29 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Japanese Cuisine - Good & Bad, Let's Group Up all Japanese Foods HERE

TSRazorVista
post Dec 15 2011, 05:41 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Dec 13 2011, 08:31 AM)
98++ per person eh

also when talk about consistency there, it's just....shiatz

at 1st when my friend order the teppanyaki beef, he order for medium rare. and it taste GOOD!

then i went and order from the same chef and asked for medium rare too. At this point of time, another person besides me order for rare. And guess what? Both medium rare and rare are cooked side by side at the same pan, cooked and served at the same time lol

Result? My medium rare turns out like medium well done
Oh...that's a letdown...apart of that? anything else?

QUOTE(whyteaz @ Dec 13 2011, 11:42 AM)
Y i read this last week????
T__________T

just went to eyuzu last saturday

overall rate 2/5~!!!
price value 1/5~!!!
Way too expensive for tiz kinda quality~!!!!
Follow this thread or my blog and you will not go wrong smile.gif

QUOTE(Patchy @ Dec 14 2011, 07:45 PM)
Seriously, I hate to see post like this. Please have some write up and pictures or otherwise u r not welcome here... mad.gif

samlee860407
post Dec 15 2011, 09:29 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(RazorVista @ Dec 15 2011, 05:41 PM)
Oh...that's a letdown...apart of that? anything else?

well, apart of i can taste frozen ice on the butter fish sashimi, and all the thickness of the sashimi are not even, and other than the knife seems not sharp enuf when using to slice the sashimi

other food? hm...ok la...nothing really memorable. for me, i can only think that, well, it's a buffet, what can i expect? =.='

however, my fren (that went with me together) who patronise them a few times 2 years back, tell me that the standard does drop liao
Crys_Crys
post Dec 15 2011, 11:26 PM

**{o_O}**
3,509 posts

Just wanna ask opinions, where to have Japanese Buffet better? Jogoya or Shogun? If possible need to be halal one

This post has been edited by Crys_Crys: Dec 15 2011, 11:27 PM
deodorant
post Dec 16 2011, 12:06 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(Crys_Crys @ Dec 15 2011, 11:26 PM)
Just wanna ask opinions, where to have Japanese Buffet better? Jogoya or Shogun? If possible  need to be halal one

in my humble opinion, neither are worth the money, unless you're the kind that can whack 2 dozen oyster at one shot.
TSRazorVista
post Dec 16 2011, 09:24 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(Crys_Crys @ Dec 15 2011, 11:26 PM)
Just wanna ask opinions, where to have Japanese Buffet better? Jogoya or Shogun? If possible  need to be halal one
Honestly -lar.... for me -lar...... i feel like i am torturing and making a sin by putting their food into my body. But...if you insist...please go for Shogun which is much more cheaper compare with overpriced Jogoya.

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 16 2011, 12:06 AM)
in my humble opinion, neither are worth the money, unless you're the kind that can whack 2 dozen oyster at one shot.
Agreeedddddd............
TSRazorVista
post Dec 16 2011, 09:27 AM

266 posts

Restaurant Name: Yuzu
Dining Time: Dinner

All the above is their Unagi set with Soba
Outlook: 4/5
Creativity: 4/5
Taste: 4/5
Overall: 4/5 - When combining both of my favorite Unagi and Soba, this is a brilliant set. I love every single of it. It is quite worthwhile to order their set meal rather than Rakuzen.

Sushi Moriawase Set
Overall: 4/5 - Seriously the sushi is not enough for me! Very fresh and I love a sushi which their rice stick firmly even with my lousy chopstick skill.

Ambiance: 5/5
Service: 4/5
Food Serving Speed: Slow
Will I Revisit?: Yes, for a Sashimi that I missed as always
Full Review: http://chillout-soulout-freakout.blogspot.com
Crys_Crys
post Dec 16 2011, 10:09 AM

**{o_O}**
3,509 posts

sad.gif Cause i duno where to have a nice buffet place to held my birthday dinner jor.... Invited my malay colleagues also
zweimmk
post Dec 16 2011, 10:35 AM

512 posts

This restaurant is a huge let down for me. Having spent over a thousand + for my wife's birthday on their seasonal 7 course meal, I would say the food is really not up to par with the price.

I agree with you that the ambiance is good but the food is only average at best in my opinion. No doubt they have fresh sashimi like chu toro but it's not as though you can't get the same thing in another Japanese restaurant like Mizu for instance. It is my opinion that this place is bigger on ambiance than on the quality of food served.

