126 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Maybankard 2 Gold and Platinum Cards V2, AMEX with Visa or MasterCard

andyfriends
post Jun 14 2011, 04:42 PM

2,326 posts

interesting, that we cant check our proper stateement online (without agreeing to the online statement), unlike other bank.

This post has been edited by andyfriends: Jun 14 2011, 05:09 PM
ksc_3688
post Jun 14 2011, 06:49 PM

1,138 posts

got my 2 card approved today... thinking should i cancel my gold amex CC or not?

TSGen-X
post Jun 14 2011, 06:55 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ksc_3688 @ Jun 14 2011, 06:49 PM)
got my 2 card approved today... thinking should i cancel my gold amex CC or not?
well, really no point in keeping the AMEX Gold. Go convert whatever MR points you have to Cash and use it up and then cancel it.
cute_boboi
post Jun 14 2011, 07:10 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(ksc_3688 @ Jun 14 2011, 06:49 PM)
I converted all the MR (200 MR = RM1 at that time) to settle CC statement, paid up the rest, and then canceled it already.

tanch78
post Jun 14 2011, 07:15 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jun 14 2011, 07:10 PM)
I converted all the MR (200 MR = RM1 at that time) to settle CC statement, paid up the rest, and then canceled it already.
You mean we can convert MR to cash too??? Can you tell me how to go about it?
xjeez
post Jun 15 2011, 09:01 AM

272 posts

Just to update, I renewed my Auto Insurance using Etiqa phone on Saturday, but the actual transaction was only done on Monday (confirmed by the CS and transaction listing), so I don't think its possible to get the 5% Weekend Rebate for it mad.gif
ksc_3688
post Jun 15 2011, 09:02 AM

1,138 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 14 2011, 06:55 PM)
well, really no point in keeping the AMEX Gold. Go convert whatever MR points you have to Cash and use it up and then cancel it.
That's the best plan I guess. Will use the MR points to pay my this month statement before I cancel it.

gerrardling
post Jun 15 2011, 09:08 AM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

QUOTE(xjeez @ Jun 15 2011, 09:01 AM)
Just to update, I renewed my Auto Insurance using Etiqa phone on Saturday, but the actual transaction was only done on Monday (confirmed by the CS and transaction listing), so I don't think its possible to get the 5% Weekend Rebate for it  mad.gif
lol, same as mine. did u receive the softcopy via email already ? i havent receive it yet
sleepwalker_00
post Jun 15 2011, 09:49 AM

318 posts

Just to update, I renewed my Auto Insurance using Etiqa phone on Saturday, but the actual transaction was only done on Monday (confirmed by the CS and transaction listing), so I don't think its possible to get the 5% Weekend Rebate for it  mad.gif
As I know, Etiqa branches close on weekends.
mletee
post Jun 15 2011, 10:01 AM

jenn is cute
1,004 posts

just earn the points enough d tongue.gif
cute_boboi
post Jun 15 2011, 10:06 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(tanch78 @ Jun 14 2011, 07:15 PM)
You mean we can convert MR to cash too??? Can you tell me how to go about it?
Just call Amex (not MBB) CS tel. Tell them "Please help me convert my MR to cash", which they will credit into your CC account to offset any balance of payment. This may take several days, so plan in advance, convert it, pay remaining balance yourself, then only cancel it.

Edit: This should be in Amex thread, cause it is MR, not TP.

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Jun 15 2011, 10:07 AM
Titan_Gunners
post Jun 15 2011, 10:06 AM

1,573 posts

Used 10k treat points to offset GST.
MBB took 2 weeks to get it done.
Ms Sim
post Jun 15 2011, 10:25 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(Titan_Gunners @ Jun 15 2011, 10:06 AM)
Used 10k treat points to offset GST.
MBB took 2 weeks to get it done.
wah.. need 2 weeks just to offset the gst.. so "efficient" are them..
saikua
post Jun 15 2011, 10:29 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Jun 13 2011, 04:34 PM)
hey guys, quick question...

I wanna confirm this with you - according to maybank customer service, using Amex overseas will incur a 2.5% admin charge for conversion EXCEPT for USD.

Does this mean that if I purchase stuff online, and also on the apple app store with my Amex (in USD) it will not incur 2.5% charges?

I'd like to link my paypal and itunes account to my Amex if there's no 2.5% charge, but if there is, then screw it...

Thanks!
Just FYI la...

Went to singapore on the weekend. signed for 2 transaction

One using Amex

13-Jun-2011 10-Jun-2011 xxxx S$360.00 RM908.58 exchange rate = $2.5238

Then one using Mastercard (cuz they had 15% off for Mastercard, that's why use this instead of Amex)

14-Jun-2011 11-Jun-2011 HRC SENTOSA SINGAPORE SG S$164.15 RM405.74 exchange rate = $2.4717

On the same weekend did a transfer of $ to a US Paypal account. Paypal - Paypal (charge to Amex)

14-Jun-2011 13-Jun-2011 PAYPAL USA US US$206.15 RM639.71 exchange rate = $3.1031

Money changer exchange rate is S$ = $2.462 and USD = $3.025 Wawasan

Bank charges are usually abit higher.

