124 Pages « < 111 112 113 114 115 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V11, The Darth Vader troops !

celciuz
post Sep 15 2011, 03:45 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(jouledoc @ Sep 15 2011, 11:09 AM)
Hey there,

i'm new in this thread an using Nikon P7000 wink.gif

i see a lot of great shot here.

Wish to contribute too.

thx
Welcome to the dark side biggrin.gif, no turning back now tongue.gif

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Sep 15 2011, 03:35 PM)
http://www.petapixel.com/2011/09/14/one-ad...ontent=FaceBook

now i know (maybe) why nikon mirrorless wan smaller sensor...  tongue.gif
LOL! Nice idea man!
rkramesh
post Sep 15 2011, 06:02 PM

QUOTE(dRLurve @ Sep 12 2011, 09:10 AM)
Guys, i just bought a Nikon 5100 come with a Sandisk Class4 8GB SD card. I have this problem "No SD card inserted" appeared after few shots i took. It keep on repeating the same error even after i formatted it in camera, took out-in few times, and restarted the camera. Can some of the sifu here let me know what happen? Thanks.
Hey dRLurve

Can you please let me know how did u resolve this issue. I bought new Nikon 5100 couple of days back and from the day one it has the same behavior as u have mentioned. I got 2 scandisk [both 8 gb] alng with the camera, both has the same behavior. I formatted both in my pc but still the same behavior. I then went back to the vendor and got the camera replaced but the behavior is the same.

Any body has any suggestion on this issue?? Need help.

Regards
Ram

This post has been edited by rkramesh: Sep 15 2011, 06:03 PM
celciuz
post Sep 15 2011, 06:06 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(rkramesh @ Sep 15 2011, 06:02 PM)
Hey dRLurve

Can you please let me know how did u resolve this issue. I bought new Nikon 5100 couple of days back and from the day one it has the same behavior as u have mentioned. I got 2 scandisk [both 8 gb] alng with the camera, both has the same behavior. I formatted both in my pc but still the same behavior. I then went back to the vendor and got the camera replaced but the behavior is the same.

Any body has any suggestion on this issue?? Need help.

Regards
Ram
It is probably the memory card's fault. Try using better memory card, Sandisk Ultra at least.
rkramesh
post Sep 15 2011, 06:25 PM

QUOTE(b0r1nG @ Sep 15 2011, 06:08 PM)
It could be you are using fake SD card as your card is Scandisk while the original are Sandisk
Ooops that was a typo....i have sandisk
fisherman10
post Sep 15 2011, 07:54 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 15 2011, 07:38 AM)
Nope... some of my lens have been inside my dry box for quite sometime... =/ long time no use my 85mm. But then again, I do open up my dry box for the air to recycle once in a while.

Side note, argh I just noticed my dry box is turned off! >_< probably i press wrong button when I was turning off my iPad charger ._.
hmmmm had any problems with VR so far?
celciuz
post Sep 15 2011, 08:10 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ Sep 15 2011, 07:54 PM)
hmmmm had any problems with VR so far?
So far so good. Hopefully won't have issue ._.
fisherman10
post Sep 15 2011, 08:26 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 15 2011, 08:10 PM)
So far so good. Hopefully won't have issue ._.
really feel like crying wei. Anyway, do you know what they do to the lens for the usual "servicing" procedure?
jianh
post Sep 15 2011, 10:37 PM

What custom title???
920 posts

Is there a telephoto lens that has built-in autofocus motor?
ifer
post Sep 15 2011, 11:56 PM

4,637 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ Sep 15 2011, 10:37 PM)
Is there a telephoto lens that has built-in autofocus motor?
yeah, all those telephoto that say AF-S
jianh
post Sep 16 2011, 01:15 AM

What custom title???
920 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Sep 15 2011, 11:56 PM)
yeah, all those telephoto that say AF-S
Ah great tips, thanks!!!
hidden830726
post Sep 16 2011, 07:59 AM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

Now with another review:

http://nikonrumors.com/2011/09/15/nikon-af...ry-jordan.aspx/

Is this good to use to shoot figures / nenedoroid?
TS0168257061
post Sep 16 2011, 08:09 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Sep 16 2011, 07:59 AM)

Now with another review:

http://nikonrumors.com/2011/09/15/nikon-af...ry-jordan.aspx/
Is this good to use to shoot figures / nenedoroid?
of course good bro tongue.gif

the range can give u wider view in compare to other like 85mm/100mm

Added on September 16, 2011, 8:15 amI've read the review,
actually I won't be surprise its such sharp because its an macro lens.

if a macro lens can't even produce sharp image then no point making macro lens already laugh.gif

This post has been edited by 168257061: Sep 16 2011, 08:15 AM
hidden830726
post Sep 16 2011, 08:15 AM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Sep 16 2011, 08:09 AM)
of course good bro  tongue.gif

the range can give u wider view in compare to other like 85mm/100mm
Someone go check fotoselangor howmuch....
celciuz
post Sep 16 2011, 08:27 AM

