Credit Card v16, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting!

cute_boboi
post Jun 13 2011, 02:27 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(muddie @ Jun 13 2011, 11:35 AM)
Yea i need a hardcase card holder, but is the Hata Name Card holder hardcase? If not where can I get the aluminium card holder? My cards always bend/bengkok coz put in wallet and always sit on it. So now put my cards in my namecard holder.
Aluminium business card holder are normally thin type and hold few cards only.
My wallet put frequently used cards and other points cards
I have another leather/pvc business card holder that is nearly 1cm high when fully put in all the 10-15 cards. There is no pocket for each card, just put all in like business cards. These are for seldom/rarely used cards.

cute_boboi
post Jun 14 2011, 11:40 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(weeloong81 @ Jun 14 2011, 10:28 AM)
would like to ask, which bank can provided best discount for petrol, Im using HSBC bank now with 1 installement plan. Someting some shopping v credit card too. Minimum a month is about 1k+.

Currently thinking to change my credit card, as HSBC providing a lousy customer service. TQ in advance...
I'm using current best combo:
MBB-2-Amex + Esso/Mobil Smiles card.
= 5x TP + 5% rebate on weekends (Sat/Sun) + (RM1 = 1 Smiles point)

You collect 100 Smiles point = RM1, can use for anything inside the kiosk shop.
But best is redeem 1000 Smiles = RM15 petrol

cute_boboi
post Jun 14 2011, 05:12 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(shiroikun @ Jun 14 2011, 04:58 PM)
1 question here, is there any credit card application that without need you to submit payslip but just a photostat copy of current CC with 1 year old after the new BNM rules implemented? May be applying from agents can by pass this?
There is no definite answer on this.

No matter you submit through agent/roadshow/direct at counter, you may or may not be required to submit additional docs.

Even if e.g. agent says no need docs, but once agent pass to bank CC processing, they may ask you to submit/fax/mail to them the docs.

Unless it is pre-approved CC that bank already send to you (not tele-marketer call that offer you CC)

cute_boboi
post Jun 14 2011, 07:08 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(shiroikun @ Jun 14 2011, 06:26 PM)
I don't like to submit payslip together as i know i would get a lower credit limit. Lets say my salary only 8k, the new CC will only give max 25k CL? Meanwhile my other CC that more than 1year already given me 50k CL. So if i don't provide any salary slip, i may have the chance to get 50k or more than 50k CL... else i would just ending with 25k CL.
I'll be frank. My opinion is what you want is higher CL, but in the first place, you do not even get the CC approved yet.
It is like you want to run when you don't know how to walk yet.

What I would suggest is, you submit CC application form with all the salary/docs. But write in your CC form
* If my application is approved, unless bank can provide 100k credit limit, otherwise do not approve/send me the CC

Keep a copy of the form for your own reference.

If:
(i) The bank reject your application : move on with your life.
(ii) Bank approved with >100k CL, then fine with what you want.
(iii) Bank approved with <100k CL : this is what you do not want. So, you terminate the card immediately. Most likely bank will charge you RM50 GST, then you can use the application form photocopy to state that you do not wish to hold the card if CL <100k

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 14 2011, 06:54 PM)
if you income is more than RM36K per year, the CL guideline of 3X monthly salary is not applicable.
Doesn't work for me on MBB CC CL. They rejected my request to go higher than 3x, even when I submit all the docs.
CIMB gives me 5x on my new application recently.

cute_boboi
post Jun 15 2011, 10:22 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Gen-X,

Yes, it's kind of vague on the CL.

QUOTE(tanch78 @ Jun 14 2011, 07:50 PM)
I simply don't understand why some of you need CL up till 50k / 100 CL. Have you ever ultilise 50% of it?

Whenever I get a new credit card, I need to call up the bank to reduce my CL of 20% till 50% for certain card. And the customer service officer just stunned when I called to make the CL deduction request. I travel quite frequent, if my card being stolen and used to buy things. I will cry until no tears.

But thank good. Now I now that my credit card liability due to fraud case is restricted to RM150.  thumbup.gif
Yes, I tried to utilise >180% of it, and request for temporary increase in CL recently, for emergency purpose, but was rejected. In the end, split payment and delay into 2-3 payment over several days.

Therefore, sometimes it is good to keep high CL for emergency purpose, unless the individual plan to carry huge amount of cash in backpack/briefcase (pocket not enough to store tongue.gif if any of you ever carry 50k-100k in cash RM50/100 notes).
Also, most ATM do not allow withdraw between 12am-6am.

QUOTE(Bellatrix LeStrange @ Jun 14 2011, 08:20 PM)
i see. so its not like they will charge me RM56 (not including interest) every month until 36 month?
Most (not all) installment will block-off the CL from your CC, as per replies from Gen-X to you.

