243 Pages « < 204 205 206 207 208 > » Bottom

Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

empire23
post Feb 7 2015, 06:48 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(azrb.com @ Feb 6 2015, 08:16 PM)
Hey guys, anyone else moving to Australia?
I was just granted my 189 subclass  smile.gif

I'm moving over to Queensland, going job hunting over there (am in the construction industry)
was wondering if I would be able to get into a civil & structural consultant firm as I was previously working on construction sites.
Probably the worst possible time to move over lol.

Laing O'Rourke just made half of their civils redundant and so has Leighton and UGL.

Worley Parsons, ParsonsBrickenhoff and Monodelphous have laid off the civils and structural divs as they move into sustainment phase. Even E&I + SMP is not expected to last more than a year here in Queensland. That's why I'm moving on to capital sustainment or alternative energy projects.

I think the issue is that you'll be competing with a lot of other well qualified Dirt Doctors with Australian experience.
azrb.com
post Feb 7 2015, 08:32 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Feb 7 2015, 06:48 AM)
Probably the worst possible time to move over lol.

Laing O'Rourke just made half of their civils redundant and so has Leighton and UGL.

Worley Parsons, ParsonsBrickenhoff and Monodelphous have laid off the civils and structural divs as they move into sustainment phase. Even E&I + SMP is not expected to last more than a year here in Queensland. That's why I'm moving on to capital sustainment or alternative energy projects.

I think the issue is that you'll be competing with a lot of other well qualified Dirt Doctors with Australian experience.
Sigh, going to have a hard time job hunting
empire23
post Feb 7 2015, 08:42 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(azrb.com @ Feb 7 2015, 08:32 AM)
Sigh, going to have a hard time job hunting
It's so shit that I've already submitted forms for Talentcorp's REP to balik Malaysia and filled out transfer requests for Origin's sustainment projects in Sydney. I dot not expect projects to last past October.

My boss has already put us all on marching orders from the APLNG in September, some might pull the pin later. It seems SANTOS is already doing so.

Want my advice? Don't move to Australia at least until shit recovers. If they're offering grad engineers 3 to 6 month contracts, you know the economy is poo.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/business/p...0-1227208293055

This post has been edited by empire23: Feb 7 2015, 08:49 AM
azrb.com
post Feb 7 2015, 08:51 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Feb 7 2015, 08:42 AM)
It's so shit that I've already submitted forms for Talentcorp's REP to balik Malaysia and filled out transfer requests for Origin's sustainment projects in Sydney. I dot not expect projects to last past October.

My boss has already put us all on marching orders from the APLNG in September, some might pull the pin later. It seems SANTOS is already doing so.

Want my advice? Don't move to Australia at least until shit recovers. If they're offering grad engineers 3 to 6 month contracts, you know the economy is poo.
Ya, I guess that would be the wiser move to make.
You are right, just look at this fact sheet from EA: https://www.engineersaustralia.org.au/sites...e_dec_stats.pdf
m0r31d8ng3l
post Feb 7 2015, 09:30 AM

200 posts

I'm actually moving to sydney in March.
That's scary to learn. Guess I'm really gonna have to start figuring out a career change?
empire23
post Feb 7 2015, 10:50 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(m0r31d8ng3l @ Feb 7 2015, 09:30 AM)
I'm actually moving to sydney in March.
That's scary to learn. Guess I'm really gonna have to start figuring out a career change?
Try finance, it seems good and they're always open to hiring engineers.
m0r31d8ng3l
post Feb 7 2015, 02:28 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Feb 7 2015, 10:50 AM)
I've considered that too. Will need to work from bottom up again. But I guess its a better move compared to moving to a technicians work.
mohdyakup
post Feb 7 2015, 04:23 PM

4,351 posts

LNG construction industry in Oz seems pretty bleak.

I get a call from Inpex for their LNG project at Oz. Any comment for their project?
empire23
post Feb 8 2015, 04:22 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(m0r31d8ng3l @ Feb 7 2015, 02:28 PM)
I've considered that too. Will need to work from bottom up again. But I guess its a better move compared to moving to a technicians work.
I see a lot of engineers from Malaysia want to start again as techs.

But the reality is that technicians here must have a trade which stems from an apprenticeship for most work.

If you dare pick up a tool on site as an engineer and not a qualified tradesman, expect to get fired on the spot.

