Are property prices going to up further? V3

lucerne
post Jun 28 2011, 01:57 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Jun 28 2011, 01:26 PM)
Definitely wait. I bought my house in 2005 and was thinking of upgrading to a nicer home in 2010 so had a look at the prices then.
I was pleasantly surprised that my own home had appreciated by about 80%.

Then I had a look at potential places for upgrading and saw that the prices in those places also had increased by a similar margin.

After some thinking I decided it was not worth spending additional x amount to move to a nicer place, which I can use for many years for other things such as child's education, holidays, electronics, food, etc.

I don't mind staying in my current home as I did my research back then to pick a good one. I will definitely stay here unless prices come down in a big way again. It's simply not worth the extra money to upgrade from my current house.
if the price drop due to poor economy, yr current prop also drop. r u sure u still want to upgrade as u need to folk out more $ while your job is uncertain?
like i said, why u all hope for a crash? if we work harder/smarter , we earn more and we can upgrade to a better home. since everyone earn more, the economy is good, more investments pouring and more opp for all. and i like to compare to shanghai again. the ppl there are happy and many upgrade to better home, as they know they will earn more due to their high compentency in workplace and many mnc are coming to hire more ppl to expand biz. now china looking to expand internal consumption, old day=made in china, now= made for china. if u stay in sh long enough u will know how efficient is their ppl. from sales coordinator up to managers. also their courier service can reach within a day in sh. i found even sg also cant match...no one in sh expect their doc to arrive the next day...cant imagine how hard working the chinese ppl.. bank are open til late nite, all bank open on weekend.. inter bank giro transfer can reach next hour, outstation /province giro can reach few hours later. how we to compete ??
lucerne
post Jun 29 2011, 12:25 PM

1,946 posts

220k is bare unit and 300k with basis fitting eg tiles, toilet etc, if true then price is no diff from the normal condo/apt
lucerne
post Jun 30 2011, 09:34 AM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(newx @ Jun 30 2011, 08:50 AM)
Just come back from Singapore and believe that there will be no significant drop in property price in MY. We have lots of highly paid malaysians there to support current price. Cheers.
how many highly paid msian in oversea (eg sg, sh, anz, ME etc)? some reported 1mil.
if every of htem buy ave prop, so 1mil x 3 = 3mil

what is total house in msia? 6mil?

Added on June 30, 2011, 9:36 amsorry, average 3 prop per oversea msian

existing stock = 4.5mil , new supply /completion= 1.5mil, total 6mil???

Added on June 30, 2011, 9:40 amso if ave every year 3mil , then 20 years = 60mil units
oversea msian oni 5%.. but maybe they supported hi end prop then

Added on June 30, 2011, 9:43 amif really total units is 60mil, then every msian owned 2 units.

This post has been edited by lucerne: Jun 30 2011, 09:43 AM
lucerne
post Jul 1 2011, 11:34 AM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(terzam @ Jul 1 2011, 01:05 AM)
Personal opinions, of course
<<With this explanation, this means developers profit are in line with M'sia's inflation rate? No freaking way! But of course, they do get away with it>>
developers are gambling with raw material price increase in the next 3 yrs... so if developers made lot of profits mean they win in gamble (which the raw materials end up did not ate up their profits initially they anticipated raw x2, x3.. what if things became reverse, do the purchasers willing to top up $ or developers go bankrupt?

Added on July 1, 2011, 11:40 am
QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 1 2011, 12:08 AM)
We are experiencing that a house now hold less and less people due to smaller family, and family members are not living together like last time that you can have brother and sister family living in the same roof.
true, many of my unmarried fren are staying in 3 rooms condo, 4-5 rooms DSL or SD alone..imagine a family with 5 siblings.. parent one house, 5 siblings 5 houses. total 6 houses. and most of them also invest few prop for rental income.

This post has been edited by lucerne: Jul 1 2011, 11:40 AM
lucerne
post Jul 1 2011, 12:11 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(CKHong @ Jul 1 2011, 11:41 AM)
developer will have no risk not meh ? i thought only contractor will have risk if the raw material price is increase ?
Developer tell contractor > ok.. this condo i will pay 100 mil.. can u build it ? 
contractor  > Hmm.. will be able to cover with some profits..
next month raw material go up 50% >  the one kena will be contractor
am i wrong ?
of coz all sub/main contractors will increase their bid price la. developers hv no choice to accept higher bid coz they also worried the main con went kaput. same to main con...the sub con can run away too.. they all need ot gamble a bit but not definitely based on today price la. it is not the same as those days where the raw prices are quite stable. they can not use the same mark up for now..more risks involved..
lucerne
post Jul 1 2011, 02:44 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(McLaren01 @ Jul 1 2011, 01:29 PM)
Anyone can give thier opinion?
it depend on your needs , no need to follow others.
if u are single or just married, just stay condo is better option.

if u have kids and need more space /gardening/cycling etc then go for landed.

if u want to make some extra $, invest in stock will do.
lucerne
post Jul 5 2011, 06:55 PM

1,946 posts

will the relaxation of work permits bring in more expatriates and increase demand for klcc condo?
lucerne
post Jul 6 2011, 06:23 PM

1,946 posts

the average rental in sh for msian expatriate is about usd4-5k, =12-15k MYR. (much higher if u stay in bungalo) I lived in shimao riviera b4 and it is simialr to most high end klcc condo. fyi, most of the apt in sh are without club house and swim pools and the rental is lower (about usd1k to 3k)

yes, the salary in sh is at least 5 times more..
lucerne
post Jul 15 2011, 12:40 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(firee818 @ Jul 15 2011, 12:00 PM)
Read from today's news that GST is designed in the final stage and just waiting for PM to kick-off.

