Are property prices going to up further? V3

lch78
post Aug 21 2011, 12:54 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(dlyw1103 @ Aug 20 2011, 01:11 PM)
It will happen once we've achieved high income nation (developed) status ....
As for now just live with the below par income range or leave the country if there is opportunity!
Still a very long way to go. tongue.gif

kevyeoh
post Aug 21 2011, 10:11 PM

4,720 posts

well... it's all about location..
i guess the middle-low class citizen will be pushed to live further out and away from city.... that's the fact happening now...i think foreigners are also buying up a lot of properties in the prime area... it is already happening now and the price is beyond the means of middle-low class citizen to buy...

QUOTE(monodevil @ Aug 21 2011, 12:37 PM)
but do bear in mind too high price will result to inaffordability of middle-low class citizen..

therefore i think government should react fast either controlling the price or increase our salary as developed country
kh8668
post Aug 21 2011, 11:27 PM

Mamma Mia!
5,488 posts

hmmm...August now and soon September is coming in. I am still seeing the price of property in Malaysia still up or at least from developer. hehehe....subsale still maintain as it is now.

This post has been edited by kh8668: Aug 21 2011, 11:28 PM
jet2020
post Aug 22 2011, 12:43 AM

402 posts

QUOTE(kh8668 @ Aug 21 2011, 11:27 PM)
hmmm...August now and soon September is coming in. I am still seeing the price of property in Malaysia still up or at least from developer. hehehe....subsale still maintain as it is now.
kh, i really tabik spring your continued optimism and bullish on prop mkt despite i am not aligned with you on this.

Btw, continue to share the first hand info on prop devp....i likey
cherroy
post Aug 22 2011, 02:41 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Aug 21 2011, 11:52 AM)
i think generally property price will not drop over the long term... i mean... it just doesn't make sense for it to drop... property or house is something we need and ppl will definitely buy...

and since there will always be demand in this property market, it should not drop.... in price...but if the price sustain only over the years...you're actually losing money because your value is not growing...

so over the long term...you will see a general uptrend in property price and will never drop...
Ya, we may do not see price drop, but we did see properties being abandoned, nobody interest, empty shoplot/house, empty condo, empty mall.

Price never drop, because no transaction taking place... tongue.gif laugh.gif

sulifeisgreat
post Aug 22 2011, 07:02 AM

1,121 posts

aiyoyo doh.gif here we go again being pessimistic & etc
its all abt basic homework & location. know ur own target mkt & how long u can tahan if there is any downturn

anyway, with pessimism in the air again. I wanna ask those who miss out on the prop bull run (ie. b4 they change thread title)
wat is in ur mind now? r u worried abt ur buss or job or cashflow or wat u can eat for ur nex meal hmm.gif

talk & do is 2 diff things nod.gif do note, we hav ARGUE thru version1 & 2 discussing on the above Attached Image

QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 22 2011, 02:41 AM)
Ya, we may do not see price drop, but we did see properties being abandoned, nobody interest, empty shoplot/house, empty condo, empty mall.

Price never drop, because no transaction taking place...  tongue.gif  laugh.gif
This post has been edited by sulifeisgreat: Aug 22 2011, 07:03 AM
lucerne
post Aug 22 2011, 09:06 AM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 22 2011, 02:41 AM)

Price never drop, because no transaction taking place...  tongue.gif  laugh.gif
due to lack of investment options i think prop is still a most preferable investment.

if u going to compare to buy an endowment or education policy for child vs to buy a prop for your child, which has better return. many parent would think by time the child due for tertiary education, the money saved in insurance may not ennough for oversea study.

i always encourage my fren to buy prop i/o buying insurances.
if u need an insurance , just buy PA (for higher protection wiht min sum) or medical insurance. (both paid annually until u r rich enough to foot the medical bill eg sell 1-2 prop for operation etc)
p/s: no need to buy annual medical insuarance if u r working at MNC. MNC will bear all your medical costs including SOS plan. Many insurance agent did not aware oof this. pls PM me if u need more clarification.

u can do many things if u owned many prop at old age, this is common people think.
In singapore and many advance countries, u can buy annuities thru your prop. just sell your prop (to govt and insurance co) and recvd a fixed monthly income til you die. u gain if die later/older, u loss if u die earlier..
TSsampool
post Aug 22 2011, 09:37 AM

2,294 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ Aug 22 2011, 10:06 AM)
due to lack of investment options i think prop is still a most preferable investment.

if u going to compare to buy an endowment or education policy for child vs to buy a prop for your child, which has better return. many parent would think by time the child due for tertiary education, the money saved in insurance may not ennough for oversea study.

if u need an insurance , just buy PA (for higher protection wiht min sum) or medical insurance.  (both paid annually until u r rich enough to foot the medical bill eg sell 1-2 prop for operation etc)
p/s: no need to buy annual medical insuarance if u r working at MNC. MNC will bear all your medical costs including SOS plan. Many insurance agent did not aware oof this. pls PM me if u need more clarification.

