Working in Singapore v7

keelim
post Jul 7 2011, 10:22 AM

941 posts

Guys,

Need some help with regards to JPJ (JB). I am required to drive in NZ and need a driving license in English. I have 2 options with me at the moment.

(i) Get a Singapore driving license. This option is a bit challenging given that I need to travel in Aug, and the soonest available slot for Basic Theory Test is in Sept. I may get lucky if someone decided to postpone his test date.

(ii) Alternatively, I can travel to JPJ (JB) and get an International Driving Permit (IDP).
http://portal.jpj.gov.my/index.php?option=...emid=41〈=en

My questions are:-

1. Anyone been to JPJ (JB) at the following address?

Jabatan Pengangkutan Jalan Negeri Johor
Kompleks JPJ , Taman Daya
80990Johor Bahru

2. Any access via public transport?

3. Seeking for confirmation that they are closed on Saturday.

4. As I am having multiple Malaysia driving licenses (1 expired, 2 renewals from post office), I wished to combine them into a single card. Hence, I need to take driving license photo in Sg/JB, preferably Sg. This is understood to be different from our Msia passport photo dimensions. Which photography shop offers such services?

5. Any "hidden" cost from combining my driving license / IDP?

This post has been edited by keelim: Jul 7 2011, 10:24 AM
keelim
post Jul 7 2011, 11:32 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 7 2011, 10:47 AM)
1. Anyone been to JPJ (JB) at the following address?

Jabatan Pengangkutan Jalan Negeri Johor
Kompleks JPJ , Taman Daya
80990Johor Bahru

Me

2. Any access via public transport?

No, mayb there are bus but JB bus are hopeless, take a cab, should be around RM15-RM20.

3. Seeking for confirmation that they are closed on Saturday.

call them and ask 07-3606060

4. As I am having multiple Malaysia driving licenses (1 expired, 2 renewals from post office), I wished to combine them into a single card. Hence, I need to take driving license photo in Sg/JB, preferably Sg. This is understood to be different from our Msia passport photo dimensions. Which photography shop offers such services?

They dun accept SG passport photo. in Malaysia, its called IC photo, not passport photo and the background must be blue. take it in JB is better

5. Any "hidden" cost from combining my driving license / IDP?

not really sure
1. Noted.
2. Thanks. IF no other options then taxi is the way to go.
3. Called. They are closed. Unfortunately.
4. Noted.
5. No problem.

Just found out that I can apply through AAM which opens on Sat. Thanks a heap!

http://portal.jpj.gov.my/index.php?option=...emid=41&lang=en

keelim
post Jul 7 2011, 12:22 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jul 7 2011, 12:08 PM)
work or holiday?

I rented car at a few places and drove around on both Island during two weeks break with just my MY driving license and the seperate license renewer card. No problem at all but that was years ago. Drove on US, Canada and NZ with the same piece of license.

maybe I was real lucky back then, I never prepare extra document other than my driving license but I book all the car rental online.
Holiday. Driving around south island. 2 weeks you covered both islands? That is...lightning fast.

Are you sure you can drive around with that license only?
keelim
post Jul 7 2011, 04:30 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jul 7 2011, 04:19 PM)
most of south island, visiting friends on north island. Have fun to figure when to pump petrol smile.gif

Yes I did that but you can confirm with car rental company. As long as you dont get into trouble
Will bring my GPS along. Not taking chances, I will call the car rental comp to enquire.
Many thanks.
keelim
post Jul 8 2011, 08:46 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jul 7 2011, 06:18 PM)
by right you need a translation,

http://www.nzta.govt.nz/licence/residents-...ranslators.html

but others did not mentioned it

http://www.experiencenz.com/driving.cfm
most main road are bidirection single lane. Not many road side lamp post in certain area. Roads are narrow with mand bend and hills. You will see tanker driving next to you real close sometime. So avoid night driving if possible.

petrol price can be very different near sea port or inland, so take note of the price.

Have you drive on the other side before?
Appreciate the links. I dont think I have problems with the bends and hills. I am used to those conditions given my hometown does not have direct access to NSE. To make matter worse, those trunk roads leading to my hometown have animals trespassing on and off.

I may be however, unfamiliar with icing road.
keelim
post Jul 8 2011, 10:49 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jul 8 2011, 10:36 AM)
Duh we're so jelly of you guys making twice as much as us.
The decision didn’t come easy. Not just with a stroke of pen, No! It was after careful thought and consideration, weighing pros and cons, many sleepless nights thinking of reasons to justify our moves. In the process, we did give up a lot of things. And it doesn’t end there. Likewise the challenges. Dont be misled that is all bed of roses here.
keelim
post Jul 8 2011, 03:47 PM

941 posts

Anyone heard of BYO at Hong lim park tomorrow - 2pm?

This post has been edited by keelim: Jul 8 2011, 03:48 PM
keelim
post Jul 11 2011, 09:35 AM

941 posts

Guys,

Need some clarification with regards to credit limit given by banks on your credit card. I have an existing corporate credit card and applied for a personal one 2 weeks ago. I notice the credit limit is not the generic x2.5 to x4 of my basic salary. I remembered asking the credit officer the impact of my corporate CC with regards to this application of which he clarified that they should be treated as independent cases. Now the situation seems to be contradictory.

On a similar capacity, I am planning to apply for a CC from a different bank. How would this be assessed as far as credit limit is concerned? Firsthand experience would be appreciated.

keelim
post Jul 11 2011, 04:50 PM

941 posts

Francis,

I didn’t read your previous posts but I would like to forewarn you about the danger of “tailor-made” salary with the objective to get your pass approved. A rejection of 2.5k by MOM based on salary (we wouldn’t know anyway) alone will not trigger any bad record. However, if subsequently, the same potential employer file an appeal/new application with a higher salary, say 2.8k (where he must be guessing salary is the main culprit here), this will definitely ring a bell to MOM.