After general election, I think GST is going to be everyone's nightmare.

Fasten u safety belt and prepare for the next round property surge! sad.gif
i dont mind GST so long govt reduce income tax rates, a 3% reduction can save me a lot.. imagine every 100k can save 3k...200k =6k...

Added on July 15, 2011, 12:50 pmwha ti worry is tax rate no change but plus GST, then all my purchase eg clothing, electrical appliances, groceries, sundry etc. food and entertainment will not affected since they now charged service and sales tax already. i think GST will affect the poors more. BN will collaspe if they introduce GST b4 election.

This post has been edited by lucerne: Jul 15 2011, 12:50 PM
lucerne
post Jul 18 2011, 09:42 AM

1,946 posts

"if Malaysia can convince the world that they are ready for serious business, think malaysia prop still have rooms to move up. but sadly, our present G'ment is still..."

it is not our present govt will, coz they read rakyat's mind from various surveys. look at the recent muslim youth respones u will understand, in short BN will only implement policies that suit the majority. (which 70-80% prefer to be conservative, refuse western world and being strong religious), oni one eception they reject polygamy, haha

Added on July 18, 2011, 9:49 amimagine what will happen the next 10,20, 30.. years (when the youth become the policy maker of msia), i am quite disappointed with the results, and planning my exit plan...

those hope prop to drop got chance oredi coz many ppl will dispose their prop (in next few years) due to the above reasons..

This post has been edited by lucerne: Jul 18 2011, 09:49 AM
lucerne
post Jul 18 2011, 10:12 AM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(dlyw1103 @ Jul 18 2011, 09:56 AM)
many, in particular chinese are looking their way out of the country ... some are buying their way out. Anyone here prefer to work & permanently reside overseas given the chance?
yes I will. if not my aged mom, i will not return to Msia. I hv been working oversea for more than 15 years and came back to Msia 2 yrs ago.

as per the muslim youth survey, pls read more on merdeka centre or listen to today BFM 's current affiar . u can download from BFM website.
I dun want to discuss more on the results, pls do your own reading, study.
what i trying to say, msia will never become a first world country...(maybe towards Iran, Iraq??)
how this will affect prop prices?? u guess is same as mine..
lucerne
post Jul 20 2011, 10:39 AM

1,946 posts

lucky bulk of my sgd is still park in Sg. the exhcange now >2.47. soon will touch 2.5-2.6, same as USD, 15 years ago (1997 b4 crisis). another 15 years MYR will become Vietnam Dong. anopther 15 years--> Zimbabwe??
lucerne
post Jul 21 2011, 02:06 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(kh8668 @ Jul 21 2011, 12:43 PM)
Thursday July 21, 2011

Residents cry foul over steep quit rent increase

By YIP YOKE TENG
teng@thestar.com.my

RESIDENTS of Kelana D’Putera Condominium had a rude shock over the almost 200% increase in the quit rent.

They claimed that the quit rent has been increased from RM12,406 to RM34,128 within a year.

“We have heard that residents of some other condominiums also face the problem of paying high quit rent as a building that also houses shop units is categorised as mixed development. We will look into this,” he said.

is Kelana Puteri affected? Kelana also have a few shops inside eg mini market, cafeteria, salon, laundry etc.
so the quit rent will increase after they obtain the strata title??

Added on July 21, 2011, 2:12 pmreally dun understand why MPPJ is so stupid, they can just divide the commercial and residential prop la. hope DBKL is smarter.

This post has been edited by lucerne: Jul 21 2011, 02:12 PM
lucerne
post Jul 25 2011, 08:59 AM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(SunofaBeach @ Jul 25 2011, 03:31 AM)
What about changing target to invest in shoplots?
it is very true. after investors bought few residential prop, they find troublesome to manage them and start to buy shops coz it is easier to manage. I am one of them , hehe. so i foresee residential will be slower while shops will be very very hot. now investors are not buying 1-2 shops but 5-10 shops in one go, eg those successful bizman. (they used to buy 10-20 residence prop in one go). now i hardly find any good new shops to buy. Coz i dun have the power to nego with developers to buy 5-10 units. (oni managed to buy subsale recently, sigh)

Added on July 25, 2011, 9:04 amit is more difficult to invest in shops coz the units are limited, all sapu-ed by richies, unlike residential always has 500-800 units available.

