125 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Bottom

Buying Gold As Investment V3 - $1950?, Gold rush brings windfalls and warnings

FrancescoTop8
post Sep 18 2011, 12:31 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(mingophoria @ Sep 18 2011, 12:24 AM)
hehehe...the gen** product promoter have been deleted~~
Good move from moderator.
Mod probably also need to delete other same-ole-same-ole & ridicilous post such as "What is the best time to buy gold ah "

Congrats to moderator notworthy.gif
wongmunkeong
post Sep 18 2011, 09:43 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(PatEagle @ Sep 18 2011, 12:38 AM)

Added on September 18, 2011, 1:14 am
Hi wongmunkeong, get your facts right and stop spreading misinformation based on assumptions.

1. Read all the articles below in the section Genneva - In The Media:
- Genneva sells gold and is not a ponzi scheme, says firm – The Star
- Watch Video: Interview with Genneva Director Tan Liang Keat – TV1¹s Selamat Pagi Malaysia
- Dr. Mahathir galak rakyat simpan emas – Utusan Malaysia
- Apa kata Dr Mahathir tentang Dinar – Berita Harian Metro
- Jongkong Emas Pelaburan Terbaik? – Mingguan Malaysia
- Investing in Gold Pays – OSAiM

Hi PatEagle,
Er.. did i say my words are gospel truths? Like most others, it's just my IMHO .
Your's posts are gospel truths just because Mahatir said something about dinar and newspapers/mags printed SOMETHING about them or related to your stuff? Or coz it's on some online media stuff? I see, that's YOUR definition of gospel truth - sorry, that's your reality, not mine tongue.gif I know how publications and media get their $ and i'm sure most people here do to.

These are gospel truths?
- Genneva sells gold and is not a ponzi scheme, says firm – The Star
- Watch Video: Interview with Genneva Director Tan Liang Keat – TV1¹s Selamat Pagi Malaysia
- Dr. Mahathir galak rakyat simpan emas – Utusan Malaysia
- Apa kata Dr Mahathir tentang Dinar – Berita Harian Metro
- Jongkong Emas Pelaburan Terbaik? – Mingguan Malaysia
- Investing in Gold Pays – OSAiM
Either "paid" publications / online media and associated stuff (gold / dinar)?

BTW, if U had checked the link i posted (http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2023951/+115), i was trying to have a balanced view of your scheme.
Officially, it can be said that it's not an investment company, thus the authorities may not be able to touch it and it's consultants.
I mean, logically looking at it:
a. Consumer buys Stuff at Market Price + about 25% more than market price + sign 6 months
b. Company pays 1.5% per month to consumer
So far looks kosher - stuff is in consumers' hand
if we discount the fact where consumer purposely paid about 25% more than market price to Co
in order to get Co to pay them 1.5%pm.
IMHO, typical of some network / direct selling Co. - still legit gua ignoring sustainability and lopsided risk taken by consumers.

c. Thus i used your website's details to calculate the real returns for 5 years, 3 years, 2 years and 1 year.
As expected, the REAL returns arent as nice IF my calculations are correct, especially within 1 to 3 years.
Concerns i have are:
i) If price of gold goes up, consumer still needs to top up every 6 months the differential.
Pls note that i admit that i may be wrong here as it's totally based on your website's data/info

ii) Thus i assume if price goes down, Company will "top up" consumer - as in pay the differential
Fair enough 2 ways calculation? BTW, i'm just assuming here to be fair BUT the Company may not do so.

iii) Due to item c i.), the effective returns for end of 1 year is NOT 18%pa as U stated. Again, i stand to be corrected since i built the spreadsheets based only on information gleaned from your website

d. My assumption of selling off the physical gold at the end of each 5yr to 1yr simulated period is based on the info posted in forums/websites where IF one sells gold with no worldwide accepted certification, the sell back price would be spot price LESS 10% to 20%.
Again, i stand to be corrected as i'm assuming your Company's issues own certificate and not providing worldwide certification as other physical gold bar sellers.

e. Thus, bottomline - it looks like one needs to hold for at least 5 years to make decent (not crazy 18%pa) profits AND the most dangerous caveat would be nearly EVERYTHING depends on the Company not changing the rules of the game + gold not going down + Company doesnt go down.

