6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

2011 Kia Optima, when will launch in Malaysia?

gregy
post Dec 13 2011, 10:34 AM

411 posts

Here are a few TVCs to refresh your memories smile.gif

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iD0zVP-DkOE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mBKhV3cbRj8&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w1BuCi1VviU&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3KQ5fnZlEnE&feature=relmfu

And sadly, the spec we most probably won't get:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZXa1G7rE8-A
gregy
post Dec 14 2011, 12:30 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Dec 13 2011, 09:32 PM)
wat spec u r referring to being not available?2.4L one?
Ya, most probably that too. Even if we got the 2.4 it would be the 174hp MPI version and not the 200hp GDI. I'm referring more to the 271hp 2.0 turbo sad.gif
gregy
post Dec 14 2011, 02:57 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(DiamondBar @ Dec 14 2011, 02:33 AM)
I do not like the look of the rim...
It looks good in motion. I guess that matters more? Check out the ads on youtube and you'll see how those rims go with the forward motion of the car's design.

Here, see how the rims will look in motion, minus the high shutter speed magic:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KtO4ncUCgC0&feature=related

Don't they look like armoured discs to you? Hot dang!

This post has been edited by gregy: Dec 14 2011, 03:02 AM
gregy
post Dec 15 2011, 12:23 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(DiamondBar @ Dec 14 2011, 03:18 AM)
I predict this Kia Optima has a very high depreciation value,
just like Sonata YF.

Only very rich man will buy it... definitely not me..
No, it's not about rich or not. You are not knowledgeable, that's all.

http://www.mudah.my/Hyundai+Sonata+2+0-12764045.htm

The above car, brand new is RM140k (high spec). Drop a lot meh? In terms of percentage, it's a mere 9% depreciation, even less if you consider that brand new price includes insurance etc (OTR price).

Please take your head out of the sand and do more research la brudder.

BTW, this was the cheapest YF Sonata up for sale (used) on mudah.
gregy
post Dec 15 2011, 10:04 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(btfan @ Dec 15 2011, 12:57 AM)
A person paying for a RM50K-RM70K for a car may not be paying much attention at the depreciation rate but a person spending around RM140K will definitely think twice. Even a mere 9% depreciation a year will mean a lot that's why resale value is serious business in Malaysia.

I think pricing it at RM130K-RM140K ranges will be a tough sale even if it's a good car. Of course, there will always be a group who always buy during launches but looking at it a year or two later, will these sales be sustainable if it is priced too highly?
You are talking about two different segments altogether. Someone buying a foreign branded D segment car will not have the same mentality as someone who buys a B or C segment local ride. Put it simply, if one can't even afford 9% depreciation on a RM140k car, he/she doesn't belong in that category. The loan officer who approved his/her loan is either on the take or a jackass who deserves to be fired.

Let's take an example of a popular D-segment car, Toyota Camry 2.0G facelift version.

Brand new OTR price: RM154,990
http://www.motorcar-malaysia.com/2009/09/t...facelifted.html

After 2+ yrs: RM120,000 (rounded up) WITHOUT INS, ROAD TAX ETC
http://www.mudah.my/Toyota+Camry+2+0G+Auto...ew-12680031.htm

So let's see: RM154,990 LESS RM4,151 (ins.) + RM380 (road tax) + misc RM500 = RM5,000 (rounded up)

Hence: RM154,990 minus RM5,000 = RM150,000 (rounded up) is the actual cost of the car. After 2+ yrs, RM120,000, so the total drop is RM30,000.

(Amount of decrease/Initial value) * 100
=> (RM30,000 divided by RM150,000) * 100 = 20% depreciation or 80% residual value

So, how now? Even Camry owner need to shed RM30,000 in 2+yrs.

And please, don't say a person spending RM130-140k. He didn't "spend" that amount, he merely paid a downpayment and took a loan for the balance. At the end of the day, to calculate how much he actually spent on the car all he needs to do is count how much deposit paid, how many months repayment paid, deduct the balance that he got back after selling the car. THAT is the true amount of what he "spent" on that car.
gregy
post Dec 15 2011, 05:59 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(btfan @ Dec 15 2011, 11:16 AM)
LOL you definitely lost me there with the argument above. How can a different segment buyers have different type of mentality with regard to resale value as a factor? Unless you have more money than you could count? I have seen people placing much more emphasis on resale value than any other things whether it is a D-segment car or a premium compact C segment cars.

Your example serves nothing more than to show a car will suffer depreciation and on that note I will agree with you but it does not show why the Kia Optima deserved to be priced at RM140K-RM150K (or any other figure you have in mind) and whether the resale value will be on par with the japanese make.

The figures given is obviously for ease of reference and understanding but your point is redundant since assuming the bank loan rate and the years of repayment is the same then I guess the only variable factor is the resale value isn't it?