Added on July 25, 2011, 9:10 ambut i still believed shops will be better potential coz msian like to do shopping. (survey results from one of the famous consultant ), haha

also many gerai-gerai will move to shops eventually.. noticed msia is the onli country that allowed so many gerai2 (even at parking lots, road divider, road side, kaki lima, under tree etc). i never see this in HK, China, Singapore, Korea, Japan, Taiwan etc.

This post has been edited by lucerne: Jul 25 2011, 09:10 AM
lucerne
post Jul 27 2011, 12:17 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(Shinky @ Jul 27 2011, 11:50 AM)
Hi all, I'm noob here.
Just want to ask. usually if you guys play property, when you say stretching, does it means maximize all your 1/3 income to pay for the property repayment or more?

Another question is I saw alot of properties with owners are cashing out their properties although they are still tenanted and quite profitable (about RM600 - RM800 rental). These apartments are sold RM180k - RM250k.

Hope all the sifu here can give some good advise here. Is it good to buy? Thanks.

low end prop (old and less than 200k type) has little or nomore appreciation. so it is better to cash out now and invest in higher rerurn assets.
low end prop tend to become worst if it turn to drug addict, illegal workers home. (not now but maybe in near future)
many ppl are now reside or move to better condo..even students..
lucerne
post Aug 6 2011, 10:11 AM

1,946 posts

haha...i will buy more if the price soften! especially commercial prop. now preparing more bullets. I hv prepared lot of ammo during 1997 asia financial crisis but cant get even one firesales (resident or commercial). all sapu-ed by Hartadana. hope this time i can accumulate more units.

i still believe in long run the commercial units will be in high demand in KL coz it is not nice all malays operate their biz at outdoor gerai2, uptown, pasar malam etc. ultimately they need proper shop. otherwise it is not fair to the shops who pay rental or installments (especially malay) to sell the same products eg clothing, shoe, watch, toy, hardware, foods, drinks etc.
i travel to many countries but have not seen a city like KL has so many gerai2 next to established commercial area (and create jam too)
lucerne
post Aug 6 2011, 10:47 AM

1,946 posts

i think govt will go all out to support the prop market coz govt or their cronies still have lot of landbank to sell to private sectors to earn more $. if the land price x5, their income will be x5 too. (govt no $ liao). All the while, BN is giving out the land to their cronies (at a very special low price) and then JV to develope the land eg pekeliling flat, tudm army airport, pudu jail, klfd, stadium merdeka, klia, pkfz etc. To other private developers (without BN connection, especially chinese) , will go all out to accumulate as much land as possible to sustain thier future business growth as they know they will never get cheap and good location land from govt. if no land they have to close shop so they will acquire more vacant land, new villages, bungalow, even school etc with much higher price. so in short, prop will never drop in msia. it can only go higher..
lucerne
post Aug 7 2011, 01:24 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(ayha2009 @ Aug 6 2011, 11:38 PM)
Change is constant. Never say never. Who know one day property drop like us.. You will agreed with us folk now..
I do believe they have the same believe as you.. flex.gif

Added on August 6, 2011, 11:43 pm
It is just the beginning like 2007. So do expect next year or 2013, lots of fire sale. In fact it is happening now.  rclxms.gif
Search for auction or ask the agent.
I' waiting for the good chance next year. icon_rolleyes.gif
i hv been actively monitoring the auction listing for quite some time (i subcribed to lelongtips.com) , there are no good prop listing for the last few months. only left those rotten prop which no one wanted. I think many good prop can fetch higher price now so the owner managed to dispose it at much higher price rather than being auctioned. I noticed many good prop was cancelled last minutes.. even it was auctioned, the final bid price is much higher than market price.

if there are firesales in open market, i think it will be snap up very quickly.
lucerne
post Aug 7 2011, 05:27 PM

1,946 posts

the bank act much faster now for auction if borrower defaulte installment jsut a few months. coz they know they can "make" $ thru auction. i have monitor the final bid price and most of them are near market price of higher. good prop always attract many bidders. poor location always no taker.
lucerne
post Aug 7 2011, 08:35 PM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Aug 7 2011, 05:53 PM)
may i ask how much is the auction price in relation to the market value of the property?
less 30%?
auction units tends to have debts such as outstanding maintenance fees, power bills, water bills, assessment, quit rents, sewerages, etc.
quite likely these outstandings bills would be in the region of well in excess of RM10k??
not to mention the possibility of the place being in a rundown condition.
anybody can share their view on successfully purchasing a auction unit before?
property gurus books have been advocating this. pls share info. thanks.

used to be 30% but lately some bank asking near market price.

bank will bear all the outstanding assessment, quite rent, maintenance fee ( but not sinking funds) , successful bidder has to bear utilities bills. whihc usually is not too high (if tnb do their job)

one good thing is u can enter the prop the next day if the auctioned prop is vacant/new VP-ed. (just show SnP to management and ask locksmitch to open, even the prop is still not officially belong to u yet but u can do some minor reno/repair/defects and ask contractor to quote, id design etc. ), usually the official transfer will take about 3-4 months. u can move in earlier if u think no big problem to do so. (depend on ex owner, bank dun care)

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0713sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:34 PM