243 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Bottom

Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

divine061
post Dec 6 2012, 11:32 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Dec 6 2012, 10:04 AM)
Hey, thanks. Your help come in handy.
I managed to contact my friends who's being working as my profession for years. As what he told me tax depreciation is something new to malaysia as this only apply to australia due to their tax is sky high. Suppose this shall be done by accountant or tax officer but they dont hv such knowledge. So this falls to be our baby. Well, i did learn this before during uni but that was 10 yrs ago which doesn't imply in malaysia so don't bother at 1st. Now, i may thinking of taking a course to gain this for me to have better knowledge. Research a few jobs and tax depreciation report can charge around AUD2k to 3k per report. Think about if you assessing 10 report would be 20k - 30k which is good $$.
Saw their sample report which is very easy to do, only need to identify the property value and renovation work attached and submit to tax dept. This shall regain 20-30% tax deduct. Of course some paper works need to be done but i think even SPM leaver can learn also.
Besides that, all the work nature are the same only the software they used and the pricing shall be different which this has to gain from Oz.
Australian experience?yeah i know most employers going to reject some1 with this reason but without a start, where's the australia experience?
Sounds great, having a friend in the same industries passing you the knowledge are good stuff smile.gif Good to know that you already knew the options available and I am not pointing to the wrong direction either smile.gif. If you move to Sydney I, I can be one of your first client, that is assuming I can convert my current place to an investment property within this two years ...

Added on December 6, 2012, 11:34 amAnd yea, the other the depreciation schedule is a good business because of negative gearing, which is again unique to Australia and one of the reasons Australian experience does matter in this case.

This post has been edited by divine061: Dec 6 2012, 11:34 AM
mercury8400
post Dec 6 2012, 12:51 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(onomatopoeia @ Dec 6 2012, 12:42 AM)
Hey guys. I will be quiting my SG IT job and hop to Australia next month!

Yes! I have not secure a job!
Yes! I have Australia PR! (VE176)!
Yes! No response from Seek/Careerone/Monster/LinkedIn (Maybe my address is SG address).
Yes! It is risky and I might earn more in SG!
Yes! I am single and lesser commitment!
Yes! I am going to the most livable city in the world!
Most liveable city in the world? Kl also very liveable wat. As long as you have truck loads of cash! Lol! If you don't have enough money, no place on earth is liveable unless you want to become hunter gatherer!
konichiwawa
post Dec 6 2012, 12:58 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Dec 5 2012, 10:24 AM)
Melbourne is considerable but not sydney. Housing price is unbearable.
Well, I'm sticking with my purposes of going australia is to raise my children with quality time with them.
Sydney is a huge city which yeah lots of job opportunities. However, not the type of life i want. If heading there is with KL no difference.
Ok let me say something.

1. You said housing prices in Sydney is unbearable but did you know cost of living in Perth is equally as high if not higher?
2. Melbourne is also a huge city. I honestly think in terms of competitiveness, Sydney and Melbourne are generally the same. If you want a slower lifestyle, Adelaide and Brisbane might be a better option. With redundancies going on everywhere in Australia now, it's competitive EVERYWHERE.
3. Don't take this personally but you need to improve your English before you go to Australia. You have very broken written English and I would assume your spoken English would be worse. Australians tend to look down on foreigners who don't speak proper English. It's harsh but it's the truth here.
Nemesis1980
post Dec 6 2012, 01:36 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(divine061 @ Dec 6 2012, 11:32 AM)
Sounds great, having a friend in the same industries passing you the knowledge are good stuff smile.gif Good to know that you already knew the options available and I am not pointing to the wrong direction either smile.gif.  If you move to Sydney I, I can be one of your first client, that is assuming I can convert my current place to an investment property within this two years ...

Added on December 6, 2012, 11:34 amAnd yea, the other the depreciation schedule is a good business because of negative gearing, which is again unique to Australia and one of the reasons Australian experience does matter in this case.
Yeah why not? Untill i get AIQS members, shall looking forward for this opportunity.
Not afraid telling you that half of my secondary schoolmates & uni mates migrated australia & new zealand within this 10 years.
Well, i came back alone to malaysia thinking of expanding my contractor business but end up whole company being took over. sigh*
Life ain't easy though and life is short. Foreseen malaysia politics turmoil which unstable. Economy doesnt look good and not progressing. Now the worst is scandals emerge and no one prosecute to date. SG dollar is almost same as NZdollar. RM is getting smaller with huge money laundering within.
I don't mind to pay high tax but i need to see something being done. Yes, i paid thousands tax but i didn't get anything from government but with scandal news flying around.
Malaysia has too many SME business which doesn't contribute too much to our economy.

Added on December 6, 2012, 1:49 pm
QUOTE(konichiwawa @ Dec 6 2012, 12:58 PM)
Ok let me say something.

