QUOTE(Daniel Hyuuga @ Feb 11 2015, 03:26 AM)
Well, now we got the hockey game aborted. Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.
Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.
Feb 11 2015, 12:31 AM
5,369 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Feb 11 2015, 08:56 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
200 posts Joined: May 2007 |
you all are making it sound like its unadvisable to move there...
Feb 11 2015, 09:27 AM
841 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: PJ |
it all depends on your mindset, if you are planning to go there straight into an executive and senior role dont bother unless you have specific niche skills.
if you willing to retool / re learn start from the bottom then your chances of making it is higher. most who go there expecting to be in the same position they were here are usually the ones who are sorely dissapointed and return to malaysia it all depends on the mindset / expectations and your ultimate goal |
Feb 11 2015, 11:21 AM
263 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
QUOTE(m0r31d8ng3l @ Feb 11 2015, 11:56 AM) We are laying the cards straight as we see it. U read all these opinions and u judge whether it is suitable 4 u 2 move. If yr ultimate objective is to live in a fair, tolerant society, with a reasonably transparent govt, and healthy lifestyle, then this is the place. If yr ultimate objective is to continue ur career, think hard. If yr ultimate objective is to give yr kids a decent education without spending millions of ringgit, then this is the place. If u think it's gonna b easy think again. But then again whats life without challenges? |
Feb 11 2015, 11:29 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
200 posts Joined: May 2007 |
well i'm not really some high ranking person in my current role. I'm just a normal senior engineer and I have told myself to be ready to become a starting fresh engineer in any firm.
of course I've also considered switching to other trades and taking up courses offered by TAFE though that would be kind of hard as I will need to provide for my wife and kid. What I'm wondering now is how my chances will stackup as someone with no australian experience versus the shrinking market for electronics engineers from australia. |
Feb 11 2015, 11:35 AM
263 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
QUOTE(m0r31d8ng3l @ Feb 11 2015, 02:29 PM) What I'm wondering now is how my chances will stackup as someone with no australian experience versus the shrinking market for electronics engineers from australia. Well be prepared to apply, apply (and then) apply again.Make sure u have enough buffer funds to survive this. In the interim grab any job inc. working in supermarkets, Maccas, customer service to pay the bills. The good thing is that someone working in supermarkets can still earn a decent living. |
Feb 12 2015, 10:57 PM
77 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
hi guys, i am currently staying in Malaysia working as automotive technician, is it possible for me to get a job opportunity in Australia with the field and skill i got here. how is the procedure and way to apply, prefer Melbourne or Sydney. please advice me the proper way your advice is needed..
Feb 12 2015, 11:09 PM
QUOTE(Jealousy @ Feb 13 2015, 01:57 AM) hi guys, i am currently staying in Malaysia working as automotive technician, is it possible for me to get a job opportunity in Australia with the field and skill i got here. how is the procedure and way to apply, prefer Melbourne or Sydney. please advice me the proper way your advice is needed.. they got it better from the germans alot german r doing in this- mercs, beemer. and on "car manufacturing" Australia will cease to produce car unless TESLA come in. AT the meantime, there will be more automotive techy on the market and most also have different pricing. On servicing, you could probably make a pie yourself if you are really really good. |
Feb 13 2015, 04:47 PM
1,066 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
QUOTE(empire23 @ Feb 10 2015, 03:09 AM) I earn near to that, but I gave up everything else Sounds good on the offer. With that $$ will lead you pretty good decent life in MAS...especially Lumut.I just got an offer from Bechtel to go back to Malaysia for a 9-5 job in Lumut for /k/ standard monthly salary inclusive of 250 ringgit a day living away from home allowance. I think I'll take it. Interview in KL on Wednesday. It is a downgrade, but I'm only 28, for a 28 year old to be doing that kind of money signing off tick and flick sheets for the Wheatstone project in Malaysia, it's pretty damn sweet. Just talk about dollar to dollar, you'll get a 'maid' for yourself.....hehe |
