124 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

Recommendation for Credit Cards V1, TQ to contributors ! (From MOD)

TSGen-X
post Dec 12 2011, 09:49 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Dec 12 2011, 01:59 PM)
1. Annual Income: -

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Yes

3. Card required for: Local, overseas and online transactions

4. Existing credit cards if any: HSBC

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: No particular banks at the moment.

6. Others: I need a credit card (from other banks) which offers 0% instalment payment plan for purchases I make from stores (online and/or brick-mortar shop) other than their participating merchants. In other words, when I purchase something which I intend to do 0% instalment payment plan, I don’t need to go to the bank’s listed merchant for me. HSBC is currently charging 3%-5% for their flexi payment.

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Varies
For overseas click here to read about Maybank Visa Infinte which I think is the best for overseas.

AS for 0% installment, no card offer that as standard feature but AmBank do offer this kind of promotion and recently RHB too. Click here to read my article The Best Credit Cards in 2011 where I did mentioned about it and gave links to this kind of promotion.

QUOTE(Rooivalkx @ Dec 12 2011, 02:20 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM150K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: No

3. Card required for: List all your needs. Petrol, AirMiles, Overseas Transactions, Free LCCT Lounge Access

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil.

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: MBB VI

6. Others: Want to use points to redeem for free flights and MBB VI seems to have the best rate.. but min income is 240k/year. 150k/year can qualify?

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: 5k
You already know what you want, so the next step is go apply for it and you'll know the results. If you have an existing MBB card, your chances of getting it would be better, not only that, you don't even have a single card. This is interesting, would appreciate you let me know the outcome of your application.

Only thing is I don't think you'll earn anything for petrol with MBB VI. Well, if your MBB VI not successful, get MBB 2 cards but then you need to get another card for LCCT. Click here to read which other credit cards allows you free entry to LCCT Plaza Premium Lounge.

And if you do pump a lot of petrol, like up to RM1K, get the OCBC Titanium MAsterCard in addition to MBB VI or MBB 2 Cards.

Also read first post where I posted hye's comments on MBB 2 Cards for Enrich Points Redemption with Treats Points.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Dec 12 2011, 09:52 PM
haohao86
post Dec 13 2011, 08:49 AM

36 posts

1. Annual Income: RM24K to RM30K
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must
3. Card required for: Petrol, Movies, Insurance, Online overseas transaction (infrequently)
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Any
6. Others: Nil
7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: ~1.5k

Thanks in advance!
goliath
post Dec 14 2011, 10:12 AM

5,532 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Dec 12 2011, 09:49 PM)
For overseas click here to read about Maybank Visa Infinte which I think is the best for overseas.

AS for 0% installment, no card offer that as standard feature but AmBank do offer this kind of promotion and recently RHB too. Click here to read my article The Best Credit Cards in 2011 where I did mentioned about it and gave links to this kind of promotion.
Thanks for your info. I doubt I can apply for the Infinite card due to their requirements.

I'm thinking of getting either UOB One Card or Citibank Clear Card. From my point of view, the triumph card Citibank has over UOB is the brand recognition since I'll be using it for overseas transaction (physically and virtually online). That said, I'm just too lazy to call them (Citibank) every time for annual fee waiver. And that's where UOB has its strength. Any thoughts about them?
TSGen-X
post Dec 14 2011, 10:46 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(haohao86 @ Dec 13 2011, 08:49 AM)
1. Annual Income: RM24K to RM30K
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must
3. Card required for: Petrol, Movies, Insurance, Online overseas transaction (infrequently)
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Any
6. Others: Nil
7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: ~1.5k

Thanks in advance!
Click here to read my UOB One Card review where I prepared a chart comapring cash back cards.

From there list out your expenses and see if UOB One Card earns you more or the Maybankard 2 Cards.

If bulk of your transaction is for overseas, say RM1K and RM500 for petrol. The Maybankard 2 Visa or MasterCard may be better then UOB because
1. The overseas admin fee is lower for Maybank Visa/Master cards.
2. The Maybankard 2 Visa or MAsterCard earns you 1X Treats Points or equivalent to approximately 0.5% returns versus UOB One Card 0.3% returnds for general transactions.

And for petrol, you got to use the Maybankard 2 American Express on Saturdays and Sundays to earn 5% cash back.

QUOTE(goliath @ Dec 14 2011, 10:12 AM)
Thanks for your info. I doubt I can apply for the Infinite card due to their requirements.