u can do many things if u owned many prop at old age, this is common people think.
In singapore and many advance countries, u can buy annuities thru your prop. just sell your prop (to govt and insurance co) and recvd a fixed monthly income til you die. u gain if die later/older, u loss if u die earlier..
this advise sound familiar i heard 4 yrs ago in usa.. hehe..

insurance = prop --> wrong.. it is 2 different things, as insurance no matter endownment or life insurance are for "protection" not mean for investment/gambling.
post Aug 22 2011, 09:44 AM

1,549 posts

QUOTE(kh8668 @ Aug 21 2011, 11:27 PM)
Haha.... r u so sure subsale price not drop and continue up??? Maybe u eye on the area different for me tongue.gif .
venven81
post Aug 22 2011, 09:45 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ Aug 22 2011, 09:06 AM)

if u need an insurance , just buy PA (for higher protection wiht min sum) or medical insurance.  (both paid annually until u r rich enough to foot the medical bill eg sell 1-2 prop for operation etc)

insurance is about passing the risk to third party rather than taking the risk on your own. if you're super rich and want to cover the risk on your own, by all means. if given the option, average people would rather pass on the risk to insurance company to take care of the unforeseen circumstances rather than burning their own pocket to fork out a large sum of money to pay all those medical bills and selling/cashing out from property is never a good idea as property is not a liquid asset.

yes you're right about working at MNC or any company for that matter that the company normally would have medical coverage for the employees and even their family members. But what you missed out is that what is going to happen to you if you're no longer working with that company? or retrenched? who's gonna cover the medical bill then? that's why it's ALWAYS WISE to have personal medical insurance cover even though the company has already got you covered.
myone1015
post Aug 22 2011, 10:17 AM

65 posts

Someone: Are property prices going to up further?

Speculator: Yes, definitely.

Investor: Maybe.

House buyer: No.
lucerne
post Aug 22 2011, 10:17 AM

1,946 posts

sorry i dun mean to turn this thread to insurance debate.

what i am trying to say is prop investment can be another option of protection (for some people). it is up to individual preference/decission. me just want to says some ppl think like that (including me) coz not much investment option here in msia, and some prefer prop over insurance, share etc.
pls pm me if u want to know my experiences (eg prop vs insurance etc)
AVFAN
post Aug 22 2011, 10:42 AM

24,471 posts

if u need an insurance , just buy PA (for higher protection wiht min sum) or medical insurance.  (both paid annually until u r rich enough to foot the
i used to think exactly like this in the past. i can fully understand yr statement. you may not think the same in 10-20 yrs time.

QUOTE(venven81 @ Aug 22 2011, 09:45 AM)
yes you're right about working at MNC or any company for that matter that the company normally would have medical coverage for the employees and even their family members. But what you missed out is that what is going to happen to you if you're no longer working with that company? or retrenched? who's gonna cover the medical bill then? that's why it's ALWAYS WISE to have personal medical insurance cover even though the company has already got you covered.
now, i think exactly like this. haven't missed buying it cheaper when younger, i now pay a lot more at an older age. medical charges in private hospitals have skyrocketed making medical insurance very costly now. coverage by employer will cease one way or another - that happens to everyone once you lose your job or retired - a matter of time. best to buy something even when young.

QUOTE(lucerne @ Aug 22 2011, 10:17 AM)
sorry i dun mean to turn this thread to insurance debate.

what i am trying to say is prop investment can be another option of protection (for some people).  it is up to individual preference/decission. me just want to says some ppl think like that (including me) coz not much investment option here in msia, and some prefer prop over insurance, share etc.
pls pm me if u want to know my experiences (eg prop vs insurance etc)
personally, i disagree. bad idea to mix the two up, cloud yr priorities and needs.
prop inv is investment, like all investments. you can lose yr pants and be in debt.
insurance is insurance - there is no substitute.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 22 2011, 10:44 AM
SUSUFO-ET
post Aug 22 2011, 11:01 AM

6,747 posts

well said! nod.gif
TSsampool
post Aug 22 2011, 12:20 PM

2,294 posts

QUOTE(myone1015 @ Aug 22 2011, 11:17 AM)
Someone: Are property prices going to up further?

Speculator: Yes, definitely.

Investor: Maybe.

House buyer: No.
Prop Agent: As long as there is ppl willing to work for developer & bank for life... my income will not be affected.
lucerne
post Aug 22 2011, 12:32 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 22 2011, 10:42 AM)
personally, i disagree. bad idea to mix the two up, cloud yr priorities and needs.
prop inv is investment, like all investments. you can lose yr pants and be in debt.
insurance is insurance - there is no substitute.
as i said i dun refuse insurance protection but wat i advocate is to buy just the insurance with max protection eg term insurance or PA.
i jsut want to compare saving type insurance (eg endowment and education etc) with prop. this saving type insurance usually pay higher premium than the simple term insurance (life or PA), for the same protection amount.
some saving type insurance need to pay premium >1k, 2k, 3k.. etc /month (for a period of 10-20 years depend on the plan). for me, i prefer to pay this installment in my prop investment. when reach 20 -30 yrs time, the prop value usually will be higher than the insurance saving plan. some insurance will pay out fix $ per month(for living?) after 10-20 years but i prefer to collect rental which follow the inflation rate. The fix $ from insurance co may not enough for my living.