Feb 13 2015, 04:52 PM
QUOTE(m0r31d8ng3l @ Feb 11 2015, 11:29 AM) well i'm not really some high ranking person in my current role. I'm just a normal senior engineer and I have told myself to be ready to become a starting fresh engineer in any firm. Hi mate, even you've got 10 or 20 years experience back home, here consider zero. Start all over again. Unless you're lucky that some company appreciate your transferable experience or else will be start off with junior pay.of course I've also considered switching to other trades and taking up courses offered by TAFE though that would be kind of hard as I will need to provide for my wife and kid. What I'm wondering now is how my chances will stackup as someone with no australian experience versus the shrinking market for electronics engineers from australia. I've been thru all this. They don't give a shit on what your experience in the past. No local experience no job. I suggest that if you got a contract role or hourly pay related to your job, just take it as this will boost up your profile. Better than spending your time in casual work which none related to your profession just for the sake of 'LOCAL' experience. |
Feb 13 2015, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(Jealousy @ Feb 12 2015, 10:57 PM) hi guys, i am currently staying in Malaysia working as automotive technician, is it possible for me to get a job opportunity in Australia with the field and skill i got here. how is the procedure and way to apply, prefer Melbourne or Sydney. please advice me the proper way your advice is needed.. Your skills might be useful here. If you have the certificate or whatever paper to proof your skills, get accredited by VETASSES, you may find your way here.I got this mechanic from KL who's a Truck Servicing Foreman who's fixing big truck in Perth. He worked 20 years then cabut open his own workshop. Earning well, and i always let him service all my car. Honest person and reliable. No cutting corners on car fixing. AutoBarn or AutoMaster ganasai, changing spare part without letting you know and charge kaw kaw... |
Feb 13 2015, 05:03 PM
QUOTE(shazam7 @ Feb 11 2015, 11:21 AM) We are laying the cards straight as we see it. Spot on! Very personal decision indeed. If looking for retirement or wanna shut down your brain early, probably yes.U read all these opinions and u judge whether it is suitable 4 u 2 move. If yr ultimate objective is to live in a fair, tolerant society, with a reasonably transparent govt, and healthy lifestyle, then this is the place. If yr ultimate objective is to continue ur career, think hard. If yr ultimate objective is to give yr kids a decent education without spending millions of ringgit, then this is the place. If u think it's gonna b easy think again. But then again whats life without challenges? But hang on....here you still need to work your way out to earn money so still full of challenge and has it's own problem. Perth living cost is high compare to other cities but lower than KL if compare dollar to dollar. Day care is damn expensive. Property is expensive but car is cheap....roadtax is shit. Healthcare insurance is cheap, internet is shit.....slowest ever but better than MAS Government is turning like MAS soon if ppl stay quiet. Both government like abang adik. Schools is good but depends on suburb. well overall still ok...just professional job security if very very very.....poor. Always think about how get 2nd job in hand to earn extra money to stay put |
Feb 14 2015, 08:02 AM
9,417 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bladin Point, Northern Territory |
QUOTE(KVReninem @ Feb 10 2015, 10:57 AM) Yes, the Wheatstone project's PAUs are being built in Lumut, much like how APLNG's PAUs were built by BJC in Thailand.QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Feb 13 2015, 04:47 PM) Sounds good on the offer. With that $$ will lead you pretty good decent life in MAS...especially Lumut. It's 12 month contract anyways, after that I go bek to QLD and FIFO into WA for project EPC.Just talk about dollar to dollar, you'll get a 'maid' for yourself.....hehe |
Feb 14 2015, 08:16 AM
2,131 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
Tough year with all the oil prices dropping. What I know is unemployment rate will continue to raise this year.
