V1
V2
V3
V3a
V5
V6

FAQs

Employments:
Job opportunities are still good. Those with higher education level/experience stand a better chance and command a higher starting pay. Good command of English in resume writing or interview is a huge benefit. The following are the list of available online job sites:
1. Jobstreet
2. Contact Singapore
3. Jobs Central
4. JobsDB

The most effective but expensive method is to do it the old fashion way. Come over to Singapore, and then extend your visa to long term. During your stay in SG, flip through the recruitment newspaper and apply for your job through the company itself. This way, you're almost guaranteed to be in front of the queue from those who applied through Jobstreet. You can also attend their interviews without any delays while you're here in SG.

Various employment passes are available to enable you to work in Singapore depending on your skills and pay. Employers will help you in the application of passes. Your job is however pending on the approval of the pass. Information of types of passes are available through MOM's website. Do not worry of what passes you get. Eventually all will allow you to work in SG. Some do fuss about it due to "status" and extra benefits (i.e: credit card and contract phone applications). Just be hardworking and move up the passes or apply directly for PR few years down the road.

All you need to know about PR application and requirements are available here: http://www.ica.gov.sg/page.aspx?pageid=151&secid=150

Please take note that ex Singaporean PRs who renounced their status without serving the National Service will have their job and employment pass applications greatly degraded.

<Need more information on salary bracket and range in different industries to expand. Contributions greatly appreciated>

CPF and Taxes:
Malaysians working under employment/work passes are exempted from paying CPF. Singapore PRs have to contribute to CPF according to the rates found here: http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/Members/Gen-Info/C...es/ContriRa.htm

As for the complicated tax returns, i'll just provide the website so everyone can search under their own categories. http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page01.aspx?id=88

Accomodations:
HDBs everywhere! Prime and new areas should cost around SGD450-600 per room (with or without utilities). You can still find sub SGD400 per room in remote or rundown areas. If you can afford the luxury, apartments and condos are the way to go. SGD800-1200 per room is the current market price. Normally comes with swimming pool and gym facilities.

Below are some useful sites:
http://www.flatsdb.com/
http://www.hdbflat.blogspot.com/
http://singapore.roomsdb.net/
http://easyroommate.com.sg/ (looks more like a dating site )
http://www.sg-house.com/

Transportation:
No need to describe any further. Been compared and discussed too many times between SG and MY. In SG, you can be anywhere in the island just by using public transport. The all too convenient EZ link card can be used in both MRT and bus (even McD yeah!). For places out of reach, taxi is the answer. Don't worry, you won't get touted with expensive fares. They are a bunch of professionals with accurate meters. First entry onto cab is SGD2.80 or SGD3.00. The rest runs on meter plus any surcharges from tolls, airport surcharge or stopping period. If you are travelling in group of 4, taxi is the cheaper option on certain routes compared to others.

Coach: http://www.journeymalaysia.com/ptasingapore.htm

SBS bus maps: http://www.sbstransit.com.sg/iris3/nextbus.aspx
MRT maps: http://www.smrt.com.sg/trains/images/tn_networkmap_big.jpg

Malaysians can drive in cars/bikes to work in SG. For SG PRs, you have to drive singapore registered vehicles. More info here: http://www.lta.gov.sg/motoring_matters/ind...oring_guide.htm

Expenses:
This is very subjective depending on the spending power of different individuals. But here are the basic breakdowns on rough estimates:
1. Accoms SGD600 (varies)
2. Food SGD500 (varies)
3. Transport SGD60
4. Entertainment SGD300 (strip it off if wanna save)
5. Shopping $$$

TO CHECK FOR YOUR PR APPLICATION STATUS, KINDLY VISIT THIS LINK
https://ienquiry.ica.gov.sg/index.do

Forummers in SG:

Please PM me if you wish me to add you to the list above

This post has been edited by darkages: Jul 12 2011, 08:47 AM
TSdarkages
post Jul 7 2011, 10:21 AM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

Sigh, this thread is turning into some sammyboy forum.

