Nov 25 2011, 05:03 PM
64 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(RazorVista @ Nov 25 2011, 04:27 PM) I think Kissatan is a fusion cafe with limited Jap item on their menu. Not fair as there a lot of other menu itemsRecently, there is a no of new upmarket Jap outlets like Ten -Solaris Dutamas, Hanare and Mizu at Intermark, etc. Most of these need a budget I am told. Razor- your comment on frozen fish is interesting. I remember being told at a visit to a deep sea fishing co. that the boats deep freeze their catches on board. These fishes are frozen to a very low temp and when sold overseas as fresh fish. Fish are still fresh when you cook them. Most countries do not sell live fishes. Our fridge freezer is not cold enuf and therefore even frozen fish u buy from Sabah shd not be kept too long. Some of my frens are keen foodies. Instead of shopping, they try the highly rated outlets to appreciate and compare their preference to the food gurus. So when travel, they will book a couple of well rated restaurants (esp Michelin rated)to try. Makes for interesting travel. |
Nov 25 2011, 05:04 PM
4,631 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
Lol the price diff of high class and mid is so big. Why la kl city no middle class nice one, lazy to drive far far ><
Nov 25 2011, 05:12 PM
266 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: a professional diver |
QUOTE(ceejay @ Nov 25 2011, 05:03 PM) I think Kissatan is a fusion cafe with limited Jap item on their menu. Not fair as there a lot of other menu items I know Kissaten is a fusion cafe like Pasta Zanmai. Can you believe it when more than half of their Japanese menu stick with a sticker "not available"? That is ridiculous at least for me lar.Recently, there is a no of new upmarket Jap outlets like Ten -Solaris Dutamas, Hanare and Mizu at Intermark, etc. Most of these need a budget I am told. Razor- your comment on frozen fish is interesting. I remember being told at a visit to a deep sea fishing co. that the boats deep freeze their catches on board. These fishes are frozen to a very low temp and when sold overseas as fresh fish. Fish are still fresh when you cook them. Most countries do not sell live fishes. Our fridge freezer is not cold enuf and therefore even frozen fish u buy from Sabah shd not be kept too long. Some of my frens are keen foodies. Instead of shopping, they try the highly rated outlets to appreciate and compare their preference to the food gurus. So when travel, they will book a couple of well rated restaurants (esp Michelin rated)to try. Makes for interesting travel. Your comment on frozen fish is true as well. My gf from Sandakan. So I had the same experience. QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Nov 25 2011, 05:04 PM) Lol the price diff of high class and mid is so big. Why la kl city no middle class nice one, lazy to drive far far >< KL City got mid class one...but I don't dare to intro you leh...you will later bombard me like someone here...hahahaha...LOL...just joking. I mean you would rather pay a little extra for your petrol instead of dining some mid class Japanese Buffet at KL City. |
Nov 25 2011, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(RazorVista @ Nov 25 2011, 05:12 PM) I know Kissaten is a fusion cafe like Pasta Zanmai. Can you believe it when more than half of their Japanese menu stick with a sticker "not available"? That is ridiculous at least for me lar. Pasta Zamai part of Rakuzen, Kura, Sushi Zamai group plus their Jap grocery store. U look at the queue at Sushi Zamai u also pening. Most outlets are good but those wif Jap chef like Rakuzen in hartamas mall is better.Your comment on frozen fish is true as well. My gf from Sandakan. So I had the same experience. KL City got mid class one...but I don't dare to intro you leh...you will later bombard me like someone here...hahahaha...LOL...just joking. I mean you would rather pay a little extra for your petrol instead of dining some mid class Japanese Buffet at KL City. I still don't consider Kissatan as Jap. I only like their sa hor fun but definitely the one in JayaOne jatuh std. Ladies like this place becos of decor. Sandakan-- I miss their peppery seafood BKT. U can start a Sabah food thread ha ha ha. This post has been edited by ceejay: Nov 25 2011, 05:39 PM |
Nov 25 2011, 06:57 PM
QUOTE(ceejay @ Nov 25 2011, 05:37 PM) Pasta Zamai part of Rakuzen, Kura, Sushi Zamai group plus their Jap grocery store. U look at the queue at Sushi Zamai u also pening. Most outlets are good but those wif Jap chef like Rakuzen in hartamas mall is better. when i married i will have that. hahaha.. I still don't consider Kissatan as Jap. I only like their sa hor fun but definitely the one in JayaOne jatuh std. Ladies like this place becos of decor. Sandakan-- I miss their peppery seafood BKT. U can start a Sabah food thread ha ha ha. |
Nov 26 2011, 12:30 AM
303 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: Sarawak/KL |
Japanese food, my favourite! To be honest, I try most of the Japanese restaurants in KL and I think Yuzu and Hokkaido are among the best.
