124 Pages « < 91 92 93 94 95 > » Bottom

Recommendation for Credit Cards V1, TQ to contributors ! (From MOD)

saintprayer
post Oct 1 2012, 07:13 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 1 2012, 04:32 PM)
Try other cards? Go apply for all lah, hahaha.

You failed to mention your monthly expenses amount e.g. Insurance RM?/month If your insurance and other expenses is less than RM1K per month, no point to get another card, as your MBB 2 Visa or MasterCard will do (i.e. 1XTP roughly 0.5% returns).

Reason being, assuming another card earns you 1% cash back and you only spend RM1k/month with that card, you only earn RM10/month or RM120/year. Less GST you only earn RM70 versus your MBB 2 Visa or MC RM50. So net you only earn extra RM20 for the entire year or less than RM2/month ... wasting time.

Having said that, since you want to try other cards, go and apply Standard Chartered Bank Business credit card where they are giving out FREE Money (apply online you get more)  smile.gif
Thanks. The reason I mention want try others is that there are privilages or offers that are not provided by Maybanks, so want try others tongue.gif

My insurance is around 800/month (including my parents one, they dont have credit card so they pass me cash and I pay for them), and have another yearly recurrent of 1800/year... So... average less than 1k/month like you said.

Monthly expenses you mean is specifically to use on new card? My other expenses like petrol, groceries, bills i try to pay with Amex currently if they accept the card, usually less than 400/month. Unless the new card give higher rebate I will still stick to Amex.

Looked through the SCB cad, any difference on the business card and personal one? Unfortunately have annual fees for the card, which then again, not worth taking for the new card?
TSGen-X
post Oct 1 2012, 08:13 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(saintprayer @ Oct 1 2012, 07:13 PM)
Thanks. The reason I mention want try others is that there are privilages or offers that are not provided by Maybanks, so want try others tongue.gif

My insurance is around 800/month (including my parents one, they dont have credit card so they pass me cash and I pay for them), and have another yearly recurrent of 1800/year... So... average less than 1k/month like you said.

Monthly expenses you mean is specifically to use on new card? My other expenses like petrol, groceries, bills i try to pay with Amex currently if they accept the card, usually less than 400/month. Unless the new card give higher rebate I will still stick to Amex.

Looked through the SCB cad, any difference on the business card and personal one? Unfortunately have annual fees for the card, which then again, not worth taking for the new card?
Bro, SCB 1st year annual fee waived. Did you read my article on SCB Biz? It earns you cash back plus point whereas the normal does not earn you cash back. And if you sign up this month, not only will you get cash back BUT you get 5% cash back for Petrol for limited time. So worth it or not up to you if you want the FREE money and try out SCB tongue.gif You should go check out SCB thread, people there applying all types of SCB cards to get FREE Money even tho the T&C says only applicable to one card.

Yah, you are right, if can use AMEX, better use it and earn 5XTP. Even without the 5% cash back on weekends, it's the best card for local spending, that is if the merchant accepts AMEX.

Talking about privileges, what you want? For Movie Tickets and Coffee Bean Citibank Clear Card is good. If you want KLIA Plaza Premium Lounge, then get the SCB Platinum instead of SCB Biz cards. For Dining Privileges click here.
saintprayer
post Oct 1 2012, 09:11 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 1 2012, 08:13 PM)
Bro, SCB 1st year annual fee waived. Did you read my article on SCB Biz? It earns you cash back plus point whereas the normal does not earn you cash back. And if you sign up this  month, not only will you get cash back BUT you get 5% cash back for Petrol for limited time. So worth it or not up to you if you want the FREE money and try out SCB  tongue.gif You should go check out SCB thread, people there applying all types of SCB cards to get FREE Money even tho the T&C says only applicable to one card.

Yah, you are right, if can use AMEX, better use it and earn 5XTP. Even without the 5% cash back on weekends, it's the best card for local spending, that is if the merchant accepts AMEX.

Talking about privileges, what you want?  For Movie Tickets and Coffee Bean Citibank Clear Card is good. If you want KLIA Plaza Premium Lounge, then get the SCB Platinum instead of SCB Biz cards. For Dining Privileges click here.
I think I read through all of it, but i miss the comparision on biz and non-biz card? Coffee bean and movies are things that only use once in a blue moon so I think will pass, but the dining benefits seems good for me. I think will apply for the biz card, thanks very much smile.gif But i feel awkward to use a credit card at a fastfood like KFC or burgers though...

Btw the application page for biz plat card does include Plaza premium lounge, the free annual fee is for 2 years smile.gif
lcyeap90
post Oct 1 2012, 11:36 PM

392 posts

1. Annual Income: RM24K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: if got is the best!

3. Card required for: Petrol, Cash Back/Rebate Only, Insurance, Installment Plans, online purchase.

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil.

