121 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

2011 Kia Optima, when will launch in Malaysia?

saujana
post Dec 24 2011, 08:08 PM

QUOTE(DAVE008 @ Dec 24 2011, 07:31 PM)
Looks like an acceptable price for the goodies we are getting. I'm in dilemma of which colour to go for once launched.
Snow white pearl or Bright Silver. Most probably have to see both with my own eyes to confirm which one is better.  rclxms.gif

What about everyone else, what colour would you choose ?
ohmy.gif shakehead.gif hmm.gif

almost wanna book, now thinking twice...... can get accord 2.0 HS with this already...........
IpohLad
post Dec 24 2011, 09:17 PM

QUOTE(saujana @ Dec 24 2011, 01:08 PM)
ohmy.gif  shakehead.gif  hmm.gif 

almost wanna book, now thinking twice...... can get accord 2.0 HS with this already...........
You get more gadgets with the KIA. You need to compare the spec, you dont even get the ESP/VSA as standard with the Accord. What you get for the same price. I prefer the Optima design. The Accord look a bit like an old man car.
rcracer
post Dec 24 2011, 09:52 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(saujana @ Dec 24 2011, 01:08 PM)
ohmy.gif  shakehead.gif  hmm.gif 

just for the infinity audio is already much better than accord to wait out the traffic jams
JAL811
post Dec 24 2011, 09:54 PM

64 posts

+1 for the design
DAVE008
post Dec 24 2011, 10:29 PM

QUOTE(IpohLad @ Dec 24 2011, 09:17 PM)
You get more gadgets with the KIA. You need to compare the spec, you dont even get the ESP/VSA as standard with the Accord. What you get for the same price. I prefer the Optima design. The Accord look a bit like an old man car.
Yeah Bro you are absolutely spot on. Accord is already a few years model running on Malaysia roads with much less features. This optima is a real looker with awesome tech features. thumbup.gif
kcchong2000
post Dec 24 2011, 11:40 PM

189 posts

Correct, but the main thing in the mind of many Malaysians is 2nd hand value. So they will fucuk you no free on all those gadgets and etc.

So it is hard to get all people to change to korean car

This post has been edited by kcchong2000: Dec 24 2011, 11:41 PM
turbocharged
post Dec 25 2011, 12:59 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(kcchong2000 @ Dec 24 2011, 11:40 PM)
Correct, but the main thing in the mind of many Malaysians is 2nd hand value. So they will fucuk you no free on all those gadgets and etc.

So it is hard to get all people to change to korean car
And also the image.

That guy drives a Honda.

That guy drives a Kia.

If you spend 140k, do u wanna explain to you fren everytime when they sit in your new Kia, why you dun wAnna buy a camry or a accord or crv? The reason to spend 140k is to look good.

Ppl always thought second hand value and reliability, image is important too. You wanna look cool too .

This post has been edited by turbocharged: Dec 25 2011, 01:00 AM
gregy
post Dec 25 2011, 01:42 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Dec 25 2011, 12:59 AM)
And also the image.

That guy drives a Honda.

That guy drives a Kia.

If you spend 140k, do u wanna explain to you fren everytime when they sit in your new Kia, why you dun wAnna buy a camry or a accord or crv? The reason to spend 140k is to look good.

Ppl always thought second hand value and reliability, image is important too. You wanna look cool too .
Anytime my frens sit in my new Optima, they won't need to ask why I chose this instead of an Accord or Camry lol...
cybermaster98
post Dec 25 2011, 04:27 AM

4,440 posts

Dont forget that the Optima is a new generation car. Dont compare that with a 2006 model Camry or Accord. Wait for the new Camry to be launched in Malaysia and see the specs. Ppl who go for Camry's arent interested in USB ports and other small gadgets.

If u wanna talk about specs then compare with the Peugeot 508 which costs approx RM170K. Now thats a car which has got really impressive specs which even beats the shit out of the new Passat & Mondeo. May not have the best gearbox or engine but its still worth its while.

Let me list down some specs of the 508 for your reading pleasure:

1) 6 speed Tiptronic auto adaptive gearbox with Sports & Manual mode
2) 1.6L Twin Scroll High Pressure Turbo (THP) Prince engine with 156Hp, 240Nm
3) Latest generation Electronic Stability Program (ESP)
4) Anti Lock Braking System (ABS)
5) Electronic Brake Force Distribution (EBD)
6) Intelligent Traction Control System (ITCS)
7) Emergency Brake Assist (EBA)
8) Anti Skid Regulation (ASR)
9) 6 airbags
10) Intelligent Airbag System (separate impact deployment and secondary impact protection)
11) Automatic Electric Parking Brake
12) 4 individual zone auto air-conditioning (separate temp controls for both rear passengers)
13) Colour Heads – Up Display (HUD)
14) Auto Adaptive High Beam System (camera activated)
15) Directional bi – Xenon headlamps with washers & auto levelling system
16) Rain sensing auto wipers
17) Paddle Shifters on Steering Column
18) 10 speaker JBL sound system with 500W surround sound amplifier
19) Arkamsys Audio Processing System (creates natural central acoustic ambience plus has Favour Listening)
20) Intelligent keyless entry with finger sensor and push start button
21) 8 way electric power seats with lumbar support for driver & front passenger
22) 7” HD multi function colour screen
23) 10 front & rear parking sensors with visual display
24) Available Space Management system (ASM) (for parallel parking)
25) Speed sensing electro hydraulic power steering
26) Premium leather

SUSkevin23
post Dec 25 2011, 10:00 AM

1,803 posts

143k is crazy for this kia. I know its kitted max,but by the 2nd year u already lost loads of money. And besides, korean cars never drive as well as japs. They might hv all the bells n whistles but when it come to performance, they still suck at it.