Value of money for the quality of food? No
Great Ambiance? Yes
Is it worth going? That depends if you are out to impress someone wink.gif

QUOTE(RazorVista @ Nov 10 2011, 12:38 PM)
Restaurant Name: Fukuya Japanese Restaurant

Ozeki Kinkan Sake - Hot (140ml) @RM18.00++
Taste: 3/5
Price: 4/5
Overall: 3/5 - I love a hot sake. However they need to keep it warm at all times. When they leave the sake like this, surely will turn cold in the matter of minutes. At that time, the sake is not really that nice to drink anymore.

Kashi @RM150.00++
Outlook: 5/5
Price: 3/5
Overall: 4/5 - 7 different types of Sashimi which comes from the meat of Tuna (Maguro), Salmon (Sake) and Yellowtail (Hamachi). To compare with the Sashimi @Kampachi, this Sashimi has more types and more number of pieces with much cheaper price. However, Kampachi's Sashimi is still the thickest of all the Japanese Restaurant that I have dine. In term of freshness, both are equally the same. As for Fukuya, their food are air-flown twice a week which is on Tuesday and Friday.

Spider Maki @RM28.00++
Taste: 3/5
Overall: 3/5 - The Spider Maki is made of soft shell crab. Very delicious soft shell crab. I pretty like it.

Cha Soba @RM18.00++
Creativity: 5/5
Taste: 5/5
Overall: 4/5 - This is one of the best Cha Soba I ever have. The portion is so big for the same competitive price.

They give another special sauce for the Soba which is very unique than any other Japanese Restaurant.

Hamachi Miso Soup @RM15.00++
Outlook: 3/5
Creativity: 3/5
Overall: 3/5 - Very delicious soup. Full of fish taste in it. I seldom order a soup in a Japanese Restaurant. It was my friend's idea and I learned it now. However, just too many Japanese leek for me.

Hokkaido Melon @RM38.00++. If you read my Kampachi post before, I had a Japanese Melon which cost me @RM75.00++. So when I see they are selling at RM38.00++, my thought is..."This is a grab!" However, for my dear friend, she keeps mumbling and nagging away saying I am too crazy to order a RM40 bucks for a slice of melon when she can eat 10 local melons with that money.

When the dessert is served and she had her first bite, this is how she looks like. So...I asked her, "How does it compares with your 10 local melon?" She smiles.
Taste: 5/5
Overall: 4/5 - Hokkaido Melon is a yellow meat compare with the melon I had at Kampachi. The taste are different but equally sweet and delicious.The price is much more reasonable compare with Kampachi. One thing I dislike about this melon is they should remove the seeds. It is quite annoying when we need to remove it ourselves. Apart of that, they are not perfectly sliced the melon for convenient for us to pick and eat.

Ambiance: 5/5
Service: 5/5
Food Serving Speed: Moderate
Will I Revisit?: Absolutely.
Extra comments: I will say a fantastic Japanese cuisine experience I had once again at Fukuya. Not a 6-star restaurant but definitely a 5-star restaurant for me. If you does not want to spend crazy amount of money at Kampachi, this is a place worth for you to consider. The parking are quite limited at their own parking area. However, you will be invited by the friendly jockey which the service is free of charge. I was told by one of the waitress there that if we would like to eat their fresh oyster, we need to book in advance as their air-flown schedule on every Tuesday and Friday evening. So we can reserve the fresh oyster for the later at night for our dinner. Price is vary depends on season.
Complete review: http://chillout-soulout-freakout.blogspot.com
TSRazorVista
post Dec 17 2011, 01:17 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(Crys_Crys @ Dec 16 2011, 10:09 AM)
sad.gif Cause i duno where to have a nice buffet place to held my birthday dinner jor.... Invited my malay colleagues also
I have posted a lot of choices in the first page...I bet one of them you may like it. If your Malay friends very particular with the "HALAL" sign. Please tell them to forget about most of the Japanese food. Most of the Japanese food are pork free except places like kisatten...and etc

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Dec 16 2011, 10:35 AM)
This restaurant is a huge let down for me. Having spent over a thousand + for my wife's birthday on their seasonal 7 course meal, I would say the food is really not up to par with the price.

I agree with you that the ambiance is good but the food is only average at best in my opinion. No doubt they have fresh sashimi like chu toro but it's not as though you can't get the same thing in another Japanese restaurant like Mizu for instance. It is my opinion that this place is bigger on ambiance than on the quality of food served.

