125 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

Buying Gold As Investment V3 - $1950?, Gold rush brings windfalls and warnings

hongchai888
post Sep 9 2011, 01:58 PM

You Are Not Alone
1,497 posts

QUOTE(kobEj0rdan~ @ Sep 9 2011, 12:17 PM)
afraid if u wait longer, the gold price if keep hiking tongue.gif
Couldn't agree more. Gold already raised to 1870, RM 178.5 is a good price to buy yesterday unfortunately I have missed it due to too risky to go bank with a lot of cash in hand

Plan to open Public Bank GIA due to they allow online transaction but I heard the spread is quite high compare to UOB
smokymcpot
post Sep 9 2011, 02:10 PM

1,171 posts

Just wondering, is there a market for gold eagles in malaysia?
wongmunkeong
post Sep 9 2011, 02:34 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Sep 9 2011, 10:14 AM)
>>
BTW, dont lar - taking the lowest (2001/2002) and then projecting to the highest heheh. I know gold is an investment / trade worthy asset class, but to just look from bottom to top aint a balanced-view.
eg. of a skewed view, i use one of the Malaysian stocks (pathetic moving stocks compared to US stocks tongue.gif)
Public Bank Bhd
28/10/2008 RM7.420
>>
1. For stock you have to analyze 100+ stock then come up with 5-6 goods one. FYI, not all people buy Public Bank.

but for gold and silver, there are very few source you can choose from . If you done your homework, you can get from UOb.
THus, the probability of getting a higher return in general is much more greater than stock market & property.

>>
Heheeh - changgih leh looking from bottom to up only (sounds kinky too tongue.gif), right bro? In fact, some property bro can even show properties beating the pants off everything else coz it's highly leveraged, especially bought at the "bottom and looking up" (i like the sound of that somehow tongue.gif),
Not a balanced view mar. Again, i'm not against gold ar - heck i myself am investing in metals and other commodities. Like some other folks that have posted, just
>>

2. If you have selected the right area Puchong, Cheras, Kinrara, for property then your investment boom. Otherwise, it may not perform as well as gold.
Wrong Area :- Kajang, Dengkil, Balakong, Cyberjaya,  :- slower price growth.
Must also buy and sell at the right time.

Thus for timing and selection point of view, golds beat almost every thing in general.

3. I agree that gold by itself is off no use and value. but the way the money is working now and the iiresponsibility of many governments had left us no choice but to take our position in gold.
Can government afford not to print so much money.
Can politician get elected w/o the nice promise they make to the people. How to fulfill the promise, print more $$ lah. run on deficits.

4. In fiat $, fractional reserve is in play. Thus for every RM100 printed, addition RM450 is created by fractional reserve. (by for ease of calculation RM10)
RM100 printed, RM90 deposited to customer1 bank1, RM10 customer use
bank1 rented out RM80/- to customer2, RM70 deposited into bank customer2 bank2 a/c again, customer2 use up RM10/-
Bank 2 rent out RM60/- ....

100, 90, 80, 70,60,50,40,30,20, 10 = 100 (original) + 450 (extra is created out of thin air).

This does not include the interest factor.

If gold and silver is used, then is full reserve banking. If you have 1000oz of gold, you can only rent out 1000 oz of gold.
Thus, the banker won;t like this, because the more it rent the more $ they get for interest.
That why banker has the best and biggest building in the major cities world.

Thus, the gold and silver price must be suppressed.
In 1980s - 2001s, the price is suppressed via the existing central bank gold sales etc.

Yup yup, i know and agree with U (already lar) about cash and printing + banking systems generating ghost numbers based on debts/loans/deposits.