I think i've done more than most of your schemes' detractors, going a step further just to see whether IF your scheme is technically viable (again ignoring the stupidity to pay +25% more than market rate). Since U are so into it, correct me with the scans of contracts (aiya blank off the name/account details lar) and come up with your own calculations lar. Please stop me, as U said, "get your facts right and stop spreading misinformation based on assumptions." notworthy.gif

Did i say it's a Ponzi scheme? Again read that link - i stated it "gives gold in hand" difference.
Did U read properly and even have Excel or OpenOffice to open the spreadsheets? Er.. U can unZIP the file and use even GoogleDocs online if U dont have those 2 software tongue.gif

Yes, i agree - let's be "responsible netizens" and post facts as much as possible. However, having said that, facts are just one's "reality" until a better proven "reality" shows up, thus, please do share and help correct my personal reality and i think lots of others too, of Genneva gold's scheme. Note - it's the scheme i'm worried about, not U or your Co. or whatever - just like stocks/properties and gold. By itself, no problems - it is the matter of methodology / process that is in question.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 18 2011, 10:04 AM
mingophoria
post Sep 18 2011, 10:18 AM

128 posts

yeah...totally agree with wongmunkeong..... 2x thumbs up notworthy.gif thumbup.gif
chabalang
post Sep 18 2011, 10:20 AM

109 posts

Just bumped into this thread. I am not a goldbug but do hold some gold in banks (as inflationary and 'doomsday' hedge). On Genneva Gold, the articles in media are more advertisements or 'publicity stunts' (normally, media will feature your company when you advertise or sponsor...'you scratch my back, I scratch yours').

I feel there is a need to clarify this matter for the benefit of fellow forumers. I am not accusing Genneva Gold of anything and I let the information speaks for itself:

1) Genneva Gold placed on MAS (Singapore central bank) investor alert
http://www.moneysense.gov.sg/check_our_lis...Portal_IAL.html

2) Business Times Singapore - Golden Fleece
This article explains clearly how the whole scheme works.
http://www.cpf.gov.sg/imsavvy/infohub_arti...119-9657861589}

I rest my case.
SUSbuysell
post Sep 18 2011, 03:14 PM

592 posts

Tomorrow is the big day for gold top up more.
name
post Sep 18 2011, 04:22 PM

1,014 posts

ohoho.

UOB has branch at Batu Pahat.. hip hip hurray~

anechoic
post Sep 18 2011, 05:12 PM

TY
2,278 posts

QUOTE(buysell @ Sep 17 2011, 10:43 PM)
Bukit Bintang dont have.
there is one opposite sg wang beside lot 10 i believe..last time park royal..

Branch Name
Jalan Sultan Ismail

Address Unit 1-6, Ground Floor,
President House,
Jalan Sultan Ismail,
50250 Kuala Lumpur
GoldChan
post Sep 18 2011, 05:21 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(o0o0 @ Sep 17 2011, 01:00 AM)
right after the US market opened today, the gold price is keep on going up steadily...

by observing the graph i noticed 1 thing,  today no "sharp" increment / decrement.
i guess this upward trend is due to buy in from small player / investors.

the previous days, i noticed a lot of "sharp" increment / decrement, which i guess it's due to big player / investors...
perhaps a group of ppl are trading with insider info...
PM is not allowed to drop low during long holiday/break. This is to prevent pre-long cheap sales.
cheap sales only happen a while and time is short and you must execute it quickly.

dummies
post Sep 18 2011, 05:57 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(anechoic @ Sep 18 2011, 05:12 PM)

Branch Name
Jalan Sultan Ismail 
Address  Unit 1-6, Ground Floor,
President House,
Jalan Sultan Ismail,
50250 Kuala Lumpur

Compare UOB vs Public Bank vs Maybank vs CIMB gold investment account, which one offer the best features and rates ?

SUSbuysell
post Sep 18 2011, 06:00 PM

592 posts

QUOTE(anechoic @ Sep 18 2011, 05:12 PM)

Branch Name
Jalan Sultan Ismail 
Address  Unit 1-6, Ground Floor,
President House,
Jalan Sultan Ismail,
50250 Kuala Lumpur
Got counter to open GSA account there meh? I thought only ATM machine inside. hmm.gif
kelvyn
post Sep 18 2011, 06:08 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(dummies @ Sep 18 2011, 06:57 PM)
Compare UOB vs Public Bank vs Maybank vs CIMB gold investment account, which one offer the best features and rates ?

