125 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Standard Chartered Bank Credit Cards V1, Let's talk about SCB's credit card here

hye
post Oct 3 2011, 09:29 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

New SCB Infinite card is only granted to PB customers thus no AF applied. GST is still payable by the card holder.

I have not known anyone getting their SCB Infinite waived. Be aware of the hefty AF as mentioned by winner.
Phoeni_142
post Oct 3 2011, 10:17 PM

753 posts

Yeap....the infinite is only for their pb customers.

i got the first 2 years annual fee waived, so no harm giving it a try.

frankly, no USP in the card, except for the priority pass. Other than that, just like any other card, i suppose.
Gen-X
post Oct 3 2011, 10:23 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Phoeni_142 @ Oct 3 2011, 10:17 PM)
i got the first 2 years annual fee waived, so no harm giving it a try.

frankly, no USP in the card, except for the priority pass.  Other than that, just like any other card, i suppose.
2 years free, that's good news smile.gif I have been wanting SCB VI for quite sometime (shiok sendiri and fetish with credit card thingy as someone said) and this month SCB got incentive for me to go get it smile.gif
Phoeni_142
post Oct 3 2011, 11:10 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 3 2011, 10:23 PM)
2 years free, that's good news smile.gif I have been wanting SCB VI for quite sometime (shiok sendiri and fetish with credit card thingy as someone said) and this month SCB got incentive for me to go get it smile.gif
chief.....to be fair, I was pleasantly surprised with the SCB VI

u know the rm 50 gst tax - the VI comes with a RM 120 cash back upon activation - so, it comes loaded with a RM 70 credit balance.

This post has been edited by Phoeni_142: Oct 3 2011, 11:11 PM
Gen-X
post Oct 3 2011, 11:16 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Phoeni_142 @ Oct 3 2011, 11:10 PM)
chief.....to be fair, I was pleasantly surprised with the SCB VI

u know the rm 50 gst tax - the VI comes with a RM 120 cash back upon activation - so, it comes loaded with a RM 70 credit balance.

that's indeed a surprise, even with 2 years GST, you still make RM20 biggrin.gif Wonder if I'll get the same offer as you sweat.gif
audionutter
post Oct 4 2011, 07:17 PM

146 posts

Does SCB have two types of Visa Infinite cards? I thought only one type given to Priority Banking customers which is free for life? There is another one that has annual fees, is it?
Gen-X
post Oct 6 2011, 04:13 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(audionutter @ Oct 4 2011, 07:17 PM)
Does SCB have two types of Visa Infinite cards? I thought only one type given to Priority Banking customers which is free for life? There is another one that has annual fees, is it?
1st year SCB VI Free, my new RM said that second year onwards, one have to swipe RM10K/year to get the annual fee waived. But she ensured me that she will get the annual fees waived for me as long as I maintain my PB status. She further told me previously there was another SCB VI (black colour) by invitation which do not need PB Status (maybe that VI needs to pay annual fee).

Another thing I found out is that PB customers get the SCB Platinum Visa Debit/ATM Card for free and there is no transaction fee for overseas cash withdrawal from any ATM machine, pretty good. Come to thing of it, I should go sign up for it for fun and add to my collection.

Phoeni_142: I didn't get the 2 years annual fee waiver nor will I get RM120 cash back sad.gif But my RM said as long as I swipe three times within a certain period (I think she said a month), all I have to do is call CS and the GST will be waived (just like my previous CT offer). But I will be getting a free gift.
nokiaXP
post Oct 6 2011, 05:45 PM

466 posts

normally how long gap time u can request for increase your cc credit limit ?like 2 month ago scb ord increase my cc cl.so need how long for 2nd request
winner
post Oct 6 2011, 05:50 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(Phoeni_142 @ Oct 3 2011, 10:17 PM)
frankly, no USP in the card, except for the priority pass.  Other than that, just like any other card, i suppose.
You can get 5x Choice Points for overseas transactions. Besides, you can expect high complimentary travel insurance coverage.

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 3 2011, 10:23 PM)
Better open the PB account this month, with 5% interest till December 2011, plus free gift.

QUOTE(audionutter @ Oct 4 2011, 07:17 PM)
The non-PB SCB VI is not free from second year onwards.
nokiaXP
post Oct 6 2011, 07:35 PM

466 posts

scb call me to offer cheque on call with 0.74% for 18 month
Phoeni_142
post Oct 6 2011, 10:49 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 6 2011, 04:13 PM)
1st year SCB VI Free, my new RM said that second year onwards, one have to swipe RM10K/year to get the annual fee waived. But she ensured me that she will get the annual fees waived for me as long as I maintain my PB status. She further told me previously there was another SCB VI (black colour) by invitation which do not need PB Status (maybe that VI needs to pay annual fee). 

