9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

>>Malaysia ThinkPad User Community<<, Post Pics of your Setup & Discussion

V3000
post Jan 15 2007, 09:11 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

hoongern: Soo r u studying/working there? if yes can u buy it and resell it?.. Good deal sure alot customers.. Lenovo machine really worth to buy..

Edit: If yes please pm me.. i wish to get 1 for my girl also..

Cheers

This post has been edited by V3000: Jan 15 2007, 09:12 PM
V3000
post Jan 16 2007, 08:44 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

But 15.4 wide screen really bulky to bring around (Imagine goin round trip from JB to Singapore everyday with public transport)... but the spec you have there really nice... smile.gif
V3000
post Jan 21 2007, 06:32 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

Aiyoo! 4Gb ram on a lappy? With this crappy vga card and this tiny 14.1" screen, may i know what you guys doin with it? Encoding HD-DVD? Hardcore Photoshoping? Rendering or modeling 3D graphics? Programing 3D games? Play hardcore game on your lappy? Got too much spare $$?

If non of above is what you do with your lappy..

1-2Gb is enuf for run Vista smoothly and alot application already.. 4Gb.. far too much for a lappy to fully utilize ba..

I think bro Austin must be a pro graphic designer(with very good eyesight too, 14.1" screen wahlauu!)

If i got those spare cold hard cash i'll opt for more Levi's jeans hehe!

Dont flame me ah! im noob i know nothing bout piccie de sad.gif

Cheers!
V3000
post Jan 21 2007, 01:05 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Jan 21 2007, 12:02 PM)
At least yours is above 1GB RAM, pisces... My R50 is only running at a miserly 256MB and its certainly time for an upgrade!
Ah if just 256mb too little bah sad.gif must dig out some $ to get more ram liao sweat.gif

p/s: My old machine also 256mb ram i understand how much patient u need when using your lappy smile.gif

Cheers!
V3000
post Jan 22 2007, 12:04 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

If want to connect like that then just use desktop ba.. cheaper ram and faster proc/vga card.. (Good spec + cheap priced) drool.gif

Neway your rig look really messy.. rclxub.gif

Bout the ramdisk.. yeah instead is a good software to fully utilize the ram.. But what the main purpose for HDD? External HDD? dont this 2 far more cheaper then lappy ram? (Correct me if i make mistake here)

p/s: Dont worry rich ppl got the power to be cocky de hehe! I just come as a noob to learn more stuff from you guys (SIFU)! rclxms.gif

Cheers to all 'Think' ppl here laugh.gif
V3000
post Jan 22 2007, 01:18 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

I got 1 original IBM 512mb ddr2 667mhz no use le.. but seller ask me to keep it.. ur lappy support ddr2?
V3000
post Jan 22 2007, 01:59 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

Oh i see, i also dont understand your..

"speed up the programs loading time"
-how much quicker it will be? Spend few k on ram for few sec faster? But 7200RPM HDD no good de ah? very hot de ah? Ram hot or not de ah? hmm.gif (I dont know couse both of this stuff burried inside this solid Pad le)

"Instead if I stay at home, why not utilise the VGA Port and my 22" LCD leh?"
-I do see you got desktop le why not just use the desktop? hmm.gif (If i got desktop for God sake i wont use lappy.. i feel want to vomit after look at this tiny screen for hours and dont mention my lappy spec..)

Hope Mr.Austin could enlight me too rclxms.gif

and

"As for messy? well I don't understand here.... Messy in terms of which part leh?"
-The way u dump all your rig.. er do we call that arrange your rig? kinda messy.. maybe you have some special designer feeling on how you arrange your stuff rclxms.gif

Hehe we both also noob's ah? icon_idea.gif Its cool to meet ppl same level as me learning stuff here le rclxms.gif

Cheers! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by V3000: Jan 22 2007, 02:20 AM
V3000
post Jan 22 2007, 02:30 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

Mine is T60 model, I see the shop open some screw on the bottom then open up the palm rest area then plug in new ram below the touch pad.. kinda hard couse i never open up lappy i only know how to use sad.gif

