Working in Singapore v8, Tan vs Tan vs Tan vs Tan

crapp0
post Nov 14 2011, 11:13 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(LOOOOOOL @ Nov 14 2011, 11:05 AM)
my fren cant even get the minimum paid like stated in EP, which is 2.8k..how sad
and force to apply for S pass, tats y back to msia now

and wat u mean by "SG you get paid 2-3x more than MY"?? coz i earn SGD, i spend SGD...i don get it..
Your fren just got hired by the typical singaporean "chinaman" company. They'll shortchanged anybody for their own selfish goals which is to line their pockets.
ivanswk
post Nov 14 2011, 11:14 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 14 2011, 10:15 AM)
About 10 ppl, I'm paying all so I don't feel like going swanky, think I can feed 10 mouths in a proper dinner for like $300?
http://www.pfs.com.sg/restaurants/prima_tower/

brows.gif for the view ...
mercury8400
post Nov 14 2011, 11:15 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(LOOOOOOL @ Nov 14 2011, 10:22 AM)
guys..
wanna ask if anyone of u working in SG as a .net developer?? or fren..
can i know wat's the market price for a 2 years ++ .net developer in SG??

1 of my fren just got back from SG, sux experience with less than half a year over there.now he's back to msia. according to him, low salary, heavy load, lots of stress compare to the local employee...and the salary is lower than Sgporean with same education level. is it true??

Added on November 14, 2011, 10:26 am"All you need to know about PR application and requirements are available here: http://www.ica.gov.sg/page.aspx?pageid=151&secid=150"

link is dead..can anyone update?
If you are a foreigner, of course yr going to take the sh1t like low pay, high workload. That's why they hire foreigners in the first place (coz no SG wants the job). You either put up until you get a PR and move on or like yr friend, move back to M'sia. Afterall like i always say, they (SG company) just see you like we see bangla, indon or myanmar back home in M'sia. Exploitable and can take lots of sh1t coz "you're just a foreigner".
seantang
post Nov 14 2011, 11:28 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

Guys,

I need to arrange a first-time "in-laws meet-up" (my family + fiancee's family) dinner this weekend. Any recommendations? About 10 ppl, I'm paying all so I don't feel like going swanky, think I can feed 10 mouths in a proper dinner for like $300?

Currently thinking of Seafood International cos food is "ok" and not too expensive, but that's only cos I don't know of any other places ...
Try Imperial Treasure Nan Bei in Ngee Ann City level 5. Near Best Denki.

Call early and book the private room.

If you don't go for anything fancy, just dim sum etc... it'll be about S$20-30 per head. Basically pretty authentic HK cantonese food. The people from my office usually bring visitors there for the consistent quality, proximity to office etc. It's also my go-to makan place if I must have "no surprises".

This post has been edited by seantang: Nov 14 2011, 11:30 AM
deodorant
post Nov 14 2011, 12:34 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Nov 14 2011, 10:37 AM)
Lai Huat Seafood Restaurant?

No aircon, for first time parents-meet-parents not so suitable I think. Good suggestion for my own future makan though biggrin.gif

QUOTE(LOOOOOOL @ Nov 14 2011, 11:05 AM)
and wat u mean by "SG you get paid 2-3x more than MY"?? coz i earn SGD, i spend SGD...i don get it..

Simple example. You buy ipad2 in SG base version is SGD 668. do you pay RM 668 for it in Malaysia?

Without converting, only accomodation and cars are (one to one) more expensive in SG, everything else is cheaper.

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Nov 14 2011, 11:14 AM)
Prima Tower

Ooo revolving restaurant, seems nice.

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 14 2011, 11:28 AM)
Try Imperial Treasure Nan Bei in Ngee Ann City level 5. Near Best Denki.