again i dun want to turn this thread to insurance debate.
i think quite a number of ppl will think the same as me and invest prop for the retirement, edu fee/funds etc. so the prop market is not only driven by speculators, migration, new marriage etc but also many from this group of ppl.
debtismoney
post Aug 22 2011, 01:17 PM

607 posts

QUOTE(kh8668 @ Aug 22 2011, 01:27 AM)
Dude, check this out.

http://www.iproperty.com.my/propertylistin...ominium_ForSale

All below market price(some of them are even lower than launch price)

"Urgent! Urgent sale.
Foreign owner wants to sell out urgently.

Please call to get more detail of urgent price."

Hopefully, this desperate seller is not one of us. Curious about what urgent price the seller got to offer?

The average household debt to income ratio can only reach to a certain level, when household can't take on more/lager mortgages to sustain the current house prices, the music stops.

Just dig out the past decade household debt/GDP or income data, you will see the ratio went up correlated to the house price frenzy. If I'm not mistaken (I read an article the other day), our household debt level in boleh land has reached the level as in the US before their housing burst.

No doubt, we had a decade long property bull run, but the train has left the station, if you go chasing the train now, you will get slaughtered once the train turns direction.

As I've said, at some point, the investors will have to service their mortgage if they can't find the next buyer, where are they going to get the income/cash flow in the economy, as the pool of money is only this BIG.

Look at the debt crisis in the US/Eurozone, it won't go away until we have a global reset/recession, make sure you can fill your gas tank and put food on the table before you buy another investment property.

Just my 2 cents smile.gif go buy some GOLD before the world currency collapses.

This post has been edited by debtismoney: Aug 22 2011, 01:21 PM
post Aug 22 2011, 02:05 PM

1,549 posts

QUOTE(debtismoney @ Aug 22 2011, 01:17 PM)
Dude, check this out.

http://www.iproperty.com.my/propertylistin...ominium_ForSale

All below market price(some of them are even lower than launch price)

"Urgent! Urgent sale.
Foreign owner wants to sell out urgently.

Please call to get more detail of urgent price."

Hopefully, this desperate seller is not one of us. Curious about what urgent price the seller got to offer?
The average household debt to income ratio can only reach to a certain level, when household can't take on more/lager mortgages to sustain the current house prices, the music stops.

Just dig out the past decade household debt/GDP or income data, you will see the ratio went up correlated to the house price frenzy. If I'm not mistaken (I read an article the other day), our household debt level in boleh land has reached the level as in the US before their housing burst.

No doubt, we had a decade long property bull run, but the train has left the station, if you go chasing the train now, you will get slaughtered once the train turns direction.

As I've said, at some point, the investors will have to service their mortgage if they can't find the next buyer, where are they going to get the income/cash flow in the economy, as the pool of money is only this BIG.

Look at the debt crisis in the US/Eurozone, it won't go away until we have a global reset/recession, make sure you can fill your gas tank and put food on the table before you buy another investment property.

Just my 2 cents smile.gif go buy some GOLD before the world currency collapses.
Thank you for sharing....

http://www.propwall.my/bandar_sunway/sunway_south_quay

look at the asking price psf from 800 (01-11) drop to 550 (05-11).

kh8668
post Aug 22 2011, 02:23 PM

Mamma Mia!
5,488 posts

okay... see this also http://www.propwall.my/bandar_sunway/lacosta

I don't think even the socalled urgent price - will be lower than the original purchased price.

Some sort of 5% to 10% discounts were given, who knows?

hehehe....somemore, sunway south quay, this socalled high-end development is always not my cup of tea, just like KLCC - i don't think local people will want to choose to stay there with exemption of Bangsar and Mont'Kiara.

hmm..yeap yeap, maybe I am an easy-going person, too optimistic about everything include property market. wink.gif

This post has been edited by kh8668: Aug 22 2011, 02:25 PM
TheDoer
post Aug 22 2011, 03:22 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Aug 22 2011, 07:02 AM)
aiyoyo  doh.gif here we go again being pessimistic & etc
its all abt basic homework & location. know ur own target mkt & how long u can tahan if there is any downturn
Easier said then done. Out of a 100 people. How many will know what's the correct time/location, despite all the homework?

QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Aug 22 2011, 07:02 AM)
anyway, with pessimism in the air again. I wanna ask those who miss out on the prop bull run (ie. b4 they change thread title)
wat is in ur mind now? r u worried abt ur buss or job or cashflow or wat u can eat for ur nex meal  hmm.gif
It's being realistic. Optimism can't sustain us forever.

Infact it was optimism that got us here in the first place.

Borrow borrow borrow, buy buy buy....

Now that shit has happen, the speculators are pointing the fingers at those who foresaw where we were headed, as though we had any control over it.

128 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:21 PM