Planted Aquarium V7, not just fish with water anymore

sang gemok
post Nov 22 2011, 03:55 PM

hahaha.

like smoking weed?

do their eyes become red?

no wonder they always jump out of the tank.

they think they r kamikaze kot.hahaha
flipmode
post Nov 22 2011, 04:47 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(dosnx @ Nov 22 2011, 03:45 PM)
2 spoon only ah? i use 1 cup. haiyaaa...
how long it can last?
Newgen
post Nov 22 2011, 06:34 PM

354 posts

I used to do these:

Ingredient:
1 Cup of Sugar
1.5L bottles
1 tspn spoon baking soda
1/4 tspn of yeast

Now the making it part:

Sugar part:
pour 1 Cup of sugar into the 1.5L bottle
pour 1/2L hot water into bottle and shake to melt the sugar
pour 1/2L cold water into bottle and make the mixture warm (around 40 degrees)
pour in the baking soda.

Yeast part:
Prepare warm water of about 20ml (1 part hot water 3 part cold, so will be around 37C, close to Body temperature)
pour yeast into the warm water and stir it vigorously until it foams, and let it settle for 5 minutes.

Mixing part:
Pour the yeast mixture into the Sugar Water mixture.

DONE~

This way, the yeast is activated and it will start work in around 10 minutes.

I used to make 4 bottles each time, and additional 4 bottles at the 2nd week (total of 8)
And I'll change the first 4 at around a month's time.
This way, the CO2 supply is quite constant for a 4ft tank. And i use valve to control it to around 3~5 bubble per second depend on the plants.

This post has been edited by Newgen: Nov 22 2011, 06:35 PM
ageh84
post Nov 22 2011, 06:41 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(Newgen @ Nov 22 2011, 06:34 PM)
I used to do these:

Ingredient:
1 Cup of Sugar
1.5L bottles
1 tspn spoon baking soda
1/4 tspn of yeast

Now the making it part:

Sugar part:
pour 1 Cup of sugar into the 1.5L bottle
pour 1/2L hot water into bottle and shake to melt the sugar
pour 1/2L cold water into bottle and make the mixture warm (around 40 degrees)
pour in the baking soda.

Yeast part:
Prepare warm water of about 20ml (1 part hot water 3 part cold, so will be around 37C, close to Body temperature)
pour yeast into the warm water and stir it vigorously until it foams, and let it settle for 5 minutes.

Mixing part:
Pour the yeast mixture into the Sugar Water mixture.

DONE~

This way, the yeast is activated and it will start work in around 10 minutes.

I used to make 4 bottles each time, and additional 4 bottles at the 2nd week (total of 8)
And I'll change the first 4 at around a month's time.
This way, the CO2 supply is quite constant for a 4ft tank. And i use valve to control it to around 3~5 bubble per second depend on the plants.
Nice tip! Will do it tonight. Thanks notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
z8net
post Nov 22 2011, 07:50 PM

39 posts

Use valve no possibility it will burst? 1 more thing i believe u r not using normal mineral/drinking water bottle rite? Bcos i dont think that kind of bottle can sustain hot water...
kasturipurba
post Nov 22 2011, 08:09 PM

alright! mine DIY co2 settle! thanks guys! yuhoo! by the way i used co2 tablet before but my plant rooted. wonder why...
TSciohbu
post Nov 22 2011, 08:32 PM

Group: Senior Member
2,104 posts

QUOTE(z8net @ Nov 22 2011, 07:50 PM)
Use valve no possibility it will burst? 1 more thing i believe u r not using normal mineral/drinking water bottle rite? Bcos i dont think that kind of bottle can sustain hot water...
most of the DIY are using water bottle, i dun think u pour in hot boiling water smile.gif warm water will be enough

pls note that if the pressure is not high enough, u can't diffuse ur DIY co2 thru any glass diffuser, atomizer no need to say d

happy DIY rclxms.gif
kasturipurba
post Nov 22 2011, 10:17 PM

hot water kill the yeast, no use already liao.. smile.gif
Newgen
post Nov 22 2011, 11:20 PM

354 posts

Using 100 Plus bottles or any other Soft drinks bottles.
I don't use boiling water, i use hot or warm water which is sustainable by the bottles.
Another tip is to pour in the room temperature water in first before you pour the HOT water in, so that it becomes warm water and easier for the sugar to dissolve.

