Working in Singapore v7

SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 12 2011, 07:00 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(ray86 @ Jul 11 2011, 11:26 PM)
Err.. correction, my comp card is amex charge card not credit card and no it doesnt have limit(at least no one i know reached it), but the liability is with employee and not the company
whoa, really those ancient charge cards ar?... very dangerous leh... no limit but once dont pay in time kena gao gao...

i prefer to use my own cc to pay for company expenses incurred... like this week, i pay for 2 return flight tics, 3x4 nights hotel.... i think can redeem coffee maker already rclxms.gif
seantang
post Jul 12 2011, 07:37 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jul 12 2011, 02:54 AM)
what good is a Corporate card when the liability is with employee ? At least mine is not.
I agree. I wouldn't use my own money (or carry the liability) for business related expenditure.

We get a visa card from the company with 'technically' no limit except for cash advances. Each transaction is automatically reviewed by the bank's system however, and transactions which are not compliant with the travel & expenditure policies are flagged and the details emailed to the supervisor.

ivanswk
post Jul 12 2011, 08:08 AM

+J
2,110 posts

wah so many elite in forum notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Added on July 12, 2011, 8:12 am
QUOTE(kurt99909 @ Jul 12 2011, 05:46 AM)
Jurong Shipyard PTE LTD.....

wah shipbuilder / engineer ? notworthy.gif big business leh drool.gif

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Jul 12 2011, 08:12 AM
crapp0
post Jul 12 2011, 08:43 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 12 2011, 08:08 AM)
wah so many elite in forum notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

Added on July 12, 2011, 8:12 am

wah shipbuilder / engineer  ?  notworthy.gif  big business leh  drool.gif
The margins are only good for the top management echelon in those businesses. If your a normal engineer then its not as great as freelancing.

Btw, rig building is a better pay-off then ship building.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jul 12 2011, 08:43 AM
tayhaithian
post Jul 12 2011, 08:49 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jul 12 2011, 08:43 AM)
The margins are only good for the top management echelon in those businesses. If your a normal engineer then its not as great as freelancing.

Btw, rig building is a better pay-off then ship building.
I rather say those who draw the structure of the ship is better.
ivanswk
post Jul 12 2011, 08:54 AM

+J
2,110 posts

i can draw drool.gif ship and airplane laugh.gif , hahah just joking
so many elite in the forum, "clash of the elites" rclxms.gif
i am secreatly compiling the list of the elite notworthy.gif

tayhaithian, u also in the marine industry ? shipbuilding ?
tayhaithian
post Jul 12 2011, 08:56 AM

460 posts

Nooo I am not hahahah ;p
francisbacon7
post Jul 12 2011, 08:58 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(tayhaithian @ Jul 11 2011, 08:25 PM)
E pass should be harder bro...
but he told me S pass might be harder..any reason why he is lying to me?

he want apply E pass for me because the firm has no quota on S pass?
crapp0
post Jul 12 2011, 09:02 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 12 2011, 08:54 AM)
i can draw  drool.gif  ship and airplane  laugh.gif , hahah just joking
so many elite in the forum, "clash of the elites" rclxms.gif
i am secreatly compiling the list of the elite  notworthy.gif

tayhaithian, u also in the marine industry ? shipbuilding ?
Are you in the marine industry?

I was but im now attached to a rig drilling contractor, much more lucrative both pay and experience wise. Instead of being the subi working for the main contractor, i am the main contractor and i dont need to listen to the BS most shipyards used to give me. Especially singaporean yards.
ivanswk
post Jul 12 2011, 09:08 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(francisbacon7 @ Jul 12 2011, 08:58 AM)

is either that , or he leaving those s pass quota for his relative who might be joining the co soon tongue.gif
haha.. just joking
i think u already ok when he tell don't worry

your reminder to him might just iritate him, is a cool morning today, enjoy it nod.gif

tayhaithian
post Jul 12 2011, 09:12 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(francisbacon7 @ Jul 12 2011, 08:58 AM)

Sorry, I can't predict why, too many possibility perhaps..... But I highly doubt it should have something to do with the tax.
Bro just go for E pass then, more benefit drool.gif drool.gif
ivanswk
post Jul 12 2011, 09:22 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jul 12 2011, 09:02 AM)
Are you in the marine industry?

