121 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Bottom

2011 Kia Optima, when will launch in Malaysia?

sonyman
post Apr 5 2012, 12:27 AM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(w111w @ Apr 4 2012, 12:35 PM)
OMG!!! Buying a car without test drive... Are u kidding? By just reading cooment by other ppl only and straigth bought k5! ... To me this is ridiculous and crazy act...

Not all ppl got the same preference in driving.....no matter how, the k5 driving feel really not up to my expectation...

Although it got good looks...but tat is not impotant coz the design will outdate soon.... The thing tat will not outdate is the engine hp and torque....

After few years, when i feel the design is boring already, i will say WTF! ! wat car is this??. no power wan....no pick up wan...n blah blah
it is ok if you dont like the car. We here have to accept that. Unfortunately you have to get some other brands. Good for you, many out there for you to choose. I am sure you will find one suitable.

even if "you" feel the tech and spec and design is not up to your expectation," it is ok, because it is your expectation, not ours. not the buyers.

unfortunately you cannot enjoy what other K 5 owners are enjoying. i am sure you will think the same. If you own a camry, you will think, what other ppl are not enjoying your camry. Dont bother because those who have seen the K5, ended with a camry is also ok, their money what.

so what car you buy it is up to you, here we talk about the car, what we like, what we dont like, what can be better.

so u dont like, dont buy loh, simple as that.

DJSoo
post Apr 5 2012, 01:32 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(digitheatre @ Apr 4 2012, 04:55 PM)
haha..yeah we got ur 'honest' opinion..so move on..and no need to create so many account ID just to express ur opinionĀ  tongue.gif
Don't topic them, make this 2 fella answer n question theirself wink.gif

This post has been edited by DJSoo: Apr 5 2012, 02:24 AM
foongchai76
post Apr 5 2012, 01:49 AM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Apr 4 2012, 08:24 PM)
I think its you who needs to read the previous posts. My issue with what you posted was not really about what you said but the MANNER in which u said it. U talked as if u made some big discovery and we didnt know about it before. Nobody is saying the Optima is underpowered. Just cuz its sluggish on start-up doesnt mean its underpowered. Go and check out the torque curve before u comment further. U cant really compare a Teana with XCVT with the Optima. Totally different tech. The Optima's power kicks in mid range and thats when it will smoke the Teana. But 0-100kmph it will lose out to many other d segment contenders.

Now if u cant understand that simple english, do get a translator.
bro not need talk so much with this guy la, if he really understand about cvt, he won't talk alot here. cvt very noise when driving
JuneSeptember
post Apr 5 2012, 02:00 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(zrill @ Apr 4 2012, 08:21 PM)
First Malaysian K5 TT Session

Date: 7 April 2012 Saturday
Time: 9.00am
Venue: Awan Besar R&R at Kesas Highway
Who: K5 owners and basically anyone. No restriction

1. Zrill - (White)
2. Irangan - (PG)
3. Cybermaster98
4. Stanleychai - (White)
5. DJsoo - (Silver)
Who else would like to come? All are welcomed.
Thank you
Brother, i MAY join. 9:00am a bit early, i'm afraid i might not wake up in time. laugh.gif
DJSoo
post Apr 5 2012, 02:11 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Apr 4 2012, 07:27 PM)
He used to have a Myvi till he upgraded in 2009 to a Honda City. Then late last year he bought a pre-regis Polo.
Opss, having same car like me, own a Honda city at 2010' then 2011 get a pre-owned POLO for my wife.

Now changing to K5' .... Is not faster than POLO but I got many extra that what POLO don't have.
JuneSeptember
post Apr 5 2012, 02:13 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(capal buruk @ Apr 4 2012, 10:48 PM)
At Page 95... I decided not to respond to any of this uneducational war of words.

Might as well I answer this lady here. Btw Felice, I got mine for only 550km for RM120/63.5L on 100% city drive. (twice the same figure)
My Initial drive was 700km@RM120 but 50%city 50%hiway

I used RON 95. If premium, die lorr.....
Me too, rather than feeding the troll, might as well provide some useful info for Felice.

I have not managed to achieve higher than 550km per tank, ECO mode on or off also the same, current mileage is 3500km. Tried RON95 fuel only.

80 city 20 highway, and spends 15mins average on idle sleeping in the car each day. sweat.gif

irangan
post Apr 5 2012, 02:15 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(sidhu13 @ Apr 4 2012, 10:27 PM)
anyone applied the front sensors yet?
will it void the warranty guys?
I also on hold my mod on the side mirror due to warranty issue. Need to clarify this with my SA during my first service.

QUOTE(mail2fong @ Apr 4 2012, 10:35 PM)
Kia sales in US jump 30% in March. Optima is top seller.

http://www.businessweek.com/ap/2012-04/D9TTLCBG0.htm
Any figures from Malaysia for March? Eagerly to see the figures smile.gif

QUOTE(capal buruk @ Apr 4 2012, 11:34 PM)
Aiyaaaa!!!!! Bros.... and all the bros....I just wasted 3-4pages reading uninformative posts. Damn!