14,037 posts

Only issue with the 40mm macro lens is the 1:1 distance is too close. Can easily chase the insects and also blocks lighting =( I am currently looking for macro lens lol. 105 VR at 3050. What's the price like in KL?
MichaelJohn
post Sep 16 2011, 08:40 AM

Pan Paka Pan <3
2,514 posts

But for close up shots , it's pretty nice , gonna add it to my wish list for now tongue.gif
hidden830726
post Sep 16 2011, 08:48 AM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

Dont think this lens is for insect. Its more appropriate for stuff in a control environment. First thing come to my mind:

Nenedoroid. Hahahha

This post has been edited by hidden830726: Sep 16 2011, 08:49 AM
celciuz
post Sep 16 2011, 09:21 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(MichaelJohn @ Sep 16 2011, 08:40 AM)
But for close up shots , it's pretty nice , gonna add it to my wish list for now tongue.gif
True nod.gif

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Sep 16 2011, 08:48 AM)
Dont think this lens is for insect. Its more appropriate for stuff in a control environment. First thing come to my mind:

Nenedoroid. Hahahha
Well, turns out the 105 VR is still the more versatile choice, only issue is longer focal length means lesser DOF? And also if handheld easier to handshake but there's VR to compensate. I'm not a macro shooter, I might be wrong though.
TS0168257061
post Sep 16 2011, 09:53 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Sep 16 2011, 08:48 AM)

Nenedoroid. Hahahha
Good for you then. smile.gif

I got 35mm f/2 AF which has pretty impressive MFD with 0.25m only !
paired up with my +4 close up filter is quite nice to take nendoroid photo biggrin.gif

DSC04241 by YongJK, on Flickr

Andy214
post Sep 16 2011, 09:54 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Sep 16 2011, 09:21 AM)
True  nod.gif
Well, turns out the 105 VR is still the more versatile choice, only issue is longer focal length means lesser DOF? And also if handheld easier to handshake but there's VR to compensate. I'm not a macro shooter, I might be wrong though.
It can be used as portrait lens as well, great for portraits, it's sharp and bokeh is really nice.

Yes, easier to handshake due to longer focal length, but the good thing is there is VR.

It's a great lens, with Nano coatings, Internal Focusing (doesn't extend when you focus), VR, etc....
These lenses which have Internal Focusing (IF) will have focus breathing issue.

Focus Breathing
Tthe image size changes significantly as you focus in the macro range, which makes it tough to get precise framing.

http://bythom.com/105AFSlens.htm

"I have news for you: all of the fixed focal length Micro-Nikkors aren't actually fixed focal length. In order to keep from being enormously long when focused at 1:1 magnification, Nikon (as well as many other macro makers) plays with the optical formula in order to keep from having an ever telescoping lens barrel. In macro work, you wouldn't want that, anyway, as a lens barrel that telescoped significantly to get to 1:1 would reduce working distance and potentially start hitting things in your scene at close working distances. Thus, at 1:1, this lens becomes about f/4.8 and does not extend even a millimeter. The aperture loss is actually a bit less dramatic at lower magnifications and the non-extension is very much welcome for macro use."
celciuz
post Sep 16 2011, 09:59 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Sep 16 2011, 09:54 AM)
It can be used as portrait lens as well, great for portraits, it's sharp and bokeh is really nice.

Yes, easier to handshake due to longer focal length, but the good thing is there is VR.

It's a great lens, with Nano coatings, Internal Focusing (doesn't extend when you focus), VR, etc....
These lenses which have Internal Focusing (IF) will have focus breathing issue.

Focus Breathing
Tthe image size changes significantly as you focus in the macro range, which makes it tough to get precise framing.
http://bythom.com/105AFSlens.htm

"I have news for you: all of the fixed focal length Micro-Nikkors aren't actually fixed focal length. In order to keep from being enormously long when focused at 1:1 magnification, Nikon (as well as many other macro makers) plays with the optical formula in order to keep from having an ever telescoping lens barrel. In macro work, you wouldn't want that, anyway, as a lens barrel that telescoped significantly to get to 1:1 would reduce working distance and potentially start hitting things in your scene at close working distances. Thus, at 1:1, this lens becomes about f/4.8 and does not extend even a millimeter. The aperture loss is actually a bit less dramatic at lower magnifications and the non-extension is very much welcome for macro use."
I won't even bother using the 105 VR as portrait lens when I have 70200 or 85 around tongue.gif I think the 105 VR focuses slower than the 85 doh.gif

Reading that statement, it still 105mm right, just aperture to f/4.8? I noticed this when using it before, the aperture automatically changed. But then again, shooting 1:1 at f/2.8? At that working distance I think very little is in focus.

124 Pages « < 111 112 113 114 115 > » Top

0.0322sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:47 PM