141 Pages « < 93 94 95 96 97 > » Bottom

Asus Eee Pad Transformer TF101 Official Thread V2, 10.1" Android Ice Cream Sandwich Tablet

goldfries
post Sep 21 2011, 02:48 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Sep 19 2011, 01:46 PM)
Guys, how many user here using 32GB microSD? any using Class10 type? Or Class4 is sufficient. My main target is 720p clip playback.
can you play 720p smoothly? I can't, no matter how I tried. Most players load slow, very sluggish and no subtitles.

only 1 player does the job so far, that also not at a good 25fps.

jananan
post Sep 21 2011, 05:19 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 21 2011, 02:48 AM)
can you play 720p smoothly? I can't, no matter how I tried. Most players load slow, very sluggish and no subtitles.

somehow most of my small size 720p movies play fine, though not very high bitrate ones.

most of my mkv's are encoded to around 1.5GB - 2GB size only. i am guessing around 1000 - 2000 kbps bitrates plus minus.

i haven't gotten around to testing bigger 720p files, say around 4GB or larger mkv files with 2000-3000 kbps bitrates.

there might be issues playing smoothly due to higher bitrates.

i'm using Dice Player by the way...

Added on September 21, 2011, 5:26 am
Tegra3 Quad Core actually has 5 cores !!

Sauce - from Nvidia

4 Main cores and one low power slower core for mundane tasks like background data and widgets.

This post has been edited by jananan: Sep 21 2011, 05:31 AM
mydragoon
post Sep 21 2011, 11:40 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Sep 20 2011, 10:27 PM)
that is where you are mistaken...

hardware wise, SDHC and SDXC are similar

i am pretty confident the 'modern' micro sd card reader in the Asus Transformer comes with the latest firmware.

unless Asus picked a 'cheap' 'outdated' card reader for the TF.

AFAIK, linux/unix does not differentiate between SDHC/SDXC. I am pretty sure Android kernel works somehwat similar.

i am just worried about the filesystem being used, exFAT, which belongs to Micro$oft.  doh.gif

Asus (and other manufacturers) need to pay Micro$oft in order to use the exFAT filesystem.  doh.gif

I miss good old FAT32  thumbup.gif
if i'm not mistaken, the difference between SDHC/ SDXC is not the issue. its whether the card reader on the TF is able to read such high capacity cards or not. and i recall the TF specs saying only up to 32GB cards.

Added on September 21, 2011, 11:44 am

i think this one has got more to do with the codecs... read somewhere that asus wanted to keep the cost low, so didn't wanna pay royalty, etc... so we have raw processing power but have to rely on software to decode the AV files.

well, its sth like that la... so, bigger files, it becomes not so smooth.

i can see very obvious difference when i play the same movie files on my sgs2. what appeared jerky on the TF was really smooth on the sgs2. i tested with same file and player -- moboplayer & almost 300mb fullHD (1080p) movie file -- a Bluray trailer.

Added on September 21, 2011, 12:04 pmasus TF vs samsung tab10...
http://www.fudzilla.com/reviews/item/23938...mponent&print=1

no need to bash each other... all androids and bros and sis... but we should be glad that we own a pioneer device. TF came out first (not taking into account those old type of tablets).

i believe that asus has the TF right... only needs to fine tune it. having a dockable tablet is the way to go! smile.gif

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Sep 21 2011, 12:04 PM
jimmylim85
post Sep 21 2011, 02:11 PM

iPhone world....
7,832 posts

Close to 90% smoothness. Most of my MP4 is 720p video bit rate from 6000kbps to 8000kbps. Codec is H.264 frame rate expect 24p or 29.7p

I'm deciding to buy DicePlayer or else stick with free MX Video Player since it had successfully solve all my problem.

I'm using Xilisoft HD Converter 6, get a 4 core proc and CUDA or ATi accelerated process for fast conversion on HD. Convert avi mp4 mkv ts tp into MP4 720p easily. But I wonder how many of us willing to spent $39.95 (Rm 119) on this piece of software.
BBXiong
post Sep 21 2011, 02:48 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

have u tried Dice Player?
goldfries
post Sep 21 2011, 02:53 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Will try DICE player then.

Moboplayer failed. Default player failed. Many of the popular ones failed.

only mVideoplayer was decent so far.