Like CM98, Zrill, Gregy, K5White, Felice, Irangan & latest william and most of the people here would like to share and obtain infos from each other. and I believed we all appreciate the infos given by one another. So argue with facts & figures and put in some educational infos. If dun have...shhhhhhhh....!

If dunno, quiet lorrr.... like CM98 asked me how burning smell can generate from Cat Con.. I dunno... I quiet lorr...  biggrin.gif  Will share once I have the info or have the time to find it.  whistling.gif

So please, I hope I wont have to read all these pointless post on the next page to come.

Bro Zrill/Irangan, I am almost 70% certain to be in KL this weekend.. Once i get the wife to agree tongue.gif
so I hope could see you guys there. Pls PM me your contacts.

Thanks. Bros & all the Bros
Hope to see you!

QUOTE(ivanhong @ Apr 4 2012, 11:51 PM)
how u guys drive until can get 600 to 700km?? my mileage now 2000km, so far full tank RM120 can get max 520km only (mostly city drive) sweat.gif
RON95 or 97? Why so low? Stuck in jam very often? Alot of braking?

QUOTE(squareballs @ Apr 4 2012, 11:58 PM)
Don't like ppl talk about bad things of the car U like or buy.. Stay off forums..
Always welcome constructive negative comment but not those obviously bashing without info post.

Like you said, forum is for discussion but when u came in with obviously bias and negative mind set. What else to discuss? That is called trolling or bashing IMO.

QUOTE(JuneSeptember @ Apr 5 2012, 02:00 AM)
Brother, i MAY join. 9:00am a bit early, i'm afraid i might not wake up in time.  laugh.gif
I always glad to morning call you if you need one. Haha
DJSoo
post Apr 5 2012, 02:21 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(capal buruk @ Apr 4 2012, 10:48 PM)
At Page 95... I decided not to respond to any of this uneducational war of words.

Might as well I answer this lady here. Btw Felice, I got mine for only 550km for RM120/63.5L on 100% city drive. (twice the same figure)
My Initial drive was 700km@RM120 but 50%city 50%hiway

I used RON 95. If premium, die lorr.....
Same here, I m facing my after 1000km service, full tank but only reach 550km . With 80% city drive
JuneSeptember
post Apr 5 2012, 02:22 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Apr 4 2012, 08:47 PM)
Can pump RON95.

Currently, using RON97. Just finished my first full tank and sending my car for my first service this week. 670km for full tank (RON97/70 litres). KL city travel, alot of jam.
Thanks for the link. Kevin23 sure do sounds like the another troll smile.gif
Bro, JOIN our TT!
Thanks for everything smile.gif

Who have those nice DSLR? Can take some pic to promote our car abit. Haha.

I getting nice quotation for sound proofing. And I need some opinion. During my tyre changing session yesterday, I got poisoned by this. Do you think that it will look nice on K5?
[attachmentid=2773189]
I think K5 goes really really well with 9-spoke concave rims like the following concept drawing:

However, the closest design i could find is this:

sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif 20inch some more.

However, if you put it on, you may get this:

And for those who owns white K5, this one looks pretty neat:

http://www.optimaforums.com/forum/8-optima...-thread-25.html
DJSoo
post Apr 5 2012, 02:28 AM

37 posts

Wish to get smaller size of rims or lighter to get a better FC.
JuneSeptember
post Apr 5 2012, 02:44 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Apr 4 2012, 10:17 PM)

http://cafe.naver.com/k5club.cafe?iframe_u...rch.boardtype=I
Scroll through the pages to have a look at what the Koreans are doing with their Optimas...
First thing i saw in your link is this:

sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
stanleychai
post Apr 5 2012, 07:49 AM

QUOTE(capal buruk @ Apr 5 2012, 12:13 AM)
Ivanhong, mine is the same like yours. 120@63.L would get me around 550km for city drive
i had 700km on my first attempt. but it was 50%hiway 50%city
Bros, I have the same. Have you on Eco mode? Any different? My load button on the player was stuck. Have to go back to SC during 1000km service...
cybermaster98
post Apr 5 2012, 07:53 AM

4,440 posts

Guys,

I think its to be expected that u will get poor fuel consumption readings during city driving. I said this when i saw the torque vs body weight stats even b4 its official launch in Dec. The Optima is sluggish during low range acceleration. Its power only kicks in mid range. Thats why when u floor the pedal on initial acceleration, there's a lag although your pedal is fully depressed.

So when ure dealing with a sluggish car during initial startup, practice gradual acceleration and only push harder once the car has gained momentum. You will see a big reduction in your fuel consumption. Thats why the Waja consumes heavily in city driving but is quite economical on highways while the Vios is economical even in city driving.

