243 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Bottom

Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

BravoZeroTwo
post Jun 3 2013, 05:44 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jun 3 2013, 06:07 PM)
Good question, the trigger was sometime in 2008/9 I think me and my wife decided that we were bored of working/living in Malaysia so we decided to apply for something else and the Aussie PR was reasonably easy to get. Compared to the UK, Canada and the US, Australia was then booming in the industries I was interested in (energy) with decent weather and access to Malaysia.

But I haven't migrated (yet?) because the Aussie economy is now tanking, plus I will have to put a lot more effort into getting a higher paying job in Australia since I'm already making decent money here. I'm also a bit turned off by the kampung attitude by some Aussies but that doesn't seem to be a major issue in the major cities.
Thanks for your explanation, tishaban. Cheers.
Nemesis1980
post Jun 4 2013, 03:33 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Jun 3 2013, 05:43 PM)
Correct me if I'm wrong but last I heard Aussie is devaluating the AUD and trying to slash interest rates in order to remain competitive.
Meanwhile miners continue to retrench staff due to the high wages and cut cost to remain competitive and profitable.
Lots of Aussie are looking out and I see many of them migrating to Asia for better opportunities.
You're right! Whatever is high must come down to normal. RBA annoucing interest is a strategy as mainly due to China reduction demand on iron ores.
Of course there's chain reaction to other industries. As you said, it's just the beginning on the retrenchment. Housing prices will continue to hike up with more foreign investors coming in on lower currency and interest rate. But what i saw a phenomena is that building industries still remain conservative. Based on current property market, the demand is extremely high than supply now, builders calling market now. Ozzie gov is controlling property value in order not to let the bubble burst. If not, will end up even worst than US.
Of course Australia will start the brain drain again like 5 years ago and heading Asia (Thailand & Indonesia). Ozzie gov will continue to bring in more highly skilled immigrants.

This post has been edited by Nemesis1980: Jun 4 2013, 03:35 PM
BravoZeroTwo
post Jun 5 2013, 04:52 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Jun 4 2013, 04:33 PM)
You're right! Whatever is high must come down to normal. RBA annoucing interest is a strategy as mainly due to China reduction demand on iron ores.
Of course there's chain reaction to other industries. As you said, it's just the beginning on the retrenchment. Housing prices will continue to hike up with more foreign investors coming in on lower currency and interest rate. But what i saw a phenomena is  that building industries still remain conservative. Based on current property market, the demand is extremely high than supply now, builders calling market now. Ozzie gov is controlling property value in order not to let the bubble burst. If not, will end up even worst than US.
Of course Australia will start the brain drain again like 5 years ago and heading Asia (Thailand & Indonesia). Ozzie gov will continue to bring in more highly skilled immigrants.
Does mean safely to say that it is good time for us migrant to start migrating to Oz ? Thanks.
hihihehe
post Jun 5 2013, 06:43 PM

13,794 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Jun 5 2013, 06:52 PM)
Does mean safely to say that it is good time for us migrant to start migrating to Oz ? Thanks.
Before you think it is a good time, you have to consider the criteria to migrate over.

It is very tough to migrate over with the current immigration rules. I am preparing to score all 8s in IELTS to get sufficient points for PR :/
BravoZeroTwo
post Jun 6 2013, 10:21 AM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 5 2013, 07:43 PM)
Before you think it is a good time, you have to consider the criteria to migrate over.

It is very tough to migrate over with the current immigration rules. I am preparing to score all 8s in IELTS to get sufficient points for PR :/
All the best to all of us. Cheers.
Nemesis1980
post Jun 7 2013, 11:41 AM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 5 2013, 06:43 PM)

Yeah, based on current rules is tough but not impossible. If look back 10years ago, IELTS is not even compulsory.
Now i guess they just want to control people from non english speaking countries. I guess the main impact is from north asian (China,Korean, Taiwan, Japan...etc.)
Indian should be no problem as they're talented in adopting english language.
Anyway, wish you all the best my friend! You will getting band 8.
hihihehe
post Jun 7 2013, 05:25 PM

13,794 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Jun 6 2013, 12:21 PM)
All the best to all of us. Cheers.

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Jun 7 2013, 01:41 PM)
Yeah, based on current rules is tough but not impossible. If look back 10years ago, IELTS is not even compulsory.
Now i guess they just want to control people from non english speaking countries. I guess the main impact is from north asian (China,Korean, Taiwan, Japan...etc.)
Indian should be no problem as they're talented in adopting english language.
Anyway, wish you all the best my friend! You will getting band 8.
Thanks. ACS(board of computing) has restricted the assessment from offshore by reducing the reduce work experience based on the education qualification. Many people in India that have 10 years of skilled experience with bachelor will gets 2 years experienced reduced and 4 years for diploma.