It's the "gold is everything - bestest in the world" which i differ in opinion.
If a person is so worried about the collapse of governments and countries' economies cash currencies that one invests/buys only gold and not any other assets, think about the aftermath:
a. If it doesnt happen
oh oh..... totally "sai lang" / "show hand" approach, all eggs in one basket/asset class... and if it shoots up (heaven is a place on earth), if it falls (hell is a place on earth). Just too much of a roller-coaster ride for my old heart heheh.

b. If it does happen
Until things settle down and an exchange rate is set (for whatever is going to the the value of exchange like gold?)
Holy crap! No businesses running, no value exchange other than barter (until things settle down yar)
Er.. anyone wants to trade their 5kg rice for 1gram of gold? 5gms? Please? anyone?
Gas cylinders for 1gram? 2 grams?
ooo.. what about weapons and secured dwelling to protect oneself's family, physical gold/silver/platinum/sea shells/salt cubes and stuff?

Of course that will only last for "awhile" (i'm being sarcastic yar tongue.gif) until the country/world starts being civilized again, commerce re-starts and we do things better than barter system.

In addition, i wonder what will happen to people that invested in properties & equities? All koyak - no more land, building & businesses?
Of course those who are holding FDs, Bonds and Money Market accounts all koyak lar.
What about those who are "investing" in gold via Gold Accounts? definitely wiped out too as banks collapses?
Seriously bro, if it does happen, gold vs cash vs other asset classes would be one of my last concerns

c. If it semi-happens (ie. hyper inflation and stuff - the usual kaka)
Bad case: price of Gold goes up, government tries to confiscate, down with the government, revolution, etc., leads to (b) above i think
So-so case: Inflation runs rampant, ppl still use cash, gold prices goes up but so does equities that people want/are in demand (eg. food producing companies, plantations, consumer staples, etc). Thus not only gold prices goes up during this time? I'm unsure - touch wood i've not been in a DEPRESSION like in the US 1930s-1940s. Er.. i think neither have any fellows here in the forum tongue.gif

Just a thought. Of course, it's definitely your God given rights to believe solely in gold bro. This is a forum to share point of views and opinions yar biggrin.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 9 2011, 02:38 PM
kobEj0rdan~
post Sep 9 2011, 02:36 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(hongchai888 @ Sep 9 2011, 01:58 PM)
Couldn't agree more. Gold already raised to 1870, RM 178.5 is a good price to buy yesterday unfortunately I have missed it due to too risky to go bank with a lot of cash in hand

Plan to open Public Bank GIA due to they allow online transaction but I heard the spread is quite high compare to UOB
brader, if u plan to hold the gold for2.3.4 year, a bit high spread can be ignore la.hehe
unless if u plant to buy and sell within a year

just my 2 cents
mcdkfc
post Sep 9 2011, 03:05 PM

65 posts

via online, save your time, save your energy, save your fuel, can do it at kedai mamak; anywhere..., on the spot can check actual price before confirm etc...

yesterday I did it at the meeting room. When my boss present paperwork with my CEO, I search internet via my gadget and got to buy RM179/g biggrin.gif
spikyz
post Sep 9 2011, 03:24 PM

1,341 posts

QUOTE(bigwolf @ Sep 9 2011, 07:38 AM)
Wrong mate, we cannot simply buy la even if its long term. If you can buy cheaper very soon then why buy expensive now? You accumulate less gm like that. Example:

If you have RM10,000 and gold is RM180, you'll buy 55 grams. But if 1 day later gold dropped to RM177, the same RM10k can get you 56 grams. Better to wait 1 more day right?
Yes,. but we dont live in fantasy world. d opposite might happen as well. u wait for one day, later on d price increases. so instead of buying 55grams, now u can only buy 50grams only. lol

of coz, we want d best thing to happen according to what we want. but my experience teach me, wait wait wait, den price become very high aldy. happened to me before. my frens invite me to invest in gold during 1200, i say to expensive..i want to wait for it to crash first.. and look what happen now? 1900..

my experience might be different from yours. wink.gif

QUOTE(hariz.zaki2 @ Sep 9 2011, 08:00 AM)
in a different scenario, what if 1 day later it went RM183?

at that time you're gonna regret.

you gotta broaden your thoughts
This post has been edited by spikyz: Sep 9 2011, 03:27 PM
anechoic
post Sep 9 2011, 03:30 PM

