QUOTE(bossnass15 @ May 4 2012, 08:21 PM)
what's ur plan?are ur company going to give some compensation?Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.
Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.
May 21 2012, 07:58 PM
282 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
May 22 2012, 09:47 AM
May 23 2012, 12:10 PM
May 29 2012, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(chrishung @ May 29 2012, 02:36 PM) Anyone in WA who can recommend a job for a mech eng with 2.5 yrs exp? Got a 475, so constrained to working and living in regional WA only. Why limit yourself to regional WA only? Any particular reason for that?And a question to those who are currently living down under, has anyone gotten a job before landing in Aus? I understand that some employer would prefer that you land in Aus first before considering you for a job. |
May 29 2012, 04:14 PM
QUOTE(chrishung @ May 29 2012, 03:37 PM) It's a visa requirement. 475 is a pathway to PR (subclass 887). Very easy to get PR this way since you only need to comply with the conditions for 475, ie live for 2 yrs and work full time for 1 yr in regional area. It seems that you have done lots of research. Just to keep you up to date. The new legislations starting from Jul this year (not confirmed yet but very likely) will reduce the 6 subclasses of employer sponsored visas to 2.Here is the link: http://www.acacia-au.com/permanent_employe...isa_reforms.php So I think it doesn't matter anymore either you work in Perth or Sydney. Please correct me if I am wrong! |
Jun 16 2012, 12:16 AM
QUOTE(Raitama @ Jun 15 2012, 10:01 PM) Depends on your job as well as your offer!Currently there is LAFHA, it is D@Mn G00d! After this mth! haha..... unless you get a good offer! If coming here for experience that might be useful for you in the future - YES IF planning to migrate to Aus for certain reason - YES If planning to gain money and bring back to M'sia - Please also consider the tax as well as cost of living! |
Jun 16 2012, 12:45 AM
QUOTE(Raitama @ Jun 16 2012, 12:33 AM) what is LAFHA? Living Away From Home Allowance.i not really a fan of aus actually.. when the headhunter initially approach me i just simply " ya ya ya " then after the interview, they said OK ! i terus shocked liao.. that makes me wanna think properly... whether i wan go anot.. the package really good so i kinda tempted la.. i dont plan to migrate to aus actually.. i kinda love msia.. gain money bring back to msia? what tax? cost of living in perth is high? aihh.. seriously i dunno man.. they are still in process but the headhunter told me i passed the interview and the aussie hr will b calling me to discuss abt the relocation & offer letter & stuff dy... Since you say that it is a good offer, it might be a good opportunity for you to come over! A lot of ppl plan to come here and Australia is like Paradise! But the other thing is since you still prefer to be in M'isa, you have to decide properly, what is your intention coming here? Money, life or experience - since you do not plan to be here for long term? if you love M'sia so much, you might regret after coming here! Cost of living in Perth, Sydney and Melbourne is high! The highest tax bracket is approx. 45$! Also, depends on your lifestyle, are you the type willing to sacrifice your lifestyle for money? |
Jun 16 2012, 12:56 AM
QUOTE(Raitama @ Jun 16 2012, 12:49 AM) hmm.. well.. if convert, the rate is higher than msia la. i have a car and a house in msia dy.. if i go there i need buy new house new car Totally depends on where is your work location, you plan to stay in city or suburb, rent a room or rent a house!my intention ahh... i dunno man.. hahaha... never work in aus b4 i love msia coz i am comfortable with everything... but then dad told me if i plan to settle down and have kids, maybe australia might be a good place coz msia so many issues.. aih.. i dunno go there short or long term... thing is i never think of my future yet... suddenly this thing came in... force me to think jor how high cost of living? more mahal than msia tak? lifestyle vs money? what kinda lifestyle? hehe... sorry man i sounds so noob liddat... hmmmm Tell you one interesting fact about renting a place here through website like realestate.com.au, the agent will organize an open house on certain time, many ppl will come, many ppl will apply, so it means, if you are interested, it is not necessary will rent it to you! This is reality! How many years of experience do you have? How much are they offering you? Please google to make sure your pay is par with market rate! |
Jun 16 2012, 01:12 AM
QUOTE(Raitama @ Jun 16 2012, 12:57 AM) Ya, should be about there! Please also check with them whether it is numeration package or basic salary! it makes a minor differenceAnother info for you, if the government remains the LAFHA, every month, you get additional 15-20% Extra Nett pay based on your salary! Renting for a whole house in suburb cost approx AUD400/week! Renting a studio apartment in the city cost AUD450/week! Please note that you figures are just estimation, depends on the size of the property as well as location. Transportation from suburb to city will cost you approx. AUD25/ week. Some ppl cycle to office and take a shower before work! Summer here is like 40C, freaking hot! I LIKE winter. hehe Food- depends whether you enjoy cooking or eating outside! one meal cost you approx. AUD7-10 (cheap ones) Anyway, one month you can save at least Rm10k based on your salary + some trips with AA back to M'sia. Annual leave should be 20 days. If you plan to come here, expect yourself to rent a place for at least 2 years and buy a place only after you are PR. Good luck! |
Jun 16 2012, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(Raitama @ Jun 16 2012, 01:17 AM) aihh... thanks a lot bro.. ur advice is very good.. Welcome. Sure.but i really no heart to think all these lol.. aihh.. see how first la.. i kinda love my current company too.. actually i tangan gatal saja test market (i love to go interview) but now.. they seems serious.. ok i go think think first, if i need any more info i msg u ya |
Aug 18 2012, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(TSOM @ Aug 11 2012, 04:09 PM) Well, I think it won't be more expensive than living in the UK. Also, there are some examples of ppl travelling over here by using holiday visa. When they are here, they applied for jobs and got offered, the company sponsored them on the working visa. But with current economy condition, unlike the job you are looking for is in demand, else, is a bit hard. Do some research on the job demand you are interested, plan your budget. If you are a risk taker, why not? Worst come to worst, just assume you are coming for holiday! I'm not looking for jobs that pay per hour, I'm looking for full time, graduate jobs. I'm thinking of going there on a holiday visa (skip the hassle of applying for working holiday visa), and while renting a place to stay for perhaps 3 months, concentrating totally on job hunting. Then once got job offer, apply for work permit. I just don't know if that's legal, but this is how it works in Europe. Thinking of living on a student budget like RM 3k per month, so can get ready ±RM 10k to spend over 3 months in Australia. The sad thing is I've no friends/families living in Australia. I also knew an Iranian, got his PR then came over here. That lucky dude found a job in just a month. If you are qualified to get a PR, then it will definately easier for you to get a job in Australia. |
Aug 19 2012, 09:26 AM
By the way,anyone fr lyn who has applied for their PR in the previous few months?any update? heard that this time will be taking a long time for approval due to the change of legislation fr jul 2012!