And i dont see this car selling well in msia. Use the sonata as a benchmark. Hardly see any of them on the road. Ppl who buy this car either just want to look different or just got conned by the good looks. For that kinda money, its vw golf tsi anytime man, or a honda civic 2.0
tunasandwich
post Dec 25 2011, 10:04 AM

974 posts

delete

This post has been edited by tunasandwich: Dec 25 2011, 10:06 AM
twincharger07
post Dec 25 2011, 11:33 AM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Dec 25 2011, 10:00 AM)
143k is crazy for this kia. I know its kitted max,but by the 2nd year u already lost loads of money. And besides, korean cars never drive as well as japs. They might hv all the bells n whistles but when it come to performance, they still suck at it.

And i dont see this car selling well in msia. Use the sonata as a benchmark. Hardly see any of them on the road. Ppl who buy this car either just want to look different or just got conned by the good looks. For that kinda money, its vw golf tsi anytime man, or a honda civic 2.0
jap cars are the dissapointing one nowaday... please check with hyundai dealers, low number of sonata on the road is it bcos of low sale or long waiting list.... dont compare with golf... more expensive and smaller cabin room...

just look at forte, i have never seen so many kia on the road... given its just launch recently, its already a remarkable acheivement...

btw, only msian has the stupid mentality on residual value for korean cars... hyundai get best residual award in US.. http://www.theautochannel.com/news/2011/11...econd-year.html
leds
post Dec 25 2011, 01:38 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Dec 25 2011, 04:27 AM)
Dont forget that the Optima is a new generation car. Dont compare that with a 2006 model Camry or Accord. Wait for the new Camry to be launched in Malaysia and see the specs. Ppl who go for Camry's arent interested in USB ports and other small gadgets.

If u wanna talk about specs then compare with the Peugeot 508 which costs approx RM170K. Now thats a car which has got really impressive specs which even beats the shit out of the new Passat & Mondeo. May not have the best gearbox or engine but its still worth its while.

9) 6 airbags
10) Intelligent Airbag System (separate impact deployment and secondary impact protection)
12) 4 individual zone auto air-conditioning (separate temp controls for both rear passengers)
19) Arkamsys Audio Processing System (creates natural central acoustic ambience plus has Favour Listening)
26) Premium leather
yup agree with you for the pug 508..really impressive this ride...
however its rm170k vs the k5 rm144...
still got a gap there..
if looking for the current competitor available...k5 all the way
Next year will be another story...new competitor coming
DAVE008
post Dec 25 2011, 01:57 PM

QUOTE(gregy @ Dec 25 2011, 01:42 AM)
Anytime my frens sit in my new Optima, they won't need to ask why I chose this instead of an Accord or Camry lol...
Good one bro biggrin.gif
IpohLad
post Dec 25 2011, 09:18 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Dec 24 2011, 09:27 PM)

9) 6 airbags
26) Premium leather
RM170k for a PSA car it is really worth it? Try to do more research on PSA reliability. Dont touch PSA car. They only interested selling you parts not the car you bought.
turbocharged
post Dec 25 2011, 09:26 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Dec 25 2011, 01:42 AM)
you got the car already? new k5?
IpohLad
post Dec 25 2011, 09:29 PM

Its depend on the local market & the consumer demand. Toyota & Honda build up their brand name in Malaysia long before Korean set they foot in there. If the local consumer dont change their silly old thinking of resale value & dont mind paying for a metal box with 4 wheels with a shiny Toyota or Honda badge. Open your mind people this is 21st century. I was in Malaysia a 3 months ago, the average Camry or Accord owners are all over 50's thats said it all didnt it.
khchong81
post Dec 25 2011, 11:52 PM

443 posts

Saw 2 trailers delivering 8 Kia Optima with half of it white color at Melaka just now around 11.30pm. Such a beauty for white...
gregy
post Dec 26 2011, 01:08 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Dec 25 2011, 09:26 PM)
you got the car already? new k5?
Don't be silly. It's not even launched yet. I was merely replying to the other dude who said he would have to explain to his friends everytime they got into his Kia... capiche?
jeromeccm
post Dec 26 2011, 02:59 AM

545 posts

kia improved alot.. Even the forte 2.0, good power, handling, steady, silent, sound systems better and the interior feels tougher than the car i previously owned. I used to drive Altis 2009 model, it was ok but the interior was a bit unclelish... but was looking at the mentality of buying "toyota", so i bought it anyway...
one more thing should consider also, most car jackers still likes toyota and honda cars... so watch out... mine kena stolen so thats why i choose kia forte... somehow turn out to be a good car....

I think kia/hyundai user is getting more and more.. .so eventually things will change... young executive are getting more adventures in choosing car compare to the older batches.... market is there...

thumbup.gif thumbs up to optima 2012.. definitely caught my attention.

121 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0175sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:15 PM