However, I have an auto-installment, which only deduct the monthly payment from your CC every month, and does not block my CL. The difference is, the merchant takes the risk and only request monthly payment from bank for 12/24 months, instead of collect lump sum payment from bank and let the bank collect from you.

This will only work if the merchant has some collateral at their side, to their advantage. Also, the merchant has to provide form for you to sign, etc. (paperwork) so that they can auto-deduct from your CC every month.

cute_boboi
post Jun 15 2011, 04:54 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jun 15 2011, 11:20 AM)
You need to ask. Normally you need to fill in the form which is provided by the merchant. Good luck if you wish to search.
Normally merchant don't prefer this method anymore coz of one word - Risk. Buyer already took the item and leaving the merchant on a monthly payment.
The card terminals now able to handle monthly installment automatically. Sellers get paid in full minus bank charges and they prefer this coz the bank take the risk of "collecting" the money from customer.
Correct. Thanks for typing/answering for me thumbup.gif

Repeat again: With the risk involved, the merchant MUST hold the advantage on collateral. Therefore, this is not offered for shops/electrical/furniture/mobile phones/etc. items that you can runaway.

cute_boboi
post Jun 28 2011, 05:56 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jun 28 2011, 03:05 PM)
petrol station allow use of credit card for petrol if the amount is less than rm5 ? eg motorcycle
For those swipe at pump, should be no issue, even with RM1 thumbup.gif

But if need to go counter swipe, then the CS will give you black face or say " CANNOT ! " mad.gif or " MALAYSIA BOLEH, YOU TAK BOLEH ! " laugh.gif

cute_boboi
post Jul 5 2011, 05:54 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 5 2011, 04:17 PM)
The Visa Petronas is roughly redundant. Will cancel it soon. Have complete repayment for the installment.
I cancelled my MBB Visa Petronas few months ago, but the account is still running, since I have 0% installment still on-going. Annual due date is may-june, and so far did not charge me RM50 GST.

cute_boboi
post Jul 5 2011, 08:01 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 5 2011, 06:58 PM)
Annual date can be seen on the card expiry date. Maybe will be charged by this month.
How can they charge when the CC is already cancelled at their CS counter ? hmm.gif

cute_boboi
post Jul 6 2011, 12:29 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Thanks for mentioning my name smile.gif tongue.gif

Anyway, the 500GB free HDD (samsung still fine with me) looks tempting. I browse through Citibank website and here is what I deduce:

(1) 500GB HDD is limited to first 1000 approved applicants shakehead.gif
- Unless it is guaranteed gift for me, I won't apply it.

(2) If you get the 500GB HDD, you will need to pay the RM50 GST for each card.
doh.gif

(3) For those above >1000 applicants, then waive/free the RM50 GST
- Consolation prize cry.gif

(4) (i) For new comers (or those cancelled >2 yrs ago to qualify for this promo), you need to apply 2x cards in order to get EITHER the 500GB or RM50
(ii) For existing Citibank CC holders, you need to apply 1x NEW CC from them.
- Means pay RM100 GST if get HDD doh.gif

(5) Once get the card, must use minimum 3x times before Sep.
- This one is still ok.

Correct me if I'm wrong.
I got nothing against Citibank. I will get and use this card for 1 year if:
* guarantee I get the HDD
* Waive all GST and annual fee for 1 year, no matter 1 or 2 CC

conflict with

cute_boboi
post Jul 7 2011, 09:51 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 6 2011, 11:09 PM)
For the Citibank RM 50 cash back, do I really need to apply 2 cards? Shit! I just submitted the application online. I thought of getting this to replace the UOB ONE Platinum that I failed to get.

Will clarify with the officer who may call me tomorrow. Otherwise, if really need to apply 2 cards, then I don't want it anymore.
Check T&C here.

Eligibility
2. Subject to these terms and conditions, the Campaign is open to any of the following persons applying for principal Citibank Credit Cards during the Campaign Period via “Citibank Online” or via “SMS”:
(a) New-to-bank applicants applying for at least TWO (2) principal Citibank credit cards via Citibank Online or short messaging service (“SMS”); or
(b) Existing Citibank Cardholders applying for at least ONE (1) new principal Citibank credit card AND ONE (1) Citibank Ready CreditTM facility via Citibank Online or SMS; and
© in either case, all applicants must opt for Citibank’s E-Statement service.

cute_boboi
post Jul 7 2011, 11:48 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Someone will come up with 7% later rolleyes.gif

or maybe 6.5% blink.gif

Then another comes out with 7.25% doh.gif

cute_boboi
post Jul 7 2011, 04:10 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 7 2011, 11:53 AM)
That's too little, they have to beat AmBank 20% cash back  tongue.gif
I recall there is a 100% cash back/refund, sort of a contest or something few months/years ago. HSBC CC ?

cute_boboi
post Aug 10 2011, 02:37 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

What happened to the Balance Transfer thread ? hmm.gif

cute_boboi
post Aug 10 2011, 03:47 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 10 2011, 03:07 PM)
Has since moved back to where it was  smile.gif
Where ? /K/ ?

