243 Pages « < 83 84 85 86 87 > » Bottom

Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

divine061
post Aug 13 2013, 03:53 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 13 2013, 03:07 PM)
Hi guys, finally got job confirmed. Thank God it's on! Start work next monday. Got it less than 3 weeks. Pay is better than i expected.
Thank you guys who really give the courage and support. I owe u guys.
For people who is still applying a job, don't give up. Discipline urself like applying at least 5-10 jobs per day and call them after sending.
You're not far away
That is great, congratulations.
tatagal
post Aug 13 2013, 04:38 PM

282 posts

Hi guys, finally got job confirmed. Thank God it's on! Start work next monday. Got it less than 3 weeks. Pay is better than i expected.
For people who is still applying a job, don't give up. Discipline urself like applying at least 5-10 jobs per day and call them after sending.
You're not far away
Good on you, buddy. So when do you plan to bring your family over?
annielee
post Aug 13 2013, 06:00 PM

294 posts

congrats :-)

You're not far away
empire23
post Aug 13 2013, 06:38 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

You're not far away
If you don't mind me asking, how much were you offered? 100k? Probably with a probationary period and review afterwards?
Nemesis1980
post Aug 13 2013, 11:26 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(jtsl9 @ Aug 13 2013, 03:53 PM)
rclxms.gif Congratulations. I just started the PR application process, am worried about the job hunting
Well, the road would be bumpy but put in courage and confident. Always stay positive and you'll get it.
Nemesis1980
post Aug 13 2013, 11:29 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 13 2013, 06:38 PM)
If you don't mind me asking, how much were you offered? 100k? Probably with a probationary period and review afterwards?
They're offering 70k. It's better than expected coz based on current market situation.
Good thing is the company will review it after 3 mths. Well, take it 1st. After few years local exp then looking for better offer.
I think if ur salary exceed 130k, tax is higher and will make a small difference with people earning 80k. hmm....any advise? hmm.gif
Soony
post Aug 13 2013, 11:31 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 13 2013, 11:29 PM)
They're offering 70k. It's better than expected coz based on current market situation.
Good thing is the company will review it after 3 mths. Well, take it 1st. After few years local exp then looking for better offer.
I think if ur salary exceed 130k, tax is higher and will make a small difference with people earning 80k. hmm....any advise? hmm.gif
Think what u re looking at is your base salary, if exceed 75k you ll be charge with a different tax threshold.

So if yours is 70k you're still in the level below the one I've mentioned. Does 70k includes super and everything?
Nemesis1980
post Aug 13 2013, 11:32 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(tatagal @ Aug 13 2013, 04:38 PM)
Good on you, buddy. So when do you plan to bring your family over?
Targeting before CNY. Thinking of celebrating here coz no holiday here for CNY. Hopefully can reunite with them soon. Miss them so much...

empire23
post Aug 14 2013, 05:01 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 13 2013, 11:29 PM)
A 3 month review is good.

If you earn a lot, there are a lot of tax avoidance strategies you can. I didn't pay a cent of tax last year.

eg; I bought a tool box, put it my car and have over 20kg worth of tools. Thus I can legally claim my drive to an from work as tax deductible.
hihihehe
post Aug 14 2013, 07:01 AM

13,799 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 14 2013, 01:29 AM)
Nice one and congrats!

You can calculate your salary and tax from this website http://www.paycalculator.com.au/

Nemesis1980
post Aug 14 2013, 08:27 AM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 14 2013, 05:01 AM)
A 3 month review is good.

If you earn a lot, there are a lot of tax avoidance strategies you can. I didn't pay a cent of tax last year.

eg; I bought a tool box, put it my car and have over 20kg worth of tools. Thus I can legally claim my drive to an from work as tax deductible.
Well, that's something informative. I think i need to spend some time to study on the tax issue.
May i know how much shall i earn to buy a house like 400k?A family of 4? I know this sounds pretty subjective but at least i had a guideline to prepare some $$ or has to sell my property back home to reduce the loan amount.

Nemesis1980
post Aug 14 2013, 08:29 AM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 14 2013, 07:01 AM)
Nice one and congrats!

