243 Pages « < 203 204 205 206 207 > » Bottom

Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

Nemesis1980
post Jan 22 2015, 12:51 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jan 18 2015, 01:41 PM)
wadefak? Onsite when our can drinks naik harge to 1.50 dollars I beh song edi. What more nearly 5 AUD for kopi?

I just don't get kids these days with the classy eating attitude. If no marney don't eat mahal lah babi, then komplen no marney.
That's why nowadays kids always said their Lao Pek Oo Lui (Daddy got money!)
But my Lao Pek no money...what to do
Nemesis1980
post Jan 22 2015, 12:56 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jan 19 2015, 12:13 PM)
Well some live on their own lah and rent 1 room. Ok wat, cheap mah.
I erryday cupnoodles for lunch  cry.gif ... sometimes instant pasta....
[attachmentid=4307097]
Hopefully I treat my kids like how my mother brought me up. Want fancy stuff? Get a job lorh.
Hey Bro, your mom taught you well....haha

My uncle is a geologist for Qatar Petroleum earning huge income but he never give his son easy money. No Iphone but 3310 nokia.
He gave his son's project is tanam betik in hometown. He knew his wealth will disappear if giving money easy. So if his son request something, 50% by lao pek, the rest have to work. laugh.gif
Nemesis1980
post Jan 22 2015, 12:57 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jan 19 2015, 12:08 PM)
why not? takeaway a latte is a daily stuff for me before work. cant do the same though in msia sad.gif

luckily i got myself a nespresso machine from aus
guess what, sales is on now for nespresso at BigW for $49. I'm thinking of getting 1 for myself
Daniel Hyuuga
post Jan 23 2015, 01:10 AM

390 posts

idk about aussie but I have a friend there. I always chat with him and I wanted to try work at aussie, but Luke said don't. He says it's hard to work there unless you want to work to the bones there. He also says there is some kind of "Entertainment Tax" like you will have to pay tax over appliance like computer, camera and etc. , but idk i can't verify this one, but since he's an aussie I'll just buy whatever he says.
m0r31d8ng3l
post Jan 23 2015, 09:20 AM

200 posts

wow, really? a tax on electronic stuff?
Daniel Hyuuga
post Jan 23 2015, 09:34 AM

390 posts

QUOTE(m0r31d8ng3l @ Jan 23 2015, 09:20 AM)
wow, really? a tax on electronic stuff?
Yes, that is what Luke said to me lol, tho I can't really confirm it, but I'll just buy whatever he says XD
asiff
post Jan 23 2015, 09:41 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(Daniel Hyuuga @ Jan 23 2015, 01:10 AM)
idk about aussie but I have a friend there. I always chat with him and I wanted to try work at aussie, but Luke said don't. He says it's hard to work there unless you want to work to the bones there. He also says there is some kind of "Entertainment Tax" like you will have to pay tax over appliance like computer, camera and etc. , but idk i can't verify this one, but since he's an aussie I'll just buy whatever he says.
Never heard about entertainment tax for electronic stuff. Maybe it is GST bro.
selvenz
post Jan 23 2015, 09:45 AM

841 posts

lol i think what he means is the so called " australia tax" generally all items like digital music , google play , apple store, Tech Gadgets etc the prices are slightly higher in australia excluding GST.

If you compare item for item take for example a macbook between malaysia and australia excluding gst its much higher in australia, not sure why. generally all imported products are higher in australia

i could be wrong but this is my observation
hihihehe
post Jan 23 2015, 10:07 AM

13,793 posts

QUOTE(selvenz @ Jan 23 2015, 09:45 AM)
lol i think what he means is  the so called " australia tax" generally all items like digital music , google play , apple store, Tech Gadgets etc the prices are slightly higher in australia excluding GST.

If you compare item for item take for example a macbook between malaysia and australia excluding gst its much higher in australia, not sure why. generally all imported products are higher in australia

i could be wrong but this is my observation
currency. since the currency already dropped to 2.8 now, the price more or less the same now. my friend bought iphone 6 from australia last month with gst claimed and just slightly cheaper than malaysia. however, you can easily buy an iphone over there if you earning AUD

This post has been edited by hihihehe: Jan 23 2015, 10:07 AM
m0r31d8ng3l
post Jan 23 2015, 10:42 AM

200 posts

i'd like to ask a general question here. How many of you got jobs from online websites like Seek? How bout those from recommendations?