1. You said housing prices in Sydney is unbearable but did you know cost of living in Perth is equally as high if not higher?
2. Melbourne is also a huge city. I honestly think in terms of competitiveness, Sydney and Melbourne are generally the same. If you want a slower lifestyle, Adelaide and Brisbane might be a better option. With redundancies going on everywhere in Australia now, it's competitive EVERYWHERE.
3. Don't take this personally but you need to improve your English before you go to Australia. You have very broken written English and I would assume your spoken English would be worse. Australians tend to look down on foreigners who don't speak proper English. It's harsh but it's the truth here.
why thank you for your comment and feedback. i tend to write as simple as i can.
1) Yes i know Perth is experiencing inflation in past few years. Mining has done alot on that.
2) I think job opportunity 1st then only choose which city to settle. Adelaide is good but activity bit slow. Brissy sounds good
3) Oh yah. my broken engrish making me unusual and unique lar i guess. IELTS still manage band 7 lor... rclxm9.gif (no offend...hehe)

This post has been edited by Nemesis1980: Dec 6 2012, 01:49 PM
onomatopoeia
post Dec 6 2012, 02:13 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Dec 6 2012, 12:51 PM)
Most liveable city in the world? Kl also very liveable wat. As long as you have truck loads of cash! Lol! If you don't have enough money, no place on earth is liveable unless you want to become hunter gatherer!
I don't see KL stated anywhere in the following list.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World's_most_livable_cities

Yes. Money is important but doesn't define the quality of life. icon_idea.gif Sometimes the self-sustaining life is much happier than a millionaire living in a corporate world under capitalism system. Anyone can have trucks of cash in Zimbadwe or Angola, but they cant even find a doctor when they contracted with Malaria.
Nemesis1980
post Dec 6 2012, 02:24 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(onomatopoeia @ Dec 6 2012, 02:13 PM)

Yes. Money is important but doesn't define the quality of life.  icon_idea.gif Sometimes the self-sustaining life is much happier than a millionaire living in a corporate world under capitalism system. Anyone can have trucks of cash in Zimbadwe or Angola, but they cant even find a doctor when they contracted with Malaria.
I fully agreed. My dad work in sudan O&G. Pay is high but health deteriate. Everyday goat soup and beans. Vegetable very expensive. No fruits.
Going out need mercenaries escort. TV program all Negros. Can't understand language. You got money but dunno where to spend. 2 years cannot tahan then come back
mercury8400
post Dec 6 2012, 04:21 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(onomatopoeia @ Dec 6 2012, 02:13 PM)

Yes. Money is important but doesn't define the quality of life.  icon_idea.gif Sometimes the self-sustaining life is much happier than a millionaire living in a corporate world under capitalism system. Anyone can have trucks of cash in Zimbadwe or Angola, but they cant even find a doctor when they contracted with Malaria.
Quality of life can only happen if you have a job which pays a decent salary. Yr going to aus wif no job, dunno how much cash. If you have millions then no prob. Otherwise australia quality of life working as a full time beggar is no quality of life!
DannyL88
post Dec 6 2012, 05:32 PM

Hi guys,

I used this website to search for jobs in Australia and also to find out the salary range of different industry. check it out here: http://bit.ly/Xtpvu2

please let me know if it is useful.

konichiwawa
post Dec 7 2012, 08:03 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Dec 6 2012, 01:36 PM)
why thank you for your comment and feedback. i tend to write as simple as i can.
1) Yes i know Perth is experiencing inflation in past few years. Mining has done alot on that.
2) I think job opportunity 1st then only choose which city to settle. Adelaide is good but activity bit slow. Brissy sounds good
3) Oh yah. my broken engrish making me unusual and unique lar i guess. IELTS still manage band 7 lor... rclxm9.gif (no offend...hehe)
Not even in the past few years. It's more or less been up there with Melbourne and Sydney in terms of cost of living all along. But yes, the recent mining boom has definitely taken its toll on them.

Yes, you are right to let job opportunities dictate where you will settle down. If you get a job in Brissy then just head there. If you get a job in Orange then just go. That's the best suggestion for you at the moment if you plan to migrate to Australia for good.

Hahaha unfortunately, broken English is not unusual or even unique in Australia. Let's just say that if you didn't score at least a 7 on your IELTS, you shouldn't even come to Australia. Hahaha. By the way, it's no "offence". =)
keelim
post Dec 7 2012, 10:18 AM

941 posts

Nemesis1980,

I believe your game plan will work, eventually. The thought of providing a comfortable shelter for your family in a foreign land will bring forth the inner strength in you to succeed. Many and most fail to understand the point of migration. Difficult decisions are not made on parents’ wants and needs, but your children prospects that you hold dearly too. After all, in your case that is the ONE factor that induces the migration thought.