QUOTE(jungyu @ Jul 7 2011, 09:39 AM)
hi guys, I found a room at Farrer Park. near mrt. How do u all think about Farrer Park other than it has got a load of indians?
and by the way, does anyone know any non-expensive mover in singapore? just need to move personal stuff.
Farrer Park is a really good place. Located centrally. Easy access to almost anywhere. City square mall and mustapha just around the corner.

Even if you take taxi to your work place everyday should not cost you more than 10 bucks, non peak.

TSdarkages
post Jul 8 2011, 04:13 PM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 8 2011, 10:49 AM)
S$7 bucks per head, should be. Not S$7 for the whole car.

I used to take Sg's comfortdelgro taxis from JB Kotaraya II bus/taxi stand back to Bishan, and it always cost S$25-30. No metered, fully negotiated.
How did you do that? I was told by the drivers that their position is always monitored.

Just flag down any cab and ask if they want to earn extra cash? $25-30 is quite reasonable.
TSdarkages
post Jul 11 2011, 04:17 PM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 11 2011, 03:24 PM)
hmmmmmmmmmmmm parisilk prices.

gave them a list, compared to courts mammoth, average about 7% lower. can't use credit card, it's cash/nets only. worth it? you decide lor, hehe.
Personally, I think half of those electrical appliance I would buy a cheapo brand.

Coffee machine- I could get a Nespresso machine for that price
Vacuum- I would opt for a cheaper range from Fairprice unless that is a noiseless version you are getting
Rice cooker, hair dryer and iron
TSdarkages
post Jul 11 2011, 05:08 PM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 11 2011, 04:51 PM)
@darkages eh these stuff some not serious in buying, just wanna see how much cheaper parisilk prices are. and some of the stuff not up to me to decide, the home minister decide one.

@francis you over thinking things. s-pass, company gotta pay monthly levy, is like $100-something. EP no need.
I can vouch for AV products, Parisilk prices can be very hard to beat.
TSdarkages
post Jul 13 2011, 09:36 AM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 13 2011, 08:52 AM)
My friend fresh grad from NUS only gets 2.6k basic working in 1 of the big 4. If u are from a Malaysia uni, I think sg employers will choose those that grad from sg uni over u.
If you know which Big 4 pays better, fresh grad can expect to be paid 30% more of that amount.

Added on July 13, 2011, 9:38 am
QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Jul 13 2011, 09:22 AM)

Anyone here working near Tai Seng, Macpherson or Potong-Pasir area?

Normally where do u suggest to stay if you are working around this area (budget $450 to $550)?

Just asking on behalf of my friend who is working nearby these areas.

Around that area.

This post has been edited by darkages: Jul 13 2011, 09:38 AM
TSdarkages
post Jul 13 2011, 10:05 AM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Jul 13 2011, 09:52 AM)
So, mind to share where do u stay? bcos my friend intend to shift from pasir ris to nearby that area.
You mentioned Tai Seng, McPherson and Potong Pasir, all these areas got housing estates. All MRT connected.

QUOTE(jae @ Jul 13 2011, 10:01 AM)
Which Big4 pays 30% more of 2.6k for fresh grad currently? Even with the recent revision in two of the four, I haven't really heard of any firm cases apart from rumours which have been lying around for the past few weeks.
$3k region is common already.

TSdarkages
post Jul 13 2011, 04:47 PM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(jae @ Jul 13 2011, 10:27 AM)
The latest batch of freshies who came in last week are only getting 2.7k for two of the four, with the exception of K most likely hitting $3k at the moment, I do not know of anyone else getting 3 and above.
The 3 letter firm also paid above 3k already.
Freshies now command at least 3k for their first job already, they can be choosy.
TSdarkages
post Jul 16 2011, 08:13 AM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(cheeyt @ Jul 15 2011, 09:09 PM)
Hi
anyone's lease rental got one conditions stating if u wish to terminate the lease, u need to compensate ur landlord for the agent commission?
Sounds common. But is the clause complete? Usually it will only come into play if you have not stayed X amount of time, i.e within 3 months then either party will need to compensate the agent fee on pro rated basis. If you are not paying any agent fee and the landlord bears all then I think its quite fair to have that clause in the contract to protect the landlord. Otherwise you could screw the landlord by leaving before the contract ends when the landlord already incurred agent fee and can do nothing about it.

