Public Mutual v3, Public/PB series funds

techie.opinion
post Jun 26 2012, 11:00 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(Smurfs @ Jun 26 2012, 10:47 PM)
i got a far east alpha 30 fund still making losses...i DDI to this fund also just hope the fund can get better.

else i gonna cut loss and channel the money to REIT instead
The funds look harder to move up in general... I just go for high risk... Expecting the risk probably go bad, cool as i got 21 years from now before cash out... Cool rclxm9.gif just share my opinion. Always ask myself, am i afford to bear the losses? Before decide how much money to invest.

This post has been edited by techie.opinion: Jun 26 2012, 11:06 PM
jonproperty
post Jun 27 2012, 12:05 AM

319 posts

suggest move to psf, or prsf.
far east / china will take a long time to recover, unless u want to wait.

suggest invest in mature fund, where u get dividend.

j.passing.by
post Jun 27 2012, 02:01 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 26 2012, 10:17 PM)
A value is meaningless in isolation, do share with us, how much was your investment capital?

If your capital was 1m, 23K lost is only -2.3% yawn.gif
If your capital was 50K, 23K lost is -46% sweat.gif
Take a guess... do you think I would be like this cry.gif if it's 2.3%, and which can easily recover by putting the money back into FD?

QUOTE(Smurfs @ Jun 26 2012, 10:47 PM)
i got a far east alpha 30 fund still making losses...i DDI to this fund also just hope the fund can get better.

else i gonna cut loss and channel the money to REIT instead
Take a look at any of the performance charts for China & Far East funds. It's almost near the bottom of 2008.

The question is whether it's already at the bottom for 2012, or will it go down further to 2008 level, or worse still, beyond that bottom!

Take into account that dark clouds is still looming overhead...

Take a look into the fund prices if you want to make a switch... when the market goes down, all funds except bond & money market funds go down, just differences in the percentage of the drops.

========================================

BTW in hindsight the best time to pull out was April 2011. Would have then trim the lost by 12k. The major mistake I made was assuming that it can crawl back to the peak as like the local bourse.

SUSPink Spider
post Jun 27 2012, 02:03 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Jun 27 2012, 02:01 PM)
Take a guess... do you think I would be like this  cry.gif  if it's 2.3%, and which can easily recover by putting the money back into FD?
Take a look at any of the performance charts for China & Far East funds. It's almost near the bottom of 2008.

The question is whether it's already at the bottom for 2012, or will it go down further to 2008 level, or worse still, beyond that bottom!

Take into account that dark clouds is still looming overhead...

Take a look into the fund prices if you want to make a switch... when the market goes down, all funds except bond & money market funds go down, just differences in the percentage of the drops.
========================================

BTW in hindsight the best time to pull out was April 2011. Would have then trim the lost by 12k. The major mistake I made was assuming that it can crawl back to the peak as like the local bourse.
dun tell me it's 50%+/- sweat.gif

China bottoming yes, it's obvious from the charts...but how long will it linger there? laugh.gif
j.passing.by
post Jun 27 2012, 02:38 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 27 2012, 02:03 PM)
dun tell me it's 50%+/- sweat.gif

China bottoming yes, it's obvious from the charts...but how long will it linger there? laugh.gif
How high or low the percentage does not really matter when there's plenty of stuff you can do and buy with 23k, but now have to skip. tongue.gif

Don't be too sure with the assessment, their internal economy could be doing well, but if the yuan goes the way like the rupee does, it won't be helping us much.

Secondly, it is the hedge funds and foreign investors (ie. Euro & US) that drives up the market. Will they be betting their funds elsewhere when there are easier pickings back home?

This post has been edited by j.passing.by: Jun 27 2012, 02:42 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Jun 27 2012, 02:41 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Jun 27 2012, 02:38 PM)
How high or low the percentage does not really matter when there's plenty of stuff you can do and buy with 21k, but now have to skip.  tongue.gif

Don't be too sure with the assessment, their internal economy could be doing well, but if the yuan goes the way like the rupee does, it won't be helping us much.

Secondly, it is the hedge funds and foreign investors (ie. Euro & US) that drives up the market. Will they be betting their funds elsewhere when there are easier pickings back home?
That's why Dow/S&P did better than the rest of the world recently brows.gif
Sichiri
post Jun 27 2012, 02:45 PM

1,192 posts

Public Smallcap Fund will be closed on July 2nd, so I'm planning to cash out everything (just RM1200) and reinvest into another fund, since I can't do value-averaging.

