125 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v8, Tan vs Tan vs Tan vs Tan

mercury8400
post Sep 12 2011, 06:55 PM

2,703 posts

The above does not take into consideration the exchange rate. SGD to RM is at 2.4X nearing 2.5x. Many are predicting SGD to strenghtened to 2.6x in the next 5 years. A move of 10 bpts means a "gain" of 10% which no banks in M'sia can offer for a 5 year FD.
Mr.Wang
post Sep 12 2011, 07:58 PM

377 posts

edited

This post has been edited by Mr.Wang: Sep 12 2011, 07:59 PM
seantang
post Sep 12 2011, 08:23 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Sep 12 2011, 11:47 AM)
That may be true, but from my opinion, that way it's is not very effective.

I still think it's best to leave 75% of the decision to the hring manager, except on cost related issues. The committee can set a list of objective benchmark (education, experience, etc), while the subjective let the hiring manager decide.
It's a classic dichotomy of how to manage a MNC. Localisation or centralisation. Global organisation or holding company concept. Take your pick. Each are very effective in their own way.
Nokia convert
post Sep 12 2011, 08:28 PM

423 posts

Yo guys. Need some help here. My friend is coming down to SG this weekend for holiday. Any good backpackers hostel to recommend? As long as the hostel is clean and not situated in the red light district, she won't mind. I remember someone mentioned it before but somehow search didn't come up anything useful.
seantang
post Sep 12 2011, 08:35 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Sep 12 2011, 01:05 PM)
I cannot comment for your company but from where i come from, ultimately the responsibility of performance (whether for the supervisor or his subordinates) falls firmly on the shoulders of the supervisor himself. Therefore he is given the opportunity to hire his own staff with the implicit understanding that he (and his team) will deliver the promised results. HR's involvement is purely customary.
This is very rare in any MNC that wants to build a strong corporate culture. What you described inevitably results in cliques (best case) or empire-building (worst case).

And in a matrix organisation (common for many MNCs), each employee has to work with many stakeholders apart from his supervisor and immediate team. In many cases, the supervisor is merely a people leader who leverages members of his team to business, functional or geographic units/organisations. The "buying" business, functional or geographic manager of course has a say in the hiring, as they'll be paying for it.
ch_teo
post Sep 12 2011, 08:42 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Sep 12 2011, 08:35 PM)
This is very rare in any MNC that wants to build a strong corporate culture. What you described inevitably results in cliques (best case) or empire-building (worst case).

And in a matrix organisation (common for many MNCs), each employee has to work with many stakeholders apart from his supervisor and immediate team. In many cases, the supervisor is merely a people leader who leverages members of his team to business, functional or geographic units/organisations. The "buying" business, functional or geographic manager of course has a say in the hiring, as they'll be paying for it.
mostly happening with slogan "equal opportunity"/western MNC employers. hardly happening other than the as-mentioned in previous sentence type of employers.

Smoker who littered accuses NEA officers of violence
Sales executive Zhong Wen Cai...
Mackiddo
post Sep 12 2011, 08:48 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Nokia convert @ Sep 12 2011, 08:28 PM)
Yo guys. Need some help here. My friend is coming down to SG this weekend for holiday.  Any good backpackers hostel to recommend? As long as the hostel is clean and not situated in the red light district, she won't mind. I remember someone mentioned it before but somehow search didn't come up anything useful.
can google. Bugis have lots of travelers lounge
ivanswk
post Sep 12 2011, 08:50 PM

+J
2,110 posts

Yo guys. Need some help here. My friend is coming down to SG this weekend for holiday.  Any good backpackers hostel to recommend? As long as the hostel is clean and not situated in the red light district, she won't mind. I remember someone mentioned it before but somehow search didn't come up anything useful.
http://www.hotel81.com.sg/ cool2.gif
wseng
post Sep 12 2011, 08:58 PM

270 posts

hotel 81 in bugis seems like a good location for me.. Tried looking for it for a friend but never stay there before.
Mackiddo
post Sep 12 2011, 09:00 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Sep 12 2011, 08:58 PM)
hotel 81 in bugis seems like a good location for me.. Tried looking for it for a friend but never stay there before.
Hotel81 expensive. Traveller's lounge is way cheaper.
Nokia convert
post Sep 12 2011, 09:05 PM

