20 2025, 11:01 AM

680 posts

The last time, I posted when I achieved buffer bloat grade A.

Today, I am posting because I finally got Adguard container up and running on my L009UiGS-2HaxD(arm). took me at least two weeks and had to view the network berg many times and also seek co-pilot help to finally get it to work. Also bought a kingston kyson 512gb(over provision, rm126), I only finally got it to work, after I ask co-pilot, "how do I setup my Adguard on mikrotik> step by step" yes network berg is quite detailed, but my firewall setting had tiny mistake in it, I think... specifically the NAT>dstnat>udp>53> LAN(I did not specify this before) > redirect > 53.

2. I also Uncheck "allow remote requests"
3. Disable Use Peer DNS under DHCP client...

after that Adguard was up and running like normal. but the Adguardtest page still say my Adguard is offline.

Even now I feel I may have missed out some setting in my firewall settings and I feel so insecure...

I am doing this Adguard mainly because my household, got children and old folks who constantly getting bombarded by Ads which I feel they may not understand or is dodgy... and I am too occuppied most of the time to monitor them, even though I set timer for them to be on tv/youtube /youtubekids...

skywardsword
post Sep 24 2025, 01:10 PM

680 posts

after updating to the routerOs v7.19.6... one of my hap Ax2 no longer randomly offline the Wifi 2.4 and 5ghz....

skywardsword
post Oct 3 2025, 08:22 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Oct 2 2025, 12:51 PM)
In your pppoe client, set:
Max MTU 1500
Max MRU 1500
Delete Keepalive Timeout
just updated to V7.20 and the winbox3.43 or it will not connect.

also updated the MTU and MRU to 1500.

I am not quite sure, I was having issue when it stayed at 1480... is it with lost package?
skywardsword
post Oct 3 2025, 08:38 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Oct 3 2025, 08:29 PM)
I am not sure about winbox as I don't use it.

Is your MRU = 1500 and MTU = 1492 now?

Actually all connections with MTU less than 1500 requires special handling. In Mikrotik, the default firewall rule perform MSS Clamping, but it only works for TCP connections.
Later on the PPPoE profile provided this without firewall rules.

By right when your MRU is 1500, half your problem is gone.
you may be right. previously when I set up Wireguard... it was like sluggish or not working correctly, I cannot upload files or create folders.... I just tested it and it works. wireguard mtu is only 1420.

Interface pppoe out1... actual MTU 1492

set Max MTU 1500
Max MRU 1500 as per your advise.

yup MRU is 1500 --- I went into the status tab to see it.

This post has been edited by skywardsword: Oct 3 2025, 08:39 PM
skywardsword
post Oct 3 2025, 10:03 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Oct 3 2025, 09:12 PM)
It is only 60 bytes if you exclusively use IPv4.
There is an extra 20 bytes for IPv6 inside WG.

1412 is the correct size. 1420 packet is too big and cannot fit smaller pipe.
1420 is only valid if TM don't use PPPoE.
I am using the Mikrotik "Back to home" app... which does not have the MTU setting from what I could see. when it is connected it shows connected via IPv4 relay. (I off the wifi to test the mobile connection). at this moment, after updating to V7.20 and setting the mikrotik's setting to max MTU MRU 1500. the back to home app seems to work pretty ok already. so I probably do not need to set the mobile phone's Back to home app's MTU.

edit: sorry I said I used wireguard. I am actually using the Back to home app, by mikrotik , which uses Wireguard.

This post has been edited by skywardsword: Oct 3 2025, 10:05 PM
skywardsword
post Oct 4 2025, 04:22 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Oct 3 2025, 10:09 PM)
I don't use the BTH app, but I am guessing they should have some kind of Path MTU Discovery mechanism inside. They are networking product maker and cannot be that dumb. Mobile network is notorious for smaller than usual MTU due to all the encapsulation between eNB.

Upload should work because your MRU allows it.
If you test download and it works too, then you can stop here.
Else you might need to set 1320 inside Mikrotik

BTH is still wireguard behind the scene. They just package it into an easy to use app and Mikrotik operates a relay.
I have been playing with the Back to Home app, and adjusting the MTU 1500>1420>1412...did not get amazing speed, at most is 3-4mbps download from cloudflare and upload speed of 500kbps. My mobile line is TM mobile, even without "wireguard/vpn" speed is at best 15mbps, and 3 mbps... so I am not expecting too much from it since it have to hope around.

I have yet to try 1320 (all setting done on mikrotik since like mentioned b4, BTH app no control, and each time I would delete the BTH's tunnel and have the app redo it again. )

0.0311sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:24 PM