I'm just playin 200 - 300 Mb anime MKV btw.
mikeeeee
post Sep 21 2011, 02:59 PM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

ooo .. those anime mkv's should work nicely with dice. I always watch horrisubs mkv that are about the size u mentioned(should be 720p) on TF without problem. Smooth as butter ..
goldfries
post Sep 21 2011, 02:59 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

wow. DICE Player works very well! biggrin.gif thanks! even better than mVideoPlayer.

a little slow when comes to fast scenes, eg opening scenes or action scenes but generally the framerate is good!
BBXiong
post Sep 21 2011, 03:34 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 21 2011, 02:59 PM)
wow. DICE Player works very well! biggrin.gif thanks! even better than mVideoPlayer.

a little slow when comes to fast scenes, eg opening scenes or action scenes but generally the framerate is good!
yeap, money well spent actually, just hope the dev can improve the performance in fast scenes and also support ASS styling, right now it just converts ass to simple subtitle
goldfries
post Sep 21 2011, 04:34 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

also depends on encoding lor, some videos totally smooth. some a little slow but generally it's all good!

the default player la, mobo player and rock player, all people recommend but loading slow like silly, jumping the scenes took forever. biggrin.gif

for me LOL case just now, straight BUY........ didn't even use the TRIAL version. lucky it works great! biggrin.gif
LuffyPSP
post Sep 21 2011, 06:48 PM

Droid, droid droid droid!
3,771 posts

guys, is it too late to get a Transformer? or is it better to wait? if i cant wait i want to buy it this month but if i can wait, maybe next month or 2 months.

and btw any place in Johor Bharu that I can buy this tab? really in love with it cuz it tranforms!! but buying the tablet without k/b first is enough for me edy for the time being. and whats the current market price?
jimmylim85
post Sep 21 2011, 07:12 PM

iPhone world....
7,832 posts

better get the unit with the docking keyboard, you'll never know when you might need it. RM 300 difference is not much. You gain card reader, 2x USB2.0, keyboard, mouse pad and battery life.
LuffyPSP
post Sep 21 2011, 07:21 PM

3,771 posts

orait then. will consider the docking k/b too but cant find any place in JB selling this. too lazy to turun KL but if KL where's the place to buy this?
BBXiong
post Sep 21 2011, 07:34 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

maybe u can dig around garage sales to check which shop is selling first. earlier pre-order batch all gotten theirs from Evernew Mid Valley, but most ppl hated that shop due to the staffs there, their service is very bad from some forumers. However Evernew Sunway Pyramid have helpful staffs. I heard some other shops in LowYat Plaza is also selling it
LuffyPSP
post Sep 21 2011, 07:40 PM

3,771 posts

so its not actually available easily everywhere i guess then?

alright2, thanks bro! any idea for the full set current market price?
jimmylim85
post Sep 21 2011, 10:03 PM

iPhone world....
7,832 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Sep 21 2011, 07:40 PM)
so its not actually available easily everywhere i guess then?

alright2, thanks bro! any idea for the full set current market price?
Bro, even small town like Ipoh have plenty of stocks.

Current retail price at rm 1799.00 you might able to source cheaper price too.
LuffyPSP
post Sep 21 2011, 10:34 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Sep 21 2011, 10:03 PM)
Bro, even small town like Ipoh have plenty of stocks.

Current retail price at rm 1799.00 you might able to source cheaper price too.
yeah? cuz i havent seen one shop selling this at JB(maybe only me though). Everywhere i go is Galaxy tab 10.1, no TF. sad.gif
jananan
post Sep 21 2011, 10:40 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Sep 21 2011, 10:34 PM)
yeah? cuz i havent seen one shop selling this at JB(maybe only me though). Everywhere i go is Galaxy tab 10.1, no TF. sad.gif
not to mention iPad2 everywhere...
LuffyPSP
post Sep 21 2011, 10:52 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Sep 21 2011, 10:40 PM)
not to mention iPad2 everywhere...
yeah damn it. TF is underrated by most people.
Maxieos
post Sep 21 2011, 11:01 PM

3,767 posts

Still no news on 3g version ? it's pretty slow for asus not to ship a 3g version until now.

Any news on 3g guys ? goldfries how's your review on it ?

141 Pages « < 93 94 95 96 97 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:22 PM