The Optima is a heavy car. Its heavier than most of the d segment Japs out there. So higher fc is to be expected in city driving.
SUSkevin23
post Apr 5 2012, 08:04 AM

1,803 posts

QUOTE(ivanhong @ Apr 4 2012, 11:51 PM)
how u guys drive until can get 600 to 700km?? my mileage now 2000km, so far full tank RM120 can get max 520km only (mostly city drive) sweat.gif
U duno meh, here all exxagerate kao kao wan. Whatever they state, just deduct 100km of, then u will get the real figure..
devil98
post Apr 5 2012, 08:57 AM

591 posts

QUOTE(DJSoo @ Apr 4 2012, 07:32 PM)
Gathering Quite early , I try to make it .. PM me your contact can ah?

Added on April 4, 2012, 7:41 pm

Devil98 bro, I m also facing the POLO turbo break down and make me make up my mind to changed to K5 .

Hahaha.. And I m not Korean boy.
not only polo, golf tsi also facing tis problem.. tats y its big stop point go for VW
seems like k5 highway drive FC not bad...FC is very important to me coz i 80% highway 20% city every day have travel 2 way around 100km+ balik rumah sweat.gif
gathering u guys organize again lo i join next time most likely i will book k5 next wk n expected car delivery in 2 mths tongue.gif

This post has been edited by devil98: Apr 5 2012, 08:59 AM
JuneSeptember
post Apr 5 2012, 09:19 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(devil98 @ Apr 5 2012, 08:57 AM)
not only polo, golf tsi also facing tis problem.. tats y its big stop point go for VW
seems like k5 highway drive FC not bad...FC is very important to me coz i 80% highway 20% city every day have travel 2 way around 100km+ balik rumah sweat.gif
gathering u guys organize again lo i join next time most likely i will book k5 next wk n expected car delivery in 2 mths  tongue.gif
Luckily i was turned off by VW's interior. The TSI engines and the performance figures were what attracted me last time.

Is it a common problem or is it only the older TSI engines?
cybermaster98
post Apr 5 2012, 09:29 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Apr 5 2012, 08:04 AM)
U duno meh, here all exxagerate kao kao wan. Whatever they state, just deduct 100km of, then u will get the real figure..
Typical butt hurt case. Must be nagging at yer guts eh to see positive reviews about the Optima. Enjoy!

I can get about 620km on 100% highway driving with aircon and travelling at 120kmph on my Vios 42L fuel tank. Now i suppose thats also an exageration eh? biggrin.gif
Kalist0
post Apr 5 2012, 09:41 AM

119 posts

ahh, finally saw one on the road this morning. well, as much as the love hate thing going on here, you cant deny that its freaking sexy on the road, especially that ASS.
saw a few pictures on the net, might give some inspiration to those who are thinking of changing their shoes.

and finally..

the only thing ugly about k5 is the original rims but well, people may like it smile.gif
anyway just another thought, wouldn't downgrading the original 18 to 17 inch save you some FC?

This post has been edited by Kalist0: Apr 5 2012, 09:44 AM
gregy
post Apr 5 2012, 09:47 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Apr 5 2012, 07:53 AM)
Guys,

I think its to be expected that u will get poor fuel consumption readings during city driving. I said this when i saw the torque vs body weight stats even b4 its official launch in Dec. The Optima is sluggish during low range acceleration. Its power only kicks in mid range. Thats why when u floor the pedal on initial acceleration, there's a lag although your pedal is fully depressed.

So when ure dealing with a sluggish car during initial startup, practice gradual acceleration and only push harder once the car has gained momentum. You will see a big reduction in your fuel consumption. Thats why the Waja consumes heavily in city driving but is quite economical on highways while the Vios is economical even in city driving.

The Optima is a heavy car. Its heavier than most of the d segment Japs out there. So higher fc is to be expected in city driving.
Actually, the Optima is within the norm in the D-segment category, weight wise. Give or take 1-3% difference between the heaviest and lightest. The lightest D-segment I've seen so far is the M6 which comes in at a trim 1,355kg. Optima is around 1,450, so is the Camry, Accord, while the Teana is around the 1,500kg mark.

FC can be improved by monitoring the Instant FC level on the multi-function display. With it, one will learn how to be an efficient driver.
cybermaster98
post Apr 5 2012, 09:49 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Kalist0 @ Apr 5 2012, 09:41 AM)
ahh, finally saw one on the road this morning. well, as much as the love hate thing going on here, you cant deny that its freaking sexy on the road, especially that ASS.
saw a few pictures on the net, might give some inspiration to those who are thinking of changing their shoes.

and finally..

the only thing ugly about k5 is the original rims but well, people may like it smile.gif
anyway just another thought, wouldn't downgrading the original 18 to 17 inch save you some FC?
Well im not sure about you, but i think the stock rims are ok. NOt the best for sure but still ok. Makes the car stand out more. But i think putting black rims such as the pics above totally removes the whole wow factor of the K5. Makes the car look like some typical ah beng car. I really hope none of you here do that to your K5. That would be really sad. But thats just my opinion.

121 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Top

0.0503sec    0.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:30 AM