2011 Kia Optima, when will launch in Malaysia?

sonyman
post Dec 23 2011, 08:26 AM

1,043 posts

i remember it was suppose to price not more than 140K as reported in NTV 7 quite a while ago. Probably 138,888
sonyman
post Dec 28 2011, 09:04 AM

1,043 posts

bro not too sure the aussie camry is what we are getting, this aussie one is like american camry, if so and yes we are getting, then teana may make more sales, cause this camry not uncle enough. too young, malaysian mentality , class d uncle car, except mazda 6, kia optima, even sonata turning into uncle look now since the k5 is out.

another thing, next few years camry is still giving normal NA engine, of course optima is also NA, unfortunately i think the new engines should be small cc with direct injection and assist with turbo and so on. like KERS Hybrid, and what ever, camry still dual VVti, i think no big deal, what i like to see is the improvement in the engine instead of higher CC cars like eco boost, TSi CGi and so on.

This post has been edited by sonyman: Dec 28 2011, 09:12 AM
sonyman
post Jan 8 2012, 05:52 PM

1,043 posts

the optima leather may be not run in yet, a few time polish and moisturize may help. but i feel optima seat is much more comfortable compare to forte
sonyman
post Jan 22 2012, 03:04 PM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 21 2012, 12:27 PM)
I just went to the Kia Red Cube along Federal HIghway tis morning hoping to get my 5th look at the car. I arrived at 9.45am and the showroom was supposedly opened at 8.30am. Everything open but no salesman anywhere. The cleaner came up and passed me a brochure. I waited about 30mins and he didnt show up. I checked everywhere but he was nowhere to be found.

This is the crap service that Naza provides. Really tarnishes the name of Kia. How does Naza expect to change the perception of Malaysians towards the Korean brand when they have such poorly trained sales ppl with no professionalism?? Really pisses me off. Its not just 1 showroom. Its kinda widespread!  vmad.gif
reconmend you go glenmarie one, this federal highway only ghost will serve you, those dealer who got no car usually bring customer there to look see.

go to glenmarie one lah, just down the road. not too far away, last time was there, spoke to kevin. nice guy.

Added on January 22, 2012, 3:09 pmi think 5th time you hoping for a test drive is it? well, u must open mouth, or tell the prospective sales person, "
this is cheque of 1000, if i like the car after i drive it. you get to keep the cheque and i will take the car. otherwise i will take the cheque back, "

this probably will help you a lot in your destiny to look for your ultimate drive.

This post has been edited by sonyman: Jan 22 2012, 03:09 PM
sonyman
post Jan 23 2012, 02:42 PM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 22 2012, 11:28 PM)
No la bro. There is no rest drive unit available. The reason i go often to view the car is to get rid of the initial wow factor. After seeing 5-6 times and ure still impressed with the car, then ure probably making a good choice. I did the same with the Peugeot 508 and after 4 test drives, im not really impressed anymore. Best specs of the lot but rear comfort is an issue. NOt sure how it is with the Optima.
whats wrong with the 508, nice car what. comfortable. Anyway optima is not very much better if you expect more than just its good looks. interior wise i still think 508 is hands down. optima nice to look when it is new, once 2 to 3 years down the line, it will look outdated, why i have this conclusion, aggressive design cannot last, it captures the wow, but cant last, cause the next design will soon outdate it. unlike peugeot's the design i feel are ever lasting, i still think 407 is a very very sexy looking car despite its age on the design, same with 508. a little difficult to appreciate but once you like how it looks, it will last a long long sexiness.

depends on what u like and the angle you looking at. i bet you better go back to T after the hassle and problems. else the passat is a good buy. other than that mondeo is also great, unless you are so afraid of used value and spare parts. if those you can accept then you got a wider range of choices. otherwise it is just T and H basically.

T no head ache
H a bit of headache but ppl who buy are fan boys.

any other than these, you just taking risk only.

sonyman
post Jan 24 2012, 02:42 PM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 24 2012, 04:06 AM)
Thats wht i asked before. I wanted the local test drive reports. Is there any? Can someone post links?

Added on January 24, 2012, 4:07 am

Have u test driven the 508? Try putting 3 adults at the back and then running over bumps. The car's suspension feels like its 10 yrs old. Surely dont expect that in 170K car. Havent test driven the Optima so not sure if its the same problem.
sorry pal havent test driven any 508, sat in a non moving one. well no one would let me try one. anyway i know back seat is a little cramp. well if thats the case then this 508 probably a flop here loh, especially every single road in PJ has speed bump. u said 10 yrs old suspension means it sinks totally in and hit the bumps? well if its the case then it is bad.

but optima should at least fair better. or else another flop, back to the drawing boards, camry it shall be.