Added on August 19, 2012, 9:32 amBy the way,anyone fr lyn who has applied for their PR in the previous few months?any update? heard that this time will be taking a long time for approval due to the change of legislation fr jul 2012! This post has been edited by tatagal: Aug 19 2012, 09:32 AM |
Aug 22 2012, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(onomatopoeia @ Aug 22 2012, 03:52 PM) Thanks. Bravo That's what my friend told me. If the address and number on the resume is not in Oz, they won't entertain. Is true that it is slightly easier to get a job if your address and phone number is in OZ. Since you get your PR approved, it means that they are still lack of experties like you in Australia. There are still chances! May I know what job are you looking for and in which part of Australia? |
Aug 22 2012, 06:30 PM
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 22 2012, 05:22 PM) good on ya. my PR hope is getting minimal. occupation is not in SOL list anymore since July 2011 and scold myself why i went for TR instead of PR Mind to elaborate more? Why you go for TR instead of PR? What is your occupation?i got my first job here with good pay but i stuck over here as my visa ends on next year and the only hope is to get employer sponsored |
Aug 22 2012, 08:41 PM
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 22 2012, 07:33 PM) my gf is primary applicant(marketing) while im secondary. we still newbie about PR stuff last year and thought will be going back msia for good after 2 years so TR was a best way and can get PR in future but everything changed after we applied TR. we have a job and we pretty comfortable with the living and the pays but we need to start all over again if we back to malaysia. Best of luck then!spoke with agent and lawyer friend and the best way is to get employer sponsored but it's not possible with our current employers. we are now looking for another job though |
Aug 23 2012, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(mark @ Aug 23 2012, 11:46 AM) sifus! i'm applying for a PR under the new EOI system. have done my IELTS and such. State sponsorship: If you are very sure which state you will be staying and working + you want to get it ASAP!after doing the points calculation, i have 60 points (minimum requirement is 60 points). my agent is suggesting i should go with a state sponsorship since i'm on the borderline passing mark. apparently state sponsorship would be faster for my case (push my points up to 65) and since my skills are listed on SOL 1, it's best to apply for the faster route in case things get harder and harder in the future/my skills are not listed as high demand anymore. problem is, state sponsorship costs AUD1200. so i'm wondering, is it really necessary to go this way? the cost is so high leh By the way, isn't it as long as you have 60 points, they will pass your application but just the matter of time? They will not fail you if you are at borderline, right? So what is the concern? I think your agent should be experience enough to answer your question since she handled a lot of cased before yours! |
Aug 24 2012, 02:59 PM
QUOTE(ysc @ Aug 24 2012, 02:50 PM) If you really plan to stay here, I think is worth a bet! The best is to consult an agent, they are more experience!By the way, I had my IELTS is Australia for $330, IELTS in Malaysia cost around RM700, why yours are more expensive? Is it different state different price? |
Aug 24 2012, 03:26 PM
QUOTE(ysc @ Aug 24 2012, 03:13 PM) I was told I should also take a 1-2 day intensive course which will teach me about the structures & formats etc on how to answer, do you think I should take it? Its about A$90 No idea for chances of getting PR for your case since I am not an expert!And what are the chances of getting PR? I still have to wait for my skills to be assessed, then lodge an expression of interest, which would probably take the immigration some time too right? I graduate by December 2012 and visa expires in March 2013 I do not plan to return if I don't get a job (sponsored) by January, I plan to go back for CNY (Feb) For normal user, shouldn't be a problem to score between 7 - 7.5. If English is your mother tongue, shouldnt be a prob for average 8 or above especially for those who studied here! What band do you need to score? For the structures and formats, I think you can get from your friends. It is good for you to know some technique rather then walking to the exam hall without any preparation. My friend gave me a lot of sample & pass year (softcopy), sadly the files are too big. If you really need it, I can send some to you. |
Sep 10 2012, 11:09 AM
Sep 13 2012, 11:14 AM