About the valve, i use normal green/black gray color air line valve, which allows you to control the CO2 BPS abit. Not too high of the pressure but surely, it helps a tad.
cool2.gif

Added on November 22, 2011, 11:24 pm
QUOTE(kasturipurba @ Nov 22 2011, 10:17 PM)
hot water kill the yeast, no use already liao..  smile.gif
Yeap! he's right!
Yeast can't take temperature of more than 60C.
So that is why I prepare the yeast first before I pour the yeast mixture into the sugar mixture.
For yeast:
27 C (81 F) - 38 C (100 F) Optimum Fermentation Range
35 C (95 F) Optimum Fermentation Temperature

Another tip is:
After you stir the yeast mixture with luke warm water until it foams, put a pinch of sugar and the baking soda into the mixture and stir more before you let it rest for 5~ 10 minutes. rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by Newgen: Nov 22 2011, 11:24 PM
the_catacombs
post Nov 23 2011, 01:07 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(weijie @ Nov 22 2011, 09:29 AM)
sweat.gif
not for sale for the time being. let me break through 1000 first smile.gif
i want some RCS feed on my dead plants .... sad.gif
dosnx
post Nov 23 2011, 09:10 AM

insaflah
697 posts

presenting... coconut shell moss bridge.

Superdude
post Nov 23 2011, 09:38 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(kasturipurba @ Nov 22 2011, 02:47 PM)
hi guys,i still new in this planted tank n i'm gonna make DIY CO2, can anyone help, where can i buy yeast? tongue.gif donno how it look like.. thanks...
You can try rice with wine yeast. Wine yeast can buy from Chinese pharmacy.

The Wine yeast is in bun shape. The size is about same as 50cent coin. You need to crash it.
Mixed the rice with warm water and add 1 small tea spoon of wine yeast.

*Pour water to rice will make you easy to put the rice to carbonated soft drink bottle.

After the CO2 finish. You can drink the mixture to get drunk. laugh.gif

weijie
post Nov 23 2011, 09:57 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Nov 23 2011, 01:07 AM)
i want some RCS feed on my dead plants .... sad.gif
Get some snails. they can clean your dead leaves and green algae smile.gif
surfsmurf
post Nov 23 2011, 10:01 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(weijie @ Nov 23 2011, 09:57 AM)
Get some snails. they can clean your dead leaves and green algae smile.gif
what type of snails ? would they breed out of control ?

may consider getting them since my gravel would be littered with poo n dead stuff

btw ..is there any plant nutrients tat i can 'plant' into the gravel ?
weijie
post Nov 23 2011, 11:14 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(surfsmurf @ Nov 23 2011, 10:01 AM)
what type of snails ? would they breed out of control ?

may consider getting them since my gravel would be littered with poo n dead stuff

btw ..is there any plant nutrients tat i can 'plant' into the gravel ?
Zebra snails, horn snails, i dont think they will breed inside our tank.
Anyhow, if your water parameters doesnt suit them, they will escape from your tank.

look for root tab. ISTA corn root tab, some other member got own method of DIY root tab as well.
applebee
post Nov 23 2011, 01:57 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(dosnx @ Nov 23 2011, 09:10 AM)
presenting... coconut shell moss bridge.
very interesting. will the coconut shell sink by itself or need to attached to rock? did u do any precaution cleaning on the coconut shell first?
z8net
post Nov 23 2011, 02:55 PM

39 posts

normally driftwood or anything similar, need to wash with hot water rite?
sisaiko
post Nov 23 2011, 03:05 PM

QUOTE(z8net @ Nov 23 2011, 02:55 PM)
normally driftwood or anything similar, need to wash with hot water rite?
boil it with hot water better
ageh84
post Nov 23 2011, 03:17 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(sisaiko @ Nov 23 2011, 03:05 PM)
boil it with hot water better
y we need to boil it?
sisaiko
post Nov 23 2011, 03:42 PM

QUOTE(ageh84 @ Nov 23 2011, 03:17 PM)
y we need to boil it?
Boiling driftwood will have remove much of the tannins contained in the wood.

DW preparation

135 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.1059sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:06 PM