Thanks thanks!
Walaoeh!
post Nov 14 2011, 12:34 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 13 2011, 11:01 PM)
At least 8K a month for a comfortable lifestyle. 4K for rental, 2K for a car and around 2K for food and bills. Maybe another 4K for entertainment (a thousand each weekend is pretty decent... easily blow $500 for a dinner for two at a decent restaurant).
that's luxurious lifestyle... i'm definately not comfortable in this lifestyle... rolleyes.gif
calvint78
post Nov 14 2011, 01:04 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(jewellyjew @ Nov 13 2011, 11:39 AM)
I wonder how did most of you secure a job offer there..I ve sent out numerous job applications but did not receive even one single reply from them..may I know what kinda qualities r they looking for?
I want to share my story with you all.
I get sg job here because i got friend work in sg, they recommend to their boss and their boss ask me come to interview. 1st interview pass and wait for phone call. after 1/2 month, they call me ask me to prepare come to sg. me and friends work in same industries but different company. Com just giv EP only, not S pass. this also better, u sapu all the salary every month but have to puke out some for their income tax. if u are married and got kids, u pay less income tax. B4 married, my income tax around SG$1500-1800/year. After married and got kids, income tax lesser to SG$4++.
Well, i stay in JB and everyday in out in out. This also better, u can see alot beautyful ah lian, office ladies sometime if lucky will seat will beauty girl. Sorry hor, im no cikopet. just a normal guy who have interest with girl/ladies. A must look, if not look feel so sorry for my eye.
About the expenses? i spend less than SG100/month, for ezlink top up, lunch only, carpark at kotaraya.
Well, thats all i can share. cheers!
ivanswk
post Nov 14 2011, 01:08 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(calvint78 @ Nov 14 2011, 01:04 PM)
Well, i stay in JB and everyday in out in out. This also better, u can see alot beautyful ah lian, office ladies sometime if lucky will seat will beauty girl. Sorry hor, im no cikopet. just a normal guy who have interest with girl/ladies. A must look, if not look feel so sorry for my eye.
rolleyes.gif i also sorry for my eye

good loh thumbup.gif
jewellyjew
post Nov 14 2011, 01:14 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(calvint78 @ Nov 14 2011, 01:04 PM)
I want to share my story with you all.
I get sg job here because i got friend work in sg, they recommend to their boss and their boss ask me come to interview. 1st interview pass and wait for phone call. after 1/2 month, they call me ask me to prepare come to sg. me and friends work in same industries but different company. Com just giv EP only, not S pass. this also better, u sapu all the salary every month but have to puke out some for their income tax. if u are married and got kids, u pay less income tax. B4 married, my income tax around SG$1500-1800/year. After married and got kids, income tax lesser to SG$4++.
About the expenses? i spend less than SG100/month, for ezlink top up, lunch only, carpark at kotaraya.
Well, thats all i can share. cheers!
ic..thanks for sharing..i hope i have a friend who can recommend me to the workplace too.. smile.gif
r1v3r
post Nov 14 2011, 01:20 PM

1,305 posts

Guys,

I need to arrange a first-time "in-laws meet-up" (my family + fiancee's family) dinner this weekend. Any recommendations? About 10 ppl, I'm paying all so I don't feel like going swanky, think I can feed 10 mouths in a proper dinner for like $300?

Currently thinking of Seafood International cos food is "ok" and not too expensive, but that's only cos I don't know of any other places ...
Oh man I'm so screwed then. Well not me directly, but my fiancee having trouble getting a job sad.gif ... until she gets one, everything I have to pay lol.
wah... aiming for dragon kids laugh.gif Happy for you smile.gif

I think the environment is more important for such meet up, must be comfortable and pleasant so a private room will be nice. Can't imagine you guys have to talk aloud in a typical kanton tim sum place. Choose a few good venue then filter off by their food quality.

