>>Malaysia ThinkPad User Community<<, Post Pics of your Setup & Discussion

PatEagle
post Apr 24 2007, 02:28 PM

305 posts

QUOTE(PatEagle @ Apr 24 2007, 12:58 AM)
Where can i immediately buy a compatible RAM (1GB) to add on to my ThinkPad T42, sytem model 2373P43? Kesington ram don't work on my machine... What's the ram part really called? If there is another thread at LYN Forum i should go to canvass for the IBM ThinkPad T42 ram, please point me to the site. Thanks!
I finally found the RAM details and posted at http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/447008 for assistance since i see "techies" there. Do reply there if you can help. Cheers!

V3000
post Apr 24 2007, 05:27 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(PatEagle @ Apr 24 2007, 12:58 AM)
Hah! So nice to see "IBM ThinkPad Mobile Computing Club" here!  cool2.gif

Where can i immediately buy a compatible RAM (1GB) to add on to my ThinkPad T42, sytem model 2373P43? Kesington ram don't work on my machine. Do you reckon I should add 2GB straight away?

Please advice what's the cost and best place to get it - 1GB and 2GB so i can compare price. And with contact numbers too so I can call to check if they have it before I go all the way and to find it's "out of stock." Thanks!

And am signing in too! Here's the image of my wonderful machine...

Another DieHard IBM ThinkPad Fan flex.gif

Wa bro, i like your SuperMan logo le! where u get it de ah? isit plastic or paper base sticker?

PatEagle
post Apr 24 2007, 07:35 PM

305 posts

QUOTE(V3000 @ Apr 24 2007, 05:27 PM)
Wa bro, i like your SuperMan logo le! where u get it de ah? isit plastic or paper base sticker?

Thankyou, thankyou, bro! brows.gif
It's a plastic-based sticker. Bought it at one of the sticker stalls at the Damansara Utama pasar malam. The entire pasar malam moved to Kota Damansara end of last year i think... they still operate from 9pm-4am.

Sista lah! cool2.gif

Thrust
post Apr 24 2007, 07:46 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

My ThinkPad came with only 512MB of RAM. Later on I added another 512MB to make it run at dual channel. In order for me to ensure maximum compatibility, I make sure that the RAM specifications and chipsets are the same. Manufacturer of RAM, I don't really think it matter. My current RAM configuration are 1 stick of original from from IBM with ELPIDA RAMCHIP and the other is KINGSTON with ELPIDA RAMCHIP too. smile.gif
PatEagle
post Apr 24 2007, 07:57 PM

305 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Apr 24 2007, 07:46 PM)
My ThinkPad came with only 512MB of RAM. Later on I added another 512MB to make it run at dual channel. In order for me to ensure maximum compatibility, I make sure that the RAM specifications and chipsets are the same. Manufacturer of RAM, I don't really think it matter. My current RAM configuration are 1 stick of original from from IBM with ELPIDA RAMCHIP and the other is KINGSTON with ELPIDA RAMCHIP too. smile.gif
Hey, Thrust, thanks for your thoughts. It's assuring. smile.gif

Ahyoh, I'm STILL looking for the 1GB PC2700 333MHz DDR SDRAM SODIMM for my IBM ThinkPad T42 model 2373-P43. cry.gif

Where did you get your RAM? Hopefully they have stock for my ThinkPad too.

Praying that i get this over and done with these few days. rclxub.gif

wtm0325
post Apr 24 2007, 09:01 PM

1,796 posts

QUOTE(bobby3006 @ Apr 9 2007, 12:36 AM)
yes you can extend but u need to call IBM at 1800 88 8558 and ask them about the warranty extension. if they say ok then they will give u a service number if i not mistaken and then is either u will redirect to authorised dealer for purchase of extension or direct from them.
it's been so long and forgot to thank you for ur reply, thanks bobby thumbup.gif

btw i think to head over ttdi warranty centre to claim my lcd for dead pixel, anyone know r they open on saturday?
V3000
post Apr 25 2007, 12:01 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(PatEagle @ Apr 24 2007, 07:35 PM)
Thankyou, thankyou, bro!  brows.gif
It's a plastic-based sticker. Bought it at one of the sticker stalls at the Damansara Utama pasar malam. The entire pasar malam moved to Kota Damansara end of last year i think... they still operate from 9pm-4am.