Added on January 24, 2012, 2:51 pm
QUOTE(kevin23 @ Jan 24 2012, 10:24 AM)
Since its launch I have not seen one on the road yet . After all the prelaunch hype, suddenly I don't see anyone talking about this car anymore.

Obtw, I paid a visit to red cube along fed highway to see what the fuss was all about. Exterior is good looking.but step in and it doesn't have that feel good factor to it unlike when u step in a honda accord.

K5 doors felt thin and hollow. Cheapo plastics were all over. Somehow if I had rm150k money to spend, I definitely 100% will not buy this .

And Korean car designs somehow don't last the test of time. Just look at forte, when just launch looks great. Now about 2years down the road, I see one on the road I wanna puke. Looks so outdated d. Looks like a box on wheels. And when I see a honda city on the road, somehow it looks like it had been just launched a few months back.
friend u complain so much, what in your mind is a good looking car? honda City? honda civic? or honda accord. Yucks, no taste, civic 2012, taste like porridge with no salt. ya i know, resale value mah... driving dynamics mah.. i still feel altis is a better buy than civic,.. ya i know, altis where got power..
altis suspension better than civic mah., dual VVti better than inteligent Vtec mah.. haha, what to argue. nothin, so how? just buy the car u like and keep you bad thoughts to yourself we all here know you are jealous of the Forte, no doubt, if you see forte try no to puke in your own car. its very very messy.

at least forte is getting more and more on the road, in just about 2 to 3 years since it was given birth here. i hope the new civic they will increase price more than 10k so that the Koreans would look like better buy. and your honda will always be better resale value. everyone win.

This post has been edited by sonyman: Jan 24 2012, 02:51 PM
sonyman
post Jan 24 2012, 07:06 PM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Jan 24 2012, 03:35 PM)
Haih,typical losers way of talking.
well not a loser, at least i am smarter, prefer use my money in a more effective way, but don't get me wrong, i don't own a kia, but i don't like ppl who speaks rubbish about the same thing every time. it is really boring. why do you even bother to even go look and see the optima, if you already don't like it, and tell everyone here in a funny way how you don't like it, be nice lah, put your words nicely we wont offend you any way. i know, honda accord the best in its class, no doubt about that. but when it comes to comparison use nice words.

we all cannot agree more the koreans are now very close to the japs and attracts more buyers, though not overtaking japs, ya, the japs are still superior "applicable in malaysia", but you know lah, korean is bloody cool in everything now, from the 4 most important elements in the world, beautiful cars, beautiful girls, and bloody competitive smartphones and TV's, it defies the law of japanese number 1, heck the sony TV is loosing money, only thing koreans haven't conquer, the gaming industry, though Sony still leads the pack. but who knows, sometime down this year, Samsung gaming platform.

at least minimum the K gals are hot,

This post has been edited by sonyman: Jan 24 2012, 07:19 PM
sonyman
post Feb 13 2012, 06:43 PM

1,043 posts

you are tau keh, can go anywhere anytime you want mah, there are lot of office workers cannot come out unless they take a day off just to molest the car.
sonyman
post Feb 18 2012, 03:17 PM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(epo @ Feb 18 2012, 11:08 AM)
Which stupid shop tu... here in sg buloh the shop accept trade-in for any korean tires such as nexen, kumho, hangkok but prepare the trade-in price la... even new maybe RM100 per piece for 17"/18" size...
Better sell via mudah.my...
seriously most shops in Klang and meru will take but at a lower price. the tyres can be used what.

Anyway @ Cybermaster98, why are you concern about the tyre. unless you dont trust them?

but this does not mean nexen tyres are not good rite? they are not as good as michelin or Bridgestone and the rest, but it don't mean it will kill you on a highway by blowing apart suddenly.

if don't like, sell it to the shop at a lower price otherwise keep those tyres yourself, it may turn out handy, If the price you feel is not right.

unless you wanna ask the sales person from Naza to makan your tyre and you ask him to get you michelin PS3. die loh the sales man, rugi rugi habis do your business.

hey cybermaster man. relax lah, when forte came with kumho tyres, no one know what the heck was the tyre. no one seem to complain too much about it also, if talking about dangerous encounters, never came across a forte tyre blown apart during driving. Only celup tyre will blow apart. try one side by side with the lorry, it is really fun...

the whole car will shake.... you will get a adrenaline rush with that. i kena before.

but i do agree with you, michelin tyres are very very good, i am using them, the confident in wet conditions, it is really something you really paid for.

used, PP2, Energy XM 2 and primacy LC, but the best is still PP2, bloody good tyres.

Added on February 18, 2012, 3:22 pmanyway, here is a contact for you to find out more about nexen tyre

Quick-Save Automart (M) Sdn Bhd
No.2, USJ7/3A, Subang Jaya
47610, Selangor, Malaysia
Tel: 03-56360917

maybe you should ask them which one is comparable to the michelin standard. probably they know better.

