Are property prices going to up further? V3

TheDoer
post Jul 25 2011, 02:13 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(GangHo @ Jul 23 2011, 02:05 PM)
I have yet to see any of the political figure saying that bad time is coming and that we should prepare ourselves. Everything is only good. **IF** the finance ministry knows anything coming, e.g. credit crunching, he should warn us and not give us false hope that property price will increase further.
Should doesn't mean will. I still remember previous crisis, when the gov keep saying bullish even before impending disaster.

If the ship is sinking, do tell the rest everything is under control, so you can safely climb to the life boat.

Just broke the neutral balance. tongue.gif
TheDoer
post Jul 29 2011, 04:33 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jul 29 2011, 10:49 AM)
market swings. the past few months all is doom and gloom and now so many gung-ho again?
next week will be a VERY interesting week to know where we are heading.
This is why it's called speculating. Nobody really knows what's gonna happen. Just make guesses and place your bet.

If banks and speculators don't back up, in theory the party will never stop.
TheDoer
post Aug 5 2011, 11:04 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(kh8668 @ Aug 5 2011, 09:52 AM)
Lol... How the us and euro share markets affect property market in Malaysia? Noob here.
I'm no expert, but I would say, when share markets around the world drops. Companies will have less money to invest. Some may even close shop.

When this happens people will lose their jobs.

When companies close, and people lose their jobs. Other companies and people that support them, also lose business opportunities.

It's a chain effect, that will effect companies in Malaysia. This is what's called an economic crisis.

And when that happens in Malaysia, people who take out big loans, may default on their loan.

Causing a drop in demand and surplus of available props in the market.

2ndly, the scare factor, or the potential for a drop, will scare people into a selling frenzy. To get their props off their hands before they get into trouble.

The difference between the stock market and prop market is the rate of speculation. 1 goes up and down faster than the other.

But they are all the same, over optimism may increase the price beyond it's real value. People with holding power may hold on to their props, hoping that their prop location doesn't turn into a ghost town.

Correct me if I'm wrong.
TheDoer
post Aug 5 2011, 01:50 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(garagesell @ Aug 5 2011, 11:40 AM)
all the price jack up by f***ing agent.. u guys agreed? they simply simply jack the price without f***ing knowledge.  if base on bank.. how f***ing real market price. my housing area here... terrace house can go for 1.5mil nia ma.. ghost only will buy. 3 years no one interested. HAHA. all agent problem. tell owner can can.. can sell.. sell my cock!
Actually it's not just the agent. It's the prop speculators first. They buy to make a profit, this is why they'll never sell you market rate.

They also represent the people whom will buy those props and crazy prices, because they think they can sell it back again.
TheDoer
post Aug 5 2011, 02:50 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(kh8668 @ Aug 5 2011, 12:46 PM)
LOL...good good good...

Let's see how many of us here losing our jobs? Do you foresee you will lose your job in the next 6 months?
I really can't say. But if your company deals with mostly foreign companies, then surely you're company will be effected.

before the last economic crisis, a branded MNC company my friend worked in, invested quite alot in building a new site, acquiring facilites, and getting their employees to shift to the new plant.

2 years later it went bust.

This post has been edited by TheDoer: Aug 5 2011, 02:51 PM
TheDoer
post Aug 5 2011, 03:34 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Aug 5 2011, 03:14 PM)
there are alot SMI/SME not doing well for quite sometime, just that "good news must share, bad news keep to themshelves". Even now those MNC are facing/monitoring collection jor. Dunno about you all, look around, all those big big signboard across KV are emptying. I think company are cutting adver/marketing budget jor
I noted that the chinaman company I worked for did better than the MNC company, because they foresaw the crisis, and started cost cutting measures 2 years before.
TheDoer
post Aug 8 2011, 11:37 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(garagesell @ Aug 6 2011, 01:16 AM)
not so agree with u. if all the agent told owner, cant sell at that price, then i believe price will not go higher! maybe we can say demand is still high outside there?

we need to know one thing, those load with cash they can buy with huge cash and whatever high price of the property it wont be a matter for them. so, we need to kill out this category of people first!
Yes, they could but they wouldn't. In their mind now is the owner wants to make a profit. He definately will not sell it at a lost. And if the owners is cash rich, and is just looking for someplace to dump his cash then again he wouldn't be bothered whether people buy his house or not. For the agent, the more houses he sells the more money he makes, so he wouldn't increase the price beyond what he can sell.

The reason why an agent dares to raise prices is because there is a demand. And the demand here comes from Speculators who are thinking of raising the price further later .

I know of a case, whereby an agent doesn't want to sell a house because the owner had markup his price above market rate.

But yes, I do find it ridiculous what the agents are making. For a 300K prop in kv, the agent was asking for RM10K in comission.