I'm thinking of getting either UOB One Card or Citibank Clear Card. From my point of view, the triumph card Citibank has over UOB is the brand recognition since I'll be using it for overseas transaction (physically and virtually online). That said, I'm just too lazy to call them (Citibank) every time for annual fee waiver. And that's where UOB has its strength. Any thoughts about them?
I can tell you that overseas, nobody cares what card you have as long as the transaction can be approved.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Dec 14 2011, 11:19 AM
goliath
post Dec 14 2011, 11:12 AM

5,532 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Dec 14 2011, 10:46 AM)
I can tell you that overseas, nobody cares what card you have as long as the transaction can be approved.
Noted. biggrin.gif

For UOB One Card, is it Visa or Master?
Janusis
post Dec 14 2011, 11:04 PM

any credit card other than MBB world mastercard provide enrich gold card?
TSGen-X
post Dec 15 2011, 12:05 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Janusis @ Dec 14 2011, 11:04 PM)
any credit card other than MBB world mastercard provide enrich gold card?
Well, you can look into AMEX Corporate CArd.
qwertypolle
post Dec 15 2011, 03:43 PM

14 posts

Thanks a lot for your help smile.gif

This post has been edited by qwertypolle: Dec 14 2012, 01:52 PM
TeraPox
post Dec 15 2011, 04:07 PM

961 posts

QUOTE(qwertypolle @ Dec 15 2011, 03:43 PM)
hello. Ts evaluate for me pls..

1. Annual Income: My salary just went up 2 months ago. Gaji bersih after minus socso etc is 4,211

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: dunno

3. Card required for: basically petrol, cash rebates, groceries, shopping

5. Looking at CC from: Whichever

6. Others: -

7. Estimated spending: 2k maybe? Or less

Beeest credit card for my usage biggrin.gif

thank you so much in advance

Added on December 15, 2011, 4:00 pm
Oh n phone bills tooo
Maybank 2 Card(5% rebates) ... Citibank Clear Card ( got free coffee bean and ticket) ...
Jet23sky
post Dec 15 2011, 04:18 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

1. Annual Income: 30k to 36k per annum

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Would love not to have it if possilbe

3. Card required for: Petrol, cash rebates, groceries, shopping, dining, movie

4. Existing credit cards if any: CIMB Master Card & Maybank Islamic Visa Card ( Plan to cancel the Maybank card as the benefit is really not that good)

5. Looking at CC from: UOB or HSBC

7. Estimated spending: Less than RM500.

This post has been edited by Jet23sky: Dec 15 2011, 04:20 PM
TeraPox
post Dec 15 2011, 04:39 PM

961 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Dec 15 2011, 04:18 PM)

4. Existing credit cards if any: CIMB Master Card & Maybank Islamic Visa Card ( Plan to cancel the Maybank card as the benefit is really not that good)

Maybank 2 Card(5% rebates) ... Citibank Clear Card ( got free coffee bean and ticket) ... UOB one Card...

keep ur CIMB incase next time u need to do BT... got 0% for 6 months... icon_rolleyes.gif
Jet23sky
post Dec 15 2011, 04:48 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Dec 15 2011, 04:39 PM)
Maybank 2 Card(5% rebates) ... Citibank Clear Card ( got free coffee bean and ticket) ... UOB one Card...

keep ur CIMB incase next time u need to do BT... got 0% for 6 months... icon_rolleyes.gif
Sorry a bit noob, may i know what is BT? blush.gif

Citibank clear card and UOB one card, which one is better. XD
TeraPox
post Dec 15 2011, 04:53 PM

961 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Dec 15 2011, 04:48 PM)
Sorry a bit noob, may i know what is BT?  blush.gif

Citibank clear card and UOB one card, which one is better. XD
balance transfer... means if u owe Citibank 6000... u just bt to cimb...
and pay it in 6 months without a single cents interest...

personal prefer Citibank Clear... got buy 1 get 1 free kopi bean and Movie ticket..

good for ur age... good for "kao loi"... biggrin.gif
Jet23sky
post Dec 15 2011, 04:56 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Dec 15 2011, 04:53 PM)
balance transfer... means if u owe Citibank 6000... u just bt to cimb...
and pay it in 6 months without a single cents interest...

personal prefer Citibank Clear... got buy 1 get 1 free kopi bean and Movie ticket..

good for ur age... good for  "kao loi"... biggrin.gif
Haha... Yeah true, but may I know does the rebate deal with all petrol station? Cause the maybank islamic card only restricted to Petronas ( which i hate it ).