For Yuzu, you should really order the Wagyu beef with Enokitake. It's simply mouth-watering. I still remember the taste on my palate after months of taking it. The beef literally melted in my mouth. It's really soft and smooth. Hokkaido is another booming restaurant in KL. Although people know its name because its ice-cream but frankly, I don't think the ice cream is that good. The dishes however are mind blowingly fantastic. I like the grilled salmon and cod fish. It's a must try in my opinion. Kampachi is also another decent place. Although I think the main dishes are not that appealing according to my taste buds but I really like their soba. Their soba is 100% buckwheat, you literally can tell the difference with the soba you tried previously after one bite. I do however want to recommend Ginza Cafe situated in Tokyo Street. You can't miss it because it's a bakery shop. I didn't really have high hope when I first visited it since their main attraction is baked goods but after trying their dishes, it totally blew me away. Everyone should ditch the bread and instead try one of their chicken teriyaki. It's the best I have eaten so far. |
Nov 26 2011, 06:57 AM
Restaurant Name: Nijyumaru Japanese Restaurant
Dining Time: Dinner ![]() Getsu Mori @RM68.00++ Outlook: 3/5 Creativity: 4/5 Taste: 4/5 Price: 4/5 Overall: 3/5 - 10 different types of sushi in a plate but there are two flaws which is very critical to me. First, look at the Ebi Sushi (prawn), there is a dark spot on one of the sushi. Looks not really clean to me. Second, their seaweed is stale. Please do not order any of their food contain seaweed. ![]() Domori @RM90.00++ and Nama Kaki (left) @RM15.00++ Outlook: 5/5 Creativity: 5/5 Taste: 3/5 Price: 4/5 Overall: 4/5 - The Sashimi is delicious and very worth the price you pay (7 different types of Sashimi with 3 pieces each). However not like other Japanese restaurant that I have posted so far, you are not allowed to change any Sashimi given to your desire Sashimi unless you willing to an additional RM3.00++ per changes. Nama Kaki is their fresh oyster which is truly fresh!!! No fishy smell at all. It comes with two fresh oyster. However, they shouldn't soak the whole oyster inside the sauce. This has caused the oyster very salty. They should leave the oyster on its shell and let the customer to add the taste according to what they preferred. ![]() IIdako@ RM7.00++ Outlook: 3/5 Creativity: 4/5 Taste: 3/5 Price: 4/5 Overall: 3/5 - Big Tako but a little lack of taste. ![]() Kani Temaki and Unagi Kyuri Temaki @RM7.00++ each Outlook: 3/5 Creativity: 3/5 Taste: 3/5 Price: 3/5 Overall: 3/5 -Very delicious if the seaweed is not stale. It is very important for a seaweed in a Temaki to stay crispy. ![]() Uzaku @RM9.00++ Outlook: 3/5 Creativity: 4/5 Taste: 4/5 Price: 3/5 Overall: 3/5 - A very unique way of preparing the Unagi. Usually we know Unagi is using their own marinated BBQ sauce. But this one is using vinegar. However, I still prefer the BBQ sauce. Hahaha ![]() Shisamo @RM9.00 Outlook: 4/5 Creativity: 4/5 Taste: 4/5 Price: 4/5 Overall: 4/5 - I kind of like Shisamo lately. This is one of the perfect Shisamo I have ever tasted. Not fishy at all and it is very deliciously you will finish them off from head to tail. ![]() Zaru Soba @RM10.00++ Outlook: 4/5 Creativity: 4/5 Taste: 3/5 Price: 5/5 Overall: 4/5 - This is one of the cheapest cold Soba with larger portion. However, the taste is just lack a bit if to compare with Fukuya Japanese Restaurant. Ambiance: 5/5 Service: 5/5 Food Serving Speed: Moderate Will I Revisit?: Yes Extra Comments: Advance booking is highly required especially on weekends even they have 2 branches at Johor. Anyway, I always prefer to call in advance to make a booking to any restaurant that I wish to dine in just to avoid any disappointment which eventually will spoiled my appetite. The reason for these big crowds is not because of only few Japanese restaurant opened in Johor but it is very few Japanese restaurant with such high quality like this offering such a reasonable price for any class of people to afford to dine in there. Just use their Sashimi Moriawase as the standard measurement: Kampachi Japanese Restaurant - 5 types / 2 slices each - RM260.00++ Fukuya Japanese Restaurant - 7 types / 2 slices each - RM150.00++ Nijyumaru Japanese Restaurant - 7 types / 3 slices each - RM90.00++ (optional 2 fresh oysters at RM15.00++) Can you see a better picture now? This is another example of a good restaurant having a break in between their business hours. Complete Review: http://chillout-soulout-freakout.blogspot.com |