Any good equity fund to recommend?
j.passing.by
post Jun 27 2012, 02:46 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(techie.opinion @ Jun 26 2012, 11:00 PM)
The funds look harder to move up in general... I just go for high risk... Expecting the risk probably go bad, cool as i got 21 years from now before cash out... Cool  rclxm9.gif just share my opinion. Always ask myself, am i afford to bear the losses? Before decide how much money to invest.
That's for sure, take the risk, take the lost readily... but why throw money when you can be smarter.

Added on June 27, 2012, 2:57 pm
QUOTE(Sichiri @ Jun 27 2012, 02:45 PM)
Public Smallcap Fund will be closed on July 2nd, so I'm planning to cash out everything (just RM1200) and reinvest into another fund, since I can't do value-averaging.

What has your cashing out and timing got to do with the fund closing? Fund closing means it is closed for fresh investment as it has reached the upper limit of its volume and size. It shows that it is a good and popular fund to hold.

The local bourse KLCI is at its peak, if it drops, all local equity funds will drop in tandem. Only the bond and money market funds retain their level.

Smallcap is an aggressive fund. Switch to either a moderate balance fund or a conservative bond fund. Take note of switching costs if any.

This post has been edited by j.passing.by: Jun 27 2012, 02:57 PM
wongmunkeong
post Jun 27 2012, 05:09 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Sichiri @ Jun 27 2012, 02:45 PM)

er.. Sichiri, U can continue your value averaging (perhaps tweaking the maths a bit due to NAV variances at the beginning) with Public Strategic SmallCap Fund, which if i'm not mistaken, being managed by the same fund manager(s) of Public SmallCap.

Other options of "near similar" profiling - PAGF? Just opinion ar, not gospel truth tongue.gif

I just think it's wasteful to SELL / SWITCH just coz the fund (good IMHO) is going to be closed or closed.
Just a thought notworthy.gif
Sichiri
post Jun 27 2012, 10:18 PM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jun 27 2012, 05:09 PM)
What has your cashing out and timing got to do with the fund closing? Fund closing means it is closed for fresh investment as it has reached the upper limit of its volume and size. It shows that it is a good and popular fund to hold.

The local bourse KLCI is at its peak, if it drops, all local equity funds will drop in tandem. Only the bond and money market funds retain their level.

Smallcap is an aggressive fund. Switch to either a moderate balance fund or a conservative bond fund. Take note of switching costs if any.
Ah, Its because I cannot do additional purchases of the fund once its closed, so if a bear market happens I cannot do value-averaging.

Another way is to set DDI every month, but I stopped DDI earlier because I cannot choose which day of the month to purchase, everytime I see price drop in the middle of the month cannot buy, but when it goes back up at end of month only they purchase. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by Sichiri: Jun 27 2012, 10:19 PM
jonproperty
post Jun 27 2012, 11:29 PM

319 posts

buying unit trust need patient, not like share, buy in sell out everyday.

ur unit will continue to grow over longer term with dividend, reinvest..etc, and ur price will continue to go down with increment of unit.

lawtm
post Jun 28 2012, 02:00 AM

Asus G53SX-IX113V i7-2670QM (4 core)-2.2GHz (Turbo up to 2.9) NV
1,215 posts

i thinking also want buy small for profit...........how much minimum for this public mutual fund needed to buy
kparam77
post Jun 28 2012, 05:10 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(lawtm @ Jun 28 2012, 02:00 AM)
i thinking also want buy small for profit...........how much minimum for this public mutual fund needed to buy
RM1k only
lawtm
post Jun 28 2012, 08:14 AM

Asus G53SX-IX113V i7-2670QM (4 core)-2.2GHz (Turbo up to 2.9) NV
1,215 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Jun 28 2012, 05:10 AM)
RM1k only
rclxms.gif
j.passing.by
post Jun 28 2012, 12:36 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(Sichiri @ Jun 27 2012, 10:18 PM)
Ah, Its because I cannot do additional purchases of the fund once its closed, so if a bear market happens I cannot do value-averaging.