Sista lah! cool2.gif

Aiyo very far for me to get this sticker le.. Btw got Spiderman logo? hehe im Spidey fanatic fans le smile.gif
Next time if bro go there can help me buy 1 and post it to me? i pay double for it tongue.gif

Cheers smile.gif

PatEagle
post Apr 25 2007, 01:25 PM

305 posts

QUOTE(V3000 @ Apr 25 2007, 12:01 AM)
Aiyo very far for me to get this sticker le.. Btw got Spiderman logo? hehe im Spidey fanatic fans le smile.gif
Next time if bro go there can help me buy 1 and post it to me? i pay double for it tongue.gif

You lucky fella! My friends and I are going there this weekend. No need to pay double for it. No need to pay at all lah. Just PM me your name and address. You just help promote VMCC lah - broadcast to your friends and newsgroups you participate in and tell them to add VMCC badge on their websites/blogs from http://vmcc.com.my/be_a_link_partner.php brows.gif

Meantime, here's the new Superman shield for your desktop...
http://www.darkhorizons.com/news05/supershield.php
Or if you prefer the old version (which is on my desktop now)...
http://www.chaomancer.com/wallpapers/superman/supersymbol-wp. gif

cool2.gif

This post has been edited by PatEagle: Apr 25 2007, 01:26 PM
Thrust
post Apr 25 2007, 06:27 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(PatEagle @ Apr 24 2007, 07:57 PM)
Hey, Thrust, thanks for your thoughts. It's assuring. smile.gif

Ahyoh, I'm STILL looking for the 1GB PC2700 333MHz DDR SDRAM SODIMM for my IBM ThinkPad T42 model 2373-P43.  cry.gif

Where did you get your RAM? Hopefully they have stock for my ThinkPad too.

Praying that i get this over and done with these few days.  rclxub.gif
I bought it at IMBI. Forgotten the PC shop's name. I believe most computer shops do have the RAM you want. You can always try TECHDOS. They are authorised dealer for THINKPADs and they do carry OEM RAMs as well as KINGSTON certified RAMs for ThinkPads which are slightly cheaper.
V3000
post Apr 25 2007, 07:12 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(PatEagle @ Apr 25 2007, 01:25 PM)
You lucky fella! My friends and I are going there this weekend. No need to pay double for it. No need to pay at all lah. Just PM me your name and address. You just help promote VMCC lah - broadcast to your friends and newsgroups you participate in and tell them to add VMCC badge on their websites/blogs from http://vmcc.com.my/be_a_link_partner.php brows.gif

Meantime, here's the new Superman shield for your desktop...
http://www.darkhorizons.com/news05/supershield.php
Or if you prefer the old version (which is on my desktop now)...
http://www.chaomancer.com/wallpapers/superman/supersymbol-wp. gif

cool2.gif
Thanks alot bro, but i dont think its a good idea to have it free smile.gif
Can u please pm me how much it is including shipping fees to Johor (If you buy it) smile.gif

Thanks, Lucky to see kind ppl here rclxm9.gif

PatEagle
post Apr 25 2007, 10:06 PM

305 posts

QUOTE(V3000 @ Apr 25 2007, 07:12 PM)
Thanks alot bro, but i dont think its a good idea to have it free smile.gif
Can u please pm me how much it is including shipping fees to Johor (If you buy it) smile.gif

Will do. Will look out for Spiderman stickers for you too.

Thanks, Lucky to see kind ppl here  rclxm9.gif

Well, i see you helping lots of people in numerous threads. So there, a chance say thank you from one human being to another, to touch another life as many (including strangers) have touched my life too. That's all to it. Have a fabulous holiday tomorrow! smile.gif

cool2.gif

Added on April 25, 2007, 10:37 pm
QUOTE(Thrust @ Apr 25 2007, 06:27 PM)
I bought it at IMBI. Forgotten the PC shop's name. I believe most computer shops do have the RAM you want. You can always try TECHDOS. They are authorised dealer for THINKPADs and they do carry OEM RAMs as well as KINGSTON certified RAMs for ThinkPads which are slightly cheaper.
Thanks. Tried Techdos, Computer War and even Notebookshop.com.my recommended by Super Macgyver yesterday... all say no stock for my model. sad.gif
Maybe i should just lug my notebook from shop to shop at Digital Mall nearest to me 2moro rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by PatEagle: Apr 25 2007, 10:37 PM
Thrust
post Apr 26 2007, 11:51 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