I think this link answers all your questions. biggrin.gif

fahrur_07
post Sep 18 2011, 06:17 PM

~unite against racism~
1,273 posts

QUOTE(dummies @ Sep 18 2011, 05:57 PM)

uob is the smallest spread
public bank,u can buy/sell via internet banking
o0o0
post Sep 18 2011, 06:21 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(dummies @ Sep 18 2011, 05:57 PM)

In term of best rate, UOB has the smallest spread, +-RM2 only.
but they do not have Online Trading, buy/sell have to done over their counter where i feel it's very troublesome.

The spread of Public Bank is around +-RM7.
and they provide Online Trading feature.

i'm not sure Maybank & CIMB provide online trading or not.
wongmunkeong
post Sep 18 2011, 06:35 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(o0o0 @ Sep 18 2011, 06:21 PM)
In term of best rate, UOB has the smallest spread, +-RM2 only.
but they do not have Online Trading, buy/sell have to done over their counter where i feel it's very troublesome.

The spread of Public Bank is around +-RM7.
and they provide Online Trading feature.

i'm not sure Maybank & CIMB provide online trading or not.
MBB & CIMB doesnt provide online trading the last i checked about 3 months ago.

UOB peculiar - when i called them and asked about their Gold a/c, they said that not only have to physically go to a branch BUT also hopefully that branch U go to has not sold out its gold yet. BTW, i was very very firm and specific about gold a/c, not gold bars.
lustman
post Sep 18 2011, 07:39 PM

256 posts

based on my observation, no many people are into physical gold because they are buying gold "not for the right reason".

what say you?
wongmunkeong
post Sep 18 2011, 07:47 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(lustman @ Sep 18 2011, 07:39 PM)
based on my observation, no many people are into physical gold because they are buying gold "not for the right reason".

what say you?
brudder - "right" reason for U may not be right reason for others mar, right or right? tongue.gif
adiazmir
post Sep 18 2011, 07:48 PM

15 posts

UOB - you have go open the saving acc first - which they check your CTOS (yes they do!!!).... then only you can buy the Gold account...

i open mine at Shah Alam branch and parking was easy, all the time its empty.... smile.gif
spikyz
post Sep 18 2011, 08:03 PM

1,341 posts

QUOTE(chabalang @ Sep 18 2011, 10:20 AM)
Just bumped into this thread. I am not a goldbug but do hold some gold in banks (as inflationary and 'doomsday' hedge). On Genneva Gold, the articles in media are more advertisements or 'publicity stunts' (normally, media will feature your company when you advertise or sponsor...'you scratch my back, I scratch yours').

I feel there is a need to clarify this matter for the benefit of fellow forumers. I am not accusing Genneva Gold of anything and I let the information speaks for itself:

1) Genneva Gold placed on MAS (Singapore central bank) investor alert
http://www.moneysense.gov.sg/check_our_lis...Portal_IAL.html

2) Business Times Singapore - Golden Fleece
This article explains clearly how the whole scheme works.
http://www.cpf.gov.sg/imsavvy/infohub_arti...119-9657861589}
I rest my case.
thanks for ur link bro. its seems after u stating it..no reply from genneva investor. why issit so?

anyway, i help u post d full article bro.

IN THE last few months, netizens and investors have puzzled over a number of so- called gold investment schemes that aim to pay you regular returns. Are they scams? Gold, after all, does not pay any income, so how are the firms able to pay out as much as 24 per cent per annum?

Two firms with such schemes have been put on the Monetary Authority of Singapore's (MAS) Investor Alert list. The latest on the list is Genneva Pte Ltd.

Late last year, The Gold Label Pte Ltd was put on the list. The company has filed to wind up its operations, reportedly due to cash flow problems. MAS' Investor Alert list reflects persons who are unregulated, and 'may have been wrongly perceived as being licensed or authorised by MAS'.

There are similarities in The Gold Label and Genneva. They appear to be Malaysian in origin, or at least have Malaysian directors. Both were investigated by Bank Negara on suspicions of illegal deposit taking and money laundering.

Genneva Sdn Bhd was investigated in 2009. Three of its directors - who are also directors in the Singapore company - will stand trial in April in Kuala Lumpur on charges of alleged money laundering.

Bank Negara's investigation of The Gold Label started last year, and is ongoing, based on information on Bank Negara's website.

What exactly is the firms' investment proposition? Information on The Gold Label isn't widely available; its Singapore website has been taken down. The firms straddle a fine line between investment and a retail business.

Genneva, for example, has a police licence that enables it to sell second-hand jewellery, gold, and white gold. The fact that customers take home physical gold in the form of bars or coins suggests that the firm isn't taking a deposit or acting as investment manager.