Since its a contract, you can insist not having that in it.
TSdarkages
post Jul 21 2011, 12:03 AM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 20 2011, 09:34 AM)
Guys,

My GF has used up 45 days of her 60/90 days in Singapore on tourist visa thing. She's already gotten her EPEC and yesterday she applied for a long-term visit pass. From the webpage:
So it seems that the LTVP won't be ready in time, so in 2 weeks she needs to leave Singapore (can't stay more than 60 days in every 90). Assuming she gets the IPA for the LTVP a week after that, can she enter Singapore using that IPA, or is she still limited to the 60/90 days thing?

I'm guessing you are trying to say that she leaves SG while waiting for LTVP to be approved. If she's been away long enough, she can re-enter SG and be given 30 days as social visit pass.

Or alternately, is it possible to extend her current tourist visa while waiting for the LTVP, given that as a non-PR I'm unable to act as her sponsor?

No, having applied LTVP does not grant you privilege to carry on staying. Don't overstay, you don't want to risk leaving a mark in your records which may jeopardise your plans to start a future in SG.

See above.
TSdarkages
post Jul 21 2011, 09:25 PM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 21 2011, 08:15 AM)
Close. I'm wondering that if she hasn't been away long enough, can she come in with a LTVP IPA? Or no matter what she has to go out for that 30 days and then only re-enter (in order to be in compliance with the 60/90 days rule)

Added on July 21, 2011, 8:16 am
i know, right? i look at myself in the mirror also malu, mang. some more in high school i used to be 200m/400m athlete, represent Sabah west coast in the Sabah games. what on earth happened since then?!?
Yea, she doesn't have to fulfill being away for 30 days. I think to play safe, 5-7 days would be good.

This post has been edited by darkages: Jul 21 2011, 09:28 PM
TSdarkages
post Jul 23 2011, 05:36 PM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

Tonight, Malaysia win, I win. biggrin.gif
TSdarkages
post Jul 24 2011, 05:47 PM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(newaisa @ Jul 24 2011, 04:31 PM)
I see, I will try to browse around.
Trying my luck to get a job Singapore now icon_rolleyes.gif
I realized some malaysian without PR or any working permit successfully got into MNC in Singapore..anyone would like to point out the requirements for this? icon_question.gif
Those are called illegal immigrant.
TSdarkages
post Jul 25 2011, 08:59 PM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Jul 25 2011, 08:07 PM)
Wah, this thread is moving damn fast compare to other threads oh... why ya? Until I can't follow liao.
QUOTE(Aloong @ Jul 25 2011, 08:21 PM)
partially due to debate going on in the thread. fun to watch!! better than SG against Msia. and u have ppl writing some coz nothing better to write like me!!! rclxm9.gif
QUOTE(kurt99909 @ Jul 25 2011, 08:38 PM)
alot m'sian in singapore i guess....hahaha
Its becoming a chat thread if you ask me. Can consider moving it to Kopitiam wink.gif
TSdarkages
post Jul 26 2011, 11:18 AM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Jul 25 2011, 09:35 PM)
true, but i tot this thread suppose to let people sharing info on working in singapore?

chatting is one of the way of sharing info though, at least they are not talking crap like those in kopitiam.
If I have it my way, some of the frequent posters here will have most of their post deleted, post count reset and warn.

If chatting is one way of sharing info, then clearly you have no qualms if this is moved to kopitiam. Guess I have to start removing post which are irrelevant

TSdarkages
post Aug 12 2011, 01:17 PM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 12 2011, 01:10 PM)
are you even able to get a PR without a job? hmm.gif
Yes that's possible.

0.0466sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:26 AM