5. Considering CC from banks: Citybank clear card or any better?

6. Others: cash back, good rewards & benefits.

7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: RM900 - RM300 petrol, RM250 Insurance, RM100 Dining, RM100 Telco, RM50 movies and others RM100.

8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: temporary none
TSGen-X
post Oct 2 2012, 12:11 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(saintprayer @ Oct 1 2012, 09:11 PM)
I think I read through all of it, but i miss the comparision on biz and non-biz card? Coffee bean and movies are things that  only use once in a blue moon so I think will pass, but the dining benefits seems good for me. I think will apply for the biz card, thanks very much smile.gif But i feel awkward to use a credit card at a fastfood like KFC or burgers though...

Btw the application page for biz plat card does include Plaza premium lounge, the free annual fee is for 2 years smile.gif
Bro, I did not compare SCB Biz to non Biz in my article but expect you to go read your self at SCB site on the non Biz tongue.gif

And thanks Bro, I missed the Plaza Premium Lounge thingy for Biz card notworthy.gif

QUOTE(lcyeap90 @ Oct 1 2012, 11:36 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM24K
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: if got is the best!
3. Card required for: Petrol, Cash Back/Rebate Only, Insurance, Installment Plans, online purchase.
4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil.
5. Considering CC from banks: Citybank clear card or any better?
6. Others: cash back, good rewards & benefits.
7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: RM900 - RM300 petrol, RM250 Insurance, RM100 Dining, RM100 Telco, RM50 movies and others RM100.
8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: temporary none
haha, it is Citibank lah. Citibank Clear Card is not a cash back card and as such does not meet your requirement. Now, your movie RM50 per month is for one person or 2 persons? If for 2 person, and if you go to the movies on Friday only, then the Citibank Clear Card is good. Click here to read my article The Best Credit Cards for Movie Tickets.

Based on your current income, looks like for cash back, your option is UOB One Classic Card where it at least earns you 5% for your Petrol and Movie Tickets, 2% for Telco and the rest 0.3%

For installment plans, Maybank credit cards are accepted at many merchants, however, since last year, Maybank increased the annual income for their card to RM30K.year. So once your income reach this level, go apply for Maybankard 2 Cards.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 2 2012, 08:36 AM
GongFuChau
post Oct 2 2012, 11:43 AM

Tomoyo FTW
574 posts

Anual income: 48k-60k

Free lifetime annual fee: not a must but a bonus if got.

Card required for: petrol about 400-500 per month, Internet bills 150, insurance 200. Occasional food and beverage + shopping at malls. Mainly looking to get cash rebate, points are ok too.

Existing cc: none

Looking for cc/bank: nothing specific

Others: I do quite a bit of online shopping as well for console and pc games. So about 400 a month when games are coming out.
TAGreptiles
post Oct 2 2012, 12:40 PM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

1. Annual Income: Rm30k-Rm36k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: MUST

3. Card required for: Petrol and daily needs. Occasional instalment plans.

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: OCBC Ti or UOB One

6. Others: Cash back preferred, pay with M2U online transfer from savings.

7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: Insurance Rm150, Petrol Rm400, can't think of anything else.

8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: Monthly car maintenance? Budget Rm200 per month. (I don't spend this amount every month.

Currently looking for an entry level card. Cannot decide between these 2 cards. Looking at cash back and rebates.

Thanks in advance guys.
fruitie
post Oct 2 2012, 01:09 PM

Rise and Shine
72,791 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Oct 2 2012, 12:40 PM)
1. Annual Income: Rm30k-Rm36k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: MUST

3. Card required for: Petrol and daily needs. Occasional instalment plans.

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: OCBC Ti or UOB One

6. Others: Cash back preferred, pay with M2U online transfer from savings.

7. Fixed expenses per month with the card: Insurance Rm150, Petrol Rm400, can't think of anything else.

8. Non-fixed expenses but recurring in RM: Monthly car maintenance? Budget Rm200 per month. (I don't spend this amount every month.
Currently looking for an entry level card. Cannot decide between these 2 cards. Looking at cash back and rebates.
Thanks in advance guys.
If you have at least RM 36k per annum, then go for OCBC Ti though your application might be rejected on the first attempt. Don't be sad, it should be approved later if you fulfill the requirements and your credit record is clean. smile.gif
Else, you may also consider Maybankard2Gold Card.
Gen-X has posted a lot of posts regarding this card, please have a check. smile.gif
TAGreptiles
post Oct 2 2012, 02:29 PM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 2 2012, 01:09 PM)
If you have at least RM 36k per annum, then go for OCBC Ti though your application might be rejected on the first attempt. Don't be sad, it should be approved later if you fulfill the requirements and your credit record is clean. smile.gif
Else, you may also consider Maybankard2Gold Card.
Gen-X has posted a lot of posts regarding this card, please have a check. smile.gif
Hi thanks for the reply.

