Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V11, The Darth Vader troops !
jianh
Sep 4 2011, 04:05 PM
Introducing myself as a new Nikon D3100 user since end of August, and right now I'm looking just mainly on home use, shooting at people and family during events like CNY or Christmas. (Candid photography)
Right now I have a 18-55mm kit lens and for my shooting purpose as mentioned I was introduced macro lens, is it really macro lens that I need for my camera?
This post has been edited by jianh: Sep 4 2011, 04:09 PM
jianh
Sep 4 2011, 04:51 PM
QUOTE(piscesguy @ Sep 4 2011, 04:36 PM) Perhaps u should get the prime lens. Thanks mate, what are the typical brands of lens that goes with a d3100? I've done a lil bit of research and now all I know is Nikkor =.= This post has been edited by jianh: Sep 4 2011, 04:52 PM
jianh
Sep 4 2011, 08:36 PM
QUOTE(piscesguy @ Sep 4 2011, 06:20 PM) Just make sure u buy those lens come with Built-In motor..  Is there a way to differentiate this? With built-in motor and without built-in motor..
jianh
Sep 6 2011, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(gnome @ Sep 5 2011, 09:40 PM) As usual first lens people will buy after getting the kit is 50mm...next will be zoom lens, most probably 55-200 or 70-300mm. If he/she decides to buy another lens after that he will probably feels the body limitation by then so its time to upgrade body Well from my pov anyways  I'm quite sorry to be a new guy in photography here but what do u mean by just 50mm? what kind of lens is 50mm? Any tips please? Coz i'm also looking for a new lens for my 2-week-old D3100, help me out pls ><
jianh
Sep 6 2011, 11:29 AM
QUOTE(Agito666 @ Sep 6 2011, 11:12 AM) the red dot on menu UI? or on photo? is that noise? Added on September 6, 2011, 11:12 am50mm f/1.8G (used to be D version before G version come out)here is the photo that one of the few 50mm f/1.8D shot i borrowed from my friend...  wan more photo ask other sifus , they got more nicerĀ DSC_4310 by Agito666, on Flickr Wow that's really nice photo! Yah just did a 5-minute research and noticed this difference! But what' D and what's G? What do they mean ? My D3100 compatible with which one ah? This post has been edited by jianh: Sep 6 2011, 11:30 AM
jianh
Sep 6 2011, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(piscesguy @ Sep 6 2011, 11:37 AM) U should go for 50mm 1.8G if u want AF. Take note the 1.5x crop makes this a 75mm lens on a DX. If u like MF, then u can for 50mm 1.8D.  What's DX and what's FX?
jianh
Sep 12 2011, 06:26 PM
Hi, I'm currently looking for D3100's battery grip, since Nikon doesnt have its own original grip for the D3100, which 3rd party brand would you all recommend me?
jianh
Sep 12 2011, 10:14 PM
QUOTE(FreakyRookie @ Sep 12 2011, 10:00 PM) I'm new here , i would like to know my nikon d3100 18-55mm lens capable with which type of uv filter? 52mm or 58mm?? Obviously it's 52mm. Ur lens, as you've stated 18-55mm, is the kit lens that comes with the camera itself, has a diameter of 52mm. So yeah, 52mm. Btw, I'm another D3100 user
jianh
Sep 15 2011, 10:37 PM
Is there a telephoto lens that has built-in autofocus motor?
jianh
Sep 16 2011, 01:15 AM
QUOTE(ifer @ Sep 15 2011, 11:56 PM) yeah, all those telephoto that say AF-S Ah great tips, thanks!!!
jianh
Sep 16 2011, 11:11 AM
Does Nikon AF Zoom Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6 G lens 70 300 mm have built-in autofocus motor?
Seesh, gotta study Nikon's nomenclatures ><
jianh
Sep 16 2011, 12:55 PM
QUOTE(Icehart @ Sep 16 2011, 11:46 AM) As far as I know, only AF- S lens have built-in autofocus motor. THanks yo, great tips!