Why are we so dumb, playing investor, when we should be agents instead?
TheDoer
post Aug 8 2011, 01:43 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Aug 8 2011, 12:14 PM)
everyday daily newsprint and media will repeating the same depressing news.

question:
1. when would you buy your property?
2. how low do you expect it to go? 20%? 30%? 50%?
3. are you worried about your job?

yes, you campers have been saying "i told you so". if this is really happening, may i know if you are sincerely happy?

me? am neutral on the whole subject. up. happy. down. happy too. yippee. icon_rolleyes.gif
1. Never. Already bought a family home despite the rate. Will only buy if I need another home.

2. Don't know. I just know it will drop. But anyway, while economy crisis was looming, I was thinking of the housing bubble bursting, irrespective to it.

3. Yes, worried. And Yes, I'm happy, because I looked like an idiot when everybody said I was wrong. If it was coming, it would come irregardless of what I said, so it is better that I had said the right thing.

Being right, also grants people the ability to prepare and act.

However nothing was done on my side. I was just too depressed by people's attitude towards the market, so I just got fama's help and we're moving to a house in the outskirts. Who cares whatever happens to the rest of the market. Even if we stay in a ghost taman, we will make the most of it.

I however cheer for those who had stood their ground. Assuming prop price will indeed drop significantly.

P.S. Another of my concerns why I bought early was, even if houses were cheap, I might not necessarily get the house I want then.

This post has been edited by TheDoer: Aug 8 2011, 01:49 PM
TheDoer
post Aug 8 2011, 03:59 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(nkhong @ Aug 8 2011, 03:46 PM)
Euro counters opened GREEN. Five more hours to US counters.
bursa red at midday.

I wonder whether this is just a temporary thing or will it continue. What we do know is the gov's of the world, are trying to reassure people that things will become better.
TheDoer
post Aug 9 2011, 10:54 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Aug 8 2011, 07:37 PM)
friend, from your reply, it would seems your main priority is very self-centred and to stroke your bruised ego earlier on.
you wanna be right for the sake of being right without regarding others.
friend, give it a real thinker. do you think that your neighbours will be equally kind or people around you are gonna care less when economy crashes.
when economy downturns, my first thoughts are always for the safety of all. it ain't no joke when people become desperate. even a doctor or a lawyer or an accountant when push to the limit might just very well commit crime to safeguard their own interests.
am not saying you are wrong by your couldn't care less attitude. but please be sensitive to others who could be losing a lot of $$$.
when economy booms, i'm happy for others too even though i might not make a penny out of it.
Exactly what soongkm had said.

I had no control over the market. Infact I had preached that we live in moderation, so that we do not have burdens during crisis like this.

The inevitable had occur. What more can I say?

I too may be effected by this.

@soongkm, Thanks for understanding.

Just to clarify on my statement:
QUOTE(thedoer)
Who cares whatever happens to the rest of the market. 
I meant had bought a house without having to worry whether prices will continue to rise or fall. Worst case scenario being that market will fall, and my taman in the outskirts may turn into a ghost town. But that had been part of my consideration which I will accept and live with.

I am at the mercy of speculators, either way I lose.

This post has been edited by TheDoer: Aug 9 2011, 11:15 AM
TheDoer
post Aug 9 2011, 03:48 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(jessy123 @ Aug 9 2011, 01:18 PM)
I think that the worst case scenario for the next year or two would be prices will be flat for most areas ..there will be pockets of development that will face
a downward pressure on prices due to oversupply ..i dont believe there will be a huge downward spiral of prices as current unprecedented inflationary pressure will provide some support ..

those of us are highly geared up to our ears should consider rebalancing our portfolio to ensure we dont get caught with our pants down (so to speak) should interest rates rise further for instance..there are also macro and political factors to consider..

M2Cents
That's the expected worst case scenario.

But I consider that the best case scenario.

The best case scenario is those existing speculators are indeed cash rich, or there are cash rich speculators waiting to pounce on the market.

The worst case is, many speculators rely solely on loan, and when they lose their jobs, or they didn't foresee not being able to flip the houses in time. They end up defaulting and market gets saturated with these props.

This post has been edited by TheDoer: Aug 9 2011, 04:02 PM
TheDoer
post Aug 10 2011, 02:02 PM

1,853 posts

Optimism is good because it motivates us to achieve a certain goal. Getting through a rough spot, making things come true.

However, optimism in the market, is simply rewarding each other with more optimism only. Nothing is gained.

Example given, When I am optimistic that I can score an A in my exam, I will be motivated to study hard, and succeed.

When we are optimistic that the price of something will increase, we are later paid by people whom are optimistic that the price will go up even higher.

The real product of our optimism here is simply more optimism. It isn't real. It's just alot of hot air. And something with the foundation of nothing will eventually collapse.
TheDoer
post Aug 11 2011, 10:38 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(sampool @ Aug 11 2011, 09:03 AM)
some more maya theory we need to face in 2012... 2012 is a year full of exciting  nod.gif
haha. yeah, maybe we should withdraw all our money and enjoy it before it's too late.