I prefer not to have Maybank. Service is bad, and the only reason why i'm using Maybank now is because my salary comes in through maybank, and the convenience of finding ATMs. I dread everytime i have to head over to the branch. sweat.gif

I've also recently changed jobs. So i have 2 different pay slips. I'll be applying for the OCBC Ti under a program called fresh graduate program, some internal program that they have to offer cards to freshies. Only 1 month payslip needed. icon_idea.gif

But again the limit will be set at Rm4000. Which is more than enough for me as for now. So i'm guessing that you suggest OCBC more than UOB? biggrin.gif
fruitie
post Oct 2 2012, 03:24 PM

Rise and Shine
72,791 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Oct 2 2012, 02:29 PM)
Hi thanks for the reply.

I prefer not to have Maybank. Service is bad, and the only reason why i'm using Maybank now is because my salary comes in through maybank, and the convenience of finding ATMs. I dread everytime i have to head over to the branch.  sweat.gif

I've also recently changed jobs. So i have 2 different pay slips. I'll be applying for the OCBC Ti under a program called fresh graduate program, some internal program that they have to offer cards to freshies. Only 1 month payslip needed.  icon_idea.gif 

But again the limit will be set at Rm4000. Which is more than enough for me as for now. So i'm guessing that you suggest OCBC more than UOB?  biggrin.gif
OK, it is a sad case for your bad encounter with Maybank because Maybankard2Gold card is really a good card. smile.gif I have both MBB2Card and OCBC Ti, very happy to have this combo. smile.gif

If you can get the internal freshie program from OCBC, by all means please go for OCBC. UOB One Card needs 60 swipes/year in order to waive the annual fees while OCBC only needs 12 swipes/year. Note: Annual fees not GST.

This post has been edited by fruitie: Oct 2 2012, 03:24 PM
TSGen-X
post Oct 2 2012, 03:37 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(GongFuChau @ Oct 2 2012, 11:43 AM)
Anual income: 48k-60k

Free lifetime annual fee: not a must but a bonus if got.

Card required for: petrol about 400-500 per month, Internet bills 150, insurance 200. Occasional food and beverage + shopping at malls. Mainly looking to get cash rebate, points are ok too.

Existing cc: none

Looking for cc/bank: nothing specific

Others: I do quite a bit of online shopping as well for console and pc games. So about 400 a month when games are coming out.
Wah RM400 per month for games notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

For your case, get OCBC Titanium MasterCard and earn 5% cash back for your petrol, Internet Bills and Dining. Insurance you will get 1% cash back and same for online transactions.

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Oct 2 2012, 02:29 PM)
So i'm guessing that you suggest OCBC more than UOB?  biggrin.gif
That's a no brainer question tongue.gif
maxgenesis
post Oct 2 2012, 05:51 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Oct 2 2012, 03:29 PM)
Hi thanks for the reply.

I prefer not to have Maybank. Service is bad, and the only reason why i'm using Maybank now is because my salary comes in through maybank, and the convenience of finding ATMs. I dread everytime i have to head over to the branch.  sweat.gif

I've also recently changed jobs. So i have 2 different pay slips. I'll be applying for the OCBC Ti under a program called fresh graduate program, some internal program that they have to offer cards to freshies. Only 1 month payslip needed.  icon_idea.gif 

But again the limit will be set at Rm4000. Which is more than enough for me as for now. So i'm guessing that you suggest OCBC more than UOB?  biggrin.gif
wah.. how bro? can share2 abit more details? notworthy.gif
WhitE LighteR
post Oct 2 2012, 06:26 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

Not sure if this is a right place to ask but here goes:

I have an Ambank True card (my 1st ever card) that has no benefit what so ever, no point, no annual fee, no cash bank, etc. The only thing tied to this card is my monthly insurance charges. I currently plan to change the insurance charges to either my Citibank and get x1 point/ringgit (less then 0.5% cash back) OR apply MBB2Card and get x5 point/ringgit ( 2.5% cash back, but low chance my insurance actually accept AMEX) OR apply OCBC TI card and get 1% cash back.

My question is this. What should I do with my Ambank card? Cancel? Ask to change to another card? I dont see any nice Ambank card... and I dont see any benefit on keeping it either.
fruitie
post Oct 2 2012, 06:29 PM

Rise and Shine
72,791 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Oct 2 2012, 06:26 PM)
Not sure if this is a right place to ask but here goes:

I have an Ambank True card (my 1st ever card) that has no benefit what so ever, no point, no annual fee, no cash bank, etc. The only thing tied to this card is my monthly insurance charges. I currently plan to change the insurance charges to either my Citibank and get x1 point/ringgit (less then 0.5% cash back) OR apply MBB2Card and get x5 point/ringgit ( 2.5% cash back, but low chance my insurance actually accept AMEX) OR apply OCBC TI card and get 1% cash back.

