Public Mutual v3, Public/PB series funds

kparam77
post Sep 4 2011, 12:35 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(holybo @ Sep 3 2011, 11:33 PM)
yea.. i just went to public mutual, an agency manager keep asking me to buy only. i was asking her lots of questions regarding the quarterly report etc, she just said it was past & it dont mean anything, as long as now i want to earn money. she kept telling me the price drop alot ady, now enter sure earn, plus she got 17years experience bla bla bla
which funds she recommend for u?

did she tell any thing abt risk management?
Bonescythe
post Sep 4 2011, 12:37 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(holybo @ Sep 3 2011, 11:33 PM)
yea.. i just went to public mutual, an agency manager keep asking me to buy only. i was asking her lots of questions regarding the quarterly report etc, she just said it was past & it dont mean anything, as long as now i want to earn money. she kept telling me the price drop alot ady, now enter sure earn, plus she got 17years experience bla bla bla
Holy Cow!!. This kind of agency manager.. Fail!!
Just ask to buy buy buy.. Ask her whether she knows anything about the current situation of the economy. Guess she does not know a shit about it, and only got 17 years of asking people to buy buy buy...

If want people to buy, at least talk something rather more reasonable, like why you need to buy, rather than buy buy buy because price drop.
Sigh..

kparam77
post Sep 4 2011, 12:40 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(monsta2011 @ Sep 4 2011, 12:20 AM)
AirAsia is the biggest shareholder of Malaysia Airlines now. Oh boy.. doh.gif
n EPF holding abt 12% of airasia shares.
kparam77
post Sep 4 2011, 12:43 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(thenightcrusader @ Sep 3 2011, 11:39 PM)
Good point on question number 2. every investment needs to have entry and exit strategy to avoid significant losses. i personally was a PM agent until about a year ago. Invested in Public Ittikal (PITTIKAL) and PCSF (Public China Select Fund) the moment i started working in 2008. i used DCA of RM100/month on both funds and sold them last year for a realized gain of around RM2000+ excluding distributions. sold all of investment in PM to fund a property purchase instead and IMHO i think investing directly in stocks will net better gains in terms of dividends and capital gains. just do research and ask around to construct a portfolio that suits yr needs and goals.

however, i'm not saying one shouldn't invest in mutual funds or any actively managed funds whatsoever as it was because of PM i got some money to fund a property purchase. choose wisely though. don't let its marketing fool you. nowadays, not only PM but all the other fund companies are launching funds and more funds to grab market share and retail investors like us. it's like a boutique investment house that instead of adding value to the investors are just interested in gaining as much as  possible from the public. my advice would be:

1) choose funds with consistency and sustainability in terms of return and cap growth. i.e: 10 year record e.g: PSMALLCAP, PITTIKAL. PBOND and etc
2) a good fixed income instrument is their bond funds. avg return per year is around 6-8%. choose wisely. again refer to point number 1.

just my 2 cents...hope it helps.

P.S: no offence to anyone or any agent of PM or any actively managed fund company. pls accept my sincere apology if i did offend you in any possible way.  biggrin.gif
PSF is not a good fund initialy for few yrs. but now, PSF is one of the better fund.

debbieyss
post Sep 4 2011, 01:02 AM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Sep 2 2011, 01:18 PM)
Yea. Depends what kind of strategy you want to use. One lump sum at the bottom surely will do better than each month, or each quarter.
Since market is confirm volatile now, why not wait a while? Investment, no need to rush. Timing is important only. Rushing now - Which is a volatile timing = bad timing.

But rushing when market crashed like dead dog, then that is good rush. smile.gif

Rushing when market bull, also good. Make sure you know how to switch out when bull start to slow.

Rushing when bear coming out to play = damn bad strategy.. haha.

Since you are starting to invest in a new fund, initial minimum is 1k, or subject to different individual. Probably, just wait a while only see. Waiting 2-3 mths does not hurt much in my opinion.

Let the market show a strong signal of bear or bull.

How to know.. Keep update, see whether there is a QE3 from US, and how the public take on the QE3 (At least QE3 is something that will definitely affect the market)
I am doing that bolded part exactly, sigh!
It's ok lah, am using DDI in the same time, hopefully can leverage down.
Bonescythe
post Sep 4 2011, 01:13 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Sep 4 2011, 01:02 AM)
If your fund not closed.. Then stop the maybe you want to stop DDI?
Accumulate more $$$ in hand first. When market really went hairwired and head to ravine, this is your action time.. Fire all you get..