Duh! ... now it's back. Either I'm lost, or it's nearing 7-14 sweat.gif

cute_boboi
post Aug 25 2011, 03:13 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(moshimaruu @ Aug 25 2011, 02:55 PM)

Having problem to apply credit card. My annual income is RM 36k +, with borang E, any other supporting document.

The problem is the Public Bank reject my application.

Is there any other bank able to accept my application with the supporting document i gave above? I dun mind any bank credit card, as long my credit card to approve.
As usual, there are some standard questions such as:
- do you have any previous bank/personal/education loan ?
- have you been a guarantor before ?
- have you do some checking at BNM CCRIS ?
- have you tried other banks CC ?

cute_boboi
post Aug 25 2011, 03:49 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

moshimaruu,

My wild guess is, with your car + house loan in your name (if you don't mind to share the loan amount here), already exceed one-third (1/3) of your 36k annual income. Therefore, PBB being a more cautious bank on CC, determine that your credit line is red-flag.

cute_boboi
post Sep 22 2011, 10:17 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Shocking reasons why Malaysians are living beyond their means
By LEE YEN MUN and RAHIMY RAHIM
newsdesk@thestar.com.my

PETALING JAYA: Shopaholics and poor management of personal finances - these best describe a good number of Malaysian consumers.

On average, 41 are declared bankrupt every day, mostly due to credit card debts shakehead.gif , while every weekend, about five million throng the 300-odd shopping complexes in the country.

These habits are among the shocking revelations on why Malaysian consumers cannot cope with the rising cost of living.

Fomca discovered that many of those declared bankrupt due to credit card debts were below 40 years old.

“And they do not care about the consequences,” said Fomca chief executive officer Datuk Paul Selvaraj.

“Many are facing financial difficulties too early in life,” he told the Protect Our Pockets roundtable conference at Menara Star here on Tuesday night.

Selvaraj said Fomca would embark on a financial education push next month with emphasis on teaching the young.

“In one of our surveys, we were shocked that many children did not even know where money came from,” he said, adding that most replied “the ATM (automated teller machine). doh.gif doh.gif

“And, they do not believe that their parents have to work to earn money,” Selvaraj added.

Malaysian Association of Shopping and Highrise Complex Management president H.C. Chan said its statistics showed that one in five Malaysians visited a shopping mall on a weekend. “And the country has about 320 shopping complexes,” he pointed out.

The roundtable session is organised by The Star as part of an initiative to highlight key issues faced by Malaysians in the face of the rising cost of living.

Other field experts who form the panel are Malaysian Retailers-Chains Associations secretary-general Valerie Choo, Carrefour marketing communications (Singapore and Malaysia) director Low Ngai Yuen, Performance Management and Delivery Unit (Pemandu) senior manager Phillip See, Pemandu director of National Key Result Areas and National Key Economic Areas D. Ravindran and The Star executive editor Datuk Wong Sai Wan.

Low said while some people shopped, claiming it to be therapeutic, “the truth is, it is not necessarily based on need”.

Ravindran agreed to suggestions that the Education Ministry should take the lead in teaching financial management in schools, but not as a formal subject.

See said handling personal finances was something the young had to go through themselves to gain experience.

On ensuring income levels were competitive, Wong urged the private sector to take the lead as most of the country's manpower was from this sector.

“We should also re-examine our heavy dependency on foreign labour and consider absorbing our senior citizens back into the workforce,” he added.

Some 60% of young consumers were already in debt, Fomca said at a separate function here yesterday.

“And, 72% of young adults have no retirement plans.”

> “Protect Our Pockets” is an initiative by The Star to highlight key issues faced by Malaysians in relation to the rising cost of living.

To express your support for the resolution, readers can join the online drive for the campaign by going to http://sites.thestar.com.my/protectourpockets/

Related Stories:
Bid to fight rise in living costs

cute_boboi
post Oct 14 2011, 07:37 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Esso Mobil can preset amount.

Shell cannot preset. I asked the kiosk attendant before. You have to manual control using your own hand/fingers to pull the trigger doh.gif

cute_boboi
post Oct 17 2011, 04:51 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(hbh60 @ Oct 17 2011, 03:08 PM)
ouch at 9% per annum...

or should i just go with Personal Loan instead?
As suggested few posts above. Apply for MBB/CIMB CC (if you not have it).

Then BT to it.
CIMB 6 months 0%
MBB 12 months 0%

Check when the 0% promo is ending.

There are couple of bloggers here giving good info on their blogs.

Cost: RM50 GST only to apply new CC.

0.0489sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:29 AM