Maybankard 2 Gold and Platinum Cards V2, AMEX with Visa or MasterCard

cute_boboi
post Jun 6 2011, 04:17 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(csk3984 @ Jun 6 2011, 04:11 PM)
Hi buddy, many thanks.... But why " DO NOT" withdraw cash by using credit card?. Anything will happen? I might use it for standby purpose while i at oversea trip.
When you go overseas, try prepare sufficient to use there. Only use the cash advance IF you really need it for super-emergency, e.g. lost all stuff, get robbed (except they don't rob your CC), hospital, etc.

If it is because you check-in to a much expensive hotel, or for shopping, or some small usage due to over-budget (e.g. spend too much on shopping already), then forget about it. The charges and interest % is way too high.

Anyway, the usage discretion is your own.

cute_boboi
post Jun 6 2011, 05:40 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(csk3984 @ Jun 6 2011, 05:20 PM)
Hi Bro,

I quite new in credit card. Not even more than 1 years. I just use it as loyalty cards to get discount hahahaha. Wanted to know more about it. Even you ask me balance transfer all thing i also not clear with it. Anywhere i pay my bill on time. Many thanks for the info. Your blog is nice .....
Yes, go read Gen-X blog on CC. Just follow some simple CC usage rules:
(1) pay FULL every month, before the due date.
(2) before swipe to buy stuff, you must already have the money in hand/account. Do not buy if salary not in yet.

Once you master those simple rules, then you can start learn on 0% installments and 0% BT.

The rest are basically subjective, like airport lounge, restaurant, etc. It depends if you'll utilise it frequently, e.g. for business travel.

cute_boboi
post Jun 14 2011, 03:36 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker_00 @ Jun 14 2011, 03:20 PM)
I have a question, if my statement date is today, when will I receive my statement copy from Maybank?
Online should be tomorrow. Snail mail, wait postman deliver in 2-3 days.

cute_boboi
post Jun 14 2011, 07:10 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(ksc_3688 @ Jun 14 2011, 06:49 PM)
got my 2 card approved today... thinking should i cancel my gold amex CC or not?
I converted all the MR (200 MR = RM1 at that time) to settle CC statement, paid up the rest, and then canceled it already.

cute_boboi
post Jun 15 2011, 10:06 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(tanch78 @ Jun 14 2011, 07:15 PM)
You mean we can convert MR to cash too??? Can you tell me how to go about it?
Just call Amex (not MBB) CS tel. Tell them "Please help me convert my MR to cash", which they will credit into your CC account to offset any balance of payment. This may take several days, so plan in advance, convert it, pay remaining balance yourself, then only cancel it.

Edit: This should be in Amex thread, cause it is MR, not TP.

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Jun 15 2011, 10:07 AM
cute_boboi
post Jul 5 2011, 12:05 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jul 5 2011, 11:45 AM)
I think you misread abit. The transaction was succesful at the second attempt. My concern is, only the 'problematic' transactions didnt appear in M2U.
The first transaction is the failed one, right ?
Is it at the petrol pump ? When failed, is it shown "Transaction Rejected" or something similiar ?
If yes, then it won't show in M2u.

cute_boboi
post Jul 6 2011, 12:13 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 6 2011, 10:54 AM)
Spend too much also don't get anything.... so sad.
Don't spend get something.
Yes, life in unfair. Same with my mobile being a postpaid for X years, we get nothing in return when we're paying fixed >RM100+ monthly. Whereas, those pre-paid use <RM100 monthly, always get promo/rebates/free stuff. doh.gif

cute_boboi
post Jul 6 2011, 05:13 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Sphenix @ Jul 6 2011, 05:08 PM)
I had cancelled maybank's petronas CC, but in my M2U still showing tat account ( I ard settled the outstanding) , what is that about?

any idea?
You need to goto CS counter, fill up form to ask them to de-link it doh.gif Or you can try do it over tel to CS (unlikely)

I have a card which is cancelled ~2-3 yrs ago when the RM50 GST started, and it is still there as 0.00 doh.gif

Currently I just leave it as it is, and I have 3 cards that are cancelled already rclxub.gif

cute_boboi
post Jul 7 2011, 04:22 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(wufei @ Jul 7 2011, 01:57 PM)
All Maybank credit card holders should know about this.

This is totally rip off from Maybank

"Enjoy Greater Spending Power with Interest Free Instalment of up to 24 months"

Only for those LAZY people

vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
That snail-mail promo thing with 3-stickers ? LOL laugh.gif I hate to open those stickers, cannot open with car/house keys or pens/rulers. So that one goes straight into my paper shredder icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(lykuan82 @ Jul 7 2011, 04:04 PM)
I just walked in one of the Maybank branch in Penang, apperantly, they didn't request for my payslip, just my other bank's cc (I dont hv Maybank CC, but with Maybank saving ac). My Maybankard 2 is now in progress, will update again if the application is successful.
Most probably, below scenario will happen:
(1) 3 weeks/months passed.
(2) You start to post here about how slow/lembab MBB is rolleyes.gif
(3) We will advise you to call MBB CS to check status
(4) Standard reply:
(i) HQ did not receive your forms from branch. Please submit all over again doh.gif
(ii) Processing pending your other docs / income statements whistling.gif
tongue.gif

cute_boboi
post Jul 8 2011, 10:36 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Previously MBB CC can be canceled over phone. These are the ones I'm still keeping after canceled:
- Flex
- Amex Gold Charge Card
- Amex Gold Credit Card