Digital Mall have limited choices of RAM. The last time I went, I wanted to get a 256MB PC2700 RAM but most of the shops don't have it. I recommend you to try LOWYAT. There's abundant of choices there. 80% you are able to get your RAM there.
vez
post Apr 26 2007, 10:40 PM

4,622 posts

arrgh, just got my new T60 today, when the background black for whole screen, i detect a Stuck Pixel, i hope it's not Dead Pixel, from what i know, Stuck Pixel can be fix ourself, it can be see clearly when Stuck Pixel surrounded s black color sad.gif i heard that this kind of problem is not under warranty? sad.gif

it cannot be see under normal windows environment, when the whole screen goes dark, i saw 1 pixel in red color sad.gifsad.gifsad.gif
CalvinCLK
post Apr 27 2007, 07:02 AM

1,563 posts

Since you just bought, faster send it back then they might change a new unit for you. smile.gif
wtm0325
post Apr 27 2007, 08:11 AM

1,796 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Apr 26 2007, 10:40 PM)
arrgh, just got my new T60 today, when the background black for whole screen, i detect a Stuck Pixel, i hope it's not Dead Pixel, from what i know, Stuck Pixel can be fix ourself, it can be see clearly when Stuck Pixel surrounded s black color sad.gif i heard that this kind of problem is not under warranty? sad.gif

it cannot be see under normal windows environment, when the whole screen goes dark, i saw 1 pixel in red color sad.gifsad.gifsad.gif
if after u restart, the stuck pixel gone, then it's a software bugs by thinkpad caused by trackpoint

if after restart the same dot appear in the same place, then it's better to take back n change, usually one to one exhange warranty provided by shops
vez
post Apr 27 2007, 02:25 PM

4,622 posts

have to try my luck later on to contact the dealer, coz from what i googling, stuck pixel or dead pixel will only get warranty if more than certain pixel(s), mine is just 1 pixel sad.gif
SKai
post Apr 27 2007, 06:13 PM

Does anybody using X60 1706-B43? Or has a recovery CD? My X60 has problem and could not re-install. I tried to request the recovery CD but got some problem with it. Could anyone help me out? Thanks and appreciated.
Thrust
post Apr 27 2007, 06:56 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(SKai @ Apr 27 2007, 06:13 PM)
Does anybody using X60 1706-B43? Or has a recovery CD? My X60 has problem and could not re-install. I tried to request the recovery CD but got some problem with it. Could anyone help me out? Thanks and appreciated.
Bro, I am using X60s. Already made a back up of recovery disc (7discs) Mine is 1704 though. You should be able to reinstall easily as your HDD has a hidden partition where the OS and software resides there.

This post has been edited by Thrust: Apr 27 2007, 06:56 PM
PatEagle
post Apr 28 2007, 12:27 AM

305 posts

QUOTE(SKai @ Apr 27 2007, 06:13 PM)
If unit still under warranty, go to Wisma VADS (formerly IBM Plaza) at Taman Tun Dr Ismail. The service centre is still there as I found out yesterday on enquiring for my RAM. Cheers.

PatEagle
post Apr 28 2007, 12:42 AM

305 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Apr 26 2007, 11:51 AM)
Digital Mall have limited choices of RAM. The last time I went, I wanted to get a 256MB PC2700 RAM but most of the shops don't have it. I recommend you to try LOWYAT. There's abundant of choices there. 80% you are able to get your RAM there.
Managed to get my 1GB RAM (Kingston) from Computer War at SS2 yesterday. Wow, pretty good service. Told me to come back next day and there it is! rclxms.gif

Now my notebook "freezes" within 5-10mins and I hard reboot each time. Is it the RAM or just a coincidence? What is the problem? Solution to the problem please, anyone. Thanks!

234 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.1684sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:54 AM