New Toyota Camry 2012, is Really coming now!
cybermaster98
Aug 10 2012, 06:33 PM
QUOTE(e36.hartge @ Aug 10 2012, 06:14 PM) oh no,see?what ever excuse u trying to play here?why in other thing u want to compare,but when about car price,there was exemption? to own vios there,even had to pay COE SGD90k alone,no inlcuded the car's price itself NO excuses given. Facts are facts. There is a specific reason why car prices are expensive in Singapore. If u dont know or dont believe, then read up and get the facts before commenting.
e36.hartge
Aug 10 2012, 07:07 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 10 2012, 06:33 PM) NO excuses given. Facts are facts. There is a specific reason why car prices are expensive in Singapore. If u dont know or dont believe, then read up and get the facts before commenting. fact remain Singapore is most expensive car price,even to own vios u need COE SGD90k+the price of the car
cybermaster98
Aug 10 2012, 07:21 PM
QUOTE(e36.hartge @ Aug 10 2012, 07:07 PM) fact remain Singapore is most expensive car price,even to own vios u need COE SGD90k+the price of the car My article refers to US and u bring Singapore? I explained to you WHY Singapore has high car prices and yet u cant seem to understand. I said i dont know about Japan which is the truth. Sadly u cant understand. Pity.
MeToo
Aug 10 2012, 07:33 PM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 10 2012, 06:33 PM) NO excuses given. Facts are facts. There is a specific reason why car prices are expensive in Singapore. If u dont know or dont believe, then read up and get the facts before commenting. Facts are facts? You claim there are "specific reasons why cars in SG is expensive" But you dont back up your claim, just a simple "read it up if you dont believe"? So if I say for example "Kia cars are bad, facts are facts, go read it it up if you dont believe".... does this make it true?
cybermaster98
Aug 10 2012, 07:36 PM
QUOTE(MeToo @ Aug 10 2012, 07:33 PM) Facts are facts? You claim there are "specific reasons why cars in SG is expensive" But you dont back up your claim, just a simple "read it up if you dont believe"? So if I say for example "Kia cars are bad, facts are facts, go read it it up if you dont believe".... does this make it true?  I explained it earlier but sadly u again have chosen not to read and comprehend. Try harder kiddo.
e36.hartge
Aug 10 2012, 09:58 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 10 2012, 07:21 PM) My article refers to US and u bring Singapore? I explained to you WHY Singapore has high car prices and yet u cant seem to understand. I said i dont know about Japan which is the truth. Sadly u cant understand. Pity. is this the same fact that u trying to twist saying DOHC are better FC compared to SOHC? nowadays cars that purposely FC-wise is SOHC la,like honda civic gen8 1.8 & 2.0,both much different in FC
allenultra
Aug 10 2012, 10:27 PM
QUOTE(e36.hartge @ Aug 10 2012, 09:58 PM) is this the same fact that u trying to twist saying DOHC are better FC compared to SOHC? nowadays cars that purposely FC-wise is SOHC la,like honda civic gen8 1.8 & 2.0,both much different in FC there is certainly reason that Honda Civic opt for SOHC instead of DOHC for better fuel efficiency mainly because they dun possess what Toyota has, vvti. They only have the i-vtec which is ineffective at low RPM range, unlike the vvti. To compensate for that, a SOHC engine is more likely the option for it as the torque curve of SOHC engines behave differently as compared to DOHC engine. Its more about the combination of technology here.
kukulong10
Aug 10 2012, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(MeToo @ Aug 10 2012, 07:33 PM) Facts are facts? You claim there are "specific reasons why cars in SG is expensive" But you dont back up your claim, just a simple "read it up if you dont believe"? So if I say for example "Kia cars are bad, facts are facts, go read it it up if you dont believe".... does this make it true?  i actually dono wad type of facts he want..in his mind, u must have facts to argue with him..if not he will ask u stfu..this is a forum la..wan facts go open a talk and gv a speech about all ur facts about ur k5..bare in mind..this a a forum, we can discuss anything without facts.. This post has been edited by kukulong10: Aug 10 2012, 10:55 PM
kenlye
Aug 10 2012, 11:21 PM
Agree Added on August 10, 2012, 11:22 pmQUOTE(kukulong10 @ Aug 10 2012, 10:52 PM) i actually dono wad type of facts he want..in his mind, u must have facts to argue with him..if not he will ask u stfu..this is a forum la..wan facts go open a talk and gv a speech about all ur facts about ur k5..bare in mind..this a a forum, we can discuss anything without facts..  Agree This post has been edited by kenlye: Aug 10 2012, 11:22 PM
kepalapening
Aug 11 2012, 06:36 AM

QUOTE(allenultra @ Aug 10 2012, 10:27 PM) there is certainly reason that Honda Civic opt for SOHC instead of DOHC for better fuel efficiency mainly because they dun possess what Toyota has, vvti. They only have the i-vtec which is ineffective at low RPM range, unlike the vvti. To compensate for that, a SOHC engine is more likely the option for it as the torque curve of SOHC engines behave differently as compared to DOHC engine. Its more about the combination of technology here. So, Toyota's engine is superior amongst the asian, regardless of less addon. When buying a car the engine is what we should look into. Get the best for what we can afford in the class that we are on to. This post has been edited by kepalapening: Aug 11 2012, 06:40 AM
sonyman
Aug 11 2012, 08:30 AM
yes this is very true, a reliable engine is of course the most important part of the car, because the engine is the heart of the car. it moves it, it gives the car life. so that to serve you better.
only problem is you are paying too much for an old engine, which was used in the previous generation. But if you can accept it, why not, Camry best choice. unless u are uncle enough.
