243 Pages « < 237 238 239 240 241 > » Bottom

Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

Geminist
post Oct 9 2015, 08:09 AM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Oct 8 2015, 09:54 AM)
Just curious, as engineer why Australia? Things aren't going so well there and be prepared to reskill..
In general yes engineering as a profession in Australia isn't doing that well currently. However, if you look at individual disciplines, some are doing exceptionally well if you have the right experience + qualifications.

JohnJon82
post Oct 9 2015, 10:52 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Oct 9 2015, 08:03 AM)
With CEng from the UK, why are you only a graduate engineer with BEM?

In any case, with IStructE, I wouldn't really bother too much with getting CPEng now because the current arrangement with EA is you can register as CPEng quite easily just by submitting your form.  Unless you want to work in Australia soon, you'll be spending a lot of money for the membership. 

In Australia, each state has their own requirement, e.g. Queensland with the RPEQ (Registered Professional Engineer Queensland) requirement where engineers signing off drawings or reports need to be registered as an RPEQ. To obtain RPEQ, you can either do a specific assessment, or you can do it when you apply for your CPEng. 

Engineers Australia is currently trying to standardise this with the NER (National Engineering Register) which is intended to replace the NPER (National Professional Engineers Register).

CPEng is usually required on government projects, e.g. infrastructure and defense where the prerequisite for a lead engineer is to have the appropriate state accreditation and normally CPEng.
I started working overseas and did not register with BEM until this year. Got PEng and CEng from SG and UK. Should be able to add them up and become CPEng tongue.gif . The MRA changes frequently, thinking to get it while it still available. Earlier this year I check, IStructE member need to be Aust resident then can apply for the MRA. Don't know when they will add back the residency requirement again.

Thanks for the clarification. Each country has its own system rclxub.gif . Actually I don't know how the UK one work also since never work there. Just got into IStructE then can apply CEng. This system quite similar with MY and Aust I think? But its quite different from SG rclxub.gif . Titles collection but expensive to maintain.
Geminist
post Oct 12 2015, 06:58 AM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Oct 9 2015, 02:52 PM)
I started working overseas and did not register with BEM until this year. Got PEng and CEng from SG and UK. Should be able to add them up and become CPEng tongue.gif . The MRA changes frequently, thinking to get it while it still available. Earlier this year I check, IStructE member need to be Aust resident then can apply for the MRA. Don't know when they will add back the residency requirement again.

Thanks for the clarification. Each country has its own system  rclxub.gif . Actually I don't know how the UK one work also since never work there. Just got into IStructE then can apply CEng. This system quite similar with MY and Aust I think? But its quite different from SG  rclxub.gif . Titles collection but expensive to maintain.
In the UK, CEng isn't legislatively required, but some large projects, e.g. government ones tend to ask for a CEng.

If you're looking to have international recognition, why not just apply for IntPE if you qualify for it?

JohnJon82
post Oct 12 2015, 09:57 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Oct 12 2015, 06:58 AM)
In the UK, CEng isn't legislatively required, but some large projects, e.g. government ones tend to ask for a CEng. 

If you're looking to have international recognition, why not just apply for IntPE if you qualify for it?
IntPE widely recognised? Not common here in SG, seldom see people using it.
wilmington
post Oct 14 2015, 05:58 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Oct 8 2015, 10:17 AM)
Which institution are you chartered with in the UK? 

Assuming it's one of the main institutions, your case will be considered separately because of your undergraduate degree not being accredited.  As such, your application will be assessed on a case by case basis (your career history, your accomplishment etc) and in some cases they may still ask you to submit a CDR to demonstrate your competency.

A colleague of mine had to jump through this because despite being chartered in the UK, his undergraduate degree was accredited so he had to demonstrate his competencies via an interview.
I'm charted with IChemE for Chemical Engineering.

Read through the Migration Skills Assessment website, seems that there is no mentioning of waiving CDR based on career history and ability to demonstrate competency in relevant field via interview session.

How long ago was that when your friend did this?

Thanks for all the replies, but at the moment its looking very much like i'm not able to waive this CDR requirement. So long for all the Charted Engineer IChemE status which states "The title is recognised globally and understood across all sectors of the profession. It is valuable to individuals, employers, regulators, government and society" :-(
kagenn
post Oct 16 2015, 02:26 PM

26 posts

HI all,

How are things going on for the IT industry over there?
Still in good demand of IT jobs / programmers (or ABAP) or even game development?
zDante
post Oct 16 2015, 02:34 PM

Hi Sifus, forgive my inexperience question that I'm going to ask, I'm still quite new in the working industry. Anyway here goes.