I'm not some Toyota and Honda fanboys and hell I will even get a Kia car myself if it is priced right but I do not think Kia is at the stage where it can price this car any way near its competitors at least not in this country anyway. Even Naza knows this fact otherwise why would they sell the Kia Forte 2.0 (RRP: RM97,800) for at least RM30,000 cheaper against the Honda Civic 2.0 (RRP: RM130,980)?
No need for the knee jerk reaction and start talking gibberish lol... I think you better stick to a Myvi. Best resale value. The new one Lagi Best resale value. Nuff said...
gregy
post Dec 16 2011, 04:16 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(IpohLad @ Dec 16 2011, 01:31 AM)
People we talk about cars here not properties. So any car you buy will depreciate. Question is do you like this car? If yes you can afford it go for it.

Do you really want to copy your neighbour have the same house & have the same car?

Personally I like it. Its bloody cool looking car. Its make Honda & Toyota looks like crap. Bravo to Kia hire Peter Schreyer to design the car. If only Proton can wake up & smell the talent.
Right on.

Depreciation is the norm for cars. It's just that, the majority of car owners don't know how to calculate simple primary school maths before blindly stating that so-and-so branded cars sure depreciate like hell wan. They heard it from their uncle's neighbour's cat's real owner's father's orchard owner's son's schoolmate's grandmother that Kia and Hyundai memang tak bleh pia.

Judging by the number of Korean cars sold since 2010, I daresay that the general mentality is changing, although it will take some time.

One has to look no further than the fiasco that is the Proton Waja for a good history lesson. At launch, a certain CEO proclaimed it as the Asian BMW. And it did have quite a few good things going for it like space, good torque etc. And what happened? Many ppl got stuck after paying toll, cannot wind up their windows. They put too many things in their glove box and it will not stay closed. FC was quite high compared to Wira/Satria/Iswara etc too. So much for Japanese technology (first batch was Mitsu engine and GB).

As a result, many ppl felt cheated and swore on their great grandfather's grave never to touch Proton ever again.

Then came the early Korean cars. They looked like shit. Anyone ever seen a cockroach a.k.a. "Siu Keong" by the name of Kia Sephia? The early Sonatas, Accents, Elantras, Getz, Matrix, Carnival, Chairman, Rio, Spectra, Picanto, Aveo etc. Ppl bought them because they couldn't stand Proton but yet can't afford Jap. So it's like the poor man's Jap mobile.

Even now, sometimes when I bump into an old acquaintance and tell them I love the new Optima, they give me that look and say, "Aiyo, sure boh? Korean car leh, sure rugi like hell wan!"

I for one am hoping that this mentality continues for a bit longer, so that we can still enjoy Korean cars at gooding prices smile.gif Let the naysayers keep getting ripped off by the Japs lol...
gregy
post Dec 16 2011, 10:00 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(Faint @ Dec 16 2011, 09:47 AM)
2.4L will not available in Malaysia ?
Maybe they are scared can't sell, just like the Sonata 2.4; can hardly see any on the road.

Which brings to mind that the majority of Sonata owners are most probably value minded ppl. On top of that, at the current moment any car above 2-litres (in the used car market) is very hard to sell and are priced around the same as their 2.0 cousins. IOW, ppl are getting quite worried about FC.

Too fukken bad our petrol can't support GDI, otherwise we could write a petition and request for them to bring in the 2.0T GDI drool.gif
gregy
post Dec 20 2011, 03:27 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(btfan @ Dec 20 2011, 01:21 AM)
Knee-jerk reaction? People merely pointed out that too high a price will make it a tough sell in this market and then you just came barging in with your "analysis" on resale value for a Japanese car.

So I guess when you're losing in terms of rational arguments you resort to childish retorts? How old are you? 15? But I do guess it's my fault trying to reason with someone who is obviously mentally-challenged.
You may try browsing at other forums catering for premium marques and you see people are still bothered about resale values. A good case in point is Audi. Seen as a better car elsewhere but it's not selling much here. The reason should be obvious but somehow it's too difficult to understand for certain people here.
Should I let you continue putting more dung on your own face, Mr Swift Comeback?

Yeah, I will.
gregy
post Dec 21 2011, 11:43 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(ahsam1212 @ Dec 20 2011, 07:08 PM)
145k, it will fail. Only those who wants to be diff, and think that this is a better car will buy.
In all fairness, if they had priced it at 120k without the following:

1) Self-levelling bi-xenon headlamps

2) DRL

3) Infinity ICE

4) Panoramic 3-piece sunroof

5) Leather seats

6) High Performance Dampers

7) USB/Bluetooth

8) Autocruise

9) 6 airbags

10) 18" wheels

11) Keyless entry

12) Push start

I won't even think about it. It's just like buying a bone stock Camry 2.0E. Gaya ada, tapi lain suma tadaa....

VW charges RM5k++ just for Item (1) and a lousy iPod/media cable and yet ppl pay for it. Think about it bruthas and sistas...
gregy
post Dec 25 2011, 01:42 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Dec 25 2011, 12:59 AM)
And also the image.

That guy drives a Honda.

That guy drives a Kia.

If you spend 140k, do u wanna explain to you fren everytime when they sit in your new Kia, why you dun wAnna buy a camry or a accord or crv? The reason to spend 140k is to look good.