This year (2011), need to goto CS counter to cut or cut+pic+fax over to them in order to cancel:
- Petronas Visa

cute_boboi
post Jul 8 2011, 12:01 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jul 8 2011, 11:20 AM)
what i did is photocopy the card and then cut the photocopy laugh.gif
after that fax the cancellation letter with the photocopy
I did thought of that, but the cut-portion shadow will look quite obvious tongue.gif

cute_boboi
post Jul 11 2011, 11:17 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(s@ni @ Jul 10 2011, 07:47 PM)
oh, have you ever encounter such problem before:

1. spent more than rm100 at supermarket (jaya jusco to be exact) using AMEX
2. then tried to pump using AMEX at 2 different esso stations, both rejected. but the terminal accepted my mastercard doh.gif

is there any limit using AMEX for the weekend? Early this year I kena once at ESSO also, on Sunday.  hmm.gif
No issues. After shop at Jusco supermarket, I always refuel before heading home.

cute_boboi
post Jul 12 2011, 03:01 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 12 2011, 02:44 PM)
Erm. How do they determine credit limit for supplementary cards?
When I was studying last time I got a card from my sister, it was a PBB and the CL was RM 5k if I'm not mistaken. hmm.gif
I'm sure you can clear the amount now so you can get back your credit? unsure.gif
Maybe someone will clear the 2.5k for him every month brows.gif
rolleyes.gif
whistling.gif

cute_boboi
post Jul 13 2011, 03:57 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

MBB Treatfair : Baskin Robbin : 2 scoops Junior 2670 TP
If 200TP=RM1, that's RM13.35

BR selling at RM14

Save 5%

cute_boboi
post Jul 13 2011, 06:02 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(mletee @ Jul 13 2011, 04:59 PM)
any others good stuff instead of metrojaya voucher?
Depends on your shopping preference. For me, I have nothing to buy at Metrojaya, hence I've no plan to redeem it.

cute_boboi
post Jul 19 2011, 10:53 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jul 18 2011, 11:52 PM)
Anyone faced a problem like the credit limit stated in the letter you received your card with is different from the one stated in M2U ?
Mine for CIMB also drop 10k CL from the phone approved amount.

Added on July 19, 2011, 10:55 am
QUOTE(idunnolol @ Jul 19 2011, 10:47 AM)
Are they strict in application? Self - Employed have a very hard time in getting credit  cry.gif
That is the reason you need to prepare your annual income tax submission.
Use it to prove your annual income, for their approval.

However, it is different story if you evade tax or under-declare too low whistling.gif
rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Jul 19 2011, 10:55 AM
cute_boboi
post Jul 19 2011, 11:33 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(kanethesun @ Jul 19 2011, 10:59 AM)
so normal documents like payslip / EPF / EA form needed to apply during TreatFairs?

Possible to apply with exisiting credit card? Plan to do so leh ....
Even if the CS at treatfairs tell you no need docs, but the processing department may require you to send/fax in later.
Each application is subjective.

cute_boboi
post Jul 19 2011, 03:57 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(kanethesun @ Jul 19 2011, 11:47 AM)
huhuh, my salary dont masuk in Maybank, in Public Bank only :/
Based on my experience, CC processing department does not have access into your savings/current/FD/etc. account, even within the same bank. Those working in CC department may confirm this. Perhaps higher senior managers may have access.

My history again: My salary is banked into HSBC for 1-2 years already, and my application for Gold CC is rejected doh.gif 6-12 months later, HSBC send me pre-approved Gold CC rclxub.gif , but I rejected it whistling.gif

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Jul 19 2011, 12:05 PM)
Because my BE form i only put there ngam ngam 30k . Summore for my age, It doesnt tally with my position and income sweat.gif . Actually i am waiting for ambank credit card as back up document but they damn slow with their process  vmad.gif

BTW, I have a maybank saving account statement from 04/11 to 06/11 have 80k in and out. Should i print it and bring to their fair?
Age is not a factor. There are some 22 years old earning millions and some >50 years old earning 3k/mth. Approvals are based on income and credit history.

No need print out. At treatfair, you can get the latest point printed out at the entrance (Hall entrance, not MV/Gardens entrance doh.gif ).

cute_boboi
post Jul 19 2011, 05:31 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

At MBB treatfairs, there are some who can get approval and get the real CC within an hour. Same case like apply at 1U MBB CS Centre. I would say this is mainly the exception, rather than norm.

Majority of the people will most likely:
° get temp-approval, but with the temporary "paper" CC which has very limited temporary credit limit.
° did not get approval, have to wait couple of days/weeks, then processing department will request for more docs (depends)

For the earlier case (get real CC on the spot), most of these people already have good credit history, e.g. if I throw down a platinum or higher CC from non-MBB, plus able to verify my IC and me, what is the chances of me getting a CC immediately ? Compared to another who has nothing to throw down ?

As hye forummer says, this is MBB marketing strategy to sign-up more customers.

cute_boboi
post Jul 25 2011, 03:41 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(takumi2009 @ Jul 25 2011, 03:18 PM)
for amex card, i cannot find the jusco voucher RM100. If i use amex card sure get amex point right?
(1) Amex - Wrong thread. This is MBB-2 CC thread.

(2) Amex MR = no jusco voucher. Only MBB TP.

0.0500sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:39 PM