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Feb 7 2015, 04:23 PM)
LNG construction industry in Oz seems pretty bleak.

I get a call from Inpex for their LNG project at Oz. Any comment for their project?
Inpex is looking good with at least 2 solid years of work on Ichtys, I'm trying to get in as E&I, but as the other projects are ending they have a lot of people to choose from.

If you can get an Inpex deal with more than 1k AUD a day, take it. The lifestyle in Darwin isn't too bad compared to APLNG's Roma.

Take the 2 years then lompat katak to operations on a 2/2 roster. Balik KL chill, company pays air fare.

This post has been edited by empire23: Feb 8 2015, 04:22 AM
mohdyakup
post Feb 8 2015, 07:02 AM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Feb 8 2015, 04:22 AM)
I see a lot of engineers from Malaysia want to start again as techs.

But the reality is that technicians here must have a trade which stems from an apprenticeship for most work.

If you dare pick up a tool on site as an engineer and not a qualified tradesman, expect to get fired on the spot.
Inpex is looking good with at least 2 solid years of work on Ichtys, I'm trying to get in as E&I, but as the other projects are ending they have a lot of people to choose from.

If you can get an Inpex deal with more than 1k AUD a day, take it. The lifestyle in Darwin isn't too bad compared to APLNG's Roma.

Take the 2 years then lompat katak to operations on a 2/2 roster. Balik KL chill, company pays air fare.
Thanks for the info smile.gif will trying to get 1k daily rates as you mention else I just stay with my current project, seems that there will be an oversupply for QS at Oz for LNG construction, so my chances kinda slim. I believe you are with APLNG? I do have an uncle from Bintulu who work with Santos on contract basis, his name is Saifuddin.
empire23
post Feb 8 2015, 07:38 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Feb 8 2015, 07:02 AM)
Thanks for the info smile.gif will trying to get 1k daily rates as you mention else I just stay with my current project, seems that there will be an oversupply for QS at Oz for LNG construction, so my chances kinda slim. I believe you are with APLNG? I do have an uncle from Bintulu who work with Santos on contract basis, his name is Saifuddin.
If he's at Santos he's on the GLNG, lol I left that project 2 years ago.
wen9x88
post Feb 10 2015, 12:38 AM

2,933 posts

i planning go australia work for 1-2 year.
any job recommend ?

KVReninem
post Feb 10 2015, 01:00 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Jan 16 2015, 08:44 PM)
Hi guys, been a while away back to KL for 2weeks Christmas break. Going thru humid and rainy season and heavy traffic!!!
KL is very expensive now compared i left years ago and even earning AUD, still realising money draining quicker than i thought. Bought diapers and formula milk already RM135+carpark+miscellaneous = RM150 gone in 1 hour.
Had bakuteh in cheras cost me $15/head on a roadside stall...
Slaugthered by Auntie having Cha Fan for 2 vege + 1 meat + rice = RM9! Ganasai.
I know it doesn't cost much coz i earn AUD but dollar to dollar is just insane!
Just hardly imagine how Malaysian survive these days
surviving with overprice...its just matter of time it be like japanese in japan.

QUOTE(selvenz @ Jan 19 2015, 12:06 PM)
If you notice recently coffee culture has hit klang valley big time. every corner there is a hip coffee/cafe. not cheap ok. but amazingly packed !
oh yes. Australian culture brought back.. started in 2010. Here`s the thing of coffee, they are still "infant" stage, not really matured yet with great gaya, unlike melbourne.sweat.gif

QUOTE(m0r31d8ng3l @ Jan 19 2015, 02:48 PM)
well, I thought if living in Aus, you actually get to enjoy yourself a cuppa, tho not on a daily basis
yeah, but the price aint cheap! sweat.gif

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jan 19 2015, 03:08 PM)
why not? takeaway a latte is a daily stuff for me before work. cant do the same though in msia sad.gif

luckily i got myself a nespresso machine from aus
u brought that back laugh.gif awww.. how about the artisan cafe? ya been? whistling.gif

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jan 19 2015, 03:13 PM)
Well some live on their own lah and rent 1 room. Ok wat, cheap mah.
I erryday cupnoodles for lunch  cry.gif ... sometimes instant pasta....
[attachmentid=4307097]
Hopefully I treat my kids like how my mother brought me up. Want fancy stuff? Get a job lorh.
bro, u damn loaded k...i forsee /k like u earning 40k per month..in b4 kopitiam come in laugh.gif