My question is this. What should I do with my Ambank card? Cancel? Ask to change to another card? I dont see any nice Ambank card... and I dont see any benefit on keeping it either.
You have the answer already, then cut it off. smile.gif
You need to pay for GST right? unsure.gif
TSGen-X
post Oct 2 2012, 06:30 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Oct 2 2012, 06:26 PM)
apply MBB2Card and get x5 point/ringgit ( 2.5% cash back, but low chance my insurance actually accept AMEX) OR apply OCBC TI card and get 1% cash back.

you can always check now it your insurance company accept AMEX. Some AIA branches do accept AMEX and so does Etiqa.

As for the AmBank card, you answered your own question.
GongFuChau
post Oct 3 2012, 02:34 AM

Tomoyo FTW
574 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 2 2012, 03:37 PM)
Wah RM400 per month for games  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

For your case, get OCBC Titanium MasterCard and earn 5% cash back for your petrol, Internet Bills and Dining. Insurance you will get 1% cash back and same for online transactions.

Thanks for the reply. I was looking at Citibank Platinum since my friend recommend it as well, what is your take on that card?
Titan_Gunners
post Oct 3 2012, 06:59 AM

1,573 posts

QUOTE(GongFuChau @ Oct 3 2012, 02:34 AM)
Thanks for the reply. I was looking at Citibank Platinum since my friend recommend it as well, what is your take on that card?
Pls refer to Citibank cc thread if you insist to get it after expert's advise. doh.gif
TSGen-X
post Oct 3 2012, 07:07 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Citibank does not offer auto annual fee waiver mechanism for their credit cards.

Why your friend recommended you Citibank? Ask him to read the following articles and I bet he will fast fast go get OCBC TMC tongue.gif

Citibank Platinum Cash Back - You do get 5% cash back for Petrol but general transactions you only get miserable 0.3%

Then ask him to compare it with OCBC Titanium MasterCard where one earns 5% for Petrol, Telco, Utility Bills, Dining and Groceries and other transactions 1% cash back.

OCBC TMC beats the heck out of Citibank Platinum Cash Back for all categories (even for petrol because Citibank PCB got a RM30 cash back cap). Only thing is that OCBC TMC cash back is capped at RM50 per month.

Please click here to my article MACH by Hong Leong Bank where I have a table of comparison between OCBC Titanium MasterCard versus Citibank Platinum Cash Back vs Maybankard 2 AMEX vs. MACH vs UOB One Card and you and your friend can observe that OCBC TMC is far superior than Citibank in terms of cash back one can earn.

Get the Citibank Cash Back Platinum only if you can use up the OCBC TMC RM50 monthly allocation. But if that is the case, better get the FREE For Life Maybankard 2 Cards tongue.gif

However, if you want Free Movie Ticket at TGV and 20% discount at Coffee Bean until end of this year, then yes Citibank cards are good.

Dining Promotions with My Credit Cards

The Best Credit Cards for Movie Tickets

Come to think of it, the RM400 for your online transactions, do you pay with PayPal too? If yes, the Maybankard 2 Card AMEX is good as you can also earn 5% cash back here.... need some planning and in this department, i.e. how to get 5% cash back with Pay Pal deposits, fruitie is the expert.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 3 2012, 08:26 AM
WhitE LighteR
post Oct 3 2012, 01:12 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 2 2012, 06:29 PM)
You have the answer already, then cut it off. smile.gif
You need to pay for GST right? unsure.gif
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 2 2012, 06:30 PM)
you can always check now it your insurance company accept AMEX. Some AIA branches do accept AMEX and so does Etiqa.

As for  the AmBank card, you answered your own question.
TQ very much for your opinions...

Added on October 3, 2012, 1:18 pm
Keep in mind there is a RM600 annual fee for Citibank Platinum (x5 points @ <2.5% cash back). The gold card has all the perks and only RM195 annual fees (x3 points @ <1.5% cash back)

The only reason i keep my citibank card is because they have alot of offers everywhere....

This post has been edited by WhitE LighteR: Oct 3 2012, 01:18 PM
lcyeap90
post Oct 3 2012, 09:17 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 2 2012, 12:11 AM)
Based on your current income, looks like for cash back, your option is UOB One Classic Card where it at least earns you 5% for your Petrol and Movie Tickets, 2% for Telco and the rest 0.3%

For installment plans, Maybank credit cards are accepted at many merchants, however, since last year, Maybank increased the annual income for their card to RM30K.year. So once your income reach this level, go apply for Maybankard 2 Cards.
Hi, thanks for your reply. I wish to know, with my current income, is there any other cash back card other than the UOB card which need 60 swipes per year in order to waive the annual fee?

124 Pages « < 91 92 93 94 95 > » Top

0.0194sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:39 AM