Both of you PR? If she is not working now then are you poor enough (<10k or <12k for EC) to buy HDB? If yes then better consider buy one before she get a jobs.

seantang
post Nov 14 2011, 01:21 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Walaoeh! @ Nov 14 2011, 12:34 PM)
that's luxurious lifestyle... i'm definately not comfortable in this lifestyle... rolleyes.gif
That's comfortable lah. Luxurious is like 20-30K per month. Rental alone for luxurious place is already 10K.

Walaoeh!
post Nov 14 2011, 01:30 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 14 2011, 01:21 PM)
That's comfortable lah. Luxurious is like 20-30K per month. Rental alone for luxurious place is already 10K.
wow... i think we have different definition on 'luxurious' and 'comfortable'. sweat.gif
seantang
post Nov 14 2011, 01:38 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Walaoeh! @ Nov 14 2011, 01:30 PM)
wow... i think we have different definition on 'luxurious' and 'comfortable'. sweat.gif
Of course we do. Each person has their own definition.

So when that chap asked... of course I answer using my own definition. Who the hell knows what he's talking about?

totti 10
post Nov 14 2011, 01:52 PM

339 posts

just wondering about PR application. I have 3 questions

1. Once i apply for PR how long usually it takes to get IPA?
(for my EP only took 1 day, is it going to be as fast?)

2. The 20% CPF deduction thing only starts after getting the IPA
or after you offically collected the SPR card?

3. If I already have an IPA for PR and I want to change job while waiting
for the card, do I have to apply for another EP or not?

ivanswk
post Nov 14 2011, 02:40 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(totti 10 @ Nov 14 2011, 01:52 PM)
just wondering about PR application. I have 3 questions

1. Once i apply for PR how long usually it takes to get IPA?
(for my EP only took 1 day, is it going to be as fast?)

2. The 20% CPF deduction thing only starts after getting the IPA
or after you offically collected the SPR card?

3. If I already have an IPA for PR and I want to change job while waiting
for the card, do I have to apply for another EP or not?

1. my collegaue recent application to approval, 2 weeks
2. officially not 20%, the deduction is progressive, and your pr start from the date u complete the formalities,
strict HR deduct from this date, some deduct from your next salary, 20% for 1st pr year deduction do exist at some co sweat.gif
3. it take 3day for medical, and u already pr after the formalities, the card is 1 week after the formalities can take

Added on November 14, 2011, 4:29 pmShorter VEP Operating Hours for December School Holidays thumbup.gif

http://app.lta.gov.sg/corp_press_content.a...ccueamip5slv91e

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Nov 14 2011, 04:29 PM
yeahs4.1
post Nov 14 2011, 07:22 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Nov 14 2011, 12:34 PM)
No aircon, for first time parents-meet-parents not so suitable I think. Good suggestion for my own future makan though biggrin.gif
You may try Seafood Paradise. They have one in Defu Lane and one at The Flyers.

Walaoeh!
post Nov 14 2011, 08:42 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 14 2011, 01:38 PM)
Of course we do. Each person has their own definition.

So when that chap asked... of course I answer using my own definition. Who the hell knows what he's talking about?
yalo... btw, whats your definition if earning less than 8k, lets say 2k-3k? 'miserable'? laugh.gif
seantang
post Nov 14 2011, 08:51 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Walaoeh! @ Nov 14 2011, 08:42 PM)
yalo... btw, whats your definition if earning less than 8k, lets say 2k-3k? 'miserable'?  laugh.gif
That's freshie salary. Freshies are not supposed to earn enough to lead 'comfortable' lives.

Larrylow
post Nov 14 2011, 09:45 PM

RELOADED
1,516 posts

8k per month sound like a luxury lifestyle for me... lol

Let's say a freshie earns 2k-3k, if spends wisely, what's the living cost per month? Haha, would like to know how much one can save...
r1v3r
post Nov 14 2011, 10:27 PM

1,305 posts

we bought our HDB with our 2k+ freshie salary back then, life was "miserable".

years after, freshie pay remain the same, so who is more miserable?

125 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:37 PM