125 Pages « < 100 101 102 103 104 > » Bottom

Credit Card v16, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting!

charymsylyn
post Dec 29 2011, 01:42 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(k3v1n @ Dec 29 2011, 01:37 PM)
But the bank told me 18% is per annum.. Wat is mean by per annum? If per annum not every month charge 1.5% meh?? Why now everyday charge 18%? I really dun understand now.
18% rate is per annum, but the APR will be higher due to the daily compound basis of calculation.

You don't understand, at least please make the effort to refer to Wikipedia.
cute_boboi
post Dec 29 2011, 02:17 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(morbo @ Dec 28 2011, 03:57 PM)
Thanks for the replies zenquix and Gen-X!

Since we're on the topic of timely repayments, and I couldn't really find any advice in the "Ways to pay your credit card bill", I kinda wanted to ask :-

I have a Maybank savings account, and assuming I managed to get a Maybank CC, would it be possible to set some kind of Payment Instruction for my CC bill to be auto-swept from my savings account (essentially turning the CC into sort of a Debit Card). Ideally, I'd like to have this arrangement at no (or very minimal) additional cost to me. smile.gif
You need to goto MBB branch, fill up the form to link up the S/A and CC. Remember to bring both the account/card numbers along.

At the same time, ask the counter CS if can do SI.

For me, I know every month must settle before 7th. So normally I pay manually online between 1st-5th of every month, from my S/A -> CC.

shiroikun
post Dec 29 2011, 02:26 PM

1,168 posts

But the bank told me 18% is per annum.. Wat is mean by per annum? If per annum not every month charge 1.5% meh?? Why now everyday charge 18%? I really dun understand now.
Yes 18% is yearly basis. If you calculate daily, it will be 18%/12 months/ 30days = it is 0.05% daily charges on the cash advanced amount.
zenquix
post Dec 29 2011, 02:31 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

Actually they charge 18%/365 every day, on the balance at that day. So you will also get charged interest on interest, unless your card is an islamic card

Mathematically it is about 0.05% a day. The most simplest formula (not 100% accurate) to calculate interest is principal * (1.0005)^n where n is the number of days you 'borrow'. Because interest is calculated daily, if you hold the balance for a year (without paying) it will be abt 20% and not 18%.

edit typo

This post has been edited by zenquix: Dec 29 2011, 04:14 PM
shiroikun
post Dec 29 2011, 03:21 PM

1,168 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Dec 29 2011, 02:31 PM)
Actually they charge 18%/365 every day, on the balance at that day. So you will also get charged interest on interest, unless your card is an islamic card

Mathematically it is about 0.5%  a day. The most simplest formula (not 100% accurate) to calculate interest is principal * (1.0005)^n where n is the number of days you 'borrow'. Because interest is calculated daily, if you hold the balance for a year (without paying) it will be abt 20% and not 18%.
It should be 0.05% daily. Bro, 0.5% is way too high already
zenquix
post Dec 29 2011, 04:15 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(shiroikun @ Dec 29 2011, 03:21 PM)
It should be 0.05% daily. Bro, 0.5% is way too high already
thanks for highlighting the typo
ronnie
post Dec 29 2011, 04:44 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

1.5% Per month x 12 = 18% per annum (aka 12 months)
k3v1n
post Dec 29 2011, 08:04 PM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

Understand, thanks for clearing up my doubt, guys! smile.gif
morbo
post Dec 30 2011, 01:37 AM

51 posts

I appreciate the help/advice, guys. Special thanks to chemistry and cute_boboi!
reeve-826
post Dec 30 2011, 03:09 PM

334 posts

If currently still a student age above 21, I has a suplementary credit card but still do not have income yet. Can i use my suplementary card to apply principle card?
Human Nature
post Dec 30 2011, 03:16 PM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

QUOTE(reeve-826 @ Dec 30 2011, 03:09 PM)
If currently still a student age above 21, I has a suplementary credit card but still do not have income yet. Can i use my suplementary card to apply principle card?
No, you cannot.
inspiron
post Dec 30 2011, 05:48 PM

226 posts

Need to get advise from sifu here.

Here's my situation, I just got my UOB 1 card statement and saw the RM50 Gov tax. Have any sifu here tried to call CS to waive the tax? Coz last year when I don't want to pay, they told me they can give me rm50 smart point to redeem it (actually is give you cash la)

I tried using this method on my Public Bank card....told them I'm not willing to pay for the tax...I thought I'm going to get a call from the CS to change my mind or something, who knows, after 1 week, received letter from them "I'm sorry to hear that you have cancelled your cc" I was like shocking.gif

So anyone got any luck with UOB 1 card (for 2011?)
Gen-X
post Dec 30 2011, 09:18 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(inspiron @ Dec 30 2011, 05:48 PM)
Here's my situation, I just got my UOB 1 card statement and saw the RM50 Gov tax. Have any sifu here tried to call CS to waive the tax? Coz last year when I don't want to pay, they told me they can give me rm50 smart point to redeem it (actually is give you cash la)

I tried using this method on my Public Bank card....told them I'm not willing to pay for the tax...I thought I'm going to get a  call from the CS to change my mind or something, who knows, after 1 week, received letter from them "I'm sorry to hear that you have cancelled your cc" I was like  shocking.gif

So anyone got any luck with UOB 1 card  (for 2011?)
Don't want to pay GST, go get a Debit Card tongue.gif

QUOTE(cookie860217 @ Dec 15 2011, 11:26 AM)
did anyone receive SMS from Hong Leong Bank say will increase credit card limit and send a certain code with IC number to a number to confirm?

just want to ask if anyone received the same SMS as me
Above was posted 2 weeks back and cookie860217 subsequently confirmed it was genuine.

Well, my wife received a similar SMS from Citibank today. Click here to read my article Invitation To Increase Credit Card Credit Limit by SMS.

ralphaell
post Dec 30 2011, 09:23 PM

54 posts

i want to ask if hong leong bank visa Gold if annually spent RM8k then no need pay annual membership fee? the charge me for RM160 should i pay or what?
Gen-X
post Dec 30 2011, 09:24 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ralphaell @ Dec 30 2011, 09:23 PM)
i want to ask if hong leong bank visa Gold if annually spent RM8k then no need pay annual membership fee? the charge me for RM160 should i pay or what?
call them up and request for a waiver
ralphaell
post Dec 30 2011, 09:25 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Dec 30 2011, 09:24 PM)
call them up and request for a waiver
so mean it should be waive?
TSalexwsk
post Dec 30 2011, 09:27 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(ralphaell @ Dec 30 2011, 09:25 PM)
so mean it should be waive?
it MAY be waived
ralphaell
post Dec 30 2011, 09:39 PM

54 posts

FML, my mum every month also pay the Rm160 annual fee even though she spent more than 8k per year...i never notice until now
hye
post Dec 31 2011, 04:20 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Folks .... with a few more hours into the new year, wishing all our readers a Happy New Year! May 2012 bring you good luck !

And many thanks to all our great contributors to this thread. You know who you are (Gen-X, alexwsk, zenquix, MilesAndMore, cute_boboi, chemistry, David83, ronnie, shiroikun, rockefeller, ben83, shiroikun) and a whole lot more. I'm sorry if I miss out any names but still a great and big thanks to all you folks out there.

I'll be looking forward to my traditional New Year celebration tonight.

SUSDavid83
post Dec 31 2011, 05:45 PM

52,874 posts

@hye, Happy New Year 2012 to you too!

Hope better and amazing deals come from the banks for the plastic world!

125 Pages « < 100 101 102 103 104 > » Top

0.0321sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:44 AM