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Feb 10 2015, 01:00 AM
KVReninem
post Feb 10 2015, 01:01 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Jan 22 2015, 03:56 PM)
Hey Bro, your mom taught you well....haha

My uncle is a geologist for Qatar Petroleum earning huge income but he never give his son easy money. No Iphone but 3310 nokia.
He gave his son's project is tanam betik in hometown. He knew his wealth will disappear if giving money easy. So if his son request something, 50% by lao pek, the rest have to work. laugh.gif
should have do export of betik to Perth. damn i miss papaya sweat.gif noming it heavily now.

QUOTE(Daniel Hyuuga @ Jan 23 2015, 04:10 AM)
idk about aussie but I have a friend there. I always chat with him and I wanted to try work at aussie, but Luke said don't. He says it's hard to work there unless you want to work to the bones there. He also says there is some kind of "Entertainment Tax" like you will have to pay tax over appliance like computer, camera and etc. , but idk i can't verify this one, but since he's an aussie I'll just buy whatever he says.
everything IS tax-ed. even those "services". Last heard, under the Mr Abort, he plan to tax vege and fruits too shocking.gif, all because obsession with the budget surplus.

QUOTE(empire23 @ Feb 7 2015, 01:50 PM)
its time they gonna crack. Too many people in finance industry.
empire23
post Feb 10 2015, 03:09 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Feb 10 2015, 01:00 AM)

bro, u damn loaded k...i forsee /k like u earning 40k per month..in b4 kopitiam come in laugh.gif
I earn near to that, but I gave up everything else

I just got an offer from Bechtel to go back to Malaysia for a 9-5 job in Lumut for /k/ standard monthly salary inclusive of 250 ringgit a day living away from home allowance.

I think I'll take it. Interview in KL on Wednesday. It is a downgrade, but I'm only 28, for a 28 year old to be doing that kind of money signing off tick and flick sheets for the Wheatstone project in Malaysia, it's pretty damn sweet.
shazam7
post Feb 10 2015, 10:37 AM

263 posts

If u can land a visa and a job, Oz can be a good place to live. Cost of living is much much lower than that in M'sia ... the dollar can buy so much more. But that's the catch tho. It's a small market, and to make matters worse, jobs have been outsourced to India, Philippines and even M'sia.
KVReninem
post Feb 10 2015, 10:57 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Feb 10 2015, 06:09 AM)
I earn near to that, but I gave up everything else

I just got an offer from Bechtel to go back to Malaysia for a 9-5 job in Lumut for /k/ standard monthly salary inclusive of 250 ringgit a day living away from home allowance.

I think I'll take it. Interview in KL on Wednesday. It is a downgrade, but I'm only 28, for a 28 year old to be doing that kind of money signing off tick and flick sheets for the Wheatstone project in Malaysia, it's pretty damn sweet.
wuttt? is there such? sweat.gif or you refer to WEED and a stone project?

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Feb 11 2015, 12:21 AM
Daniel Hyuuga
post Feb 11 2015, 12:17 AM

390 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Feb 10 2015, 01:01 AM)
everything IS tax-ed. even those "services". Last heard, under the Mr Abort, he plan to tax vege and fruits too shocking.gif, all because obsession with the budget surplus.
fruits and veges gets taxed, now that's rediculous, and Mr Abort huhhh hmm.gif

KVReninem
post Feb 11 2015, 12:20 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Daniel Hyuuga @ Feb 11 2015, 03:17 AM)
fruits and veges gets taxed, now that's rediculous, and Mr Abort huhhh  hmm.gif
NOT YET! but there is suggestion for it..u know that mr abort laugh.gif obssessy with budget surplus
Daniel Hyuuga
post Feb 11 2015, 12:26 AM

390 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Feb 11 2015, 12:20 AM)
NOT YET! but there is suggestion for it..u know that mr abort laugh.gif obssessy with budget surplus
Oh I see.. and Yerp I know his obsessy, but still that Mr. "Abort" >__> lol

243 Pages « < 204 205 206 207 208 > » Top

0.0670sec    1.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:21 AM