You can calculate your salary and tax from this website http://www.paycalculator.com.au/
Thanks mate, will try to look into it. Ozzie tax quite complicated.
I was wondering to get part time job at nite. Like working in woolies or coles. But it's discouraging coz the tax they put on u.
Now i get it why people taking 1 job only.
Unless getting freelance job and request them to pay by cash...yeap, few hundreds maybe
hihihehe
post Aug 14 2013, 08:42 AM

13,799 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 14 2013, 10:27 AM)
Well, that's something informative. I think i need to spend some time to study on the tax issue.
May i know how much shall i earn to buy a house like 400k?A family of 4? I know this sounds pretty subjective but at least i had a guideline to prepare some $$ or has to sell my property back home to reduce the loan amount.
Aussie's golden thumb of rule: Monthly repayment must not exceed 30% of your monthly salary or else you will be struggling
I believe $400k can get you a good house in outer suburb especially in Perth but if you prefer CBD area then you only can get maximum 2br apartments

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 14 2013, 10:29 AM)
Thanks mate, will try to look into it. Ozzie tax quite complicated.
I was wondering to get part time job at nite. Like working in woolies or coles. But it's discouraging coz the tax they put on u.
Now i get it why people taking 1 job only.
Unless getting freelance job and request them to pay by cash...yeap, few hundreds maybe
Having 2 jobs have to pay more tax I guess? You can try to find a waiter job although the pay is low
Nemesis1980
post Aug 14 2013, 09:07 AM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 14 2013, 08:42 AM)
Aussie's golden thumb of rule: Monthly repayment must not exceed 30% of your monthly salary or else you will be struggling
I believe $400k can get you a good house in outer suburb especially in Perth but if you prefer CBD area then you only can get maximum 2br apartments
Having 2 jobs have to pay more tax  I guess? You can try to find a waiter job although the pay is low
Yeah, my house owner's sister is tax accountant. Telling me the same thing.
I guess i've to hit 100k then only can buy.
I saw houses in north perth ellenbrook selling 350k. entitled with FHOG, if labor party wins, FHOG will increase from 7k to 10k which only for new house.
I think labor party might not win this round coz ppl is frustrating with carbon tax! Long terms it's good for future but current situation, i don't think ang moh will buy that

hihihehe
post Aug 14 2013, 09:20 AM

13,799 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 14 2013, 11:07 AM)
I saw houses in north perth ellenbrook selling 350k. entitled with FHOG, if labor party wins, FHOG will increase from 7k to 10k which only for new house.
I think labor party might not win this round coz ppl is frustrating with carbon tax! Long terms it's good for future but current situation, i don't think ang moh will buy that
FHOG used to be $20k and my friend was the last batch of getting it tongue.gif

But now $6k with half price of stamp duty(In Vic if that makes any difference)

Nemesis1980
post Aug 14 2013, 09:22 AM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 14 2013, 09:20 AM)
FHOG used to be $20k and my friend was the last batch of getting it tongue.gif

But now $6k with half price of stamp duty(In Vic if that makes any difference)
That's the highest i heard too. My owners daughter got tat 1. Vic stamp duty is very expensive. WA still cost nth with property below 500k

hihihehe
post Aug 14 2013, 09:24 AM

13,799 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 14 2013, 11:22 AM)
That's the highest i heard too. My owners daughter got tat 1. Vic stamp duty is very expensive. WA still cost nth with property below 500k
$500k can get a 2br apartments in CBD. I don't like the way they sell the car park separately ($60k).
divine061
post Aug 14 2013, 09:34 AM

256 posts

It will be hard for you to get a loan with 3 month contract only, unless you have a huge deposit from Malaysia, you probably can leave it for now. Not a lot of people are using FHOG now that it is only limited to new building. New buildings here are very badly built and high risk of not completing and completed totally different from the initial spec.
hihihehe
post Aug 14 2013, 09:38 AM

13,799 posts

QUOTE(divine061 @ Aug 14 2013, 11:34 AM)
It will be hard for you to get a loan with 3 month contract only, unless you have a huge deposit from Malaysia, you probably can leave it for now. Not a lot of people are using FHOG now that it is only limited to new building. New buildings here are very badly built and high risk of not completing and completed totally different from the initial spec.
That's a very race chance but of course you have to do research before you buy it. I have lot of friends in architecture field and they know which developer is good and which is bad so that's a bit advantage for me if I want to get one
Soony
post Aug 14 2013, 10:21 AM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 14 2013, 09:07 AM)
Most of my friends stays down south, never really been much to up north but the roads and structures all seems a bit dodgy, just based on my POV.

Down south seems more commercialised, a lot more stuffs to do.

243 Pages « < 83 84 85 86 87 > » Top

0.0179sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 04:31 AM