I was but im now attached to a rig drilling contractor, much more lucrative both pay and experience wise. Instead of being the subi working for the main contractor, i am the main contractor and i dont need to listen to the BS most shipyards used to give me. Especially singaporean yards.
me a marine industry observer notworthy.gif
interesting role you have, so u the owner of your own co lah is it shocking.gif

Added on July 12, 2011, 9:23 am
QUOTE(tayhaithian @ Jul 12 2011, 09:12 AM)
Sorry, I can't predict why, too many possibility perhaps.....  But I highly doubt it should have something to do with the tax.
Bro just go for E pass then, more benefit  drool.gif  drool.gif
how your epass ? got aldi

This post has been edited by ivanswk: Jul 12 2011, 09:23 AM
crazy25kid
post Jul 12 2011, 09:26 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 11 2011, 11:13 PM)
no limit  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
So what if there is no limit?
You still have to pay if you swiped it.

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 11 2011, 11:27 PM)
1. cashflow: debit u need $$$ in an acc, cc has its own acc without $$$ inside
2. reward points: yea, slightly better
3. protection: like me i travel a lot, if use debit card they minus my acc straight away and any disputes i am hardly protected, with cc i can still fight
4. show off: ...
5. better design
Credit cards has better perks?
I prefer credit card than debit card for the dispute reasons. laugh.gif laugh.gif
deodorant
post Jul 12 2011, 09:30 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

credit cards awesome as long as you got discipline lor. I learned the hard way first 2years of work. somehow buy here buy there managed to rack up one entire year salary worth of cc debt. took another 2 years to dig out of the hole lol.
ivanswk
post Jul 12 2011, 09:32 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jul 12 2011, 09:26 AM)
So what if there is no limit?
You still have to pay if you swiped it.
Credit cards has better perks?
I prefer credit card than debit card for the dispute reasons. laugh.gif laugh.gif
haha .. for somebody who dun own a credit card like me, consider very elite mah and impress haha laugh.gif

crazy25kid
post Jul 12 2011, 09:33 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 12 2011, 09:30 AM)
credit cards awesome as long as you got discipline lor. I learned the hard way first 2years of work. somehow buy here buy there managed to rack up one entire year salary worth of cc debt. took another 2 years to dig out of the hole lol.
Yea, discipline is needed.
Or else, you need the characteristic of stingyness like me. tongue.gif tongue.gif
I pay back the bank transactions as soon as I see them charged (cause dun wan to pay extra for credit shield charges) laugh.gif laugh.gif

Added on July 12, 2011, 9:37 am
QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 12 2011, 09:32 AM)
haha .. for somebody who dun own a credit card like me, consider very elite mah and impress haha laugh.gif
If you get impressed by such little stuffs, I do not think you will ever be ready to own a credit card.

This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Jul 12 2011, 09:37 AM
ivanswk
post Jul 12 2011, 09:43 AM

+J
2,110 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jul 12 2011, 09:33 AM)

Added on July 12, 2011, 9:37 am
If you get impressed by such little stuffs, I do not think you will ever be ready to own a credit card.
actually u rite, i easily get impress drool.gif
hahah u r rite again, even my wife say i am not ready to have a credit card sweat.gif
impresive leh most lowyat member all so caring and nice wub.gif

tayhaithian
post Jul 12 2011, 09:47 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 12 2011, 09:22 AM)
how your epass ? got aldi
not yet.... cry.gif cry.gif

venicelim
post Jul 12 2011, 10:08 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(tayhaithian @ Jul 12 2011, 09:47 AM)
not yet....  cry.gif  cry.gif
hey. how to check application status online?
I tried to check through MOM website.
But seems that only employer can check isnt it?
Cz it says need to login..

mind to teach how to check?
francisbacon7
post Jul 12 2011, 10:17 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 12 2011, 09:08 AM)
is either that , or he leaving those s pass quota for his relative who might be joining the co soon  tongue.gif
haha.. just joking
i think u already ok when he tell don't worry

your reminder to him might just iritate him, is a cool morning today, enjoy it  nod.gif
he told me, normally they will apply for both pass (E & S)

sent him my supporting documents already...god bless... smile.gif

Added on July 12, 2011, 10:18 am
QUOTE(tayhaithian @ Jul 12 2011, 09:47 AM)
not yet....  cry.gif  cry.gif
How long u wait for it?

This post has been edited by francisbacon7: Jul 12 2011, 10:18 AM

126 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0260sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:27 PM