TY
2,278 posts

QUOTE(spikyz @ Sep 9 2011, 03:24 PM)
Yes,. but we dont live in fantasy world. d opposite might happen as well. u wait for one day, later on d price increases. so instead of buying 55grams, now u can only buy 50grams only. lol

of coz, we want d best thing to happen according to what we want. but my experience teach me, wait wait wait, den price become very high aldy. happened to me before. my frens invite me to invest in gold during 1200, i say to expensive..i want to wait for it to crash first.. and look what happen now? 1900..

my experience might be different from yours. wink.gif
yup, best is to buy first when you are ready and just top later when price drop lor..

its not like you only buy 1 time..

cybermaster98
post Sep 9 2011, 03:30 PM

4,440 posts

Yes its very high. Its about RM7.43 compared to RM2 only for UOB. I wouldnt wanna pay the extra spread just to get the convenience of online transaction.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Sep 9 2011, 03:39 PM
spikyz
post Sep 9 2011, 03:34 PM

1,341 posts

QUOTE(anechoic @ Sep 9 2011, 03:30 PM)
yup, best is to buy first when you are ready and just top later when price drop lor..

its not like you only buy 1 time..
yeah bro, thats what im saying to them. but nvm, different ppl different approach.

or averaging by monthly basis is good way as well. as long u have extra money every month, topup accordingly la. consistently and u will be fine.
cybermaster98
post Sep 9 2011, 03:38 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kobEj0rdan~ @ Sep 9 2011, 02:36 PM)
brader, if u plan to hold the gold for2.3.4 year, a bit high spread can be ignore la.hehe
unless if u plant to buy and sell within a year

just my 2 cents
No i dont think it should be ignored. Right now the spread is RM 7.43 for PB while UOB is still maintaining at RM2. UOB's spread is fixed regardless of the gold price (for now) while Public Bank & Maybank's spread increases according to the price of gold.

So in say 1 year's time when gold is about RM 230 (hopefully), PB's spread would be RM9.20 and UOB still at RM2. If you buy 200g, your losses for the spread for PB would be RM1,840 while for UOB it will only be RM400.

Maybe you dont mind giving an extra RM 1,440 to Public Bank, but i mind. shakehead.gif
hongchai888
post Sep 9 2011, 03:54 PM

You Are Not Alone
1,497 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Sep 9 2011, 03:38 PM)
No i dont think it should be ignored. Right now the spread is RM 7.43 for PB while UOB is still maintaining at RM2. UOB's spread is fixed regardless of the gold price (for now) while Public Bank & Maybank's spread increases according to the price of gold.

So in say 1 year's time when gold is about RM 230 (hopefully), PB's spread would be RM9.20 and UOB still at RM2. If you buy 200g, your losses for the spread for PB would be RM1,840 while for UOB it will only be RM400.

Maybe you dont mind giving an extra RM 1,440 to Public Bank, but i mind.  shakehead.gif
Good infor..... Can recommend some alternative way if want to buy gold with UOB? Feel scary to withdraw huge amount of money from another bank and bring to this bank.
NeoXeroX
post Sep 9 2011, 04:36 PM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(hongchai888 @ Sep 9 2011, 03:54 PM)
Good infor..... Can recommend some alternative way if want to buy gold with UOB? Feel scary to withdraw huge amount of money from another bank and bring to this bank.
request bank to issue bank draft and write with your name. go to UOB, open account and enjoice drool.gif

by the way, gold is back to the railway rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by NeoXeroX: Sep 9 2011, 04:38 PM
smokymcpot
post Sep 9 2011, 04:38 PM

1,171 posts

Hey there people, anyone has seen this before? I see people selling on Ebay buy can't find any info on it on Ebay. Only can find about the silver one. Looks like this

FRONT

BACK

This post has been edited by smokymcpot: Sep 9 2011, 04:39 PM
lustman
post Sep 9 2011, 06:10 PM

256 posts

Anyone has Dinar Kelantan or OneAsia Gold to sell?