423 posts

Thanks for all the recommendation guys. I will defintely check it out.
crapp0
post Sep 12 2011, 09:23 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Sep 12 2011, 08:58 PM)
Try using a UV light in a hotel 81 room and guarantee once looking over that place, you wouldnt want to stay there.
seanwc101
post Sep 12 2011, 09:44 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Sep 12 2011, 02:23 PM)
My suggestion is this....
Find a job locally and start gaining experience. Over the period, continue to update your resume and continue sending.  You might get lots of rejection and unsuccessful interviews but keep trying. Also, from my personal experience, going for interview is also considered as an experience itself.  You will need to fine tune your answer and I believe with a lot of effort, you will be there. 
thumbup.gif
Also, based on my experience, normally the HR consulting firm will side the company instead of the candidate. So maybe you can start to work from that angle.  No worry, I think you are ahead of a lot of people who just wish but do not try.  Job hunting is a lot of hard work.....

I sent resume to local companies as well and recently had attended interviews. So far no offer yet. Didn't put much hope in it cause I heard few MNCs here already laid off their staff.
RabbitS
post Sep 12 2011, 10:15 PM

204 posts

QUOTE(seanwc101 @ Sep 12 2011, 01:51 PM)
OK guys, I did some research on hr consulting firms. Seems like all prefer at least a couple years of relevant working experience. Should fresh grad apply for job adverts that stated they need working experience? Or no chance at all?
apply for it... its free... totally worth it ^^
QUOTE(reinforcism @ Sep 12 2011, 04:05 PM)
hi guys..i had been called for an interview  by IT company at Singapore..but the problem now, I don't  know whether i can secure the job or not..i don't want to waste my time and money go to Singapore and interview for nothing.. i asked the expected salary and the JD but he did not replied my request instead just asked me to asap go interview there..please advise..
go for it... do everything u can to secure it... ur future depends on it... more to gain than to lose
QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Sep 12 2011, 05:28 PM)
Are the any members here working in the banking sector? how the benefits like in the banking sector in Singapore?
Always need to stay back till late at night?
deodorant... high flier banker...
http://www.relax.com.sg/relax/media/730746/MatchBox.html

ask her to take a look at this 1

she can say with me if she's the neat and clean type... i dun mind sharing my bed... got extra space neway
mea05key
post Sep 12 2011, 10:26 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(RabbitS @ Sep 12 2011, 10:15 PM)
apply for it... its free... totally worth it ^^

go for it... do everything u can to secure it... ur future depends on it... more to gain than to lose

deodorant... high flier banker...

http://www.relax.com.sg/relax/media/730746/MatchBox.html

ask her to take a look at this 1

she can say with me if she's the neat and clean type... i dun mind sharing my bed... got extra space neway
What is place is that, a hostel?

This post has been edited by mea05key: Sep 12 2011, 10:31 PM
anderson2009
post Sep 12 2011, 11:08 PM

111 posts

Hi all,

Might be starting work in CBD.

Do u guys reckon AMK's a good place to stay or is there any places recommended?
RabbitS
post Sep 12 2011, 11:11 PM

204 posts

QUOTE(mea05key @ Sep 12 2011, 10:26 PM)
What is place is that, a hostel?
flashpackers lounge... hostel.. cabin... whatever... but it looks cool... super cool
mea05key
post Sep 12 2011, 11:13 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(RabbitS @ Sep 12 2011, 11:11 PM)
flashpackers lounge... hostel.. cabin... whatever... but it looks cool... super cool
ar, ic, i think i want to give it a try one day.
mercury8400
post Sep 12 2011, 11:28 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Sep 12 2011, 08:35 PM)

Welcome to my world! rclxm9.gif
fbjkl
post Sep 12 2011, 11:55 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Sep 10 2011, 09:09 PM)
In truth... they have to. Curi makan is a real problem when it comes to long distance relationships, what more long distance families.
+1.

125 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.5883sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:02 AM