Nemesis1980
post Dec 7 2012, 10:36 AM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(konichiwawa @ Dec 7 2012, 08:03 AM)
Not even in the past few years. It's more or less been up there with Melbourne and Sydney in terms of cost of living all along. But yes, the recent mining boom has definitely taken its toll on them.

Yes, you are right to let job opportunities dictate where you will settle down. If you get a job in Brissy then just head there. If you get a job in Orange then just go. That's the best suggestion for you at the moment if you plan to migrate to Australia for good.

Hahaha unfortunately, broken English is not unusual or even unique in Australia. Let's just say that if you didn't score at least a 7 on your IELTS, you shouldn't even come to Australia. Hahaha. By the way, it's no "offence". =)
You've read my mind! I like that.
Well, my friend we're not from native english speaking country but we have skills which contribute something to that country.
I mean speaking in different language shall give you bonus. Language can be learn and whatever accent you want to add in, like 1-2 years? But skills is something which might take longer. If you have language but without skills, then you'll have job hunting difficulties. Same goes to language.
Guess what, my housemate was from Chinese school and his english is almost medium low level. Today, he proves something that he's a director in an Oz company in sydney. We shall give a clap to this Johorian guy.
hihihehe
post Dec 7 2012, 07:34 PM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Dec 6 2012, 07:21 PM)
Quality of life can only happen if you have a job which pays a decent salary. Yr going to aus wif no job, dunno how much cash. If you have millions then no prob. Otherwise australia quality of life working as a full time beggar is no quality of life!
i'm guessing that you defined the quality of life by money which is sort of true .

most livable city for me is all about how relaxing the state is and how many people willing to migrate over and spend their life there.

if i have car in melbourne, i will drive away from the city area during weekend and enjoy the chilling and lovely neighborhood. look for a nice cafe in the morning and enjoy the view is just too tempting. ic can't find this place in malaysia. even the kampung in malaysia also quite busy and full of "gossips"

trust me, once you secured a job and pretty much everything settle, you will enjoy the life in australia
bossnass15
post Dec 7 2012, 08:29 PM

Veni, Vidi, Vici
1,188 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Dec 7 2012, 07:34 PM)
i'm guessing that you defined the quality of life by money which is sort of true .

most livable city for me is all about how relaxing the state is and how many people willing to migrate over and spend their life there.

if i have car in melbourne, i will drive away from the city area during weekend and enjoy the chilling and lovely neighborhood. look for a nice cafe in the morning and enjoy the view is just too tempting. ic can't find this place in malaysia. even the kampung in malaysia also quite busy and full of "gossips"

trust me, once you secured a job and pretty much everything settle, you will enjoy the life in australia
I 2nd that. When I was working in Sg for about a year (on a good package) I didn't really feel like applying for my PR. I felt claustrophobic and yearned for a breath of fresh air and some space what with all the people and flats around. And back when I first landed in Australia, within 2 months I was immediately interested in getting a PR. I was impressed with what I experienced and also the cool climate was a pleasant change from a hot and sticky 365 days one.
Now after over a year of being here, I don't see myself returning to either sg or malaysia for the foreseeable future. There's so much more to explore and the quality of life here is hard to pass up on.
mercury8400
post Dec 7 2012, 09:38 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Dec 7 2012, 07:34 PM)

Of course.
Life is good even in KL in you have money.

And who says you cannot find a nice cafe and enoy the view in KL?
I go to Mandarin Oriental KLCC and I can enjoy my cuppa with nice views of the city and its quiet.
You just need to fork out smtg like RM 20-30 for a cuppa.
If you have money, no problem

hihihehe
post Dec 8 2012, 01:03 PM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Dec 8 2012, 12:38 AM)
Of course.

I go to Mandarin Oriental KLCC and I can enjoy my cuppa with nice views of the city and its quiet.
there you go. melbourne is not consider as most livable city based on rich people. it is most livable to majority of people

people in australia not really into city view anymore. most of them work in the city weekdays will want to get away in the weekends. they want to stay away from the work area and busy city where they normally spend time at

Also, you need to spend RM20-30 for a cup of cappuccino to enjoy the view,etc? sorry mate, i can easily get a cup of nice latte for only $3.50 in a nice environment small cafe with all the surrounding trees outside.
onomatopoeia
post Dec 14 2012, 03:19 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(bossnass15 @ Dec 7 2012, 08:29 PM)
I 2nd that. When I was working in Sg for about a year (on a good package) I didn't really feel like applying for my PR. I felt claustrophobic and yearned for a breath of fresh air and some space what with all the people and flats around. And back when I first landed in Australia, within 2 months I was immediately interested in getting a PR. I was impressed with what I experienced and also the cool climate was a pleasant change from a hot and sticky 365 days one.
Now after over a year of being here, I don't see myself returning to either sg or malaysia for the foreseeable future. There's so much more to explore and the quality of life here is hard to pass up on.
I am working in SG with a decent package, although its much better than KL in terms of security, air and healthcare quality, accessibility, infrastructure, government systems, good nightlife and branded stuff, I still feel the "pressure" and wanna get out from the island. It's like you are working in a very good company, but in the end you have to get out of it. AFter my visit to Australia in Melb and GC, feeling the fresh air and slower pace of life, I know there's where I wanna be.