Just my 2 lousy cents..
But if you are keeping updated with the market, you should probably know where are we heading as a whole in a time like this.
Although some miracles might happen

This post has been edited by Bonescythe: Sep 4 2011, 01:14 AM
wongmunkeong
post Sep 4 2011, 07:53 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Sep 4 2011, 12:37 AM)
Just ask to buy buy buy.. Ask her whether she knows anything about the current situation of the economy. Guess she does not know a shit about it, and only got 17 years of asking people to buy buy buy...

If want people to buy, at least talk something rather more reasonable, like why you need to buy, rather than buy buy buy because price drop.
Sigh..
Yeah - buying due to price and volume movement is more of trading not investing, right bro Boney?
Ni bukan individual stocks or futures but mutual funds with service charges of 5.5% (heck even FundSupermart = 2%), which is way above stocks & futures contract. How to trade lar

Added on September 4, 2011, 7:59 am
QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Sep 4 2011, 01:13 AM)
Accumulate more $$$ in hand first. When market really went hairwired and head to ravine, this is your action time.. Fire all you get..

Just my 2 lousy cents..
But if you are keeping updated with the market, you should probably know where are we heading as a whole in a time like this.
Personally, i'd fire:
a. 33% of all ammo i've allocated to mutual funds' "value buy" when market stops falling for awhile
b. If it moves down later, i've still 66.66% ammo left to buy value - eg. if it goes down, i'll sit and wait until "straight line" dead market again, and then put in another 33%
c. when market goes up continuously (albeit slowly) for 3 to 6 months, i'll put in another 33%

Chicken shit risk mgt heheh - seen double dips before, dont want to jump in with both feet. tongue.gif
how low is low

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 4 2011, 07:59 AM
guanteik
post Sep 4 2011, 10:42 AM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Sep 4 2011, 01:02 AM)
I supposed you are using DDI for DCA strategy. DCA is a good strategy in principle. When you do DCA on Public Mutual funds, you got charged 5.5% for their fees, which at least takes you sometime to get that % back (assuming 1 year return is 6-8%)
kparam77
post Sep 4 2011, 12:52 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Sep 4 2011, 10:42 AM)
I supposed you are using DDI for DCA strategy. DCA is a good strategy in principle. When you do DCA on Public Mutual funds, you got charged 5.5% for their fees, which at least takes you sometime to get that % back (assuming 1 year return is 6-8%)
no diff on SC 5.5% either DCA or lump sum.

rm10,000 lump sum x 5.5% = rm1000 x 10 x 5.5%.

the best way to reduce the SC is buy the units for cheaper price.
SUSDavid83
post Sep 4 2011, 01:20 PM

52,874 posts

The difference is on the NAV when the DCA or lump sum is being invested.
JinXXX
post Sep 4 2011, 02:55 PM

2,516 posts

i just top up some funds that i have.. hopefully won't go any lower smile.gif

if lower lagi top up lagi smile.gif sounds abit like martingale smile.gif
holybo
post Sep 4 2011, 10:01 PM

1,449 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Sep 4 2011, 12:35 AM)
which funds she recommend for u?

did she tell any thing abt risk management?
QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Sep 4 2011, 12:37 AM)

Sigh..
i think she just know how to compare the price before and after. actually i went there to get some hardcopy data, she dont even has those. i kept telling her that the market is so unstable now & the probability of the market wil drop further is quite high. then she kept telling we cant time to market, so buy now as the price is so cheap. she recommended PUBLIC CHINA TITANS FUND, PUBLIC ITTIKAL FUND,PUBLIC AUSTRALIA EQUITY FUND if not mistaken.

This post has been edited by holybo: Sep 4 2011, 10:18 PM
debbieyss
post Sep 4 2011, 10:52 PM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Sep 4 2011, 07:53 AM)
Yeah - buying due to price and volume movement is more of trading not investing, right bro Boney?
Ni bukan individual stocks or futures but mutual funds with service charges of 5.5% (heck even FundSupermart = 2%), which is way above stocks & futures contract. How to trade lar

Added on September 4, 2011, 7:59 am
Personally, i'd fire:
a. 33% of all ammo i've allocated to mutual funds' "value buy" when market stops falling for awhile
b. If it moves down later, i've still 66.66% ammo left to buy value - eg. if it goes down, i'll sit and wait until "straight line" dead market again, and then put in another 33%
c. when market goes up continuously (albeit slowly) for 3 to 6 months, i'll put in another 33%

Chicken shit risk mgt heheh - seen double dips before, dont want to jump in with both feet. tongue.gif
how low is low
What does "ammo" mean?