This post has been edited by lustman: Sep 9 2011, 06:55 PM
duckaton
post Sep 9 2011, 06:20 PM

Progress is Imminent
1,216 posts

gold = forever glitter.

but how save is passbook gold?
i see the price is quite diff from actual market value.

what is one day the bank cannot pay back and set the bank buying in price low low?
hongchai888
post Sep 9 2011, 06:53 PM

You Are Not Alone
1,497 posts

QUOTE(NeoXeroX @ Sep 9 2011, 04:36 PM)
request bank to issue bank draft and write with your name. go to UOB, open account and enjoice  drool.gif

by the way, gold is back to the railway  rclxms.gif
Not railway yet. Has dropped USD 50 as soon as Europe market open.
trencher10
post Sep 9 2011, 07:00 PM

Long-term AFK ...
665 posts

Gold was rising since the Swiss peg effects tapered off, but now it dropped back from 1880 USD spot to 1830 USD spot. Does anyone know why? Could it be the news of revised inflation figures in China (they seem to be less than forecast)?
mingophoria
post Sep 9 2011, 07:47 PM

128 posts

gold dropping.....will it drop summore?? unsure.gif
keii-kun
post Sep 9 2011, 08:01 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(lustman @ Sep 9 2011, 06:10 PM)
Anyone has Dinar Kelantan or OneAsia Gold to sell?
lustman, looking for physical ar-rahnu kah?

i was in uob today noon and was negotiating a better rate for gold deposit. too bad it was almost lunch hour so their hq dealer is already out and they unable to quote me special price (said the cashier)

and somehow, i felt something amiss on today rate, uob - rm181/g when world price is around usd1860....maybe USD has gotten stronger due to SwissFranc pegging, thus the higher price translated. cos i remembered last time when it hit usd1910, uob was only at rm185/g.
was negotiating for rm180.50/g since for sure cannot get the 1kg rate 180/g

too much difference and i felt nervous and not comfortable to buy at that standard price. went to watch "nasi lemak 2.0' with wife. it is hilarious and has interesting views on malaysian as malaysian.

who knows after got back home, it dropped back to usd1840!!! phewwwwwww

hong chai,
can use interbank giro or rentas for immediate transfer. no need to carry cash so much lah.

its almost usd1820 now. looking for this to continue and i will definitely wait until UOB open on monday thumbup.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by keii-kun: Sep 9 2011, 08:04 PM
hongchai888
post Sep 9 2011, 08:02 PM

You Are Not Alone
1,497 posts

QUOTE(mingophoria @ Sep 9 2011, 07:47 PM)
gold dropping.....will it drop summore?? unsure.gif
Gold drop due to due to Strengthening of USD

http://66.38.218.33/kitco-gold-index.html

Added on September 9, 2011, 8:07 pm
QUOTE(keii-kun @ Sep 9 2011, 08:01 PM)
lustman, looking for physical ar-rahnu kah?

i was in uob today noon and was negotiating a better rate for gold deposit. too bad it was almost lunch hour so their hq dealer is already out and they unable to quote me special price (said the cashier)

and somehow, i felt something amiss on today rate, uob - rm181/g when world price is around usd1860....maybe USD has gotten stronger due to SwissFranc pegging, thus the higher price translated. cos i remembered last time when it hit usd1910, uob was only at rm185/g.
was negotiating for rm180.50/g since for sure cannot get the 1kg rate 180/g

too much difference and i felt nervous and not comfortable to buy at that standard price. went to watch "nasi lemak 2.0' with wife. it is hilarious and has interesting views on malaysian as malaysian.

who knows after got back home, it dropped back to usd1840!!! phewwwwwww

hong chai,
can use interbank giro or rentas for immediate transfer. no need to carry cash so much lah.

its almost usd1820 now. looking for this to continue and i will definitely wait until UOB open on monday  thumbup.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
Congrate bro, wait it drop further then we go buy together on Monday. Which UOB you go? How to use interbank giro or rentas? My bank is Alliance bank, got this service?

I am expecting 175 on Monday, then restock gao gao thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by hongchai888: Sep 9 2011, 08:09 PM

125 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:02 AM