This post has been edited by sonyman: Feb 18 2012, 03:23 PM
sonyman
post Feb 21 2012, 04:53 PM

1,043 posts

@ cybermaster98 so you booked your unit already? still looking around?

anyway camry coming very soon just a couple of months down the line,
sonyman
post Mar 8 2012, 09:08 PM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 8 2012, 12:44 PM)
If i wanna install GPS anti hijacking system for the K5..which would be the best and most reliable? Nowadays alot of car hijackings happening in Klang Valley.

Added on March 8, 2012, 12:45 pm

Im more or less confirmed. Just waiting for the best trade in value for my Vios. How bout you? Still waiting for your PM.
hey you not waiting for camry ah? later regret oh?
sonyman
post Mar 9 2012, 03:21 PM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 9 2012, 08:56 AM)
My dear friend, the upcoming 2.0L Camry will come with the 4 speed GB and old engine. Only the 2.5L model gets the new 6 speed gb and dual VVTI engine.

Now u see why ive turned my back on the Camry?
u confirmed with this information? valid? cause as far as i concern it should have some improvement in the engine and GB, at least 5 speed. otherwise it be in a loosing end.
sonyman
post Mar 9 2012, 03:25 PM

1,043 posts

bro frost, i think naza and peter should come visit you and give u a pingat man. all 3 cars are kia, either u a fanboy or the cars are really good.

haha... ever heard of ppl having all cars the same brand.
sonyman
post Mar 30 2012, 11:12 AM

1,043 posts

ai ya, if you are in your home town, working there, probably you got loads of cash, cause
1) you stay with parents
2) u may not have a family yet.
3) you have extra cash because in ur home town, ur petrol on RM 300 / month, ur phone bill RM 80 / month, no toll, maintenance for old car only RM 100 per 2 months.
4) ur income RM 3000.00, after nett. so

save RM 1500, still have RM 1500 left, you got parents to dump 40K for ur new car. Sell ur old car RM 30,000, borrow 70K, loan for 5 to 7 years. Father say i wanna use on weekend. you say ok. why not.

what the hell, why cannot buy, but no much savings and investment lah. haha, today our young grads can buy K5 and Sonata man, those days i come out to work, only can dream of a car. walk lah. i got legs what.

so lucky young ppl today. before going college i want a tablet. i want a smart phone.

i go to college i use the college slow snail computer.

things are different now.
sonyman
post Apr 2 2012, 06:18 PM

1,043 posts

why is the K5 is up against 508? i dont get it, both are totally different cars. although the same segment. but both design are like 180 deg opposite of each other.

one is elegant, the other is bold and macho. one is soft and comfortable, the other is dynamic driving. one cost less than 150K the other more than 150K. mana ada sama.

Maybe a camry 2.0G against kia K5, and 508 vs camry 2.0G again? haha, really boring market segments man. luckily it comes with 508 and k5 for discussion.

i know what are the similarities. the buyer loves cars with plenty of cool stuff. the buyer loves naza haha

sonyman
post Apr 5 2012, 12:27 AM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(w111w @ Apr 4 2012, 12:35 PM)
OMG!!! Buying a car without test drive... Are u kidding? By just reading cooment by other ppl only and straigth bought k5! ... To me this is ridiculous and crazy act...

Not all ppl got the same preference in driving.....no matter how, the k5 driving feel really not up to my expectation...

Although it got good looks...but tat is not impotant coz the design will outdate soon.... The thing tat will not outdate is the engine hp and torque....

After few years, when i feel the design is boring already, i will say WTF! ! wat car is this??. no power wan....no pick up wan...n blah blah
it is ok if you dont like the car. We here have to accept that. Unfortunately you have to get some other brands. Good for you, many out there for you to choose. I am sure you will find one suitable.

even if "you" feel the tech and spec and design is not up to your expectation," it is ok, because it is your expectation, not ours. not the buyers.

unfortunately you cannot enjoy what other K 5 owners are enjoying. i am sure you will think the same. If you own a camry, you will think, what other ppl are not enjoying your camry. Dont bother because those who have seen the K5, ended with a camry is also ok, their money what.

so what car you buy it is up to you, here we talk about the car, what we like, what we dont like, what can be better.

so u dont like, dont buy loh, simple as that.

sonyman
post Apr 13 2012, 10:27 PM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(feng yun @ Apr 13 2012, 04:19 PM)
Congratulation!!! My Bright Silver already at showroom, will go and see her tomorrow. By end of this month will join K5 family  rclxms.gif

Now i am thinking, can i survive with Nexen tire? Because when i test drove in One U last time, i didn't hear lot of noise from tyre... Probably i didn't go too fast...
at last the wait is over, welcome to the K5 world, where you will enjoy the car so much you want to sleep in it.

0.0279sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:25 PM