Nov 26 2011, 09:49 AM
QUOTE(x0angelus0x @ Nov 26 2011, 12:30 AM) Japanese food, my favourite! To be honest, I try most of the Japanese restaurants in KL and I think Yuzu and Hokkaido are among the best. Apparently Hokkaido is part of the Rakuzen Group. Yuzu is also becoming a chain.For Yuzu, you should really order the Wagyu beef with Enokitake. It's simply mouth-watering. I still remember the taste on my palate after months of taking it. The beef literally melted in my mouth. It's really soft and smooth. Hokkaido is another booming restaurant in KL. Although people know its name because its ice-cream but frankly, I don't think the ice cream is that good. The dishes however are mind blowingly fantastic. I like the grilled salmon and cod fish. It's a must try in my opinion. Kampachi is also another decent place. Although I think the main dishes are not that appealing according to my taste buds but I really like their soba. Their soba is 100% buckwheat, you literally can tell the difference with the soba you tried previously after one bite. I do however want to recommend Ginza Cafe situated in Tokyo Street. You can't miss it because it's a bakery shop. I didn't really have high hope when I first visited it since their main attraction is baked goods but after trying their dishes, it totally blew me away. Everyone should ditch the bread and instead try one of their chicken teriyaki. It's the best I have eaten so far. I need to go to Tokyo Street in Pavillion having heard that the outlets there deserve a visit.but I dislike malls |
Nov 26 2011, 04:30 PM
RazorVista, kampachi buffet lunch is ala-carte style?
Nov 26 2011, 08:36 PM
5,532 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Has anybody tried Kin No Mizu in The Intermark?
Nov 27 2011, 10:34 AM
5,691 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
QUOTE(RazorVista @ Nov 25 2011, 04:13 PM) Yes, at Tokyo which it is the same like what we are having here at Japanese Restaurant. Slightly better because you know they do not need to be air-flown. Are you sure? Which places here exactly are you talking about that have the 'same' sushi as in Tokyo? |
Nov 27 2011, 03:34 PM
QUOTE(goliath @ Nov 26 2011, 08:36 PM) I think they hv two outlets ie at Bangsar Village 1 and TTDI Plaza. Razor - your photos of food at JB restaurant looks great. So using expensive diving camera to take food ah I have eaten hotel Jap outlets ie MOH, Hilton Sentral, Hilton PJ, ShangriLa KL, Kampachi, Renaissance, Holiday Inn Glenmarie, Hyatt Saujana. I think Zipanngu is probably the best overall - food and ambience. Kampachi- good but decor abit dated. Moh - basement, small, dark. Last is probably Fu Rin at Holiday Inn. Most need a discount card to try anything exotic. |
Nov 28 2011, 09:48 PM
QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Nov 26 2011, 04:30 PM) Sunday buffet lunch is not ala-carte style.Edit: Not just Sunday but Saturday lunch is also buffet style. Ala-carte buffet style is available at Equatorial Hotel Bangi QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 27 2011, 10:34 AM) Are you sure? Which places here exactly are you talking about that have the 'same' sushi as in Tokyo? Erm...what are you getting actually? Something you need from me? Just PM me..thanks! . QUOTE(ceejay @ Nov 27 2011, 03:34 PM) I think they hv two outlets ie at Bangsar Village 1 and TTDI Plaza. Haih...don't mention it please...I still feel the pain when thinking about it. Razor - your photos of food at JB restaurant looks great. So using expensive diving camera to take food ah I have eaten hotel Jap outlets ie MOH, Hilton Sentral, Hilton PJ, ShangriLa KL, Kampachi, Renaissance, Holiday Inn Glenmarie, Hyatt Saujana. I think Zipanngu is probably the best overall - food and ambience. Kampachi- good but decor abit dated. Moh - basement, small, dark. Last is probably Fu Rin at Holiday Inn. Most need a discount card to try anything exotic. This post has been edited by RazorVista: Nov 28 2011, 10:12 PM |