Added on September 4, 2011, 10:56 pm
QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Sep 4 2011, 01:13 AM)

Just my 2 lousy cents..
Thanks for advice... I will consider about that. In fact, double dip is approaching, right? I have been reading the similar news for few times already, even Singapore's Lee Hsien Loong said the same thing.

By the way, what does the bolded part mean? Typo?

This post has been edited by debbieyss: Sep 4 2011, 10:56 PM
kparam77
post Sep 4 2011, 11:38 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(holybo @ Sep 4 2011, 10:01 PM)
i think she just know how to compare the price before and after. actually i went there to get some hardcopy data, she dont even has those. i kept telling her that the market is so unstable now & the probability of the market wil drop further is quite high. then she kept telling we cant time to market, so buy now as the price is so cheap. she recommended PUBLIC CHINA TITANS FUND, PUBLIC ITTIKAL FUND,PUBLIC AUSTRALIA EQUITY FUND if not mistaken.
wow, how come she dont know ittikal is closed. u went to the wrong person. for me stick at local funds is cukup. or 30% exporsure to foreign market in the fund.

AU equity fund is design for education plan for those plan send their kids to australia in future.

china funds, not my taste at the moment.

by the by waht hard copy u need?
Bonescythe
post Sep 4 2011, 11:57 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(holybo @ Sep 4 2011, 10:01 PM)
China Titan Fund some more ah?
2009 and 2010 also making negative number, still want to recommend. Hahaha.

When other trust making more than 50% return from 2009 to 2010 and to 2011, Titan goes negative.
Her recommendation really yi ji bang!
SUSDavid83
post Sep 5 2011, 12:03 AM

52,874 posts

It could be directive from upper management to keep selling China funds even though it's negative return since launch. Public Mutual timing was pretty bad when launched China funds. I guess a lot of people still got stuck since commencement date.
Irresistible
post Sep 5 2011, 01:30 AM

3,278 posts

I plan to top up my equity fund.. (making loss)

Now, not the right time ? Switch to bond ?

If I switch to bond .... then from bond switch to equity fund, will get SC 5.5% ?

eg. equity fund ===> bond (RM 25 )
bond =====> equity (RM 25 + 5.5 % or not ?? )

Then, I incurred 5.5% charge TWICE ??

This post has been edited by Irresistible: Sep 5 2011, 01:31 AM
monsta2011
post Sep 5 2011, 02:05 AM

432 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Sep 5 2011, 01:30 AM)
I plan to top up my equity fund.. (making loss)

Now, not the right time ?  Switch to bond ?

If I switch to bond .... then from bond switch to equity fund, will get SC 5.5% ?

eg.  equity fund ===> bond  (RM 25 )
      bond      =====> equity (RM 25 +  5.5 % or not ?? )

Then, I incurred 5.5% charge TWICE ??
I think RM25 switching fee is only applicable if you switch between funds of the same type ie. equity to equity. Otherwise, you will need to pay the entry fee of the fund u switch to.
SUSDavid83
post Sep 5 2011, 03:35 AM

52,874 posts

Whether you'll be charged service charge or not, it depends if your units are loaded or non-loaded units.
wongmunkeong
post Sep 5 2011, 07:15 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

Calling out to all newbies and er.. semi-experience mutual fund investors (NOT traders wannabes):
Just a thought to share:

Before U go and invest CASH into mutual funds, why not do EPF to mutual funds first?
Reasons:
1. Lower service charges for equity funds (3% vs 5.5% for PM)
2. Learn and do (active learning). Hey, when U've some skin in the game, U tend to learn better & faster yar tongue.gif
3. Your EPF's going to be sitting there for quite awhile right?
No cash flow impact + FORCED long term thinking

Then as U become a more experienced investor riding mutual funds, U can start thinking about cash investments... into stocks, amanah saham whatever, REITs and of course, mutual funds.

Just a low cash flow impact + active learning + forced long term thinking approach

127 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:22 PM