Value of money for the quality of food? No
Great Ambiance? Yes
Is it worth going? That depends if you are out to impress someone wink.gif
please do share with us what have you ordered? maybe it is a good guidance for people who is looking for such ambiance and can at least avoid ordering the same dishes. notworthy.gif
Kenzany
post Dec 19 2011, 02:37 AM

435 posts

@Razor: so umai-ya is the most value buffet out there in terms of food quality-money wise?
TSRazorVista
post Dec 19 2011, 05:48 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(Kenzany @ Dec 19 2011, 02:37 AM)
@Razor: so umai-ya is the most value buffet out there in terms of food quality-money wise?
Can say like that biggrin.gif
TSRazorVista
post Dec 21 2011, 09:55 AM

266 posts

Restaurant Name: Maiu Japanese Restaurant

Edamame - 5/5

Salmon Sashimi - 5/5, Shiro Maguro - 4/5, Maguro Sashimi - 3/5

Chawanmushi - 4/5

Salmon Hand Roll - 5/5

Agedashi Tofu - 4/5

Chocolate ice cream, Green Tea ice cream and Wasabi ice cream - 4/5

Ambiance: 4/5
Service: 4/5
Food Serving Speed: Fast
Recommended: Yes, if you are staying around Damansara Perdana or Sri Petaling and you do not wish to travel any where further than that for a great buffet.
Extra Comments: I only display all those which are really good ones. For others, please view it here:
http://chillout-soulout-freakout.blogspot.com
rexona
post Dec 25 2011, 10:44 AM

90 posts

Yea I used to go Maiu quite often (Sri Petaling branch) when I was in KL cos the food got very good value thanks to good price smile.gif

Anyway Singkapo got so many ramen places =_=;; at least 20 or more, been going on a ramen "tour" but wah a bit jelak liao. Latest one was Nantsuttei in Parco 3rd floor in Millenia Walk.

Nantsuttei selling point is their Ma-Yu / garlic oil which they supposedly get by frying garlic 7 times. if that's not enough garlic you can also ask for (foc) fresh garlic then you use a garlic press to crush all the garlic into your bowl of ramen. one couple beside me the girl crush like a dozen cloves inside @_@

Anyway, overall is "above average" standard. blogpost here otherwise drillz below!

user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image
derrickmoo
post Dec 26 2011, 11:47 AM

All About GADGETS
1,180 posts

hey guys.. is there anyway i can get Tenji fone number? it seems like those number cant be contacted..
jimmyay
post Dec 27 2011, 02:29 PM

228 posts

Tried Kampachi both on Sat-ala-carte buffet & Sun-buffet... i will go back to Sat.

Most of my favourite stuff on Sat's menu, and i get better service. Sunday is crowded and lot of queue, therefore more relax.
TSRazorVista
post Dec 27 2011, 10:39 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(jimmyay @ Dec 27 2011, 02:29 PM)
Tried Kampachi both on Sat-ala-carte buffet & Sun-buffet... i will go back to Sat.

Most of my favourite stuff on Sat's menu, and i get better service. Sunday is crowded and lot of queue, therefore more relax.
KL Equatorial does not have ala-carte buffet right?
samlee860407
post Dec 28 2011, 08:46 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(RazorVista @ Dec 27 2011, 10:39 PM)
KL Equatorial does not have ala-carte buffet right?
actually they do, on saturday lunch the buffet is ala-carte

*at least they still have on early December 2011
jimmyay
post Dec 28 2011, 10:49 AM

228 posts

I tried both in Kampachi in Equatorial KL.
Sat afternoon-Ala-carte buffet (less varieties compared to Sun, good stuff is available anyway, less crowded, better service)
Sun afternoon-Buffet (more varieties, self-service, queue)
Like the salmon, teppanyaki beef and prawn/vege tempura the most.
TSRazorVista
post Dec 28 2011, 10:23 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Dec 28 2011, 08:46 AM)
actually they do, on saturday lunch the buffet is ala-carte

*at least they still have on early December 2011
QUOTE(jimmyay @ Dec 28 2011, 10:49 AM)
I tried both in Kampachi in Equatorial KL.
Sat afternoon-Ala-carte buffet (less varieties compared to Sun, good stuff is available anyway, less crowded, better service)
Sun afternoon-Buffet (more varieties, self-service, queue)
Like the salmon, teppanyaki beef and  prawn/vege tempura the most.
Duh...I called them and wanted to reserve a seat on Saturday but they said no buffet on Saturday unless I go to Equatorial Bangi.
Crys_Crys
post Dec 29 2011, 08:16 PM

**{o_O}**
3,509 posts

As Santouka have Awase-Aji Ramen which is the combination of Shio, Shoyu & Miso broth. I decided to drop by for a try. brows.gif I also ordered their Tonkatsu, but i have to say still Tonkatsu by Wa Kitchen one is nicer.. drool.gif

But be warn, you'll get very thirsty after as it's pretty salty. I still prefer Kara-Miso and Shio wub.gif wub.gif

As usual, the egg and the cha shu are very very so gooding brows.gif brows.gif

29 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:18 AM