Here's how the scheme appears to work: Customers buy gold from Genneva at a fairly substantial premium to the market of about 22 to 25 per cent. This is based on a comparison of prices quoted by Genneva of roughly $75 to $76.50 per gram against the price quoted by UOB and other retail gold dealers of roughly $61.

Genneva tells customers that it sells the gold to them at a so-called 'discount' of between 1.5 and 2 per cent. It extends an option to customers: it will buy back the gold after 30 to 36 days or after 90 days depending on the scheme, at the original full purchase price. Those who exercise this get to keep the 'discount' of 1.5 to 2 per cent.

Customers may rollover the purchase, and hence they could potentially pocket as much as 18 to 24 per cent a year, from an asset that actually doesn't pay any yield.

How is this done? Genneva has declined to answer questions for now, citing the pending court case in Malaysia. It adds in an e-mail that it expects a 'positive outcome' from the court case.

There are a number of aspects that should cause scepticism. First, the firm illustrates its buyback option on its website in a rather disingenuous fashion. It says customers buy gold at a 'discounted market price'.

But the truth is customers buy gold at a sizeable premium to the market. The firm also does not explain what it does with the premium that it pockets. Presumably commissions are paid to the sales people.

Its website says it has a 'proprietary trading platform' which enables it to 'adopt an active hedging and leveraging strategy' that makes the buy-back option possible.

On whether the scheme is Ponzi in nature, The firm's Malaysian counterpart told a Malaysian paper in 2009 that it is 'obvious' that it is not a Ponzi scheme.

What is likely to transpire is that the firm takes the 22 to 25 per cent premium that it gets from customers' purchases, and after paying off costs and commissions, it could buy and sell options on gold, through which it hedges its exposure.

As long as the gold price rises or is steady, it can continue, and even thrive, as it sources for gold at substantially lower prices on the open market. If gold however drops on a sustained basis, it could face a cash crunch if investors rush to sell back their gold in substantial numbers. This is because it is obligated to buy back the gold from clients at a high price.

Those who enter the scheme are likely to be enamoured of the so-called return, but they face two major risks - price and counterparty risk. As long as gold rises enough to cover their cost, they could sell their Genneva gold in the open market. Over the last year, gold has risen some 26 per cent, based on spot prices.

If gold falls substantially, however, the counterparty risk becomes a material one, as you can recover your cost only if Genneva stays solvent. Those who roll over their purchases must reckon that the potential return far outweighs the risk of loss. Genneva agents tell investors that the worst loss they may suffer is about 20 to 22 per cent, roughly the premium they have paid.

Effectively, Genneva has sold investors a put option along with gold, charging them a premium for it, and sweetening that by sharing some of that premium at the end of the contract period of a month or three months. As the put option writer, Genneva's risk is potentially unlimited if it has not hedged its exposure.

Rollovers, by the way, incur price risk - that is, you re-purchase the gold at the price Genneva quotes you which is presumably pegged to the market price. If gold rises, as it has over the last year, you end up investing larger amounts.

So, who is Genneva? According to filings with Acra (Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority), it was registered as a business in 2008 dealing in gold bullion. It has an issued and paid-up capital of $500,000.

Three shareholders are Malaysian, and they are the same ones who will have to fight money laundering charges in Malaysian court. There is one Singapore shareholder. Attempts to contact him were unsuccessful as he was reportedly travelling or in meetings.

There are clearly more transparent ways to invest in gold, without dealing with a counterparty which could shutter its operations as The Gold Label did.

UOB offers a gold investment account, for instance, where you can hold physical gold and re-sell it to the bank. Those who need not buy physical gold but want a piece of its price action can get it through the SPDR Gold ETF. The latter is exchange listed and is easily traded through a broker.

lustman
post Sep 18 2011, 08:21 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Sep 18 2011, 07:47 PM)
brudder - "right" reason for U may not be right reason for others mar, right or right? tongue.gif
yes you're right but there's only the right "right reason". other than that is/are your personal reason/s and not the "right reason" whistling.gif
wongmunkeong
post Sep 18 2011, 08:27 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(lustman @ Sep 18 2011, 08:21 PM)
yes you're right but there's only the right "right reason". other than that is/are your personal reason/s and not the "right reason"  whistling.gif
Ah.. another brother who believes in the one and only truth/single reality/right. Of course you're "right" tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 18 2011, 08:36 PM

125 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:28 AM