Any other ways of job seeking? Any groups to join? Networks?
KVReninem
post Jan 23 2015, 01:29 PM

IX
5,369 posts

just the tip of the iceberg..

http://www.perthnow.com.au/business/work/b...i-1227193308368

WHV please be aware.

Nemesis1980
post Jan 31 2015, 09:24 PM

1,066 posts

Well, it's been discussed in channel 9 b4. Comparing all western country, oz is paying higher price even you buy from ebay. They tracked ur IPP add to identify your location.
It's not a heaven here but still affordable. If not, ask someone buy for ye
empire23
post Feb 4 2015, 08:39 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Anyone here going up to Barrow Island on werk?
m0r31d8ng3l
post Feb 4 2015, 11:00 AM

200 posts

what kind of work being offered?
empire23
post Feb 4 2015, 01:40 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(m0r31d8ng3l @ Feb 4 2015, 11:00 AM)
what kind of work being offered?
Tons. E&I, SMP, NDT, Scheduling, Contracts and so on with the KJV and CKJV. But roster like shit lah, 4:1.
m0r31d8ng3l
post Feb 4 2015, 01:48 PM

200 posts

E&I? SMP? NDT? KJV? CKJV? erm, I'm in electronics engineering, and I never seen any of these..
azrb.com
post Feb 4 2015, 09:23 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Feb 4 2015, 01:40 PM)
Tons. E&I, SMP, NDT, Scheduling, Contracts and so on with the KJV and CKJV. But roster like shit lah, 4:1.
Can explain how 4:1 roster works?
4 weeks work 1 week off?
empire23
post Feb 5 2015, 05:13 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(m0r31d8ng3l @ Feb 4 2015, 01:48 PM)
E&I? SMP? NDT? KJV? CKJV? erm, I'm in electronics engineering, and I never seen any of these..
If you're an EnE you should know these lol. Here's a terminology of regularly used terms in Australian engineering we use to weed out people who have experience in industry;

E&I = Electrical and Instrumentation
KORDIA = Microwave Backbone
HA = Hazardous Areas
EEHA = Electrical Equipment for Hazardous Areas
SMP = Structural, Mechanical and Piping
NTD = Non Destructive Testing
OSBL = Outside Boundary Layer
NACAP = Pig launcher electronics line
SCMM = Single Core Multi Mode

Generally if it has a JV behind it means Joint Venture.

QUOTE(azrb.com @ Feb 4 2015, 09:23 PM)
Can explain how 4:1 roster works?
4 weeks work 1 week off?
Yup.
m0r31d8ng3l
post Feb 5 2015, 11:27 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Feb 5 2015, 05:13 AM)
If you're an EnE you should know these lol. Here's a terminology of regularly used terms in Australian engineering we use to weed out people who have experience in industry;

E&I = Electrical and Instrumentation
KORDIA = Microwave Backbone
HA = Hazardous Areas
EEHA = Electrical Equipment for Hazardous Areas
SMP = Structural, Mechanical and Piping
NTD = Non Destructive Testing
OSBL = Outside Boundary Layer
NACAP = Pig launcher electronics line
SCMM = Single Core Multi Mode

Generally if it has a JV behind it means Joint Venture.
I have seen E&I, SCMM. HA is referred to differently in Malaysia. Gonna try to remember all these tho.

NACAP and KORDIA I've really not seen before.
azrb.com
post Feb 6 2015, 08:16 PM

66 posts

Hey guys, anyone else moving to Australia?
I was just granted my 189 subclass smile.gif

I'm moving over to Queensland, going job hunting over there (am in the construction industry)
was wondering if I would be able to get into a civil & structural consultant firm as I was previously working on construction sites.

243 Pages « < 203 204 205 206 207 > » Top

0.0338sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:39 PM