Will be having my first IELTS test in my life tomorrow and just fingers crossed
darkhorse_86
post Jun 7 2013, 05:56 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 7 2013, 05:25 PM)
Will be having my first IELTS test in my life tomorrow and just fingers crossed
Just relax and remember to be alert especially for the listening exam
hihihehe
post Jun 7 2013, 06:04 PM

13,794 posts

QUOTE(darkhorse_86 @ Jun 7 2013, 07:56 PM)
Just relax and remember to be alert especially for the listening exam
i am more concern with reading(bloody true,false and not given) and writing
Nemesis1980
post Jun 7 2013, 06:10 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 7 2013, 06:04 PM)
Beware on the listening part. No rewind of recorder. I kena on this losing few points from there with their bloody accent challenge!
I think you should be no problem. Get the 8
hihihehe
post Jun 7 2013, 06:18 PM

13,794 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Jun 7 2013, 08:10 PM)
Beware on the listening part. No rewind of recorder. I kena on this losing few points from there with their bloody accent challenge!
I think you should be no problem. Get the 8
Been practicing listening many times and the most annoying part is I could misspell the word they said.Hopefully not many difficult words in the conversation

darkhorse_86
post Jun 8 2013, 04:50 AM

152 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 7 2013, 06:04 PM)
You should have no problem with this. From my experience, the questions in the real exams are more direct and clear-cut compared to the practice questions. Your concerna with the reading exam should be with time management (the main problem in this section is the time constraint)

This post has been edited by darkhorse_86: Jun 8 2013, 04:51 AM
hihihehe
post Jun 8 2013, 05:59 PM

13,794 posts

all done. writing part is the most concerning. no time to re-check the answer. hopefully don't have to do second attempt
empire23
post Jun 9 2013, 07:43 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

My experience with IELTS is that above all, get used to the system for minimum downtime and surprises.

There is no genuine way to study for the test in my opinion. You either master the English language or get a low score. It is really as simple as that. Thus if you don't practice the use of English in daily life, well then, I've got bad news for you.

The only thing I find retarded is the 2 year validity period. Can't use for Canadian PR, have to resit.
win44
post Jun 9 2013, 09:16 AM

391 posts

Perth is Freezing Cold !!
growing up in Malaysia, i cant stand the cold weather there.
=(
hihihehe
post Jun 9 2013, 02:50 PM

13,794 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jun 9 2013, 09:43 AM)
My experience with IELTS is that above all, get used to the system for minimum downtime and surprises.

There is no genuine way to study for the test in my opinion. You either master the English language or get a low score. It is really as simple as that. Thus if you don't practice the use of English in daily life, well then, I've got bad news for you.

The only thing I find retarded is the 2 year validity period. Can't use for Canadian PR, have to resit.
I have been using English daily in these 4-5 years including 2 years in my workplace but is just the writing part i hate the most. Email(replyat least 50 emails per day) is the tool that we use in the workplace but I still can't do well in IELTS. Probably not creative enough to write the given topic? Or probably I am more confident typing using keyboard instead of holding pen

This post has been edited by hihihehe: Jun 9 2013, 02:53 PM
The Net Surfer
post Jun 9 2013, 03:36 PM

332 posts

Good is the laid-back lifestyle
Drawbacks are the living expenses quite high e.g. Rental, parking, electrical appliances, food (Especially in Melbourne & Sydney)
One of the family of my relative, chose to come back M'sia afterall
Don't think that you can get your dream job with your qualification,
The property is extremely expensive in down town area, you might end up with bought a house at a very far location (suburb) can travel to work by train very early in the morning.
empire23
post Jun 9 2013, 03:45 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 9 2013, 02:50 PM)
I have been using English daily in these 4-5 years including 2 years in my workplace but is just the writing part i hate the most. Email(replyat least 50 emails per day) is the tool that we use in the workplace but I still can't do well in IELTS. Probably not creative enough to write the given topic? Or probably I am more confident typing using keyboard instead of holding pen
It isn't creativity that's the key, but contextual accuracy. Using the right words and correct grammar for the situation you're in.

To get this right, the best way to broaden your references. Newspaper editorials are excellent sources to reference if you want to get an opinion piece right.

Either way as long as you're well read you'll be fine most of the time. Scoring an 8 isn't really that hard.
thomasthai
post Jun 10 2013, 08:47 AM

321 posts

This is my second month in Sydney now. Every other fellow I meet is a migrant, I think the majorities are becoming minorities soon.

tishaban
post Jun 10 2013, 01:26 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 9 2013, 02:50 PM)
Writing vs typing does make a huge difference, particularly in terms of flow when you have limited time. You do need to use English daily not just in your workplace however in my opinion, looking at what you wrote above is already an indication that you're not up there yet grammar-wise. Hope you did ok over the weekend.

243 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:16 PM