126 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore v7

iamdrake
post Jul 11 2011, 11:55 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 10 2011, 11:41 PM)
per month basis

u left out

phone
transportation
geylang
shopping
massage
entertainment
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif rclxm9.gif
SUSMaterazzi
post Jul 11 2011, 12:17 PM

1,569 posts

Don't be so cheapo!! I lost totally 2K realised in stock market.
I am being so cheapo, keep stingy on food and rental, after that I lost in useless things.
Cheapo people will get their money run away on useless things.
Do you agree? What I learnt, I should contribute my money to church.
Shinichi
post Jul 11 2011, 12:26 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Jul 10 2011, 12:46 AM)
I use Raffles for quite some time. Service is very good. Money in account the next day ..
Can I direct remit from their online website without visiting them (first time user)?
r1v3r
post Jul 11 2011, 12:50 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Jul 11 2011, 12:17 PM)
Don't be so cheapo!! I lost totally 2K realised in stock market.
I am being so cheapo, keep stingy on food and rental, after that I lost in useless things.
Cheapo people will get their money run away on useless things.
Do you agree? What I learnt, I should contribute my money to church.
Cheapo people should work less since they don't need much income to survive.

They should enjoy life as it is regardless of money they have.

Church? Temple? Yes I will donate if they use it to help the needly but not to pay super high salary to its management. I think some church and temple here are just too rich.
francisbacon7
post Jul 11 2011, 01:19 PM

300 posts

I just went for a interview in Singapore small audit firm.

He gave me an offer SGD2.5k. However he said, he will apply working permit/Visa (cant remember visa or permit) for me. However, it might not be approved. Since government just implement a new law effective 1st July 2011 to prevent surplus foreign worker to come in.
He added, the problem rose because I have only advanced diploma rather than a degree.
He may apply for me if failure later, but will adjust the salary to 2.8k. Extra 300 as the bonus in advance.

I just wonder whether what he said is truth. Advance diploma restricted to get a job in sg nowadays?
Why we can appeal if we rise to 2.8k? Due to minimum wages regulation?

Added on July 11, 2011, 1:48 pm
QUOTE(francisbacon7 @ Jul 11 2011, 01:19 PM)

He gave me an offer SGD2.5k. However he said, he will apply working permit/Visa (cant remember visa or permit) for me. However, it might not be approved. Since government just implement a new law effective 1st July 2011 to prevent surplus foreign worker to come in.
He added, the problem rose because I have only advanced diploma rather than a degree.
He may apply for me if failure later, but will adjust the salary to 2.8k. Extra 300 as the bonus in advance.

I just wonder whether what he said is truth. Advance diploma restricted to get a job in sg nowadays?
http://www.guidemesingapore.com/relocation...ment-pass-guide

the link of the new law implement sad.gif

Can I ask them to apply S pass for me rather than an EP?

Will they reluctant because S pass got its quota?

This post has been edited by francisbacon7: Jul 11 2011, 01:48 PM
crapp0
post Jul 11 2011, 01:51 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 11 2011, 12:39 AM)
hiya, clubbing doesn't mean only alcohol, sometimes nice food (dining) and my addiction of Starbucks ... all adds up average around that figure per month brows.gif
I find starbucks coffee bland and rather tasteless. Would rather french press my own coffee and buy and grind my own coffee beans when i have the time and its way cheaper with way less sugar as well.
ivanswk
post Jul 11 2011, 01:58 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(francisbacon7 @ Jul 11 2011, 01:19 PM)

Added on July 11, 2011, 1:48 pm

http://www.guidemesingapore.com/relocation...ment-pass-guide

the link of the new law implement sad.gif

Can I ask them to apply S pass for me rather than an EP?

Will they reluctant because S pass got its quota?
i think they will give you S-pass automatic if u cannot get the EP, is a option in the form, someting like, will you consider S pass ...

http://www.mom.gov.sg/foreign-manpower/pas...es/default.aspx

go for EP first, u might get lucky
francisbacon7
post Jul 11 2011, 02:38 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 11 2011, 01:58 PM)
i think they will give you S-pass automatic if u cannot get the EP, is a option in the form, someting like, will you consider S pass ...

http://www.mom.gov.sg/foreign-manpower/pas...es/default.aspx

go for EP first, u might get lucky
S pass got quota right?50% of the total staff...
i just wonder why he don't straight away apply S pass for me..
SUSMaterazzi
post Jul 11 2011, 02:57 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jul 11 2011, 12:50 PM)
Cheapo people should work less since they don't need much income to survive.

They should enjoy life as it is regardless of money they have.

Church? Temple? Yes I will donate if they use it to help the needly but not to pay super high salary to its management.  I think some church and temple here are just too rich.
just give to poor church, don't pay to rich church. Poor church is more welcome.
teckhooi
post Jul 11 2011, 03:00 PM

3,135 posts

Hi All,

Want To Sell Bus Ticket, FirstCoach, KL to SG, 3pm, 1 Pax, Sunday 17 July 2011
deodorant
post Jul 11 2011, 03:24 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

hmmmmmmmmmmmm parisilk prices.

gave them a list, compared to courts mammoth, average about 7% lower. can't use credit card, it's cash/nets only. worth it? you decide lor, hehe.