Help the economy in the process. laugh.gif
TheDoer
post Aug 11 2011, 11:30 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(M&N @ Aug 11 2011, 11:18 AM)
do u think economy downturn in US & Europe will affect our property market?
simple. If our economy is effected then it will.

If "somehow" Malaysia's economy is unaffected by the US. Then should be no problem, because RE speculators aren't so easily scared.
TheDoer
post Aug 22 2011, 03:22 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Aug 22 2011, 07:02 AM)
aiyoyo  doh.gif here we go again being pessimistic & etc
its all abt basic homework & location. know ur own target mkt & how long u can tahan if there is any downturn
Easier said then done. Out of a 100 people. How many will know what's the correct time/location, despite all the homework?

QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Aug 22 2011, 07:02 AM)
anyway, with pessimism in the air again. I wanna ask those who miss out on the prop bull run (ie. b4 they change thread title)
wat is in ur mind now? r u worried abt ur buss or job or cashflow or wat u can eat for ur nex meal  hmm.gif
It's being realistic. Optimism can't sustain us forever.

Infact it was optimism that got us here in the first place.

Borrow borrow borrow, buy buy buy....

Now that shit has happen, the speculators are pointing the fingers at those who foresaw where we were headed, as though we had any control over it.
TheDoer
post Aug 22 2011, 04:57 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(myone1015 @ Aug 22 2011, 04:48 PM)
which project is offering discount now?
aiyah... this one all tipu.

Who knows whether it's a discount or not? They can put any price they want. As long as there are enough optimistic people to buy them.

And this optimism, has nothing to do with what people can actually afford.
TheDoer
post Aug 23 2011, 11:44 AM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(kh8668 @ Aug 22 2011, 05:00 PM)
world capitalism....u got your own choice anyway..hehe
In away yes, I have a choice. But do I really?

Supposedly, everybody in the same boat, should know how to behave for their own good. but when everybody starts rocking, my choice of not rocking doesn't really make a difference. And of course, me rocking, wouldn't be helping either.
TheDoer
post Aug 23 2011, 04:45 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Aug 23 2011, 02:56 PM)
if me, i will find the earliest possible way out of the boat  tongue.gif
I wished there were.

Added on August 23, 2011, 4:47 pm
QUOTE(kochin @ Aug 23 2011, 02:58 PM)
luckily i know how to swim and i can swim for kilometres non-stop if i have to.  brows.gif
I wished I could.

=====

And whatever it is. Doing it, while not rocking the boat in the process. Else, I'd be no better.

This post has been edited by TheDoer: Aug 23 2011, 04:47 PM
TheDoer
post Aug 24 2011, 12:08 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(kh8668 @ Aug 24 2011, 10:19 AM)
Ask yourself, how the valuer set the so-called minimum price? or from a layman's perspective, like most of us, if we wanna sell our things, how we set our minimum price ?
From my layman's POV. I will sell my thing, at a minimum of what I paid for it. And no higher than the market value if I want to get it off my hands fast.

I believe that the reserve price reflects this.

And this could be that the bank loaned a big amount to the defaulting borrower. Forcing the bank to set such a high reserve price or face losts.

Only after several no bid auctions, will the price of this units drop.

my personal non professional POV.
TheDoer
post Aug 24 2011, 01:40 PM

1,853 posts

QUOTE(kh8668 @ Aug 24 2011, 12:42 PM)
Hmm..the minimum price of what you had paid could be higher than Market Value wor. LOL [This supports the property price will keep higher as noone willing to sell lower than what he paid for] wink.gif
That's why I said "and no higher than the market value".

We must not look at banks as reality players. They do not buy and sell property for a profit. They take risk on people, not directly on what ever investments these people are making.

When a loan defaults, their first objective is to liquidize assets seized as soon as possible, with minimum lost.

If the starting bid is already above market price. Then it runs a risk of nobody buying it, and they have to hold on the prop a little longer. Note that the previous loan amount (market value) may not be the current market value.

And what will happen if they start accumulating assets that they can't sell? They'll no longer be a bank but a realtor/car dealer. And they take on the risks of a property speculator.

If they start the bidding lower, at market price for example (even at a lost), they can hope that a bidding frenzy will bring the prices back up.

So reasonably, if it was me, the highest I'd go at my first attempt will be the market value, even if it was at a lost.

Added on August 24, 2011, 1:48 pmIf the banks were indeed interested in prop investment, why do they, offer you a loan, while they could be the ones who purchase those "sure win" investments?

It's because they do not want to get involved in it.

In a gold rush, the surest profit is the tools used for mining.

What the bank does is they take a risk on the borrower, by considering his ability to pay back. If he can pay back, then even if his investment drops in value, he will still need to pay it back, or declare bankruptcy. Which the bank is sure, nobody wants.

In the worst case scenario, that bankruptcy is declared, the bank tries to cut back on losses by liquidizing the collateral asset.

This I believe is the strategy used. If I was the bank.

This post has been edited by TheDoer: Aug 24 2011, 01:51 PM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0683sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:00 AM