Another way is to set DDI every month, but I stopped DDI earlier because I cannot choose which day of the month to purchase, everytime I see price drop in the middle of the month cannot buy, but when it goes back up at end of month only they purchase.  rclxub.gif
Sorry, didn't get the averaging part in the initial post. blush.gif

Yeah, too bad you have stopped DDI, as IMHO no one can really have 'perfect' timing to buy (if given a choice to select any day), and the price fluctuation within a month would pales into insignificant in the longer term.

ok, there's suggestions in the previous posts... and I think I can see the difficulty of starting another fund without pulling out of the first fund with limited funds.

Pulblic Islamic Opportunistic is also a small capitalisation fund... its investment holdings is almost similar to Smallcap.

spagetti
post Jun 28 2012, 05:57 PM

84 posts

so does it mean it is a good fund if it is closing soon ? I was introduced to the small cap fund just 1 day ago.. i have limited time to do research on it.. i heard it has been open and closed for 3 times within 3 years currently.. so does it mean is good ?

btw, now if i invest the minimum and made it to dollar cost averaging monthly, is it suitable at this time.. FYI, i'm still a beginner in this field... just got to know the share market overall now is not in good condition.

Appreciate all your kind opinion on this..the agent said tmr is the closing date..
kparam77
post Jun 28 2012, 06:29 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(spagetti @ Jun 28 2012, 05:57 PM)
so does it mean it is a good fund if it is closing soon ? I was introduced to the small cap fund just 1 day ago.. i have limited time to do research on it.. i heard it has been open and closed for 3 times within 3 years currently.. so does it mean is good ?

btw, now if i invest the minimum and made it to dollar cost averaging monthly, is it suitable at this time.. FYI, i'm still a beginner in this field... just got to know the share market overall now is not in good condition.

Appreciate all your kind opinion on this..the agent said tmr is the closing date..
if u new, dont hurry to buy the UT. educate urself first. if small cap closed, no worry Public Strategic SmallCap Fund (PSSCF) is there for u. if u got to know, share maket not good time now, find out why for ur own benefits.

Added on June 28, 2012, 6:31 pm
QUOTE(kparam77 @ Jun 28 2012, 06:29 PM)
if u new, dont hurry to buy the UT. educate urself first. if small cap closed, no worry Public Strategic SmallCap Fund (PSSCF) is there for u. if u got to know, share maket not  good time now, find out why for ur own benefits.
yes, with minimum and do DDI. not need to time the market... just proceed. but it is better, u understand first waht u r buying.

This post has been edited by kparam77: Jun 28 2012, 06:31 PM
spagetti
post Jun 29 2012, 10:57 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Jun 28 2012, 06:29 PM)
if u new, dont hurry to buy the UT. educate urself first. if small cap closed, no worry Public Strategic SmallCap Fund (PSSCF) is there for u. if u got to know, share maket not  good time now, find out why for ur own benefits.

Added on June 28, 2012, 6:31 pm

yes, with minimum and do DDI. not need to time the market... just proceed. but it is better, u understand first waht u r buying.
TQ very much for your advise.. May I know what is DDI ?
kparam77
post Jun 29 2012, 01:48 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(spagetti @ Jun 29 2012, 10:57 AM)
TQ very much for your advise.. May I know what is DDI ?
DDI = dollar cost averaging monthly via Direct Debit Intrusction.
SUSDavid83
post Jun 29 2012, 02:34 PM

52,874 posts

Public Mutual declares distributions for 10 funds

KUALA LUMPUR: Public Mutual has declared distributions of between one sen per unit to six sen per unit for 10 of its funds for their financial year ending June 30, 2012.

It said on Friday, the distribution for the PB Growth Fund was six sen per unit while for the PB Islamic Bond Fund and PB Fixed Income Fund, it was 5.75 sen per unit.

For PB Infrastructure Bond Fund it was four sen per unit; PB Balanced Fund (three sen) and for the Public Islamic Money Market Fund and PB Cash Management Fund (2.5 sen per unit).

As for PB Islamic Cash Management Fund it was 2.25 sen per unit; Public Far-East Consumer Themes Fund (one sen per unit) and PB Islamic Asia Equity Fund (0.75 sen).

URL: http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...14&sec=business

127 Pages « < 114 115 116 117 118 > » Top

0.0332sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:02 PM