Nov 28 2011, 10:30 PM
QUOTE(RazorVista @ Nov 28 2011, 09:48 PM) Erm...what are you getting actually? Something you need from me? Just PM me..thanks! I'm just wondering which sushi joints in KL that you consider on par with Japan sushi joints, and whether I'd need to sell a kidney to be able to afford to eat there. |
Nov 28 2011, 10:59 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 28 2011, 10:30 PM) I'm just wondering which sushi joints in KL that you consider on par with Japan sushi joints, and whether I'd need to sell a kidney to be able to afford to eat there. My friend,I do understand the place I introduced are freaking expensive. But I do not think is expensive because spending in food is my only expenditure apart of mobile bill and petrol. I do not have to maintain my car loan, house loan and any other commitments. So I have a budget to spend on that. You always can spend within your budget or spend when your pocket is loosen a little to throw a celebration or something. You do not have to follow my style by dining up to RM100/day. So my reference here is just for you to refer maybe one day you would like to make a proposal and you know your options. |
Nov 29 2011, 07:26 AM
QUOTE(RazorVista @ Nov 28 2011, 10:59 PM) My friend, i think what deodorant meaning is, which restaurant's in KL are as good as the one in Japan. Put that money part aside 1st i think.I do understand the place I introduced are freaking expensive. But I do not think is expensive because spending in food is my only expenditure apart of mobile bill and petrol. I do not have to maintain my car loan, house loan and any other commitments. So I have a budget to spend on that. You always can spend within your budget or spend when your pocket is loosen a little to throw a celebration or something. You do not have to follow my style by dining up to RM100/day. So my reference here is just for you to refer maybe one day you would like to make a proposal and you know your options. Added on November 29, 2011, 7:27 am QUOTE(RazorVista @ Nov 28 2011, 09:48 PM) Sunday buffet lunch is not ala-carte style. ahh i see...thanksEdit: Not just Sunday but Saturday lunch is also buffet style. Ala-carte buffet style is available at Equatorial Hotel Bangi This post has been edited by samlee860407: Nov 29 2011, 07:27 AM |
Nov 29 2011, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Nov 29 2011, 07:26 AM) i think what deodorant meaning is, which restaurant's in KL are as good as the one in Japan. Put that money part aside 1st i think. Haha..ooic...sorry man...you gotta be direct. Too many things in my mind right now. In my opinion and experience, Kampachi and Zipangu are the same standard...at least to my tongue...hahahaha |
Nov 29 2011, 11:23 AM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 28 2011, 10:30 PM) I'm just wondering which sushi joints in KL that you consider on par with Japan sushi joints, and whether I'd need to sell a kidney to be able to afford to eat there. Overseas prices most times worst- our ringgit not strong enuf. But when you are traveling u have budget to spend a bit more. One time I wanted to try the famous sushi bar at Harrods and cheapest was £25 for salmon sashimi set. 5 PC of fish and rice is extra. Ha ha enuf for buffet at Zipanggu. Everything is relative. If you want air flown Jap fish, it will be Jap prices. Nowadays even bento dinner sets in hotel are at least RM100++ Give yourself a treat once in a while at some expensive Jap outlets and compare them to your favorite ones. U can make up your mind whether it is worth it. This post has been edited by ceejay: Nov 29 2011, 11:24 AM |
Nov 29 2011, 11:40 AM
QUOTE(RazorVista @ Nov 29 2011, 11:14 AM) In my opinion and experience, Kampachi and Zipangu are the same standard. okok. zipangu i've only eaten the unagi set for lunch and it was awesome (but never tried the sushi/sashimi). kampachi have been tempted to walk in several times but the price on the menu is scary ![]() |
| Change to: | 0.0261sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:40 AM |