Feb 16 2015, 05:38 PM
Feb 16 2015, 06:03 PM
128 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
QUOTE(Riddhy @ Jan 5 2015, 03:23 PM) How about Acca? I heard australia has demands for accountants so if a graduate with completed 9 acca units has options to work there? Hi there, I am currently a Manager in the CF consulting practice of PwC in Australia and I hope I can share a bit of insight or perhaps some of my personal thoughts on getting accounting and finance jobs in Aus.In my personal point of view, you need the following 3 ingredients to stand a good chance with securing a job in Australia: (1) Connection/Network (If you have friends who is currently working in the company you wanna join, their endorsement will be very helpful, as Aussies are wary of hiring offshore candidates because they are not familiar with Malaysians.. without being racist or anything, just imagine a highly educated and top candidate from Bangladesh randomly send you an application for a job, will you be keen to purely assess the candidate based on his papers?) (2) Solid and proven experience - Let's face it, the job market in Aus is competitive, mainly because everyone throughout the world wants to migrate to Aus to live in one of the World's most liveable country. That being said, the competition is actually at the lower level accounting / finance jobs, where there is just too many good candidates that an employer can choose. I liase quite closely with a number of headhunters in Australia and I gathered that actually there is a healthy demand for experience accountants, auditors or finance professionals at the managerial level, especially those with strong technical skills, esp the Big 4s, some bulge bracket IBs and consulting firms. At least that was quite true before the recent economic events.. but that being said, I can tell you the Big 4s are still looking at ppl. In short, there is a shortage of good quality candidate at the managerial lvl but a total oversupply at the junior or slightly senior role instead. Unlike in Malaysia or Singapore however, Aussies are very choosy in selecting candidates, they would rather not employ anyone at all and leave the vacancy open than employing the less than ideal candidate (I have worked in Malaysia for 5 years and in Singapore for 1 year, I gathered that they will lower their standard and get someone in to do the job if they are desperate, I might be wrong) (3) Ability to present yourself confidently and talk well during interview - Goes without saying, that is just Aussie/foreigner's mentality, the ability of you talking through and bullshit (to a certain extent) signifies confidence and perceived ability, which is something I personally do not like and disagree in many extent, but then again, I am not in charge. In addition, it will be very helpful in terms of CV if you have been working in similar role in Singapore. It seems that Aussies are more familiar with Singapore and recognise Singapore experience as equivalent. Contrary to general belief, it is actually harder to secure an accounting role in smaller commercial companies / firms compared to getting into larger professional firms like Big 4s, because employers in this space are much more parochial and they expect candidate to have more Aussie local experience, more than what bigger international firms like PwC expect. I think there is a lot of job candidate had that false impression and hence went to apply for smaller roles in smaller companies with the idea that it might be easier. It is not. The only challenge with getting into bigger companies however is that there is a very high expectation of your CV and qualifications, which some of us may not have the luxury to have it. Bottom line, it is possible, but difficult nonetheless. If you think I must be some foreign grad, you are wrong: I graduate locally from a private college and I have never step foot in Aus before that. Full disclosure: I worked in the CF consulting practice in Big 4s in Malaysia and a mid-tier firm in SG for 6 years, and I am an ACCA and CFA. However, I do not think my ACCA or CFA is the key determining factor, though it definitely make my overall picture look coherent and nice as a candidate. Ultimately, it is your experience that matters, as there are ppl with lesser qualification still get hired because of their solid experience. Hope that helps. |
Feb 16 2015, 08:55 PM
326 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Does anyone have any insight into the .NET software engineering/analyst job market in Sydney?
Assuming I have 4 years experience in delivering software from analysis to implementation, and my english level is an IELTS lvl 8, would it be difficult to get a job there? |
Feb 17 2015, 12:30 AM
3,965 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(Justin Wong @ Feb 16 2015, 06:03 PM) Unlike in Malaysia or Singapore however, Aussies are very choosy in selecting candidates, they would rather not employ anyone at all and leave the vacancy open than employing the less than ideal candidate (I have worked in Malaysia for 5 years and in Singapore for 1 year, I gathered that they will lower their standard and get someone in to do the job if they are desperate, I might be wrong) In Asia, they might lower the $$$ and hire the person they need, but don't really want. In other countries, they'll keep the $$$ the same and hold out for the right candidate. They might even increase the $$$ for the perfect candidate (although this is common in Asia too, probably). |
Feb 27 2015, 05:13 PM
http://www.smh.com.au/federal-politics/pol...0329-1w15i.html
http://www.abc.net.au/4corners/stories/201.../23/4183437.htm have a read. careful tips: of dodgy recruitment agency. This post has been edited by KVReninem: Feb 27 2015, 06:13 PM |
Mar 9 2015, 11:38 PM
61 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Good day.
I am an electrical engineering students which graduated last year November (transcript and graduation ceremony in this coming June) and been start working as project engineer (construction) till now. Before this, I have some experience on hands-on electrical work and AutoCad as i work as part-time technician and draftsman during my 4 years degree. Currently I am interested in Australia Professional Year Program. I did check their requirement and I am eligible for the course as well as the application for the visa. However, the classes are only conducted at night or during weekend. So, I am planning to work during daytime (the visa allow me to work) to support my living expenses and to attend the class at night/weekend. I am wondering, with our Malaysia engineering degree (I will have two degree; one from the university and another from UK), am I easy to find an engineering job in Australia ? I dont mind if I have to start from the bottom. I will be staying with my relative, thus my major concern is my daily living expenses (if possible I would like to save for my course fee as well). Will it be easier find a job at the store like ALDI or Woolworths as compared to engineering-related job? |
| Change to: | 0.0398sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:37 AM |