found this on my java moss..is it algae ? how to remove ?
Planted Aquarium V7, not just fish with water anymore
Nov 16 2011, 08:53 PM
101 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
Nov 16 2011, 11:28 PM
what moss is that ? it's brownish n feels like cotton. i think cannot trim la. maybe can slowly pick it up with tweezer but i scared cabut the moss out too
if use excel wat dosage? |
Nov 17 2011, 09:53 AM
Excel got 0.0001% Copper. is it dangerous for shrimps ?
Nov 18 2011, 09:16 AM
QUOTE(surfsmurf @ Nov 16 2011, 08:53 PM) update of my moss problem. took the moss out and treat it with excel. today can see the moss like melting. difficult to remove yet coz like stuck to the moss. put another round of excel and see wat happensfor pressurized co2, any procedure of closing which valve b4 removing the hose ? |
Nov 18 2011, 09:36 AM
QUOTE(weijie @ Nov 17 2011, 03:58 PM) Please find some ppl that know how to install and service to verify the co2 tank before use. what is the proper procedure when installing the regulator ? ur main valve is the regulator or the main valve of the co2 tank ?Pressure inside co2 tank is few times larger than our car tyre. Imagine it exploded when you using it. I dont think the company will pay you anything if something goes wrong. They already stated "EXPIRED co2 extinguisher" Actually many ppl wanted to get the main valve from me and they want to install themselves. But as a seller, i straightly avoid selling this to buyers as i dont want anything to happen. btw i have tis problem with my drop checker. the color doesn't change even when i put it in another tank. the instruction says put in aquarium water which i did. from the web some say must use distilled water and must be of certain kh. to get this must use baking soda and test. so wat water should i put inside the checker ? |
Nov 18 2011, 10:36 AM
QUOTE(ciohbu @ Nov 18 2011, 10:00 AM) moss is sensitive to excel where can i get this 4dkh water ? need to mix with baking soda and use tester to measure ? buying a tester for another tester is err not practical for meusually i will close the main valve on tank, then open the valve on manual regulator, diffuse all the gas between regulator and hose first until meter reading is zero, remember dun straight cabut the regulator if ur meter still showing some reading, if no u might get a big "pop" sound ... just my personal preference what brand u got ? my indicator no need to add aquarium water actually the correct step is to add 4dkh water bcoz aquarium water contain different PH, minerals that might affect the reading Added on November 18, 2011, 10:42 am QUOTE(weijie @ Nov 18 2011, 10:34 AM) Sorry i cant really assist you in this because i dont have any experience. I leave this kind of "high risk" job for the supplier to do it. regarding co2 hose..some claim hose explode..under what circumstances it happens ? excessive working pressure from the regulator can cause this ?As what i said before, leave it to the professionals to do it if you dont want to get hurt. Mr. Pakutekan is experience in handling all this stuff, he would be a better person if you need help. You can put one drop to tap water. it should had change to another color. If not, then your tester solution might have problem. some shop told me normal silicon hose is not recommended.. plastic ones is ok. same goes for check valve..cheap ones not reliable... any idea how much a plastic ADA check valve cost ? This post has been edited by surfsmurf: Nov 18 2011, 10:42 AM |
Nov 21 2011, 09:00 AM
anybody got experience with myriophyllum (parrot feather) ?
suitable for planted tank ? |
Nov 21 2011, 10:51 AM
Nov 23 2011, 10:01 AM
QUOTE(weijie @ Nov 23 2011, 09:57 AM) what type of snails ? would they breed out of control ?may consider getting them since my gravel would be littered with poo n dead stuff btw ..is there any plant nutrients tat i can 'plant' into the gravel ? |
Nov 23 2011, 10:46 PM
is ph5 dangerous for fish?
Nov 23 2011, 10:57 PM
need to add lava rock to bring it up?
i wanna put galaxy rasbora |
Nov 23 2011, 11:54 PM
new 10l tank. setup 10 days ago.
inside got africana, driftwood n plants i test the lfs water ph is 6.0 unless my tester not accurate lat |
Nov 24 2011, 08:59 AM
can somebody ID the plant A,B n C in my tank ?
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/845/plantid.jpg/ my 10l tank. put some lava rock into the filter and replace the foreground rock with lava rock. Will check ph tonite. my tapwater PH is i think green = ph6.5 http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/687/20111123061717.jpg/ |
Nov 24 2011, 10:51 AM
the rotala red and parrot feather is growing VERY fast
i suspect the ph 5 is due to driftwood. b4 i pump co2 it was 6 looks like i need a place to dump all this excess plants btw my other tank got a thin film of green algae. the otto n amano didn;t clean it much. will a snail do it ? |
Nov 24 2011, 11:51 AM
Nov 24 2011, 12:21 PM