I m currently working in Singapiore, coming close to a year now and I'm trying to apply to Australia. The HR manager asked me what working visa I applied for and I need to speak to my current manager to see endorsement for my application

Question I want to ask are

1. I have to personally apply working visa if interested to work in Aussie? Or may I ask the company to assist me?
2. What did the manager meant when he/ she said speak to my manager to see endorsement ?

Thanks in advance.

daylight_dancer
post Oct 16 2015, 06:22 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(zDante @ Oct 16 2015, 02:34 PM)
Hi Sifus, forgive my inexperience question that I'm going to ask, I'm still quite new in the working industry. Anyway here goes.

I m currently working in Singapiore, coming close to a year now and I'm trying to apply to Australia. The HR manager asked me what working visa I applied for and I need to speak to my current manager to see endorsement for my application

Question I want to ask are

1. I have to personally apply working visa if interested to work in Aussie? Or may I ask the company to assist me?
2. What did the manager meant when he/ she said speak to my manager to see endorsement ?

Thanks in advance.
1. Does your company have an Australian branch? If you're looking to work there (branch), it is likely they can help you with a visa. Otherwise your best best is a Skilled visa 189/190. But your occupation has to be on the SOL list. Best to check Customs & Border's website for further clarification.
2. I'm assuming your HR manager thinks you're applying for a Skilled 189/190. You need a letter from your company, on their letter head, either from the HR manager or direct supervisor, as proof of your job experience (start dates, responsibilities etc).

Best you clarify with HR if this is what they mean. Also, what industry are you currently in?
zDante
post Oct 17 2015, 12:44 AM

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Oct 16 2015, 06:22 PM)
1. Does your company have an Australian branch? If you're looking to work there (branch), it is likely they can help you with a visa. Otherwise your best best is a Skilled visa 189/190. But your occupation has to be on the SOL list. Best to check Customs & Border's website for further clarification.
2. I'm assuming your HR manager thinks you're applying for a Skilled 189/190. You need a letter from your company, on their letter head, either from the HR manager or direct supervisor, as proof of your job experience (start dates, responsibilities etc).

Best you clarify with HR if this is what they mean. Also, what industry are you currently in?
I'm working in Hospitality industry. Yea definitely it has a branch in Aussie. So if I do want to work at Aussie, I have to ask the company current branch im working to help me apply?
daylight_dancer
post Oct 17 2015, 01:02 AM

655 posts

QUOTE(zDante @ Oct 17 2015, 12:44 AM)
I'm working in Hospitality industry. Yea definitely it has a branch in Aussie. So if I do want to work at Aussie, I have to ask the company current branch im working to help me apply?
Ask if you can transfer.

Otherwise you're probably going to have to see if your specific occupation is on the SOL and get a 189/190 Skilled Independent.
Y-shapedTwig
post Oct 18 2015, 12:45 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(ec_goh @ Oct 6 2015, 01:14 AM)
Hi guys,

I was having a talk with my gf and we were thinking of migrating to Australia for a better quality of life and for our future kids education as well.

The situation now:

1) I'm a Software Engineer (Information Technology)
2) My gf is a Medical Representative.
3) Both of us is 29 this year.
3) My aunt (mom's sister) has been staying in Australia (Pennant Hills - Sydney) for more than 30 years.

I would like to hear anyone's opinions on the questions below:

1) Should I look out for a job first in Australia?  If yes, should I do it remotely or locally?
2) Could my aunt be a great help for us to migrate to Australia? If yes, how should we go about?

Thank you and appreciate your feedback.
Your chance is pretty good as long as you have >7 in all IELTS sections and have more than 3 years software engineering related experience.

Since your aunt is in Sydney, you might consider applying VISA190. You'll receive extra 5 points.

http://www.industry.nsw.gov.au/live-and-wo...ccupations-list

I am not sure if medical representative is in the Skilled Occupational List though.
daylight_dancer
post Oct 18 2015, 10:42 AM

655 posts

QUOTE(Y-shapedTwig @ Oct 18 2015, 12:45 AM)
Your chance is pretty good as long as you have >7 in all IELTS sections and have more than 3 years software engineering related experience.

Since your aunt is in Sydney, you might consider applying VISA190. You'll receive extra 5 points.

http://www.industry.nsw.gov.au/live-and-wo...ccupations-list

I am not sure if medical representative is in the Skilled Occupational List though.
No points for relatives unless in rural area. My 190 didn't have this option anyway. If you've an Aus degrree (completed in Aus over 2 years), that's extra 5 points.
rawrkun
post Oct 18 2015, 11:20 AM

316 posts

Dear forumers, may i know hows the job prospect in Australia currently?
I am already a PR there and will be moving to NSW early next year. Actually came from civil engineering background but seeking for a career change into other field of works and wondering what's good at the moment.. and maybe take up some TAFE certifications along the way..
any advice is very much appreciated.