Also... Mastercard gives a better exchange rate. could that be the 2.5%?

Titan_Gunners
post Jun 15 2011, 10:29 AM

1,573 posts

QUOTE(Ms Sim @ Jun 15 2011, 10:25 AM)
wah.. need 2 weeks just to offset the gst.. so "efficient" are them..
They will deduct your TP immediatelly, but take time to credit RM50 to your acc, haha..
mletee
post Jun 15 2011, 10:34 AM

jenn is cute
1,004 posts

QUOTE(saikua @ Jun 15 2011, 10:29 AM)
Just FYI la...

One using Amex

13-Jun-2011  10-Jun-2011  xxxx S$360.00  RM908.58  exchange rate = $2.5238

Then one using Mastercard (cuz they had 15% off for Mastercard, that's why use this instead of Amex)

14-Jun-2011  11-Jun-2011  HRC SENTOSA SINGAPORE SG  S$164.15  RM405.74    exchange rate = $2.4717

On the same weekend did a transfer of $ to a US Paypal account. Paypal - Paypal (charge to Amex)

14-Jun-2011  13-Jun-2011  PAYPAL USA US  US$206.15  RM639.71  exchange rate = $3.1031

nice info..means visa and mastercard charge not much also..very good
zenquix
post Jun 15 2011, 10:42 AM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(saikua @ Jun 15 2011, 10:29 AM)
Just FYI la...

One using Amex

13-Jun-2011  10-Jun-2011  xxxx S$360.00  RM908.58  exchange rate = $2.5238

14-Jun-2011  11-Jun-2011  HRC SENTOSA SINGAPORE SG  S$164.15  RM405.74    exchange rate = $2.4717

14-Jun-2011  13-Jun-2011  PAYPAL USA US  US$206.15  RM639.71  exchange rate = $3.1031

is this the MBB2 cards? did you get 2x treatpoints for the Mastercard or only 1x for the above transaction?
ronnie
post Jun 15 2011, 10:43 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

I Want iPad 2 Contest Winners

Winners list from 29 April - 8 May 2011

29 April 2011 Azean Azlina Bt Mudzakir XXXX XXXX 3390 0029
30 April 2011 Roger Standley Keith XXXX XXXX 6002 6560
1 May 2011 Lim Moy Tiang XXXX XXXX 3263 8145
2 May 2011 Jaspal Singh XXXX XXXX 3002 6196
3 May 2011 Puan Lay Ping XXXX XXXX 3006 4184
4 May 2011 Tan Teck Soon XXXX XXXX 3536 4670
5 May 2011 Lim Wei Eng XXXX XXXX 3533 2510
6 May 2011 Kuan Eng Guan XXXX XXXX 3007 0067
7 May 2011 Ruzanna Bt Ridzuan XXXX XXXX 3107 5755
8 May 2011 Noor Aini Bt Bagis XXXX XXXX 3364 5495

mletee
post Jun 15 2011, 11:09 AM

jenn is cute
1,004 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 15 2011, 10:43 AM)
I Want iPad 2 Contest Winners

Winners list from 29 April - 8 May 2011

29 April 2011 Azean Azlina Bt Mudzakir XXXX XXXX 3390 0029
30 April 2011 Roger Standley Keith XXXX XXXX 6002 6560
1 May 2011 Lim Moy Tiang XXXX XXXX 3263 8145
2 May 2011 Jaspal Singh XXXX XXXX 3002 6196
3 May 2011 Puan Lay Ping XXXX XXXX 3006 4184
4 May 2011 Tan Teck Soon XXXX XXXX 3536 4670
5 May 2011 Lim Wei Eng XXXX XXXX 3533 2510
6 May 2011 Kuan Eng Guan XXXX XXXX 3007 0067
7 May 2011 Ruzanna Bt Ridzuan XXXX XXXX 3107 5755
8 May 2011 Noor Aini Bt Bagis XXXX XXXX 3364 5495
any forumer win this? :S
saikua
post Jun 15 2011, 11:12 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Jun 15 2011, 10:42 AM)
is this the MBB2 cards? did you get 2x treatpoints for the Mastercard or only 1x for the above transaction?
for Mastercard i got x1 and for Amex got x5

did some calculation

14-Jun-2011 13-Jun-2011 PAYPAL USA US US$206.15 RM639.71 exchange rate = $3.1031

Money changer exchange rate is USD = $3.025

if amex rate for RM639x5points = 3195points which is about RM15 value(~2100 = $10)

if money changer rate USD206.15 x 3.025 = RM623.60

so 639.71 (Amex rate) - 623.60 (moneychanger rate) = RM16.11

even if Amex is more expensive when it comes to exchange rate the TP kinda balance things up abit. so it's not really that bad.

126 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0320sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:39 PM