Im sure someone here sure know how to open can teach de smile.gif alot nice ppl here smile.gif
V3000
post Jan 22 2007, 05:52 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

Thanks Mr.Austin

-Thanks for answer me.. so if i dig out few k on ram can get 12MS faster (ok make it 12sec) then 7200RPM HDD? Ah then this not for me le i rather wait.. slower is better *wink* *wink*

-My eyes got problem (I check it everyear,thanks for tellin me this).. if i didn wear spec.. i need to sit very near to the screen. (Try put your head near to screen for hours and do your stuff then ah see why i vomit)

-Bout the way u "arrange" (I call it "dump", couse i dont have desktop i "dump" all my lappy everywhere inside my room) your rig no offend here bro.. maybe your room kinda small or u got too many stuff on your room that why u need to "arrange" all your rig soo near and then sure it look like kinda messy hope u get me right..

Hehe thanks for bold all words for me. Btw i just ask for my answer didn mean expert or what(not being cocky also couse im not rich).. couse spend few k on ram really make me curious how much better it will be. If it is alot more better then i'm sure i'll load my lappy with max ram my lappy can take.

Cheers and thanks hope didn offend anyone here.
V3000
post Jan 22 2007, 07:15 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

Btw i got a doubt in my mind for a long time.. If i wish to travel with my Thinkpad it is advisible to pack this Thinkpad all together in my luggage (Nicely packed with lots stuff in a small travel bag) or its is better to separate it?
Pack together easy to travel and if saparate it i neeed to carry 1 more bag.. (1 more bag mean 1 more stuff to worry sad.gif)

Anyone travel with this lappy before? what do u guys do? Isit ok for lappy to go thru x-ray (i think this is ok) but how bout magnetic check at customs?

Sorry i got too much question to ask liao.. I really dont want to spoil my lappy when i travel..

Cheers.
V3000
post Jan 23 2007, 08:22 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(wtm0325 @ Jan 23 2007, 03:06 AM)
i respect every people have their own opinion, but for me ur words for the previous 2 posts is a bit cocky

remember humble gets crowded smile.gif
Sorry for both of you, Mr.Austin and wtm0325 and thanks for your advise i really appreciate it smile.gif

Will learn more from u guys in future rclxms.gif

Cheers!

This post has been edited by V3000: Jan 23 2007, 07:23 PM
V3000
post Jan 23 2007, 08:33 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Jan 22 2007, 08:21 PM)
Depends... I have not brought my laptop with me on overseas flights but for local ones (i.e. travel by car), i keep the computer in a separate bag... It may be a bit more ma-fan to carry one extra bag but at least i won't have to worry about the laptop being cluttered together with my clothes!
But separate it really very "ma fan" and what i do worry most is if i hold the lappy with me, is it ok to go thru the magnetic door at custom while if let it go in the storage area i dont think they will "put" our stuff nicely.. (Headache)

Haih.. btw i better ask less since my broken english make ppl misunderstand.

Cheers and have a nice day smile.gif
V3000
post Jan 23 2007, 10:09 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

If like that i should hold 1 extra bag, 1 more stuff to worry.. I really thought that ThinkPad can handle alot of abuse (like pack it all together inside 1 suit case, nicely packed with my stuff) and last but no least hope they wont sue me if i bring battery that "maybe" will explode in the plane hehe =D

Thanks Mr.THT

Cheers, have a nice great day ahead smile.gif
V3000
post Jan 23 2007, 07:26 PM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

Hehe How bout Durabook? Not very glamour in Malaysia but soldier use it to stop a bullet smile.gif

Ok, will see what i can do with ThinkPad, hope when i return my LCD wont say byebye to me..

Cheers smile.gif
V3000
post Jan 24 2007, 08:27 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(hackintosh @ Jan 24 2007, 06:04 AM)
actually i very like IBM T series since i 1st met the IBM T series in my former company.

but it's too expensive for me to own it that's why i own the compaq V3133 tongue.gif
But the premium you pay will last very long if didn want to catchup with the latest spec.. I believe this lappy will stay with me for 5 more years to come (hopefully). What i worry most is the lcd..