This post has been edited by rawrkun: Oct 18 2015, 11:31 AM
Y-shapedTwig
post Oct 18 2015, 09:20 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Oct 18 2015, 10:42 AM)
No points for relatives unless in rural area. My 190 didn't have this option anyway. If you've an Aus degrree (completed in Aus over 2 years), that's extra 5 points.
* extra 5 points for state nomination.

Visa 190 for NSW state sponsorship.
daylight_dancer
post Oct 18 2015, 09:33 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(Y-shapedTwig @ Oct 18 2015, 09:20 PM)
* extra 5 points for state nomination.

Visa 190 for NSW state sponsorship.
Yes, 5 point for state. Check NSW. They're the most tiring ones as there's an extra waiting period apparently.
Y-shapedTwig
post Oct 18 2015, 09:37 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Oct 18 2015, 09:33 PM)
Yes, 5 point for state. Check NSW. They're the most tiring ones as there's an extra waiting period apparently.
Suppose I'm on temporary graduate visa, and my visa is expiring soon while I'm applying for my PR.

Will I be given Bridging Visa of some sort to allow me to full time until my PR is granted?
daylight_dancer
post Oct 18 2015, 09:39 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(Y-shapedTwig @ Oct 18 2015, 09:37 PM)
Suppose I'm on temporary graduate visa, and my visa is expiring soon while I'm applying for my PR.

Will I be given Bridging Visa of some sort to allow me to full time until my PR is granted?

To work? You need to check with Border. There have been changes since my friends were on Bridging. State nom 190 is mostly dependent on the SOL. So, if you'rea recent grad, I don't know how that works out to be honest.
Y-shapedTwig
post Oct 18 2015, 09:53 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Oct 18 2015, 09:39 PM)
To work? You need to check with Border. There have been changes since my friends were on Bridging. State nom 190 is mostly dependent on the SOL. So, if you'rea recent grad, I don't know how that works out to be honest.
My occupation is on the SOL, but apparently the supply outweighs the demand, so... my chance is pretty slim although I have a full-time job in Australia. My company doesn't sponsor.

I will have just 60 points (my occupation requires 1 year working experience) by next year, and by the time my visa expires in 2017, I'll still be under 25, so still 60 points by 2017. sad.gif

My sister is Australian PR, and my partner is Australian citizen (I vowed not to marry to get a visa). I've read Border's website multiple times, and I've drawn a conclusion that I can only apply either Visa 189 and Visa 190. I'm disqualified for VIC state nomination as well.

My IELTS gives me 10 points. Is it realistic to push my IELTS to 8? I've colleagues who have taken the IELTS more than 10 times to just get 7s in all sections.
daylight_dancer
post Oct 18 2015, 10:01 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(Y-shapedTwig @ Oct 18 2015, 09:53 PM)
My occupation is on the SOL, but apparently the supply outweighs the demand, so... my chance is pretty slim although I have a full-time job in Australia. My company doesn't sponsor. 

I will have just 60 points (my occupation requires 1 year working experience) by next year, and by the time my visa expires in 2017, I'll still be under 25, so still 60 points by 2017.  sad.gif

My sister is Australian PR, and my partner is Australian citizen (I vowed not to marry to get a visa). I've read Border's website multiple times, and I've drawn a conclusion that I can only apply either Visa 189 and Visa 190. I'm disqualified for VIC state nomination as well.

My IELTS gives me 10 points. Is it realistic to push my IELTS to 8? I've colleagues who have taken the IELTS more than 10 times to just get 7s in all sections.
Yes IELTS can be pushed to 8. Mine was 8 overall (got lazy at the reading part, so slacked off for that bit), and I did it just once. It's getting more expensive though.

Otherwise there's PTE (I think thats what it's called).

SA noms are pretty okay. My 190 is SA sponsored. Every July immigration changes their requirements, and things get tougher. Worse case is you come back to MY, Get a job for at least a year, then re-apply. Points might be better as well.
azrb.com
post Oct 20 2015, 08:38 AM

66 posts

I worked for a builder in KL before moving to Sydney.
Plenty of jobs here in NSW but employers are always looking for those with local experience.
Anyway got my job in the property sector after 1 month of job hunting, residential market is picking up here.
But be prepared to take a step down from your senior/manager role at home.
Now am on a $27 per hour pay sad.gif
But that would open up more doors and once I have the local experience I will be moving on to other better paying jobs.

243 Pages « < 237 238 239 240 241 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:02 PM