“tailor-made” application will not get favorable outcome. Unfortunately, in this case the applicants are the victims but the employers would probably get away unscathed/issued a warning letter.

keelim
post Jul 14 2011, 09:50 AM

941 posts

Life starts at 40.
keelim
post Jul 20 2011, 06:48 PM

941 posts

It is a progressive tax rate. Not flat
keelim
post Jul 22 2011, 11:31 AM

941 posts

Long term target is one of the Scandinavian countries / Switzerland.

This post has been edited by keelim: Jul 22 2011, 11:33 AM
keelim
post Jul 23 2011, 09:19 AM

941 posts

Talking about scandinavian countries, oslo just got bombed. Wth
keelim
post Jul 25 2011, 02:37 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(xyyz @ Jul 25 2011, 02:11 PM)
i'm being offered an RF Engineer position in Singapore, quite happy about it, then the company further proceed to help me apply for EP and i just resigned from current company as the hiring company is not willing to pay off for my 2 months notice and I would really like to avoid paying that from my own pocket.

But a week later my EP application is rejected. I don't get it, i resigned with such confident is because my gf who is just graduated from the same course same uni with no working experience, her application is approved like immediately while i'm holding the same degree with 2 years working experience but rejected.

Currently my hiring company is helping me to appeal, really hope everything goes well.

If anything happen (touch wood touch wood!) is there anything i can do to fight for my case?
You got what it takes. Balls of steel. I am sure with persistence, something could turn out positive for you. There is really no avenue to fight for your case. It will entail a foreign individual taking Singapore Ministry of Manpower to International Court. No chance.
keelim
post Jul 25 2011, 03:17 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 25 2011, 03:13 PM)
Malaysian can still pump ron95 la. my uncle (Singaporean) always pump. and 1 tank is around RM130 for his car.
When they ask, just show them ur Malaysian IC (my aunty is Malaysian), then its ok.

nippon car so makan minyak ar?
I drive Made in Malaysia car only need RM200. RM41.30 for toll. around RM50 for petrol.
My friend and I were refused Ron 95. It doesn’t matter what IC you have, but is the car plate that matters. The petrol pump attendant was very observant that day.
keelim
post Jul 25 2011, 04:05 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 25 2011, 03:47 PM)
u can say i outdated, but i think mayb u got face problem. my uncle and I have been pumping ron95 without any issue at JB.
even Mackiddo is pumping it as well and we din encounter anything.
I thought I was good looking until I read this. Shattered...it was hilarious though.
keelim
post Aug 7 2011, 11:52 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Aug 7 2011, 01:59 PM)
Hi guys,

For you guys who travel often from SG-KL-SG, which flight you guys recommend? I only need the cheapest flight.

The pro and cons:-

1) AirAsia (can save u convienient fee as you can pay via Maybank2u)
2) Tiger Airways (the cheapest sometimes but cannot use maybank2u, charge u convienient fee)
3) JetStar (the most comfortable but cannot use maybank2u, charge u convienient fee)
4) Firefly (not convienient bcos near arrive in Subang)
I hate LCCT (Msia) and BT (Sg). The product mixed and retail offerings are so limited. Hence, I prefer any Budget airlines that depart from T1 (Sg) and from KLIA (Msia).
keelim
post Aug 8 2011, 04:32 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Aug 8 2011, 02:02 PM)
Really depends on timing and schedule
Gotto check at least aa and tiger.sometime either one can b cheaper including convent fee from tiger.
Jetstar chances are more exp but more convenient and u can take the train, again more comfy than taking bus.
But no harm checking it too.
Firefly not convent for me, but I beliv it's not cheap compare to other 3

Added on August 8, 2011, 2:04 pm
Too bad still in kl.u guys have fun

Added on August 8, 2011, 2:11 pm
Only jetstar. U always go airport shopping kah?
Anyway I think t1 sg got stuff for shop especially for ladies at better price, but Maia klia not much cheaper if any compare to shopping centre in kl. Hence u can take a.Asia too
T1, T2 and T3 are interconnected via skytrain. It really depends how much dwelling time you have to spend. I often buy perfume and cosmetic as a gift for family & relatives. These are items you almost always have to check-in during your flights. Hence I choose to buy them in the transit area. It also perturbs me everytime when I have to wait for my check-in luggage to come out from the conveyor belt or even if it will!

That's the reason why i love to shop in the airport. Besides getting GST absorbed/waived, you get to buy liquid-based gifts w/o checking-in.

This post has been edited by keelim: Aug 8 2011, 04:34 PM
keelim
post Aug 8 2011, 04:37 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Aug 8 2011, 02:42 PM)
little rant here, my application for EPEC visa is still in pending for almost a month. Since I already got some interview invitation from sg company, the visa is almost useless already.

is there a bus that take u to T2 from BT in sg to take MRT?
Yes. There is a shuttle bus which operates every 15mins.
keelim
post Aug 12 2011, 05:19 PM

941 posts

I used to play competitive Dota during my heydays. Commanding a squad of 5 to victory. The bittersweet memory of becoming a truly unsung hero, carrying my team to victory was priceless. That was 5 years back.

Recently went back to Asia Café KL to rekindle with victory again. Still fast, nimble and the agile me being the subject of envy by many. Crapping and thrashing before the game started in the chatroom.

Guess my time has passed. Got killed mercilessly, and heard enemies laughing their asses off. Shouting “noobiessss” across the room. I concluded :- aging sucks!

This post has been edited by keelim: Aug 12 2011, 05:30 PM

0.0537sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:27 PM