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Dec 7 2012, 09:38 PM)
Of course.

I realize you only define quality of life by materials, and the service you can purchase. I don't have to go to Mandarin Oriental in KL to have a nice cuppa, in SG I can easily get a SG$3 cuppa and still have a better view facing the sea in Singapore. To me, it's the environment, government policies, work-life and eco-system that matters.

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Dec 8 2012, 01:03 PM)
there you go. melbourne is not consider as most livable city based on rich people. it is most livable to majority of people

people in australia not really into city view anymore. most of them work in the city weekdays will  want to get away in the weekends. they want to stay away from the work area and busy city where they normally spend time at

Also, you need to spend RM20-30 for a cup of cappuccino to enjoy the view,etc? sorry mate, i can easily get a cup of nice latte for only $3.50 in a nice environment small cafe with all the surrounding trees outside.
Agree. There don't opt of the materials like Msians. In KL and SG, I always go to shopping malls and back to the City where I work during the weekends. just like we are working at Twin Tower, and going to KLCC in the weekends. Singapore is worse, "getaway" is very limited..lots of SGreans are going to JB during the weekends, of course security is the main concerns.

This post has been edited by onomatopoeia: Dec 14 2012, 03:20 PM
yellowflashdude
post Dec 14 2012, 05:57 PM

105 posts

Cost of living in aus is considered one of the highest in the world. So unless, you are a decent professional, you will struggle.
annielee
post Dec 14 2012, 06:03 PM

294 posts

only the rent will kill you, other expenses is still considered alright..
as long as you are earning Oz$, you will be fine..
buying power here is high..

QUOTE(yellowflashdude @ Dec 14 2012, 05:57 PM)
Cost of living in aus is considered one of the highest in the world. So unless, you are a decent professional, you will struggle.
mercury8400
post Dec 16 2012, 03:46 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(onomatopoeia @ Dec 14 2012, 03:19 PM)
I am working in SG with a decent package, although its much better than KL in terms of security, air and healthcare quality, accessibility, infrastructure, government systems, good
I realize you only define quality of life by materials, and the service you can purchase. I don't have to go to Mandarin Oriental in KL to have a nice cuppa, in SG I can easily get a SG$3 cuppa and still have a better view facing the sea in Singapore. To me, it's the environment, government policies, work-life and eco-system that matters.

Eh dun bluff me lar. I'm also working in Sg. Unless you're talking about foodcourt no such thing as S$3 coffee in sea facing Singapore. Cafe also easily S$5-6 after GST.
What I'm trying to argue is that life is good anywhere if you have the money be it in Malaysia, Australia, etc. Also it depends on individual.
I love the life in Australia too. But I don't intend to work in Australia becuase I want to earn my money in SG first before going to Aus/NZ in the future to retire/take it easy.
I don't want a mediocre life in Australia where you do practically the same thing every day without earning that much or that little.
FYI there is always a ceiling in Aus in terms of wages even if you're in senior mgmt. Aussies tend to view in disgust, people who earn obscene amounts of money.
Further as an asian there is alwyas the invisible glass ceiling. Like it or not.

This post has been edited by mercury8400: Dec 16 2012, 03:47 PM
konichiwawa
post Dec 17 2012, 11:17 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Dec 7 2012, 09:38 PM)
Really? A cup of coffee @ MO KLCC is RM20-30? You've got to be joking. Show receipt or menu if not, you are definitely trolling.

Added on December 17, 2012, 11:20 am
QUOTE(annielee @ Dec 14 2012, 06:03 PM)
only the rent will kill you, other expenses is still considered alright..
as long as you are earning Oz$, you will be fine..
buying power here is high..
Nopp, I disagree. In general; everything is expensive in Australia. Not only rental. Electricity is super expensive now with the stupid carbon tax rubbish. Petrol price has been steadily increasing. Sales tax in Australia makes everything expensive, hence I buy most stuff online unless it's the big items. Tax is definitely very high too. Food and all aren't cheap either. I can't think of a single thing in Australia that's cheap. Cost of living in SG so much lower.

This post has been edited by konichiwawa: Dec 17 2012, 11:20 AM

243 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.0374sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:11 AM