sanadi
Aug 11 2012, 08:43 AM
QUOTE(allenultra @ Aug 10 2012, 10:27 PM) there is certainly reason that Honda Civic opt for SOHC instead of DOHC for better fuel efficiency mainly because th ey dun possess what Toyota has, vvti. They only have the i-vtec which is ineffective at low RPM range, unlike the vvti. To compensate for that, a SOHC engine is more likely the option for it as the torque curve of SOHC engines behave differently as compared to DOHC engine. Its more about the combination of technology here. I disagree. The K20 iVTEC engine has VVT solenoid for infinitely variable valve timing adjustment and VTEC for variable cam profile. It is actually similar in concept to VVTL-i. It was used in the 1st iVTEC Accord in Malaysia. The 6th Gen or CM Accord. Why did Honda choose not use such engine nowadays except in Type-R? Who knows, but Honda enthusiasts was disappointed with Honda because of that.
cybermaster98
Aug 11 2012, 09:04 AM
QUOTE(e36.hartge @ Aug 10 2012, 09:58 PM) is this the same fact that u trying to twist saying DOHC are better FC compared to SOHC? nowadays cars that purposely FC-wise is SOHC la,like honda civic gen8 1.8 & 2.0,both much different in FC I tried to twist?? Quote me on my exact words and i will give you an appropriate response then. Like ive said many times, i will stand by what ive said and if im wrong then ill admit to it. No problem. This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Aug 11 2012, 11:36 AM
allenultra
Aug 11 2012, 10:25 AM
QUOTE(kepalapening @ Aug 11 2012, 06:36 AM) So, Toyota's engine is superior amongst the asian, regardless of less addon. When buying a car the engine is what we should look into. Get the best for what we can afford in the class that we are on to. Well not really, Honda does have it answer with I-DSI. So does Nissan with its CVT gearbox and with its own VVT. To comfort yourself that you actually bought the most "worth" in the segment, do really make u a happier person?
IluvProton
Aug 11 2012, 10:44 AM

QUOTE(allenultra @ Aug 11 2012, 05:25 AM) Well not really, Honda does have it answer with I-DSI. So does Nissan with its CVT gearbox and with its own VVT. To comfort yourself that you actually bought the most "worth" in the segment, do really make u a happier person?The truth always hurts.
masz94
Aug 11 2012, 11:12 AM
Lol.... Honda creates Variable Valve Timing way earlier than Toyota.... and it's superior than Toyota's VVTL-i.....
i-Vtec is similar with VVT-i.....
Choosing SOHC engine configurations is a wise choice for small engines, especially engines that are coupled with Automatic transmission....
SOHC engine deals better in low RPM's compared to DOHC, which suits the enviroment of most of these small cars will spend their life's in... the city.... so it's a wise choice that Honda made....
Though i personally dislike SOHC coz i like to travel a lot and drive fast....
cybermaster98
Aug 11 2012, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(kepalapening @ Aug 11 2012, 06:36 AM) So, Toyota's engine is superior amongst the asian, regardless of less addon.
When buying a car the engine is what we should look into. Get the best for what we can afford in the class that we are on to. So in what way is the Toyota engine superior compared to other Asian makes? Btw, im still waiting for your actual full tank mileage for 100% city driving. How many full tanks have u filled for the past 2 months? This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Aug 11 2012, 11:37 AM
lcy851031
Aug 11 2012, 11:24 AM
From what i study at Paul Tan Blog, actually each overhead camshaft design had its pros and cons: SOHC VS DOHCActually SOHC had a better torque at lower rpm, that why people say it had better fc as when driving at the city only let engine run on lower rpm most of the time. But it has a lower raw power at high rpm, which i think it can compensated by Honda's own i-vtec technology. DOHC can let engineer had a simpler design on the engine (spark plug can be put at center top, also can insert more valves at the engine easier). Also had higher raw power at higher rpm, which can impress the customer that buy car only look at the max hp of the engine.
cybermaster98
Aug 11 2012, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(lcy851031 @ Aug 11 2012, 11:24 AM) From what i study at Paul Tan Blog, actually each overhead camshaft design had its pros and cons: SOHC VS DOHCActually SOHC had a better torque at lower rpm, that why people say it had better fc as when driving at the city only let engine run on lower rpm most of the time. But it has a lower raw power at high rpm, which i think it can compensated by Honda's own i-vtec technology. DOHC can let engineer had a simpler design on the engine (spark plug can be put at center top, also can insert more valves at the engine easier). Also had higher raw power at higher rpm, which can impress the customer that buy car only look at the max hp of the engine.  Yes 100% true. But aiya why u went and revealed this? I wanted to catch that E.36 kid with his own words. He didnt bother to read what i said and again made an assumption that i said a DOHC engine will consume less fuel. Pity.
cybermaster98
Aug 11 2012, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(vey99 @ Aug 3 2012, 12:48 PM) the way u post ur arguments in support of toyota cars is plain shameful. no wonder cybermaster is having a field day here. Remember this post Kukulong? I wonder why Vey99 said this.  Added on August 11, 2012, 11:35 amQUOTE(kukulong10 @ Aug 10 2012, 10:52 PM) i actually dono wad type of facts he want..in his mind, u must have facts to argue with him..if not he will ask u stfu..this is a forum la..wan facts go open a talk and gv a speech about all ur facts about ur k5..bare in mind..this a a forum, we can discuss anything without facts..  No thats your interpretation of it. All discussions here should be fact based if not it will end up like your previous statements which u embarassed yourself talking about safety when u were not sure of the facts. U remember how even those neutral users also slammed you for talking crap? if u have forgotten, please read up. This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Aug 11 2012, 11:35 AM