Another thing I found out is that PB customers get the SCB Platinum Visa Debit/ATM Card for free and there is no transaction fee for overseas cash withdrawal from any ATM machine, pretty good. Come to thing of it, I should go sign up for it for fun and add to my collection.

Phoeni_142: I didn't get the 2 years annual fee waiver nor will I get RM120 cash back sad.gif But my RM said as long as I swipe three times within a certain period (I think she said a month), all I have to do is call CS and the GST will be waived (just like my previous CT offer). But I will be getting a free gift.
Chief, considering u r could get their VI - I presume u r their PB customer. SCB PB's would normally qualify via 2 methods:
1. AUM of 250K and above OR

2. Loans of 800K and above.

More often that not, most PB customers would invest in FD's / UT's. Most of my business with SCB is via mortgages. I just argued with them that I actually contribute more to their P&L as a mortgage customer, vs a UT customer - and said that i deserve a AF waiver + other sweeteners....So, that's how I got my deal, I guess.

Maybe U can try to nego?
Gen-X
post Oct 7 2011, 08:04 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Phoeni_142 @ Oct 6 2011, 10:49 PM)
Chief, considering u r could get their VI - I presume u r their PB customer.  SCB PB's would normally qualify via 2 methods:
1. AUM of 250K and above OR

2. Loans of 800K and above.

More often that not, most PB customers would invest in FD's / UT's.  Most of my business with SCB is via mortgages.  I just argued with them that I actually contribute more to their P&L as a mortgage customer, vs a UT customer - and said that i deserve a AF waiver + other sweeteners....So, that's how I got my deal, I guess.

Maybe U can try to nego?
Thank you Sir for your reply. No lah, won't nego with them since getting 1st year AF waived and GST can be offset with 3 swipes. Furthermore, most probably next year will even withdraw my funds since SCB FD rates are usually not competitive with other banks. If not for my fetish with CC, I will earn much more in a year time by locking the same funds with HLB Junior FD even after taking into consideration SCB current promo for 3 months. Like I said I am a fool doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
Phoeni_142
post Oct 7 2011, 09:55 AM

753 posts

Curious.....

what's with your fetish with Credit cards? And all the various blogs?

If you don't mind sharing, is it just a "hobby", or are u in the industry?

This post has been edited by Phoeni_142: Oct 7 2011, 09:55 AM
Gen-X
post Oct 7 2011, 10:30 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Phoeni_142 @ Oct 7 2011, 09:55 AM)
Curious.....

what's with your fetish with Credit cards? And all the various blogs?

If you don't mind sharing, is it just a "hobby", or are u in the industry?
hahaha, fetish was mentioned by another fellow forumer and also called crazy by gerrardling.
The blog ar, as I mentioned in my article Thank You - Guide To My Blog, I started blogging in 2009 because many people here lazy to do search and keep asking the same questions, so thought easier if I just blog it (that time we had only one thread for CC at LYN Forum). Then another forumer said to write more often (got only 1 post per month from 2009 to 2010), so since I freaking free nowadays, write for fun to keep myself entertained. And you can see from the many threads here, people still asking the same questions and still lazy to read the posts or do a search.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 7 2011, 10:32 AM
tinkerbel
post Oct 7 2011, 04:46 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@hye,
I did manage to get my AF for the SCB VI waived. When I applied for it then (I think it was maybe 2-3 years ago) they gave me the card with 1st year AF waiver. I have, since then managed to get them to waive my AF since.
celaw
post Oct 13 2011, 01:49 PM

1,263 posts

hi, for business visa gold, anyone could apply it? if apply online, does the af free? thanks..
TSronnie
post Oct 13 2011, 03:47 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(celaw @ Oct 13 2011, 01:49 PM)
hi, for business visa gold, anyone could apply it? if apply online, does the af free? thanks..
All SCB CC application (New-To-Bank customers) will get 2-year free Annual Fee
celaw
post Oct 13 2011, 04:36 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 13 2011, 04:47 PM)
All SCB CC application (New-To-Bank customers) will get 2-year free Annual Fee
new to bank meant never have scb cc before? if have and cancel before, consider new? paiseh if it is noob question..
TSronnie
post Oct 22 2011, 03:06 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(celaw @ Oct 13 2011, 04:36 PM)
new to bank meant never have scb cc before? if have and cancel before, consider new? paiseh if it is noob question..
Approx 6 months after CC cancellation would be called New-To-Bank Customer... better to check with SCB CS.
tifosi
post Oct 24 2011, 06:58 PM

Friend is someone to share last Cookie with!
5,156 posts

I did an online application for the SCB credit card for fun since they are giving away free GST plus cashback for new applicant last Friday.

Today they called and ask me if I am working in a MNC or any public listed company or not. I told him I am not. Then he said that they need an original EPF statement from the EPF kiosk to proof my income. I told him since it is so troublesome, just cancel my application and forget about it laugh.gif

125 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0373sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:37 AM