Ppl always thought second hand value and reliability, image is important too. You wanna look cool too .
Anytime my frens sit in my new Optima, they won't need to ask why I chose this instead of an Accord or Camry lol...
gregy
post Dec 26 2011, 01:08 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Dec 25 2011, 09:26 PM)
you got the car already? new k5?
Don't be silly. It's not even launched yet. I was merely replying to the other dude who said he would have to explain to his friends everytime they got into his Kia... capiche?
gregy
post Dec 26 2011, 04:00 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(jeromeccm @ Dec 26 2011, 02:59 AM)
kia improved alot.. Even the forte 2.0, good power, handling, steady, silent, sound systems better and the interior feels tougher than the car i previously owned. I used to drive Altis 2009 model, it was ok but the interior was a bit unclelish... but was looking at the mentality of buying "toyota", so i bought it anyway...
one more thing should consider also, most car jackers still likes toyota and honda cars... so watch out... mine kena stolen so thats why i choose kia forte... somehow turn out to be a good car....

I think kia/hyundai user is getting more and more.. .so eventually things will change... young executive are getting more adventures in choosing car compare to the older batches.... market is there...

thumbup.gif thumbs up to optima 2012.. definitely caught my attention.
+1
gregy
post Dec 27 2011, 01:10 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(calebc @ Dec 27 2011, 12:53 AM)
I can't agree with you more. The Koreans ate out to take on the world now, though Jap cars are here earlier and built a good name for itself, I can see that this won't last long. Just look at the electronic industry, most home in Malaysia used to have a good Japanese brand 10 years ago. Well, take a look at the most popular electronic brands now, they are all Korean! Samsung, LG,...just to name a few...! The Koreans are definitely overtaking the Japs!
Consumers have short memories. You can be the top brand now, but give your competitors wiggle room for a good year or so and you'd have lost a lot of market share.

gregy
post Dec 27 2011, 10:12 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(Peekab0o @ Dec 27 2011, 09:49 AM)
Morning Ladies and Gentlements saw The K5 parking into KIA showroom last night so decided to have a sneak shot at it .. sorry for bad quality taken with phone camera..

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Such a sexy beautiful car ...
Thanks for the effort smile.gif
gregy
post Dec 27 2011, 06:50 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(DSV4600 @ Dec 27 2011, 01:47 PM)
Just went and saw the car at NAZA Kia Ipoh. Price is MYR143,888, which is ridiculous. Hyundai & Kia are siblings, and Kia is supposed to be always priced cheaper since it's the value brand, while Hyundai is the more premium brand. Here in Malaysia, it's the other way round.
Maintainance packages are also more pricey compared to Hyundai.

Eventhough today is the launching, there's no official brochure, no proper price list (just a fax), no test drive unit. Such a dissapointing launch for the K5. Warranty is 5 years, but I'd rather get a Hyundai for this crazy price. The Infinity Sound System is 5 thumbs up though.
Wah bro, how many thumbs you got la smile.gif

This post has been edited by gregy: Dec 27 2011, 06:50 PM
gregy
post Dec 27 2011, 06:55 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Dec 27 2011, 04:17 PM)
yes totally agree with u...if they put in navi mayb 144k consider ok but on high side...without the navi 144k is overkill...when will new camry be launched?
A Navi upgrade at the most will cost RM2k (aftermarket). With or w/out Navi, the price is still a bit on the high side.

And no bi-xenons... I didn't know that until I tested it out myself this afternoon.
gregy
post Dec 27 2011, 07:10 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Dec 27 2011, 07:00 PM)
If japanese gave you the same specs at 20k premium would you say it's overkill or justified because it's japanese?
The highest specced Jap D-segment at the moment is the Camry 2.0G at Rm155k OTR. In terms of spec, give or take this K5 is in the ballpark. So between 144k and 155k, the difference in percentage is a mere 7%. So are you saying that a Kia is rightfully only 7% cheaper than the class leader?
gregy
post Dec 27 2011, 07:14 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Dec 27 2011, 06:59 PM)
What? You mean the K5? I thought catalogue says it has?
It has self-leveling directional xenons with washer, but nope, they aren't bi-xenons. Not that big a deal, but considering that they already gave those lights the full treatment, why stinge on a lousy flip shield?

That's all I'm sayin'...

gregy
post Dec 28 2011, 09:42 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(lifeless_creature @ Dec 27 2011, 11:15 PM)
At the boot? I haven't go test yet...how was the Infinity sound system? Saw good feedbacks from forumers...
It doesn't sound markedly different from the sound system in my Forte 2.0 SX. Another Forte owner who happened to be there at the same time also remarked the same thing. Aside from the added subwoofer in the rear parcel shelf, the "Infinity" system was nothing to shout about. Actually, it felt boomy due to the sub (which you can't control separately btw).

Added on December 28, 2011, 9:51 am
QUOTE(skyblas @ Dec 28 2011, 02:54 AM)
hmmm, got time must go test drive the car to see whether is it worth it anot? anyone know when will test drive fleet arrive in JB?
Last I heard test drives are only available from March onwards. In the meantime all units (100) will be sold as is (fully CBU)...

Good thing => CBU
Bad thing => Molested by the whole country in showrooms

This post has been edited by gregy: Dec 28 2011, 09:51 AM

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0591sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:09 AM