Balance transfer is it something like Installment? Does it restricted to only 6 months?

This post has been edited by Jet23sky: Dec 15 2011, 04:58 PM
cygenus
post Dec 15 2011, 05:05 PM

35 posts

1. Annual Income: 28k

3. Card required for: Petrol (Esso/Mobil), cash rebates, groceries, shopping, dining, movie

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: No particular banks at the moment.

TSGen-X
post Dec 15 2011, 06:54 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(qwertypolle @ Dec 15 2011, 03:43 PM)
hello. Ts evaluate for me pls..
1. Annual Income: My salary just went up 2 months ago. Gaji bersih after minus socso etc is 4,211
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: dunno
3. Card required for: basically petrol, cash rebates, groceries, shopping
5. Looking at CC from: Whichever
7. Estimated spending: 2k maybe? Or less
Beeest credit card for my usage biggrin.gif
thank you so much in advance

Added on December 15, 2011, 4:00 pm
Oh n phone bills tooo
Recommend that you get both the OCBC Titanium MasterCard and Maybankard 2 Cards.

OCBC great for Petrol, Groceries and Phone Bills where you get 5% cash back every day. But the cash back is cappe dat RM50/month or RM1K spending for 5% cash back. So that is why is also need the Maybankard 2 AMEX which also gives you 5% cash back on weekends which is also capped at RM50/month. So with RM2K/spending, you can get cash back RM100/month with proper planning.

Please also refer to end of this post on further reading materials.

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Dec 15 2011, 04:18 PM)
Initially thought of recommending to you the OCBC Titanium MasterCArd where you wil get 5% cash back for Petrol, Dininig and Groceries. In order to waive the RM50 ST, you need to spend RM10K.year with the OCBC card.

However, since you spending is not near to RM1K, maybe the Maybankard 2 Cards is better if you can pump petrol and do your grocery shopping on Saturday and Sunday because you will earn more with the combination of 5% cash back and 5X Treats Points. And you only need to spend RM2000 for the entire year to get RM10,000 treats points to offset the RM50 GST.

QUOTE(cygenus @ Dec 15 2011, 05:05 PM)
1. Annual Income: 28k
3. Card required for: Petrol (Esso/Mobil), cash rebates, groceries, shopping, dining, movie
4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil
Best you apply for Maybankard 2 Cards (annual income requirement RM30K/year), see comments above. IF your application is rejected, then look into UOB One Card (annual income requirement RM24K/yr) where you can earn 5% cash back for petrol plus additional SMART$ cash at BHP.

To All 3 of you guys:

Click here to read my review on UOB One Card where I have a table to compare it versus Maybankard 2 Cards and OCBC Titanium MasterCard. List out your expenses and refer to the table to see which can earns you more.

Also check out Maybankard 2 Cards Thread and OCBC Titanium MasterCard thread.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Dec 15 2011, 06:55 PM
TeraPox
post Dec 15 2011, 10:16 PM

961 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Dec 15 2011, 04:56 PM)
Haha... Yeah true, but may I know does the rebate deal with all petrol station? Cause the maybank islamic card only restricted to Petronas ( which i hate it ).

Balance transfer is it something like Installment? Does it restricted to only 6 months?
Which card u mean?

BT is a scheme that banks allow users to tranfer their debt from other banks. and CIMB is offering 0% for 6 months and 1% for 12 months....

u can seperate it into longer period but hav to pay more interest....
chemistry
post Dec 15 2011, 11:00 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Dec 15 2011, 10:16 PM)
BT is a scheme that banks allow users to tranfer their debt from other banks. and CIMB is offering 0% for 6 months and 1% for 12 months....
12months 1% BT has expired.
Now left only 6months 0% BT.
TeraPox
post Dec 16 2011, 03:09 AM

961 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Dec 15 2011, 11:00 PM)
12months 1% BT has expired.
Now left only 6months 0% BT.
o, my bad... nvr did bt b4 so not sure... biggrin.gif
Jet23sky
post Dec 16 2011, 09:15 AM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Dec 15 2011, 10:16 PM)
Which card u mean?

u can seperate it into longer period but hav to pay more interest....
I refer to Citybank Clear Card.

124 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:15 AM