TSdarkages
post Jul 11 2011, 04:17 PM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 11 2011, 03:24 PM)
hmmmmmmmmmmmm parisilk prices.

gave them a list, compared to courts mammoth, average about 7% lower. can't use credit card, it's cash/nets only. worth it? you decide lor, hehe.
Personally, I think half of those electrical appliance I would buy a cheapo brand.

Coffee machine- I could get a Nespresso machine for that price
Vacuum- I would opt for a cheaper range from Fairprice unless that is a noiseless version you are getting
Rice cooker, hair dryer and iron
francisbacon7
post Jul 11 2011, 04:36 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(francisbacon7 @ Jul 11 2011, 02:38 PM)
S pass got quota right?50% of the total staff...
i just wonder why he don't straight away apply S pass for me..
is it possible he apply E pass and minimum 2.8k(300 advance bonus) for me and make overpay, it can make me hard to find other job and force to stay in his firm...

keelim
post Jul 11 2011, 04:50 PM

941 posts

Francis,

I didn’t read your previous posts but I would like to forewarn you about the danger of “tailor-made” salary with the objective to get your pass approved. A rejection of 2.5k by MOM based on salary (we wouldn’t know anyway) alone will not trigger any bad record. However, if subsequently, the same potential employer file an appeal/new application with a higher salary, say 2.8k (where he must be guessing salary is the main culprit here), this will definitely ring a bell to MOM.

“tailor-made” application will not get favorable outcome. Unfortunately, in this case the applicants are the victims but the employers would probably get away unscathed/issued a warning letter.

deodorant
post Jul 11 2011, 04:51 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

@darkages eh these stuff some not serious in buying, just wanna see how much cheaper parisilk prices are. and some of the stuff not up to me to decide, the home minister decide one.

@francis you over thinking things. s-pass, company gotta pay monthly levy, is like $100-something. EP no need.
ivanswk
post Jul 11 2011, 04:57 PM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(francisbacon7 @ Jul 11 2011, 04:36 PM)
is it possible he apply E pass and minimum 2.8k(300 advance bonus) for me and make overpay, it can make me hard to find other job and force to stay in his firm...
why u worry, biggrin.gif with e pass u can get your PR more easily and make u leaving the firm easily actually rclxms.gif
francisbacon7
post Jul 11 2011, 05:00 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Jul 11 2011, 04:50 PM)
Francis,

I didn’t read your previous posts but I would like to forewarn you about the danger of  “tailor-made” salary with the objective to get your pass approved. A rejection of 2.5k by MOM based on salary (we wouldn’t know anyway) alone will not trigger any bad record. However, if subsequently, the same potential employer file an appeal/new application with a higher salary, say 2.8k (where he must be guessing salary is the main culprit here), this will definitely ring a bell to MOM.

“tailor-made” application will not get favorable outcome. Unfortunately, in this case the applicants are the victims but the employers would probably get away unscathed/issued a warning letter.
Gosh...

the interviewer told me, he will try to apply 2.8k if cant get tru by 2.5k...

I dont understand why he do so, all the problem is solved, if he can apply S pass for me.

I ask him just nw, whether can opt for E pass and S pass..he ask me not to worry..

I really want the job, what should I do right nw? sad.gif
TSdarkages
post Jul 11 2011, 05:08 PM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 11 2011, 04:51 PM)
@darkages eh these stuff some not serious in buying, just wanna see how much cheaper parisilk prices are. and some of the stuff not up to me to decide, the home minister decide one.

@francis you over thinking things. s-pass, company gotta pay monthly levy, is like $100-something. EP no need.
I can vouch for AV products, Parisilk prices can be very hard to beat.
vincentwmh
post Jul 11 2011, 05:42 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(francisbacon7 @ Jul 11 2011, 05:00 PM)
Gosh...

the interviewer told me, he will try to apply 2.8k if cant get tru by 2.5k...

I dont understand why he do so, all the problem is solved, if he can apply S pass for me.

I ask him just nw, whether can opt for E pass and S pass..he ask me not to worry..

I really want the job, what should I do right nw?  sad.gif
francisbacon,

i agree with keelim's 'fore-warning' to you. never do 'tailored salary' in ur app ie 1st try @ 2500, failed, appeal @ 2800.. this smells overly 'fishy'.. do not raise any 'in-question' w/ MOM, the records will be there in their system for life in YOU, not your potential employer...
francisbacon7
post Jul 11 2011, 06:06 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ Jul 11 2011, 05:42 PM)
francisbacon,

i agree with keelim's 'fore-warning' to you. never do 'tailored salary' in ur app ie 1st try @ 2500, failed, appeal @ 2800.. this smells overly 'fishy'.. do not raise any 'in-question' w/ MOM, the records will be there in their system for life in YOU, not your potential employer...
i suggested him to apply S pass for me, or apply 2.8k at first application...

Haiz, pray god he will give me a favorable reply later.

126 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:47 PM