Btw nowdays alot shop let us pay by instalment.. If pay by instalment will be easier on wallet smile.gif

p/s: Compaq V series is very cool machine (all black also) smile.gif but i think the batt last not very long on usage am i right hackintosh?

V3000
post Jan 24 2007, 08:39 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Jan 24 2007, 12:04 AM)
I hope not... I've been using my ThinkPad for around 2 years and i've got no major complaints about the laptop's durability... The RAM, though, is a different story altogether!
Ya.. i think 2 years back ram aint cheap.. but now kinda cheap already.. 512mb ddr2 667mhz selling at rm190 or less! drool.gif

Im very happy to see alot nice and friendly Thinkpad user here and mostly very happy and satisfy with this machine smile.gif really no regrat to have it even i see a big hole on my wallet.. blush.gif

p/s: Btw anyone found out what T series bottom is made of (meterial)? Isit Polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) or Carbon fiber reinforced plastic (CFRP).. or just plain normal Plastic?

Cheers Thinkpad user! thumbup.gif
V3000
post Jan 24 2007, 09:53 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

I got 1 x 512mb ram(not using since i upgrade the ram when i get this machine) but i dont know bro can use it or not couse i really not very familiar with hardware stuff..

The ram i mention above is 512MB ddr3 667mhz PC5300.

Im learning this stuff now, dont want to be left behind.. Next time i'll open up this machine see what beneath inside that cost me more then 6k hehe!

Cheers!
V3000
post Jan 26 2007, 09:58 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(ex_avantz @ Jan 26 2007, 05:00 AM)
hi...

wanna ask about...

what is a different between R60 & T60...

pls
I think the different about T series and R series is only the casing.. T is made from Magnesium Alloy (Look thinner) while R series is made from either Carbon Fiber Reinforced Plastic (CFRP) or High Gred Plastic. Both of it have the same security and very good build since both series is equip with roll cage.

If you travel alot T series is alot more better since the LCD is protected by magnesium alloy mixture.

Cheers! smile.gif

This post has been edited by V3000: Jan 26 2007, 10:11 AM
V3000
post Jan 26 2007, 10:04 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Jan 26 2007, 09:39 AM)
Thanks for the tips, bro! I found out that my friend's computer shop (regular place) does RAM installation for the laptop... Much easier than having to go all the way to LYP just to do this job!

But i'll need them to help me open up the PC to see whether the RAM is two or one slot... If its two, then i can just add another 256MB as a complement to the existing one or take out the current one and have a 512MB as replacement... Btw, what is the 2nd-hand value of a R50e today?
I think it has only 2 slot.. couse when i upgrade my ram i see only 2 slot when the seller help me fix the new ram into the machine (below the touch pad)

Ah bro why sell it ah? ThinkPad no good? plan to swift to other brand? Bout the price i really dont know le.. Try hunt around sure can get good price for this solid machine de smile.gif

Good Luck.. and hope bro will stick with ThinkPad le smile.gif
V3000
post Feb 2 2007, 02:42 AM

CLICK REPORT LAH!
3,074 posts

Ah!

I got new problem again.. I get a wireless modem (D-Link DSL G604T) today..

After set everything(security stuff etc etc) and yay(dancing)! I manage to get to surf and do my stuff wireless!
(My very 1st time doin stuff wireless at home smile.gif Can u guys feel how happy im that time?)

But my happiness dont last for long, i start to feel dumb when i load and download from my workplace server i notice using wireless are slower then using lan cable (how much slower i cant tell couse i dont know how to measure but im sure not 1 or 2min diff.. alot!) I using 512 basic streamyx and i stay in same room with the modem like 3-4 feets away.. (Closed door too!)

Isit using wireless meant to be slower then Lan cable? Or isit i wrongly judge it? I hope to know if i need to upload and download "LARGE" files over net it is better to use LAN cable then do it wireless?

Sad.. if it really slower since the seller tell me its same with Lan Cable (in Speed term).. Lay on bad doin stuff is 110% better then doin it on table..

Anyone here have same problem? Or i wrongly set anything? I just key in Isp numbers and set WPA password to prevent intruders hehe!

Cheers!

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0203sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:26 AM